paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Terran423 Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year97 of 98 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Compact: it doesn't really compare with the phantom in accuracy or range.
Marker Setup: Vertical Stock Class Phantom, CCI trigger shoe, Carbon Fiber Barrel, 45 grip frame, 10 round tube setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCI ball detents if you look to use really small bore paint like Evil Paintballs. I use Marbs and they shoot perfect without detents. You don't need a new barrel for this gun. I recomend marbs as they shoot perfect no matter which barrel you use on this gun. The CCI nickel is a slightly tighter bore than the stock barrel and you might consider it if you want that little bit of extra. The CCI trigger shoe is a great upgrade and is really cheap. It makes the pressure applied to the trigger more even (can result in less gun movement in the event you jerk the trigger instead of squeeze) and generally more comfortable. The carbon fiber barrel is such a cool upgrade if you can find it because it makes the gun better balanced and the pump stroke smoother than if you had the Nickel barrel because the nickel has a rrougher finish. The Carbon Fiber barrel is also the quietest barrel that CCI makes. Good luck finding a CCI carbon fiber barrel. 45 grip frame because it makes the gun look more professional and feels more comfortable.
Strengths: light weight, accurate, smooth pump stroke, perfect out of the box, Velocity consistency, Reliable, Perfect
Weaknesses: The gun has no weaknesses in design and function.
Review: The technical aspects of the gun.

The gun's consistency using 12 grams is astounding as it doesn't waiver more than 5 fps at most in any direction. If you are having problems with consistency as I was, it is due to user error. In my case I was over lubbing the internals which made a sludge that slowed and sped up the hammer depending on where the sludge was in the breech. Since it is a pump it is a close bolt design meaning more accuracy. The gun is low pressure due to the bolt which probably helps in accuracy. FYI autocockers are only pump guns made so that they pump themselves. The gun is extremely accurate with marbs and many other paintballs. I personally love marbs due to the fill and consistency of the balls. Marbs don't role out of the gun and seem to be specially made for the phantom. The pump stroke is very smooth. I have taken off the pump return spring so that the pump stroke is even easier and smoother but remember you must worry about double loading so adjust your game accordingly. The gun is very well made using high quality aluminum which means it doesn't rust and is very light. The gun regardless of it's weight (3 pounds) is very well made and the aluminum itself is put through a bunch of processes to insure longetivity. The internals are really simple and is part of why the gun is so reliable. The internals are stainless steel (strength). It is extremely easy to get at the internals since there are only two thumbscrews holding the gun together. Also the entire gun, except for the hardline since it doesn't have any screws. can be adjusted using two allen wrenches! Though they are thumbscrews and thus should be able to be unscrewed and screwed on with your thumbs, I don't recomend it since your finger can't generate enought torque to tighten them so that your gun doesn't get loose during the game. I recomend you use an allen wrench to tighten the thumb screws. This gun won't break balls as long as you know how to pump. In other words don't double feed the gun and make sure to pump slow enough that the ball is gven enough time to completely fall into the breech before sliding the bolt in the closed position. I found that you can actually pinch the paintball and it will actually still go into the breech and will look as if there is nothing wrong. The problem is that any compressing of the paintballs even if they don't break weakens them and may weaken them enough so that when you fire the gun the air busts the ball. Becareful and don't pump too fast like I did. Also I noticed something really good about the way it feeds balls. There is a grove basically that hold the second ball in place directly over the breech opening. This is useful becuase you can load a paintball into the breech and have a paintball right above it that stays there so that you don't need to rock and cock your second shot. In other words you can shoot your first shoot then autotrigger your second one in the case you want to show that you have some firepower. This is more useful than you might think.. The gun is very sleek in design and is more slender than any other rifle style pump on the market. This amounts to a smaller chance of someone shooting your gun which is almost a guaranteed break which results in a kill. Compared to Palmers, Action markers Illusion, WGP Sniper, and ACI MAverick, the phantom is the lightest and most slender gun. The pump stroke on this gun is better than the sniper and maverick but is slightly less smooth than the Illusion and Palmer gun. Ohh becareful when changing 12 grams because if you do it when the 12 gram is still charged the O ring that acts as a seal and stops leaking may be blown out. Just unscrew the CO2 cylinder about 1 turn to release the pressure adn when the pressure is gone screw the changer thing back on so that the 12 grams tip pushes the O ring back on to the 12 gram changer. Due to the fact that the gun has the paintballs in a straight line they don't jump around and make noise like a hopper. It's just a very quiet gun in operation .

Handling and Performance

The handling in either stock form (back bottle setup) or vertical stock class is really good being that the gun is balanced. The vertical stock class has a significant difference in feeling than the stock form which feels a little too much weight in the back. The stock class feels better because the weight is more balance between the pump and the grip. Another boon to the stock class form is that the gun is now more compact which allows you to use the gun tighter with your body. I prefer vertical stock class since it is better balanced in my hands. Due to the weight of the gun you can play with it all day and not get arm fatigue. In addition light wieght allows you to aim and manuever faster than your opposition who are burdened with CO2 tanks which weigh more than the gun. I don't recomend buying a red dot sight since it will make you lazy and slower at shooting. Take the harder approach and start leaning to bring the gun up quickly shoot and hit your target. Given about a months practice you should be scary since you will be faster and more accurate than your opposition. In addition bringing up the gun and firing quickly allows you to be able to compete quite easily in speedball because you would be surprised at how your opponents will take so many balls to shoot you since they spray and pray while you precise. The only problem with stock class in speedball is that you can be supressed and it's difficult to cover your buddies because you can't supress people. A pump player on a speedball field should just be faster and beat his opponents to the punch in taking the other guy out.

The accuracy on this gun is way above average and in my opinion the best of any gun out there. It can put balls on top of balls easily and consistently at 75 ft. At 150 feet the balls go straight and only fall down with range; they don't go curve in the air. I have actually hit someone head at 150 ft. I can actually aim and aprox. range to hit people at 150 ft. I don't go around engaging at that range because they can dodge my paintballs and the paintballs aren't guaranteed to break. I engage at about 70 ft.

Other benefits of this gun

The customer service at CCI is outstanding. You actually took to the maker of the gun, Mike Cassidy, who is very helpful and doesn't mind going out of his way to help you out. I had a problem with my gun and he fixed it and sent it back the same day. Total time that my gun was away from me was 5 days because I used priority mail and he used ground shipping. Now that's fast service. If you are missing something small for your gun for whatever reason he'll actually send you some; he sent me some nylon drift screws which I stripped the one in the gun. I had a problem with my gun and talked with him on the phone for 20 min to try and figure out what the problem was. Just plain great customer service. You can't lose with Mike Cassidy backing you up.

The knowledge of how to play that you gain from being disadvantaged against semi players teaches you how to read the terrain so that you are never in a situation where you are pinned down , and you also learn to stalk your opponent so that he/she never has a chance since if you hit them with the first shot all that firepower is useless. Learning to read the terrain is difficult at first but you'll learn to be so scary and spontaneous that your opponents will be in awe. You'll be blazed many times. Just don't give up. Just think about what happened and realize what you could have done.

The feeling you get when you take out people who think that paintball is only about money and how many paintballs you can fling at an opponent is something I can't really describe. It's jus great. Stock class keeps the game interesting and pure without the random clumsiness of one out of barage of 30 hiting you and taking you out.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are interested in the overall best pump paintball gun you can buy. Only consider the Illusion if you want to play with a hopper and tank because the pump stroke is smoother. Consider the Palmer if you want a gun that is more heavy so that you can steady your aim easier if you like that sort of thing. Buy a Dye Carter if you own a Mercedez Benz and want to show off. The phantom is the best in my opinion for stock class play.2nd going to the palmer super stocker. Buy this gun!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years31 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My '02 right feed pump-cocker (nice and all but it is direct feed)
My PGP2's
Trracer
Tagmaster
Line S.I
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse#99 (hasent been used since the Phantom)
Evo,ultralite,vert MaxFlo,stock cricket w/vision(cheaters suck)
*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
Custom VSC Mini Phantom
8" carbon fiber / 11" aluminum barrel's
Various feed tubes
12gram / 4oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
As stated, the only thing you REALLY need is detent rings or a barrel that matches your paint.
But...since there are so many different ways to set it up, why not try everything?
What I mean is, you could go crazy on it and still only end up with $500 into it.
Strengths: Custom-a-bility (danged 15 word limit)
Weaknesses: 1. Velocity adjustment is in the barrel, this is not a big deal.
Review: *I decided to wait until I had used this marker enough to give it a honest review.*

Honesty.

Honesty is a funny thing, we all say we appreciate it, but then we twist and skew it to fit our needs. Case in point is "hype", and there is no shortage of that around here. Hype in paintball products comes from many different places, advertisements, things we hear, things we see. Perception is reality, sad but true.
So WTF does all of this have to do with a pump action marker designed before many of you were born? HONESTY. The Phantom is just that, a honest marker. Most every review involves the accurate barrel, you know "it is so accurate I can hit a bla bla bla from bla bla feet". The funny part is that almost every barrel out there can do the same thing, you just never noticed before because you believed otherwise. The fact that the phantom is so accurate has more to do with the design of the marker as a whole, and less to do with the tube sticking out of the front. The efficiency (who cares, right?) is the backbone of the legendary one ball one fall shot.
I have heard people recently calling Phantoms "trendy" and "over hyped". That makes me laugh considering that none of the so called hype came from the manufacturer. Has no one noticed that in all the years CCI has built the Phantom, they have NEVER made a "special edition", an '04 or '05, or any of the other tricks played out by damn near every other paint-gun manufacturer out there.
All the reviews here should be enough to make you want to try one, but don't expect anything but a honest gun, that will give a honest satisfaction.

[12-05-05]
Now with over one year under my belt the Phantom is still tops.
I have not picked up a semi or felt outgunned for so long that I cant really remember how it felt before. The phantom has introduced me to some of the coolest people, events and games I have ever been a part of. DO NOT buy this gun to gain anything but enlightenment, for you will be forever changed by the exposure. Never again will ask yourself if it was luck or skill...

[06-22-07]
I still love my Phantom, though I tend to only break it out once or twice a year. Not that I play less or semi...I just happened to get hooked on Brass a couple of years ago.
Though I love my KP, PGP's & Palmers to death, every now and again I pull out the old Phantom. I enjoy the way it brings back the feeling of simplicity, how I am still amazed at its accuracy and feel.
Even though I use a KP or Pug 99% of the time that I play, Even though I prefer rock back feeds...Still I feel that the CCI Phantom is THE BEST pump marker out there, it molds itself to you...Not the other way around.

[08-07-08]
Well here we are again, another year has past and my old trusty Phantom has not skipped a beat. Throughout this past season I have had my KP trigger group break, my Pug's internals fail and require rebuild & my PGP's shot count just cant hold a candle.
I messed around with a Sniper, wondering how a pump the size of a cocker ever caught my eye...
What was there on the bottom of the gearbag each and every time?
That old Phantom!
Rock solid, always in tune & problem free.
Each and every time I take it out I am blown away with its frugal C02 use, ultra light weight & steadt predictable flight pattern. Its like the girl that got away, why did I dump you again?
Oh yeah, I was looking for the green grass, on the other side of the hill.
It may be too little too late for me, I may never call my Phantom my primary.
But IMO it is STILL the best value in the whole relm of pump guns & it delivers quality year after year.
Conclusion: What do you have to lose? $250?
Since you can sell it for an EASY $220 I don't see how you can loose.
While I have never believed that ANY product deserves a perfect 10, in this case it does.
It does what it says, no more no less.

Long live Mike & CCI!
HONEST.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 7th, 2008 at 12:02 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shadow619 Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months26 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have never used a stock class marker before, ive only used a semi.
Marker Setup: Vertical Stock Class Phantom-Black
14-inch barrel
14-count ammo tube
Electronic Sight
Everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe an electronic sight, the gun just looks cooler with a big sight on it. The sight rail on it is fine though.
Also I am planning on buying a Telescope T-Stock 45 Grip for it, because for me the gun just dosen't feel right without something solid to rest your shoulder on.
Strengths: Highly Accurate! Light Weight, Looks Great., Very durable
Weaknesses: I have seen no weaknesses in the gun yet.
Review: This is the most accurate marker I have ever seen, it is accurate to the dot every time. If you are able to view any body part of your opponent you will be able to hit him/her.(seriously)

This marker is extremely lightweight and versatile. Without a heavy CO2 canister on the end, it is able to be fired in any position.

This marker is also pretty easy to maintain and clean. With the unscrewing of a few screws it is easily disassembled and reassembled. I have never busted a ball in this marker.

The use of the 12g co2 is a really different experience. Once you get used to changing the co2, you'll really start to like it. One 12g co2 lasts about 14 shots accurately.

The only thing I had trouble with in the beginning, was having to pump after every shot, but you get used to it. Another big change after only using a semi, is that you only have a few rounds to use. You have to make most shots count, but with the insane accuracy of this marker it definitely isn't hard to do. I personally had to alter my game entirely to be effective on the field. I had to change from a "spray and pray" attitude to a stalking sniper. This gun has made me a better player.

With its slow rate of fire you can't slug it out with an automag, but you can definitely pick him off from a distance. This gun is also relatively quiet.

Great Economy....maybe use 100 balls of allday play, with about ten 9g co2's

Maybe a little pricey, but its worth every cent.

This gun is the perfect sniper's gun!!!!! Soooo accurate.
Conclusion: This gun is THE most accurate gun I have ever seen used!
I haven't had one problem after getting used to the marker.
There is no better stock class marker out there. If you want firepower don't get this gun,but if you like a combined accuracy, with durability, and dependability you'll love this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 4th, 2003 at 3:58 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

*victory* Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper II, Sheridan PMI-1, PMI Traccer, KP-2, Slpatmaster, Sheridan Piranha LB
Marker Setup: Black VSC Phantom w/ Nickel Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Really none at all tho there some interesting mods this gun is perfect right out of the box. The only thing I would reccoment is a stock and maybe a 4oz because 12grams are expensive.
Strengths: -accuracy
-consistancy
-light weight
-reliability
-Customer service
Weaknesses: -Pump strokes a bit rough compared to other pumps
Review: This gun is awesome light and accurate (and for one of the few times in PB history the stock barrel on this gun doesnt need by any means to be replaced), easy to clean and assemble (for the first time im not intimidated by taking apart my gun), its consistent as hell like i said i get a 1-5 fps flux without a reg of any sort and the customer service just cant be beat Mike Cassidy is the nicest man alive. Theres nothing in the world like taking on semis with your pump and showing them that this game is not about volume or money but skill.
Conclusion: This gun in one word is amazing I havent played with a semi in months I'm hooked. I'm a pumper and theres nothing you can do about it cause some guy let me play with his phantom one game and i fell in love. For the first time in my game I'm thinking more about practice and play time to improve my accuracy than picking up a new gadget for my gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lethal Syntax Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
If you mean other paintball guns... Tippman 98, Shocker 4x4, the new Shocker, Fly angel, Old school Angel (thats right, the one with the key to turn it on), Black Magic Autococker, Intimidator, Bushmasters, Spyders, Impulses galore, E-Mag, Blade, Talon just about any other electro and entry-level gun you can think of.
Marker Setup: To be honest, I quit, Just a little while after Smart Parts released their new Shocker and Impulse. Thats all about to change.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. Maybe a set of detent rings, but I consider those as more of a nessessity. Maybe a stock, but thats a personal prefference.
Strengths: Weight and the style of play required to use it.
Weaknesses: Velocityadjuster is hard to get to. People tend to talk trash before the first game.
Review: Ok, let me start by saying this gun single-handedly brought me back into paintball. I started playing around age 14, back when my parents thought I needed a hobby and financed my field fees, paint, and bought me my first gun. I loved paintball more than anything in the world and I was always looking for ways to save up for a better (faster) gun. With no means other than cutting the grass for $15 to earn money, it took me 2 long years to buy myself a Shocker. At the time, I thought I had purchased my dream gun. Sunset fade, freak barrel, it looked awesome. Turns out the guy who sold it to me on ebay failed to mention one little problem with the gun: the WHOLE body needed to be replaced. I frantically cut a deal with my parents to pay for the repairs, at the expense of my funding for field fees and paint. After receiving my repaired (and now 75% black, since they had stopped making any other colors for the replacment bodies) Shocker from Smart Parts. It was a little like finding out that the love of your life had received disfiguring facial burns. I took my gun to the local field and gassed it up, no leaks, looked like I was going to have a great day. I played 2 games and shot almost 500 rounds, it was all ok though, I had eliminated at least half the players on the other team each game. Then, ebay slapped me across the face again. The regulator blew out. Just a little more than frusterated, I walked back to the field house and grabbed my Tippmann, 5 games later, the 2 year average life span on the power tube gave out and I was left with no guns and only an hour or so into the day. The owner of the field refunded my field fee, then calmly told me that in a month he would no longer allow outside paint. No more $30 cases of Great American for me. It had to be the worst day for anyone in paintball history... Well, maybe not the guy whos nitro tank exploded and destroyed his gun, removed his hand , and permanantly disfigured his face(no that didnt actually happen, and I dont think it could unless someone was trying). I walked away from paintball that day. I was fed up with the money it was costing me, and the fact that the most fun I was having was looking up guns I could never afford on the internet.

A few months ago, my church group was having a paintball trip, I told a friend why I wasnt going, and he told me he had an extra gun, a Phantom, I perked up because of all the guns I have tested, I had never played a stock class marker. To make a long story short, my love of paintball received a defibulator jolt. On to the review.
The Phantom is light, no, its crazy light, like the kind of light were the horn blows and before you even think of diving into a bunker, youre already 3/4 of the way down the field light. Seriously, I slid into a bunker, and turned to communicate with my teammates and saw people crouched facing the opposite direction. Thats when I realized the consistancy of the Phantom. I aimed the gun, pulled the trigger, and the ball went straight into the side of the other guy's facemask. After overcoming my shock of how accurate it was, I took aim at a second opponent. The gun was so quiet he didnt even notice that I had just eliminated his teammate. The next thing I noticed was there was no ball in the breech, since I had momentairly forgotten that I had to pump the gun to load another ball. I pulled the pump handle back and marveled for a moment at how it felt; smooth, but just a little rough -someone described the action as 'ice' I cant think of a better way to describe it, like crushing ice with a rockbar maybe- the second shot was dead on once again, same spot in the side of the facemask. I walked off the field with 5 eliminations, and the only reason I was eliminated was I suddenly felt like rambo and decided to bunker 3 people all at once... Thats when I realized the rate of fire doesnt really make that a smart idea. Ok, now the review in non-story format.

The Phantom I used was a forest Green VSC with clear parts, 15 round feed tube, and a T-stock.
Accuracy- Dead on, all the time.
Consistancy- I only noticed a decline in performance when the 12g was on its last legs.
Looks- Slender, Stealthy, Sexy. You look really cool with the silver 12g's strapped to your chest too.
Efficiency- I got about 26 good shots from a 12g.
Ease of Operation- Changing 12g's is a little tricky at first, but after I practiced with 2 spent cartriages in the waiting area for a bit, it became almost second nature. I didnt take the gun apart, but I have looked at diagrams on the internet and theres really nothing to a Phantom. The velocity adjuster is a bit hard to get to, but other than that, the gun is stupid simple.
Quality- The best I can describe, the gun is like holding a piece of titanium. It feels light and breakable, but absolutely rock-solid. Mike really outdid himself.
Price- Ok, the Phantom is a bit more expensive than an entry-level gun, but it is Very much worth it. Theres no secret 'black box' that breaks and costs $200 to repair, in fact, I have heard that Mike wont even charge for parts that break due to wear and tear. I used about 200 rounds all day and with 'field paint only' that means big savings. The CO2 powerletts are cheap, less than 50 cents a piece if you buy bulk; if thats still too much, you can get a 3.5oz CO2 for around $30. There are also places where you can get custom annodizing to give your marker a one-of-a-kind look, I am personally getting a Blue/Gold acid wash from Wevo Paintball (Get my paycheck saturday!).
Upgrades- There really arent any 'upgrades' per say, but there are a ton drop in conversions you can buy, like direct feeds, bottom lines, clear parts, and a cool 'micro conversion kit' that pretty much turns this thing into a super-accurate pistol weighing less than nothing. A stock is also available that screws into the bottom line holes.

My favorite part of testing this thing was when some of the 'regulars' asked me if my car was steam powered too, I just laughed and told them wood was cheaper than gas. Dont get me wrong, I love players who flaunt their angels and laugh at my 'stone age' tech. They make the game that much sweeter when you take them out with one shot after they waste 400 rounds shooting at a teammate they were so engrossed with 'lighting up' they didnt even realize you were already in the bunker with them.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a change. I was fed up with the technology race and all the costs that came with it. The Phantom is the pinnacle of pump technology. It has no frilly milling, no batteries, no high pressure air tanks, just a simple elligance that will turn heads and hearts. Buy this gun if you are on the verge of quitting, or have already hung up your mask. Its paintball in its base form, win or loose, you will always have fun with a phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Ben McDohl Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL-68II - That was my previous gun. It was great, reliable, durable - but nowhere near the quality of my Phantom.
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom, 45 Grips, T-Stock, Red Dot Sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock.
45 grips if you want.
I very rarely use the Red Dot Sight, but its nice sometimes.
Strengths: Very Accurate (I can't begin to explain it.)
Lightweight.
Varied colors.
Improves skill.
Weaknesses: Some people have problems with the hardline leaking. It is easily fixed.
Review: I have never owned a semi auto, or auto for that matter, and I've never regretted starting out with pumps. I purchased this gun after a year long ride with my old Tippmann SL-68II, and I was more than pleased with the quality I received in my Phantom.

I can't fully explain how accurate this thing is - the first day I got it I took it out to the woods and let my friend with an (extremely) upgraded autococker try it out (over $1500). He came back to me with a blank expression on his face, and he later told me something like "I never believed there were snipers in paintball - but with a gun like that, I'm not going to piss you off." Thats where the appeal of this gun lies for many - its a bad ass. Every time I see mine I think of that scene in Pulp Fiction, where Samuel L. Jackson asks for his wallet and specifies that "its the one that says 'bad ass mother f**ker' on it."

With this gun you WILL learn how to take out high end semis and autos, who's price tag is 10x the Phantoms. Its great to take out someone with an LCD Angel and laugh menacingly as you flaunt your superior pump marker at them, while you used under 10 shots and they used approx. 1000980879845965. Thus, when (or if) you switch back to a semi, you're skills will have improved immensely.

As it has been said, CCI has the best customer service I've ever encountered.

Playing with this thing is hard to describe... Imagine having a gun as heavy as a hopper, but also having the capacity to get head shots on the first shot and the other playing having no idea where the hell it came from. 'Nuff said.
Conclusion: This is the only gun I know that made a hardcore speed ball player become suddenly paranoid of playing in the woods. I'm picky about the paintball products I use, and this is the only one that I would give a perfect 10 to.
Great job, CCI.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ghost271 Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2
Bushmaster Line SI
Nelspot 007
WGP Ranger
Marker Setup: Urban Camo Stock Class
Retractable Stock
15 Round tube
Adco Red Dot Sight
Remote Hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed but you have the options and upgrade path that rivals that of todays PCs.
If you had to buy one it would be the ball detents.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Did I mention it was REALLY Accurate
Weaknesses: Absolutley none .
Review: My god. Where to begin ? Lets start with,

Looks 5/5 : You can set this marker up ANY way that you like and suits your style. The annodizing is top notch and they are the sexiest pump markers on the planet right now.

Build Quality 5/5 : The craftsmanship and quality of the materials is of the highest standards. Even though the gun is light and doesn't feel like much it has no problems holding up to the harshest mud crawling, bush-bashing adventures you will put it through.

Weight 4.5 /5 : This marker weighs slightly more than a paper clip. No; but in all honesty it weighs next to nothing. I shoot an Immortal Viking while playing speedball and occasionally my cocker for rec play. However when I use this, it feels like I've picked up a kids toy gun it's so light. Playing with my Sniper 2 seems like a more 'solid' firing platform, however it's simply a matter of false perception. The beefy weight of the Sniper doesn't make it any more stable than the Phantom, but rather the lighter weight of the Phantom makes your mind think that its shooting something 'less' . I make my point in the Accuracy section. If you like the feel of a heavier 'solid' marker, this isn't for you . If however you are willing to get used to the new feeling of this feather weight marker, you won't be dissapointed.

Accuracy 5/5 :

WOW ! I started playing back in '90-'91 and we all shot Snipers and Rangers with 7oz CO2 tanks. Then a team from Bellingham decided to pay our field a visit with their Phantom Stock Class guns and we laughed at them. Until they played against us. They wiped us out to a man in less than 7 minutes and there were at least 20-25 of us.
My perception of this gun changed on that day 14 years ago although I never used one until this past week. I bought my dream urban camo stock class Phantom and took her out to the field. I put my red dot sight on it and to my amazement needed no 'dialing in'. Every shot at 75-100 was either on the red dot or within an inch of it. No word of a lie. This is with the stock barrel ! Not even with my Sniper 2 and Freak barrel could I get this accuracey consistantly !
I was shooting hooopers and googles all day today with it. By days end, I had a number of people running away from me when they saw me coming. As a matter of fact, in one game I shot out a guy 25 feet away from me who was wailing away at me with his Flatline. After I shot him out, I ran across the field and bunkered an aqauintance who was shooting a 2k2 Timmy ! What a feeling.

This thing will shoot darts all day as long as you feed it paint and air.
Conclusion: Of all the markers I've shot in my 15 years experiance playing paintball- this gun is my #1 choice for Pump Play. It has surpassed every other pump I've shot in the areas of Accuracy, Looks, Efficiency, and Weight. It easily ranks in the Top 3 of my 14 gun collection. Don't get me wrong. There are a lot of High End Pumps out there and they are exceptional in a lot of areas, but not ALL areas. I think the Phantom does.

Realize also that your style of play is going to change as well as your skill level. You will be forced to play smarter and fastter in order to stay alive in a game where super semis dominate todays fields. It will be frustrating at first, however if you stick with it, you 'kill' ratio will start to improve and you will become a superstar once an elctro is put in your hands. It became no fun anymore to walk out onto the rec field and waste a case of paint with a spray-and-pray Speedball mentallity. I was getting bored with woodsball and wanted to feel a challenge once again, like I did when I first started playing. Playing wih a pump did that. I have gotten several friends wanting to buy pump guns now, and am actually beginning to start a 'cult like following with the few elitist pump players in my locale. I would be willing to bet a $100 that pump play will become the next trend in paintball for this new generation who missed the good 'ole days.

Simply put, if you want the best that is out there , buy the Phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 5th, 2005 at 12:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulBlader Tuesday, June 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Silver VSC Phantom with 11inch barrel, trigger shoe, adjustable stock, and 4oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a site or triggershoe or a stock but none are needed.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Good Looking
Efficient
Compact
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I'am very impressed with this marker it's the best marker ever, two days ago I went to my local field with my VSC and played for a day and it was amazing. At the start of the day my marker was popping balls and I did not know why and I was shooting marbalizer so it was not the paint. Then a guy there that knows a lot about phantoms pointed out that my ball detent was too small for the paint and from there on not one ball break. This gun is so accurate I can not stress that enough, I would aim through a bunch of bushes and shrubs and the ball would fly perfectly straight and hit the guy right in the back from like 50 feet. There is absolutely no need to change the stock barrel it's perfect, if you could buy them after-market I would there that good. The marker looks beautiful as well just something that is nice to look at. The trigger in this marker is nice but it's a lot better with a trigger shoe on. This marker is also very easy to field trip yet is not open like other markers that are easy to field strip so it seems that it's hard to get the internals dirty. The pump is very nice it's not too light or sloppy and not too stiff, it's right in the middle and makes for a very nice crisp pump. (new you have to work the pump in) When I went there and had my 4oz tank filled and I thought that I would get about 200 shots out of it and it turns out it gets more like 350, so it's very air efficient. I would recommend a stock personally but some people don't like them so it's preference but for me it just does not feel right. The marker is very reliable I had a Spyder Xtra before and I had to get a new cupseal it popped balls every once in a while and was only so so in accuracy even with an aftermarket barrel (progressive), were as with my VSC, no leaks and has popped 2 or 3 balls ever excluding the pops that were my fault. This marker is addicting, when you shoot it you get to like the pump and everything about this gun and it becomes very addicting. The only weakness this marker has is speed but when you auto trigger it can hold its own so it has no weaknesses at all (unless you bunker someone), this marker is perfect and I would recommend it to anyone, unless you love high rates of bps because you probably will miss it.
Conclusion: This is the best marker I have ever shot and every other marker just disappoints me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 8th, 2005 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Icemanx13 Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fired the Carter Comp and Buzzard
Marker Setup: Black CCI Phantom VSC
Dye Sticky Grips

Piranha EVO 04
Crossfire 68/4500 LPA
Hybrid Tech. Feed Neck
SP Freak 16"
VL Evlution II

WGP 2003 Vert Feed
Eclipseblade with Zero B Board
Halo B
Freak Barrel System
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Ball Detent Rings
-Trigger Shoe
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Reliability
-Efficiency
-Customer Support
Weaknesses: None as of yet.
Review: I ordered my VSC from Wevopaintball.com a little while ago. When I got it, I grabbed some 12 grams and fired some rounds in my backyard. I was IMPRESSED. There are 4 trees in my backyard, all about 125 feet away, and about 6-8" in diameter. If you look carefully you can see paint splats all around the trees, and a few on them, from my EVO and Freak combo. I loaded one round, looked down the site rail and let loose. THWAP! Dead center in the middle of the tree, about 6 feet up from the ground. This thing is dead accurate. The barrel is super high quality, only bested by Boomsticks and Freaks, but remember those cost $100+ while this is a stock barrel. The pump action is smooth as can be. Some reviews recommend taking out the pump spring, but I see no reason to do that. The pump pull is not that difficult at all. It is also very consistent, often getting over 30 usable shots from one 12 gram. The entire gun oozes quality, from the finish to the internals, everything is great. AND if by some stroke of luck something turns foul with your Phantom, e-mail or call Mike Casady at CCI. His reputation of great customer service rivals that, if not beats, that of PMI. But then again, Mike is a one man shop while PMI is a national corporation... tells you something huh? The only upgrades that are really needed eventually, are the ball detent rings and trigger shoe. The rings prevent that occasional roll-out, and the trigger shoe make the trigger nice and meaty. For some people a stock is good, but I prefer going without one, as it makes for a tighter setup. The Phantom is customizable until the cows come home. Don't believe me, check out stockclasspaintball.com and look at their galleries. Told you so... Also, this marker SEEMS loud to me, but probably because I am used to the Freak with All-American front.

EDIT
--------------------------------
No, this gun is not loud. Loud is when my friend brought over his Flatlined A-5... that's loud. It's somewhere between a Freak and Flatline.
Conclusion: BOTTOM LINE: If you are even considering going pump/stock/modified stock class play, start with the Phantom. It is really worth every cent that you put into it. A truely great gun. Plus you can get about 3 Phantoms for the price of a Carter Comp/Buzzard, and those are only marginally better, if any. Go to the site stockclasspaintball.com to get introduced to stock/pump way of life. It's a well-worth-it conversion from semi. Plus if you do ever go back to semi, imagine what you could do with 200 balls @ 17 bps, when you're used to 10-15 balls @ 1 bps.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 at 11:31 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 7th, 2001
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The CCI Phantom Vertical Stock Class Pump is the best stock class pump I have tried, I simply love this gun. The original "back bottle" made it a little difficult to change co2's very quickly so I recommend that you buy this model (vsc). It also has a stock barrel that is accurate straight out of the box ( in other words you dont need a new barrel) But, i got a Dye boomstick and a 8" nickel barrel for it anyway. :) makes it looks nice. not that it didn't look great from the start!! The feeding of paint is really simple on the Phantom too. The internals are also very easy to clean and disassemble. Also runs great on 12 grams!!
Weaknesses: The vertical set-up has a leaking problem from time to time (at least mine does) and others have said that a micro-line is better then the hard line that cost $5 extra. But i got the hard-line anyway it leaks now and then but is not hard to stop. Thats about it. I had no trouble double loading or ball breaks.
Conclusion: I have to say the Phantom Vertical Stock Class marker is one of the best out there today. It is durable and very relyable. If you want to get into stock class or want to get another stock class marker this is the one you should get. The internals cant be inproved a lot because mike casedy has made them perfect. They are perfect the way they are!! Get this marker!! It's the best!! -Mc. Hawaii. Team Chaos Kids.
Plz. For more info go to my page:
http://www.geocities.com/mcphantomfan
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media