paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". The Kingman Sonix Pro paintball marker is designed for the intermediate player and is the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The Sonix Pro marker is a top-cocking marker with a vertical ball feed and a large expansion chamber. It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, packed as a kit which also features V-type goggles with flexible face protection and anti-fog treatment, a 12-oz aluminum CO2 tank with a safety valve, and a 200-round hopper.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PBOverlord Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years75 of 82 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: *Primary*

06 Ego
M7 Board
Ultralite

*Secondary*

Nerve
Virtue Board
Kila Detents
Hybrid Lady Grips
Ton Ton Grip Frame
NDZ Equalizer Bolt
NDZ Roller Blade Trigger
SST Ported Manifold
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you plan to keep this marker and use it for a while, not upgrading to a better gun, the Barrel is a definite to change.
Strengths: 'Pro' Grip (Helps Accuracy)
Cheap, especially with extras.
Looks VERY cool.
Reliable
Weaknesses: Can only be found in some stores
Accuracy
Review: Okay, I am going to make this vitally clear - this gun is not for advanced players. Advanced players will pick this up and feel comfortable, but once they get into a game they will feel limited (this has happened to me because I just tried this marker again after a few years). However, if you are just starting paintball or have been playing for a minimal amount of time, this is where to go. Paintball Guns are like alcohol. The first time you drink alcohol, you don't drink a huge amount until you die of alcohol poisoning. You take a little, and then begin building up an immunity to it, enabling you to get higher and higher in the portions you take. Just like that, paintball guns should start small and go big. I'm tired of these little rich kids going up to their parents and saying:

"Daddy! Daddy! I wanna play paintball! Get me a gun!"
"Well alright son, what gun do you want?"
"Ummmmmmmmmmm...how about the most expensive one we can find?"
"That's the spirit, son!"

All these players start so big they don't understand that paintball skill isn't about the gun. For the most part, out on that field, it's 5% gun and 95% player. Just to prove this point, I actually tried it one day at a course I was visiting. There was a little boy there with what I still believe to be a Bob Long or something similar. I took out the Spyder Sonix Pro, this gun. We decided to play a game of 1 vs. 1 on a nicely set up speed-ball course. The kid starts right off, firing 20 bps towards me. He was relying on this gun to dish out enough paintballs that one would hit me. I took my time, waited for a pause, and looked out after a silence on his end. I saw him hiding behind one of the blow-ups, and he, once again, started shooting. What happened? I took the skill I had obtained over the years, took aim, and fired one single shot, watching it go all the way and exploding on his mask. He immediately called out and the game was over.

Now, if I had been against a pro with a high-end marker like that then I would have been toast. However, once again, that would be because of his skill.

That said, this is my point. If you're a starter, this is a perfect gun to use. While the stock barrel, like any stock barrel by spyder, is disappointing, the more accurate ones for spyder tend to be cheap, so it's not too difficult to upgrade. Also, they make a nice attempt to help you on this path, adding a 'pro' grip onto the gun (Hence Spyder Sonix PRO...yes the grip is about the only difference), which enables for better steadying of the marker (and also features quite a nice grip on it). Velocity, as always, is easy to adjust, you only need one allen wrench that is already included in the package. Another thing I liked was the clamp they included for the feedneck, enabling your hopper/loader to securely stay in place while you run from bunker to bunker, tree to tree.

Air is distributed nicely, and anytime I use this marker with even a 9oz CO2 (I use Compressed Air/Nitrogen on my other markers) I out-last every other player on the course. If you've operated anything from low-end mechanical before this, you know the basic set-up of the marker, so I'm not going to go into great detail over it. One more thing about this - it's fairly lightweight and easy to run with, so now you have no excuse for not being a front-man. Get ready to run, kid.
Conclusion: Yes, reviewing this marker is a bit of a walk down memory lane because I've now moved on and am playing in Tourneys and such, but I'd say that this marker was a huge stepping stone in my ability meter, and if you're just starting out, it's the perfect marker to have. Put in the added bonus that you don't have to pay for side things like masks and CO2 because they're already in this incredibly cheap Package, and you've got yourself a real winner here. It's receiving an 9 because it's not the best of markers, and it's hard for me to rate it when I'm using such great markers now, but for it's price-range and department, it's a great deal.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 10:30 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

gijoe92 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month49 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor/victor 2
imagine
compacts
BE striker


BE striker
3- 12oz co2
2- VL 200
2- barrel sock
1- kit mask
1- nVader mask
1- red paintball case for my sonix
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(as all markers)
Strengths: light
dark for wood play
FAST
doesn't chop
x chamber
Weaknesses: Loud
Gets really cold after shooting for long periods of fast firing
Review: I got this gun for an early Christmas present this year. I went into my back yard and took a few shots at a sheet of plywood. to my surprise, they all hit on top of each other. I tried speed shooting and i figure i got up to 11 bps! This gun came in a kit which was good. my dad told me it was very cheap at my local paintball store.
Conclusion: Overall good gun for beginning or intermediate players.
BUY IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 23rd, 2007 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel or bolt, but neither is necessary.
3. Add a drop forward if you need one.
Strengths: Unique grip and styling makes for a comfortable and lightweight marker.
Weaknesses: Plastic (composite) frame may be a turn-off to some.
Review: The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, (the Sonix Value / 05 comes in silver/black as well) packed as a kit which also features goggles, 12-oz CO2 tank , and 200-round hopper.

Bought this as a present for my wife. She's just starting out and needed a smaller, lightweight marker. She also loves the Georgia Bulldogs, so a red and black marker was perfect for her. Here's the overview:

BARREL - Standard Kingman 9" ported barrel with muzzle break. Black and very glossy, but it matches the marker. Replacement barrels will help, though the stock barrel is acceptable for starters.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Shares the same foregrip as the Pilot; it's an expansion chamber, not just a gas-through foregrip. Front block is non-standard, so replacing the foregrip with a reg will require replacing the front block as well.

VOLUMIZER - Standard Kingman issue, same as the TL-R and Rodeo. Works.

TRIGGER / FRAME - It's the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The frame is plastic, yes, but it's a poly composite that's very tough. No instability at all. Trigger pull is surprisingly short, and a good puller can get 10+ BPS from this mechanical frame. Grips are functional. Looks like an Angel from afar.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough; there is no drop forward. I haven't tried adding a drop on the composite frame, not sure I'd want to try.

DETENT - Normal Kingman ball-bearing detent. Has never broken or failed on me.

BODY - Smooth milling, same as the Sonix Value. Only available in glossy black and red finish. Feedneck is a standard Kingman stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end. No room for a sight or other attachments. Internals are normal Kingman parts, nothing fancy. Bolt is the standard Kingman aluminum venturi bolt. Internals are shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value.

OVERALL - Fun, light gun. Feels tiny by Spyder standards but shoots very well. The 90-degree frame feels good in the hand and takes almost no getting used to for those more familiar with 45-style frames.
Conclusion: Should be an 8.5 because of the feedneck (not the feedneck, really, just the elbow), but I'll round up. A very well-designed marker, and I wish it were more widely available. I bought it as a kit and sold everything but the marker, making this an extremely cost-effective purchase. Recommended for players wanting a vertical-frame Spyder (it's the only one) or those needing a lighter, smaller marker. Remember, this is rated a 9 when compared against others in its price class (ie., a full kit retailing for $120, always on sale for $99). Compare it against others like it (low-cost mechanicals), not against electrics or electro-pneumatics, and it's a contender.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 5th, 2006 at 10:29 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

TXTeague Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro
Halo B (will be ready for up's)
14" Smart Parts Progressive
32 Degrees On/Off
PsychoBallistics drop forward
Trinity mini T-lock feedneck
Strengths: Price, Reliability
Weaknesses: Accuracy due to the stock barrel.
Review: This is my first marker but I have been very pleased with it. I've put about 6,000 rounds through it and yet to have a jam or crush. Very affordable and reliable. My set up has only included the stock 9" barrel so far. That is where the only weakness is exposed in this marker. Most stock barrels, on the lower end markers, are weak in this area.

A new barrel makes a huge difference. Much more accurate.

I have conitnued to play with this same marker and have yet to have it fail me. There are people I play with that have managed to have just about every problem in the book in the amount of time I've been playing (batteries, solanoid, cup seal, etc.). One of the reasons I continue to love my mech. marker.

One thing to let other Sonix owners know is that if you bought the kit that has the black/red marker and would prefer the black/silver, it's quite easy to do. Use rubbing alcohol and elbow grease and the red wipes right off. Found this out by accident when cleaning the body with alcohol after a day of play.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker for a "noob" to intermediate player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 10:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guitarfreak4225 Monday, July 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra
98c
m98
Spyder TL
Marker Setup: Macdev Cyborg
Tadao board
Dye Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, spring kit, n2,rocking trigger
Strengths: Cheap
Doesn't chop
Reliable
Weaknesses: Comes with a crappy barrel
Plastic parts
Grips
Review: A good gun for the money. It's a very reliable gun. It comes with a crappy stock barrel but that's easy to replace. Almost never chops balls.Easy to take apart and put back together. The only bad things about the gun are the plastic and grips. Good gun for starters. If you are new to the sport, I would recommend this gun.
Conclusion: Overall a good gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 3rd, 2007 at 10:18 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Prid92 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine- better because it's got an Etrigger
Spyder TL-X- not as good as the Sonix Pro b/c its kinda heavy
Tippman 98 Custom- not nearly as good as the Sonix Pro, but i do like the foregrip
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
12 in. Stock Barrel
Stock Locking Feedneck
DXS 68ci 4500psi
Evo III
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New (and smaller) Feed Neck
New Bolt
Bigger CO2 tank
Strengths: Light
Cheap
Accurate
Small
Reliable
90 degree trigger frame
Dark Color for woods play
Weaknesses: Loud
Hopper sits high on gun
Review: This is a great gun!!! Its lightweight, compact and really cheap (i got the entire kit for $100). Although it's cheap, its very durable as long as you take good care of it. I mean, i have dove into piles of dirt and then stood up and the gun was still shooting fine. All I really do to clean it is wipe off the dirt and tighten all the screws and bolts. Although, one time my entire trigger frame did come loose in the middle of the game, but thats when i decided to tighten all the screws after each time i play. I play with friends who have tippmans and spyder and the Sonix Pro is probably the lightest out of all of them. It may not be the most accurate gun, but it is good once u get a new barrel. It also chops the least balls. I've never choped a ball while using this gun while some off my friends chop like 3 balls a game. This gun is also pretty small compared to all the other spyders i've seen. Its a great gun for beginners (like myself) and it is overall a great gun.
Conclusion: This gun is light, durable, small and reliable and is excellent for its price although it is kinda loud.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 5th, 2008 at 10:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K1ngP4intball3r Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix (2005)
Marker Setup: Kingman 12" Barell
Recommended
Upgrades:
At least a 12 inch barell for better accuracy of course.
Strengths: Pro grip
Nice and small
Light
Weaknesses: On very cold days, the gun might chop a little and freeze.
Review: Ok, this is the PERFECT gun for beginners....for intermediate players.. some might think its not that great some might think it is. The reason this gun is great for beginners like i said before "the pro grip, and the lightness". Personally, I think this gun is also a nice backup gun for people who have been playing as long as i have, i own an ion and this (to me) is a very good backup gun, but not if you are very experienced and own a shocker or a DM7. If you are looking for a beginner, cheap, reasonably fast, light paintball gun THIS is the gun you want. And the gun has a nice design to it. This is my backup gun now, but this was the gun i got right after i got my 98 custom, i had very good experience with it and ALOT of fun. For some last details... the gun almost NEVER chops only once or twice in really cold weather, fast for its price, and probably the best cheap gun out there in my opinion. Oh, and how the package is only $119. =]
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is the best for beginners and is nice and small and very cheap. If you are thinking of buying it GET IT!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderNatEmpire Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder TL
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder TL w/ pro tournament barrel.
Kingman Spyder SONIX w/ 12 spyder TL barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a hopper and better barrel.
Strengths: Its fast light, and accurate.
Weaknesses: The hopper's bad, I shoot fast & end up shooting a blast of CO2.
Review: COMPARISON
This is an awesome gun. I have a Spyder TL also and the Sonix blows the TL away. The only thing better about the TL is its accuracy, and that's only because my Sonix is stock, and my TL has a Pro Tournament barrel.
SPEED
The Sonix is one of the fastest guns I've shot. The only bad thing about shooting fast is the hopper doesnt get balls to the gun fast enough, but a new hopper will fix that. if you want it to be even faster I've heard about the Kingman Spyder Rocking trigger thats supposed to make your gun up to 2 times faster than normal.
ACCURACY
The Sonix's stock barrel is only a 9" so its not super accurate, but its very very accurate anywhere from 30 to 75 yards. It may be better but I've only shot about 75 yards so I dont know if its more accurate or not. But I put my stock TL's 12" barrel on it on its a Sniper rifle now.
FRAME
The bolt is on top which makes it easier to pull back. The Sonix is a vertical feed so the hopper is directly above the gun. The trigger is a kinda far pull, but its still very easy to shoot.
SPYDER SONIX- A GOOD BUY
Conclusion: Its very much worth buying.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 at 3:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twistedChicken Sunday, February 27th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: Sonix Pro, stock everything
Remote coil
20 oz CO2
Java 4+1 harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
springs
Strengths: Simple
quality components
Weaknesses: Me
Review: Rank noob woodsballer. Previously used Tippman 98 rentals. Just got back from first day playing with the Sonix Pro and really enjoyed it. Got it cheap off ebay and had to rebuild it, which turned out to be very easy. It's light, comfortable, servicably accurate. Springs need to be replaced, cranked velocity adjuster all the way up to get 270. Lost some accuracy at the end of the day when I went through about 600 rounds pretty quickly - condensation from earlier round started freezing with the CO2 and I was shooting snow along with the balls; I'm sure that had I run HPA I would not have had the problem. Otherwise was just a ton of fun to play with. No breaks, no chops. Maxim CP balls were a good fit for the stock barrel.

[update 9 months after original review]
Been through about 5000 rounds now and still very pleased. Still no breaks or chops to this day. Ran HPA today and I did not have the condensation/snow issues that come with CO2. Others have talked about the barrel being a necessary upgrade, but I've found if I stick to balls the right size for the barrel, it works wonderfully. Only maintenance issue I've had is a screw falling out of the grip and the $5 elbow broke.
Conclusion: Recommended for new players like me. Very strong value.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 8th, 2011 at 7:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sixstring_virt Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used other low end mechanical markers. Spyder, piranha, and brass eagle.
Marker Setup: spyder sonix pro, stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
like everyone else... new barrel for starters, maybe a better hopper
Strengths: Light, pro grip, cheap, a spyder which means there's plenty of upgrades to choose
Weaknesses: Composite trigger could be fragile in some isolated cases, stock barrel, the hopper rides high
Review: I have worked with many similar markers. My friends and I play small time woods ball mainly. I am not overly serious about getting good but I still have an intense love for the game so for me this marker is great. I would advise for this gun only as a starter gun since it is rather cheap if you have aspirations of getting really good. I play against similar Spyder, and Piranhas and easily hold my own. I've even been known to whoop up on them from time to time. The stock barrel is louder than crap and can curve balls in intense firefights. This may also be a bad bore size fit between the barrel and paint... not sure. I originally was against the 90 degree PRO grip instead of the 45 grip on most guns but I learned that it complements the way most players hold their guns up higher when poised to fire. The one attribute I have not been able to get over is how high the hopper rides when the supplied elbow is attached. I've found a way to rig the hopper directly to the gun but usually don't for fear of losing my hopper in the middle of a game.
Conclusion: Don't be stupid and buy an Angel, or Bob Long right off the bat if you are just beginning. If you are just in it for the recreation, or would like to learn a little more about paint balling before taking the next step buy this gun. If you have already been playing for some time and are looking to expand and have enough dough to shell out I would recommend a Tippman or perhaps a higher up Spyder. I personally am really happy with this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media