paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
BALLARD32 Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
14' J&J ceramic barrel
opsgear handguard
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, J&J is good
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Nice MilSim look
Easy to clean
Dual trigger included
PRICE
Weaknesses: Stock Detent (easily replaced by Kingman)
Review: This gun is great. It was my first marker I had ever bought. I got it almosta year ago and it has been through hell. The only necessary thing to buy would be a few detents from Kingman($1 a piece) and a nice new barrel. This gun is really tough. It has been dropped, slammed against trees, taken many hits, and it still gets the job done. This gun has a very intimidating look to it and since it's so loud it scares your enemies. Awsome marker.
Conclusion: This gun is spectacular and is just as good as any 98 custom. Mine was $100 just for the gun but you can go on ebay and get a brand new package that has a 20oz., remote line, hopper, visor, cleaning kit, and harness for the same price as a 98. Over all this gun is perfect for beginners or woodsball troops. BUY THIS MARKER!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

black_angus1 Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader triad-not as good
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1-32* v/a, aci sub-zero 6-stage x-chamber, thumbwheel velocity adjuster, modded trigger
Viewloader Triad-no mods or accesories
Recommended
Upgrades:
x chamber or reg., barrel, all the free mods you can do, new feedneck
Strengths: Rugged, good looking, simplicity and reliabilty.
Weaknesses: No x chamber, weak feedneck, detents are annoying.
Review: well i got my mr1 for $60 from wal-mart. yes, wal-mart guns suck, but this time it was worth $60, more even.

first time i played with my gun, it was about 35* outside, and windy. everybody who plays paintball knows that those two things generally equal chops and horrible accuracy. well this time was no different. the day ended when i had a leak near the bottomline. (my gun was completely new that day except for the modded stock)

well, that was an easy fix, all i had to do was tighten the fittings down there and the leak was gone. after that, the only playing i had was shooting things in my yard. still cold out, but not windy, so it was pretty accurate.

after that day i got my v/a, and i put on all my x-chamber and thumb wheel, which i got off of an old spyder aggressor.

now today, march 18th 2007, i lowered my trigger pull with a pen spring. easiest mod ever, and works great. i took it out in the 50* weather and the winds. only chop i had was when i shot with my barrel condom still on.

now that i have my personal experience told, i will rate every area of this marker.

BARREL-6.5/10 for accuracy, looks, and simplicity. this 10.5 in. barrel goes great with the rest of the gun. still needs something for the accuracy though, i am going to get a j&j ceramic 14".
FEEDNECK-4/10 for not being very good.
DETENTS-6/10 for not being very good, but not having the problems other people had.
INTERNALS-8/10 for the simplicity that kingman has with all of its guns. only thing is that i couldn't have a striker buffer in at all, not enough room for the striker to come back and would prevent cocking.
STOCK- 7.7/10 just for being there and the ease of use and the fact it can be modded easily.
GAS-THRU GRIP-10/10 for doing what it does, and doing it very well. looks great, feels great, and is great. (for you people who disagree with this, i didn't rate it as an x-chamber)
TRIGGER FRAME-7/10 only reason this isn't higher is because its not electronic, but oh well that's not necessary for me. i also have had no problems with the grips wearing down, but i will get some dye stickies for looks and a better feel. im thinking about getting an elec. frame later down the road, but not for a while.
INTANGIBLES-even. bad=leak and no x-chamber, but goods=simplicity, ease of use, looks, and the fact its from kingman.
Conclusion: Read the review. For this gun i give it a...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 4th, 2007 at 7:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the11thnickel Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippman rentals... (yeah, I know...)
Marker Setup: Black stock ION
eVLution II loader
Compressed air...
Recommended
Upgrades:
different feed neck (cheap plastic one comes stock)
new barrel (like any gun deserves)
low-end electric loader (10 BPS speed?)
Strengths: - Durability
- Price
- Good feel
Weaknesses: - Heavy (but it is an all-metal MilSim marker, so...)
- Bad grip
Review: In my opinion, this is one of the best low-budget markers out there for the recreational player. It's rugged, difficult to break, comes with a stock (better than buying one for an extra $50) and to me, it is quite easy to shoot at a decent rate. (for a sem-auto) This is why I recommended some kind of electric loader, because if you have fast fingers, this gun will keep up. The only real problem I found besides the weight was the grips. After a couple hours of play, they were kinda shredded. The rubber wore away quite fast. Besides that, I think this gun is very appropriate for a beginning woodsball player.
Conclusion: In the end, I recommend this marker to beginning recreational players. It won't break on you and it's extremely easy to open up and fix if there are any problems. Get it if you're beginnning and don't want to spend a lot of money, or if you need an extremely rugged, tough gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

NickkciN Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
tac performance hopper
20 oz CO2 tank
12' stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel for sure
Strengths: Very durable
Somewhat accurate (not a very good barrel)
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I just got this gun about 2 weeks ago. It is my first paintball gun. I have taken it paintballing three times so far. It has chopped 1 out of 2000+ paintballs. It is very strong and sturdy and the stock is well made and helps you stabalise the gun. It is a little loud but ot really.
Conclusion: get it if you like woodsball and dont want to spend alot on a gun. all i reccomend is a new barrel. I gave it a 9 (not 10 bc of barrel)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 7:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

silentbob831 Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Highly up'd Victor (about the same, but much faster)
98 Custom (better than this before ups but other Spyders are better than that)
'03 Imagine with some ups
most Spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
14" J&J Ceramic
T-board
Check-it products sweetspot trigger
SwiX 50g microswitch

Spyder MR-1 set-up
Customized Regulator / Drop forward set-up
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
.45 Grips
Remote line that I don't use
Recommended
Upgrades:
The same for all Spyders:

(basic upgrades all Spyders require IMO)
14" J&J Ceramic
Expansion chamber

(Advanced upgrades)
low pressure set-up
E-frame and E-hopper
Strengths: Very sturdy and strong
Tough black paintjob - won't scratch easy
Weaknesses: No V/A
Needs ups to work efficiently (mine did)
Review: I got this gun a couple of weeks ago, with the upgrades listed. I tested it in stock form, and can tell you that this gun needs at least a new barrel. Stock I'd give this gun probably a 7, but I'll review it based on stock and with upgrades.

Stock performance was, I would have to say, less than Spyder's standard. The gun is extremely loud, and balls were curving everywhere at around 50 ft. no matter how we set the velocity. It double and even triple-fed. The stock barrel is large-bore and the paint we use (Tactical Performance) would sometimes roll right out of it. I don't know why it did that, it suddenly stopped when my friend bought the upgrades. The gun was lubed before testing. So, anyway, after that my friend bought some cheap upgrades: the J&J Ceramic 14" barrel and the regulator which was custom-fit by his dad and works great.

Upgraded performance is great, typical of a lightly upgraded Spyder. The J&J Ceramic coupled with the regulator brought pretty consistent shots and much tighter groups. It drastically quieted the gun down too. The J&J Ceramic barrel seems to be the closest you can come to a "perfect bore" barrel, it handles pretty much any paint with no problems at all, shoots through chops, is very accurate and quiet. I don't know what the reason was for the double and triple-feeding, but it seemed to stop.

A problem I've heard of is that you can't put an ACS or Superfly bolt in an MR-1. I'm buying an older X-tra frame for $50 to drop these free upgrades in so that I can upgrade the bolt and other internals. Also I plan on going electronic in the future and would prefer a vertical feed.
Conclusion: If you plan on buying a J&J Ceramic barrel and an expansion chamber or regulator then I would have to recommend this to you, expect what you would get from any other Spyder with those basic upgrades: good consistency, accuracy, and quiet shots. decent performance from just those upgrades, you'll have to custom fit an expansion chamber or regulator. I'd recommend you just get a remote line, it will double as an expansion chamber and help with the weight.

This gun isn't meant for speedball, it does a mediocre job in woodsball. I hope my review helps somebody :). A 6 for stock and an 8 for upgraded balance the MR-1 to an 7 because for its class it could have been better.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 7:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

stickfigure Wednesday, August 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Jt tac5- worse
spyder victor 2- worse
icon x- different hard to compare
spyder pilot- more speedball suited
spyder xtra- same
tippman 98- same
tippman 98 pro- better
vl maxs- hard to compare
vl charger- worse
vl brawler- much worse
Marker Setup: spyder mr1
14" aluminum barrel
colied remote
extreme rage overdrive hopper
20 oz co2
mr1 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote
motorized hopper
raised sight
Strengths: Tough
Good looking
Medium weight
Accurate
Weaknesses: Chops occasional ball -1
Cant use sight cus of stock -1
Review: I bought this gun cus my old gun was dieing. Its priced well and I think its a great buy for the intermediate woodsballer. I took most of the stuff off my old gun and put it on this one. It shoots really tho it is a bit loud. I choped one ball all day and it was an 6 month old ball so im not really suprised. Its a bit front heavy without the tank directly on the gun.
Conclusion: Buy it its not bad
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Redz Rules!!!!! Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5-Lower Accuracy, Gas Hog
Tippman 98C-Lower Accuracy, Uses More Gas
Marker Setup: Icd Promaster
68/3000 Crossfire
Lucky Unitec
Evil Detonator
Redz ASA
Vapor Valve
Evil Grips
PP Mini Rock
Q-loader
ACP Delrin Bolt
Black Spike Bolt Pin

Tippmann A-5
Ricochet R-5
Low pressure kit
Shocktech Drop
Car Stock
Response Trigger
Blade Trigger
Ak-47 Bt apex
Java Remote coil
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACS Bolt
New Barrel MAYBE
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Great Feel
Stock
Weaknesses: Lack of Upgrades
Review: I went up to my aunt and uncles house like two months ago and one of my cousins had just bought this marker. I had brought my A-5 so I thought iwas going to beat this gun hands down. Before we went he let me test out his gun. We put a fruit snacks box on a pole and stood like 25 feet away and every shot I hit it.
Conclusion: Get It
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TAH42 Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98(This Is A lot Better!!!)
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann Model 98
Stock Kingman Spyder MR1
20 oz. CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
An Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Looks Cool
Accurate
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I loved this marker. It was very accurate. I used two types of paint, scorch, and jt tactical. The scorch was a little too big but still worked and the Jt Tactical was PERFECT. This was a little loud but most markers are anyway. There is not much to say about this marker besides the fact that it rocks.
Conclusion: You have to try it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderguy120192 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None I have only used another spyder. A spyder E-99 but it is not really similar
Marker Setup: I had the mr1 with a 5000 psi. crossfire nitro tank. I had an revolution electronic hopper. I used the stock barrel and a 14" PMI Razor barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
you need compressed air because it doesn't work as well with co2. A new barrel, the stock one is accurate & reliable but it is kind of loud. I also thought about getting an electronic trigger but then i decided to sell it and get the new mr3.
Strengths: it is a reliable gun. It is also fairly accurate. Stock barrel is fairly good.
Weaknesses: Very loud. It is also fairly heavy. The loudness can be fixed with better barrel,
Review: In all it is a pretty good gun. and i like electronics better but this is a great mechanical marker. Although I would recomend one of it's cousins the mr2,&mr3. I use it for woods ball at i-70 paintball and at my grandma's property. For me it has preformed very well and it was worth the money. It wasn't that expensive, but it wasn't that cheap either. All & All I like this gun and it is a good gun.
Conclusion: Above
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkwing Duck Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (doesn't compare).
Marker Setup: Primary:
Autococker Trilogy
Q-loader
Crossfire 3000 psi N2

Secondary:
Spyder MR1
Q-loader
12 oz CO2
custom stock
SWATforce red/green dot sight
Dye Ultralite barrel

If all else fails:
Viewloader Triad
MR1 stock barrel
12 oz CO2
VL 200 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, remote CO2.
Strengths: Accurate.
Reliable.
Good straight out of the box.
Good feel.
Not a Tippmann.
Weaknesses: Haven't found any yet.
Review: Ok, first I'll start with the strengths:

Accurate. I took this gun out a few days after I bought it and did some target practice in the woods. I was tagging small trees consistently from 30-40 feet.

Reliable. I shot 400 rounds and it did not misfire or break a ball even once.

Good straight out of the box. Even with the stock barrel the gun works flawlessly. Also, the stock is a very nice addition.

Good feel. The gun does have a very nice milsim feel. It just feels right holding it, not like some guns where the handling is a bit awkward. The weight is just right for me and the matte black finish is very good for woodsball.

Not a Tippmann. Ok, this is where I will get some flak for this. I personally don't like Tippmanns. I had a 98 Custom for a while and, almost without fail, it would missfire, jam, not shoot consistently, and overall would not work well. Also, everyone and their mothers own a Tippmann, so it's nice to have something that's not like everyone elses.


OK, the weaknesses:
I actutally have yet to find a weakness that can't be worked around very easily with this gun. I have heard that the weaver rail is not big enough to mount a sight well. I decided not to run a sight on this gun, but it is something to consider if you want to run a sight on a gun. The MR1 aims like a charm, I was taking hip shots and still being fairly accurate with it. So, the sight system is fine in my oppinion.
Also, it could start to get annoying having the stock and the CO2 on gun, so I suggest probably getting a remote line for it.
Conclusion: I absolutely recommend this gun for any woodsballer who wants a good reliable gun and for anyone who is tired of Tippmanns. Overall, this gun is super nifty.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 10:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media