paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". The Kingman Sonix Pro paintball marker is designed for the intermediate player and is the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The Sonix Pro marker is a top-cocking marker with a vertical ball feed and a large expansion chamber. It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, packed as a kit which also features V-type goggles with flexible face protection and anti-fog treatment, a 12-oz aluminum CO2 tank with a safety valve, and a 200-round hopper.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
The phat Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro (.01 added bore)
12 inch nyte stikk (.01 added bore)
Electric hopper
Drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel needs a definite upgrade, the stock barrel isn't up to par.
Strengths: Light, fast, no recoil, silent, and on site.
Weaknesses: Any added paint around the ball will cause some chopping.
Review: in all, a few simple upgrades will increase your playing power, your accuracy, and your range. A very good buy for the beginners and intermediate players. Excellent for woodsball and for speedball as well. Many of my friends tell me that I am crazy when I say that I prefer my Spyder over a Tippmman anyday.
Conclusion: A good, reliable, and smart buy do to the range of modifactions and stock abilities.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

HxC Battlecat Tuesday, September 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Spyder Shutter
Tac 5 Recon
Spyder Xtra
Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro
16" spyder snyper quiet barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
and new godamn screws
drop foreward
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
2500+ balls and no chops
efing rad!!!
Weaknesses: the damn allen screws wear out and the "L" keys wont get em out
Review: So it took me forever it felt like to take the extra step and buy my first gun
sypders got a rep for excellent machinery at an affordable price and a pretty damn good bang for your buck. for the price of this gun it handled 200% better than i thought it would. First of, the stock barrell ive never used on the field but at about 25 yard range the stock barrell was decent. On the field i use a 16" barrell and its beautiful to see your paint fly through the air exactly where you want it to. The co2 screws in uncomfortably at first but i say who cares cuz this gun is an excellent run and gun sniper marker. Very accurate, light, and never chops paint. Its pretty loud so thats where run comes in. ive read other reviews of it being very fast, i want to agree with them because im sure it is fast but i have the stock hopper so iver never tried it, if i were to guess, its about 7 or 8bps the way it is. The one and only thing that pissed me off about this gun is those damn allen screws, after a game i always clean it (its real easy to clean) but after two strips the screw wore out and the "L" keys wouldnt loosen them.
Conclusion: i highly recomend this product depending on your style of play. if its woodsball, hey it only comes in black and its hard to see, also its excellent for long range shooting with the right adjustments. if you like tourney ball, well add in a halo 2 or something and youve got the fastest, lightest, run and gun marker out there. So to finish, im very happy with this, this is my first gun too so i suggest you look up more reviews but most will agree this gun kicks. the only thing i dont get is how the sonix pro got a lesser score than the sonix 2005. Oh and does anyone know how to remove the bolt?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

thororfox Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Spyder sonix Pro. 14" J&J Pro 1 Ceramic Barrel,Java Hopper,32 Degrees Rebel 6 Peice Spring Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" J&J Barrel,Game Face Electric Hopper,Trigger Frame,32 Degrees Rebel 6 Peice Main and Standard Valve Spring Kit.
Strengths: Fast,reliable,durable,doesn't chop balls, good accuracy.
Weaknesses: The expansion chamber screws come loose.
Review: I've went paint balling with it 5 times and most of the time i shot it, it shot pretty good but when it gets down to around 50 degrees the gun starts to chop balls. Its a pretty good speed ball gun and the most i ever got out of it was 12 bps while shooting the monster balls paintballs and it was about 85 degrees out and overall its a pretty good reliable gun.
Conclusion: Good,cheap, accurate beggineer gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

HockeyPainball8 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, spyder Victor/vicor 2
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
14'' JJ Ceramic barrel
Red Dye Sticky Grips
Spyder ESP classic E-Frame CAMD trigger
Odyssey Halo Painball loader
Dead on Drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
trigger(possibly)
Strengths: Dosn't chop, not that exspensive.
Weaknesses: Slow, needs upgrades.
Review: This shoots fairly accurate and is an unexpensive marker. It is a good starter gun and as you get better, you will NEED to upgrade it. The package will help if ypu are new to PB. I was satasfied with this purchase. The black will help camoflague you. I just think that wothout necessary upgrades, you will as dead as a cow in a beef factory.
Conclusion: I would reccommend this to a friend since a friend reccommended this to me and I didn't regret buying it. You need to buy upgrades, because you will get eaten alive without any, so I give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agog Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 c
Tippmann 98 m
Marker Setup: Kingman Sonix Pro stock everything
12 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
larger barrel
better mask, I got nailed first time I used it and it cracked
spring kit
new bolt
macroline hose
Strengths: Good for the price
Everything included
Good starter marker
Weaknesses: Mask sucks
I played for 3 hrs. and It choped a couple balls
Leaks
Review: OK, I am editing my review because I have gotten to play with it a little bit longer. Ok first of all this is a very good begginer marker. You get everything you need to play besides paintballs. 12 oz. Co2 (most kits are 9 oz). I did have a few problems with it tho. First of all the mask is crap. Second, the 2nd time I used this marker it started to leak, O-rings were fine it just leaked. I fixed it with some teflon tape, but I reccomend a new nylon hose, not metal. A new bolt is also in order. I have chopped many balls. It is fairly easy to fix/clean. The stock barrel is aight, but a new one would be dandy.
Conclusion: Great begginner marker, great price, easily upgradable. :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 8:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dan man Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6 (it lasted about 3 months)
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro with a J&J 14'' Ceramic barrel and a Delrin ACS Bolt
Pure energy 20oz tank
V-Force Armor mask
Java 200rd Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new barrel. It dosen't shoot straight
Strengths: The power. It shoots 11 balls per second, rarely chops, cheap
Weaknesses: Inaccurate at long range, long trigger pull, loud
Review: I got this gun for Christmas. It is my first gun. my mom payed $120 for the kit which comes with the gun, 200rd hopper, 12oz tank and mask. I couldn't wait to try it out. I first shot it at a old T.V at my friends house. It shot balls straight at close range, but at long range the balls turned and twisted. I brought it to Santa Clara Paintball about a week later and it performed wonderfully. Even thought it was hard to hit other people.
Conclusion: Over all it is a great beginner gun and I recommend it to anyone who is just getting started
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 5:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

413sonix Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Spyder clones
Tippmanns

They're all pretty much the same.
All perform about equally.
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro
14" Smart Parts Progressive barrel
Viewloader VLocity Jr.
CAMD 2.0 ESP frame
32* spring kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Clamping feedneck
HPA
ESP frame.
E-frame.
Strengths: Cheap, simple, good beginners gun, uses little air, upgradeable.
Weaknesses: Plastic trigger frame can be a turn-off. Otherwise not much.
Review: So I've had this gun for almost a year now. I'll tell you, it was my first gun, and it served me very well. When I bought this, it was packaged neatly. It came with the mask (which is a throw away), the gun, a 200 round hopper, a 9.5" barrel, a barrel plug, a 12oz. Kingman Co2 tank, a plastic elbow for the hopper, a manual, and some spare parts and a 3mm allen wrench which is all that's really needed for disassembly. The first thing I noticed after using alsmot 1,000 paintballs on a warm day with the 12oz. tank, is that Kingman does not oil or tighten down all the bolts and fittings on this gun from the factory. Before you even use this gun I recommend that you tighten down everything on in, and oil the O-rings on it. When I first got it, it was pretty good in stock form. It does have a tall profile with the plastic elbow, but that can be fixed with a lo-rise clamping feedneck. It was fairly accurate, but pretty noisy. Also, I've noticed with mechanical Spyders, since they're slow, you don't notice much kick. I then added a Smart Parts Progressive barrel, and that is the stupidest barrel you could buy. The stock one is more accurate and easy to clean. I recommend a J&J Ceramic or a CP 1-piece. I added a Revolution hopper, and this was like a whole new world to me. No longer did I have to shoot, shake, shoot, and shake. I didn't have to worry about chops anymore. This gun has only chopped about 2 times on me of, I don't know, some 15,000 rounds put through it when it was mechanical. The plastic trigger frame can crack if you overtighten the bolts on them, so be careful, or buy another metal trigger frame off of another Spyder, it will fit; or better yet, buy a ESP frame like I did. It is also very easy to disassemble. I taught my 7 year old cousin who is a little, lets say "slow", how to take it apart and put it back together properly. That means maintenance is a breeze. I can take out the internals and put them back in in under 60 seconds. You just need to put some oil in the ASA, and dryfire without the barrel and that lubes a lot of the air seals. Then just pull the quick strip pin to remove the bolt and striker, and oil the O-rings on them, and clean the breech if there's gunk in there, and you're all set on maintaining it. It is very good on air too. When I bought this, it was about a 80 degree day in July. I shot 983 paintballs before I ran out of Co2, and I was using a 12oz. tank. That's efficent. I then added a CAMD 2.0 ESP frame, and this thing was really rocking. The E-frame makes it so much better, but I noticed I had to do a lot of things to make it so much more better. The first thing I did was bought a VLocoty Jr. This raised my profile a lot, espically since I had to use the drop forward off a a 05' Pilot to use the frame, so I definately recommend a no-rise clamping feedneck. The stock ball detent is too weak to hold up to the hopper too. You'll need to upgrade that, or else chop, or get triple feeds, but then again, most stock Spyder detents are junk anyways. After that I would say get a anti-siphon valve installed in your Co2 tank if you're using Co2, or get HPA. This will prevent velocity fluctuations. I also recommend a tighter fitting bolt, as the stock one is real loose in the breech, and only has 2 O-rings. This will reduce blowback up the feedneck and chopping. Another good thing about this gun is there's so much stuff you can home mod on it. I say you could probably modify most of the parts to bring them up to aftermarket standard, instead of buying the aftermarket parts. Unfortunately, this is what killed my gun. I was trying to do an intelli-feed mod to my Revolution hopper to link the trigger frame to my hopper, and I either fried the board, broke the 5-pin connector in the frame, or killed the solenoid. The trigger frame no longer works. So now, it lives on as I am turning it into a pump gun.

The Spyder Sonix Pro has taught me a lot. It taught me how to play good when I'm outgunned, which I often was. It also made me wanna learn, so if it wasn't for this gun, I probably wouldn't know all the stuff I know about paintball today. This is a every mans gun. It's very cheap, and fun. If you wanna play paintball, but are tight on cash, I would get this gun. It doesn't need a whole lot, which is what makes it great. It is also very upgradeable, so eventually, you could have a Spimmy, which is about as far you can take a Spyder.
Conclusion: A good beginners gun that is simple and easy to maintain and will get you on the right path in the world of paintball. I highly recommend if you're a new guy, or are looking for something to tinker with, or just want another gun in your collection.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 6th, 2007 at 9:15 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

kman1226 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 1. Tipmann 98 Custom w/ Flatine Barrel.
2. Tippman 98 Custom (A.C.T) w/Auto Repsonse Trigger, Night Stick 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Price, That would be about it.
Weaknesses: Not reliable at all.
Review: This was the 1st paintball marker I evef bought.. I purchased it becuase of the price. I have had nothing but trouble with this thing.
1st Use: Fitting came loose during play.
2nd Use: Spring broke and did not stayed cocked.
3rd Use: Worked fine.
4th Use: C/A Adapter broke away from the Pistol grip.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this product. I have had nothing but bad experiences with it.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 5:03 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

th3g0v3nat0r Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock spyder sonix pro
dye ultralite 16"barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
give this gun an upgrade to a trash can
Strengths: Looks ok, and doesnt suck within the first few games.
Weaknesses: Sucks after the 20th game, cheap plastic parts, screws loosen, not fast
Review: OK so... i am a so called "n00b". the reason is because i bought this crappy gun. Here is a good tip. NEVER buy a gun in a package from sports authority that is made in china and is under $150. I bought this gun, put it together, went out back, shot a few shots, and thouhgt "hey... not too shabby." at least the gun also looked nice. well, today, it is a few months later and im wishing i hadnt wasted my time and money buying this gun. the trigger pull is WAY to hard/big, my whole entire bottomline system leaks, and basically, this gun sux. I am now going to go buy an angel.
Conclusion: NEVER buy this gun EVEN if you think it looks good


&
REMEMBER >>>> LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING!!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Pilate Thursday, June 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spyders
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder electra 08 w/empire reloader b and 20oz. co2 tank
Spyder sonix back-up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
barrel
Strengths: Good for the price
Light
Comfortable
Simple
Looks
Weaknesses: Stock barrel not great
feedneck
asa
Review: This was the first marker I bought. Out of the box it was a good beginner gun and had good velocity adjustment, and was accurate enough. The first few times I played with it, it held through and was always a great marker. It was also one of the more quiet guns I had used. It was also effecient. It gets about 800 shots per 12 oz. co2 tank. This makes this marker very cost effective.

On the other hand, it has a cheap design. The handle is comfortable but designed out of cheap plastic. And the asa is screwed on with weak srews and is attached to the cheap handle. This caused problems. My brother screwed on the tank to tight and when I screwed it off, the asa completely ripped of the handle. Therefor I had to screw the asa back to the handle without putting the screw through where the gas goes through. I don't think this was a freak thing either because I had bought to sonix's and The other one developed a crack at the asa and handle and eventually ripped apart. So I dunno. Besides that, the gun had a good design.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to a beginner or someone tight on cash. I would also recommend it to someone who wants to mess with it and modify it. Overall it is a good gun in terms of bang for buck.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media