paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". The Kingman Sonix Pro paintball marker is designed for the intermediate player and is the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The Sonix Pro marker is a top-cocking marker with a vertical ball feed and a large expansion chamber. It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, packed as a kit which also features V-type goggles with flexible face protection and anti-fog treatment, a 12-oz aluminum CO2 tank with a safety valve, and a 200-round hopper.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
paytont123 Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder extra
spyder sonix
Marker Setup: knockout barrels
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrels
Strengths: never CHOPS
LOOKS COOL
ACCURATE
LIGHT
Weaknesses: Nothing Really
Review: GOOD GUN FOR BEGINNERS never CHOPS
LOOKS COOL
ACCURATE
LIGHT I WOULD RECOMMEND NEW BARRELS LIKE KNOCKOUT LIKE I SAID VERY GOOD GUN WOULDN'T BE THE BEST THING FOR BEGINNERS IF YOU HAD THE CHANCE I WOULD BUY IT! so buy it and have fun and start moving up like i did then go from the spyder from maybe like a piliot or something
Conclusion: Buy It Your a Beginner And You Like Woods Ball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sicChris69 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra
Spyder Victor 2
Spyder TLX
Strengths: Cheap, Reliable, light weight, very durable, fast
Weaknesses: The paint on body cracks.
Review: The first time I shot this gun it was perfect. I loved the feel of it and new this gun was for me. Most of my Friends are better then me and I don't find it very hard to keep up with them. In woods ball I thought this gun was really good. Especially for the area in which i was playing the black paint can really blend in with the rest of the inviorment. This gun looks mean, with a beautiful makeover with red and black paint. I never chopped a paintball with this gun yet and i don't plan to. After a while you may want to get a new barrel for a longer shot because after a while the balls tend to drop.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun it is good for nub's like me and players of all ranks. And for the price its worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stash Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, CO2 Tank
Strengths: Light weight, cool design, cheap
Weaknesses: The stock barrel, no drop forward
Review: I've had this gun for 3 weeks now and have only got that chance to use it once. But when I used I loved that I could move faster with it because it was so light weight. When I went to go buy this gun I only had 100 bucks to spend and I really wanted a paintball gun, beacuse I went to go play paintball just 4 weeks before and had to rent everything. I loved it and just had to get a gun. My dad who played with me also wanted to get a gun but he a a TL-R Sniper Pack which came with 2 barrels. He lets me use his 12" barrel because he uses his 16" barrel. I haven't tried the 9" barrel that came with the gun but next time I have the time to go I'll try it and hope that it works good. Anyway when I screwed on the 12" barrel and fired it, it went a decent distance but it was kinda loud. But all the times I've had this it hasn't chop one ball thats what I like about it. People were also telling me that this gun was a great gun for begginers and it turns out it was. I love this gun.
Conclusion: Overall I would give this gun a 9 out of 10 because its loud. But for everything else its good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Outsidesmoke Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Basiclly any other Mech Spyder out there
Marker Setup: Sonix Pro
12 oz CO2
Gravity Hopper
Otterized Internals
Timmy Dualy reg
Electro trigger
Stffi 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL IS A MUST
Maybe N2 + a Decent Hopper
Strengths: CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP
Durability
Easy to Clean/Take apart
Weaknesses: Takes a ton of gas to Run
Review: Ok, so I bought the package from friend (Mask, Gun, Tank, Hopper) as my first gun ever. I wasn't expecting much from it i mean it was a spyder, they aren't known for the best guns in the world.

So I took it out back with him and we started shooting and compared this thing was LOUD. The stock 9.5" (I think) Is the biggest piece of lame barrel you can buy, Its loud, has a huge bore size, and very inconsistant. The bottom line is you need a new barrel, and there are plenty out there than you can get for under $50 Like the J&J Ceramic and the Proggesive. I personally bought a 14" stiffi from another friend and you could see a huge difference between the 2.

Next thing I want to take about is the Trigger. There is a ton of Front/Back slack that makes the trigger extremly hard to shoot fast, max you get about 5-6 BPS on this. But who needs to shoot 15 bps. I personally bought a e-trigger frame and threw it on there to make it a bit better.

As far as breaking balls, it doesnt. The hopper that comes with the package is trash and you should deffinatly invest in a new hopper. If your breaking its because of the hopper not the gun.
Conclusion: The only reason im giving this gun a 8 is because there are much better guns out there, like a referbed pilot or simular
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zarate Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None - This was my first gun.
Marker Setup: Sonix Pro
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Stock gravity-fed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Triggering system (Costs more than the gun itself, though)
Strengths: No chops, good accuracy, simple mechanics
Weaknesses: Trigger speed
Review: This was (I am soon getting a Pilot) my first paintball gun. I was at the sporting goods store one day and had heard good things about Spyders, so I called the wifey and got her permission to buy myself a weapon.

When I got it out to the field, I had a leak in one of the CO2 lines, but that was fixed with a twist of a wrench. After that I had no problems, until a couple outings later.

When I was firing the gun, sometimes nothing would happen. No CO2 discharge, no bolt firing, NOTHING. I took it to my local paintball store and they fixed it by grinding down the trigger frame. It now works like a champ. Fires when I want it to and where I want it to.

The main drawback to this marker is the triggering. This gun can go as fast as one finger can go and no more. The distance the trigger must travel to fire the gun is overlong and should be addressed if Kingman wants to keep selling low-end mech markers.

Conclusion: All in all, this marker is a fantastic buy for a beginner who is just learning the ins and outs of paintball. Well-made and sturdy, it will serve you well. Rating of 8 because of the triggering. UPDATE: I am upgrading my rating to a 9 because I have gone electronic and it strikes me how many problems can result from a higher-end marker. I've played with my Sonix Pro since I sold it, and now I wish I hadn't. It is ultra-reliable and sure, the triggering is slow, but who cares when you can hit your targets reliably? I might one day buy this gun as a back-up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 29th, 2006 at 11:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DragonRockStar Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Extreme Rage auto-feed hopper, 21 inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, if you want to get sick enough electronic trigger, though the standard one if plenty fast
Strengths: Lightweight, quick firing, fairly accurate with barrel upgrade, durable
Weaknesses: Field stripping (still haven't figured out how to remove bolt)
Review: Well, wanted something a bit on the easy to weild end and a basic marker after making upgrades to my Victor II to conform it to a sniping rifle...had made the mistake of buying the VL Lynx hearing it was an upgrade on the Orion (convinced to never buy VL ever again), and went to return in exchange for something a bit more reliable. In comes the Sonix Pro.

This gun is surprisingly good for it's price, being that it's a complete kit with mask AND 12 oz CO2 tank (most kits carry 9 oz). Went and took it to the back yard and thought I'd pop off a few rounds. Not too bad on accuracy with the first twenty shots given I was using the stock barrel. Swapped on the sniper barrel from my Victor and saw the cluster reduce to around 5 inches from 30+ feet. Once I determined it's accuracy I wanted to see how well I could lay paint. One word comes to mind for this type of gun....wow. I'm fairly fast with my fingers and have had almost every gun I've ever tried chop paint due to it. Not the Sonix Pro...I sped through a full hopper and not one ball chopped. Took it back inside to see how well she field strips, and that's where I encountered my only problem. If anyone has info on how to safely remove the bolt on this gun please let me know, cause I'm stuck on trying to remove the pull pin on it. Other than that this gun is simply amazing for an entry level player and considering the kit is almost always on sale for 99.99, it's most definitely worth the price.
Conclusion: All in all a great buy for entry and mid level players who are a little hesitant at putting in the big bucks to advance to high end stuff, or a guy like me who occasionally wants a gun to rely on when the sniper gun and pistol combo gets dull.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

absolutexero Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Sniper Kit
Spyder MR1
Redz Ion (my baby)
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro
-Pure Energy 48 3000 HPA tank
-Trinity Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Clamping Feedneck
Nothing more for those just starting out
For those who want fast....Rocking Trigger Frame 2.0
Strengths: Reliability
Excellent gun for beginners
Easy to clean
Easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Semi Auto = Not very Fast
Stock Barrel is short
Stock Trigger Frame is plastic
Review: This was my first gun when I decided to give paintball a try. The gun came in a package with a 12oz. CO2 tank and a mask included. I never had a problem with this gun besides 1 air leak which was fixed with the turn of a wrench. Gun Never chopped so i was always playing when my friends where sitting off to the side trying to get the paint out of their electronic markers. Since it was my first gun I found it extremely easy to take apart for cleaning and maintenance on the gun (not much to it like the insides of the high end guns). I highly recommend this gun for beginners and for those who just need a cheap backup.
Conclusion: Read this for what it says..." This gun is an AWESOME SEMI AUTOMATIC GUN"
If you have the money and are willing to spend it get an ION
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woods_ball_guy Saturday, December 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tlx, xtra, previous sonix pretty much all the spyder milsims
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro, Proto 14" Chrome barrel, Gravity feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!!! I'm getting a rocking trigger and a delrin bolt and a eggy 3.
Strengths: View below
Weaknesses: View below
Review: Strengths: looks, durable, easy to maintain/use, good price, Co2 tank that comes w/ it works great, so does the hopper.

Weaknesses: First off if your a woodsball guy like me, tinted goggles don't help at all!
You can't tell the difference between a tree, or a person thats about to light you up.
The feed neck stinks (like always). Plastic feednecks crack to easily, and sit your hopper up way to high. When i purchased my gun and tested it out there was a leak on the hose where it connects to the front metal grip. That was easily fixed by tightening it. So if you get this gun get a new feedneck and go to walmart and get some jt goggles that aren't tinted.
Conclusion: This gun works just fine and is great for those just getting into the sport.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xJakex77 Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triton 2, Tippmann Triumph, Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Completely Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
New Trigger
Strengths: Black
Cool Looking
Doesn't Chop
Lightweight
Cheap
Many Upgrades
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks
Comes with bad feedneck
Review: I got the spyder sonix pro about 3 months ago and it hasn't failed on me yet. I've shot over 3000 paintballs with this gun and I haven't chopped a ball yet. There is a couple weaknesses with this gun though they are minor. The stock barrel sucks, but that's easily upgradeable. If your playing at a field where marker hits count than I'd definitely buy a new feedneck. With the stock feedneck your hopper sits about three inches off of the marker, but again that can easily be upgraded. One thing I noticed about the stock trigger is that it feels sort of flimsy. I'd reccomend upgrading it but it'll work just as well if you don't. For the price this gun looks really good. It's black so you can use it in woodsball. Also it's lightweight and compact so it's good in speedball as well. With a couple of upgrades it can be used in tournaments. I'd go with this gun if your just begining or if you're just above a beginner level. It's also very easy to take apart and clean.
Conclusion: I'd definitely buy this gun if your on a budget or if your just begining. It's reliable, hardly ever chops a ball, and it's easy to clean and take apart.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dudeofpaint Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray
Marker Setup: All stock, except any kind of new barrel that will suffice.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Doesn't chop
Light
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Hopper stands high
Loud (if it matters)
Stock barrel sucks
Heavy trigger pull
Review: The Kingman Sonix Pro is a great marker. Aside from some of the problems such as the barrel, the marker preforms well. It was inexpensive, and you definately get what you pay for it.

It was easy to set up (no skill required there) and within 5 minutes of me opening the package, I was firing off paintballs at trees far away. The accuracy was ok, but could be improved easily with a new barrel.

The marker does all it is expected too, and maybe even more.

I would absolutely recommend this marker to anyone!
Conclusion: A great starter gun, for any beginner to an intermediate player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media