paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
ptle Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2001 Sherida PGP (only because it is pump)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with 8" Barrel
In-Yo-Face T-Stock
Dye Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-Stock to help steady while your pumping/aiming
Detent Kit always helps since the stock bore is .691"
Trigger Shoe, makes the pull easier thus steadying your shots making you more accurate

Thats about it
Strengths: Accuracy
Quietness
Consistancy
Efficiency
Lightness
Weaknesses: Pump Action
.691 Bore Barrel
Sometimes velocity goes up...
Review: I've very impressed about this gun.
- It is very consistant the velocity varies only +- 5FPS, but sometimes during the day it will steadily climb up for some reason
- The stock barrel is amazingly accurate. The 11" barrels are dead on accurate even at 300FPS. The 8" barrels are accurate, but around 300FPS some shots may not be off a little (I usually aim for 285FPS)
- The stock barrel is also pretty quiet for you :woodsballers"
- I averaged around 27 shots per 12g with my phantom. If you do some custom work you may be able to get even more shots, I've heard of some phantoms getting 40+ shots per 12g.
- Unlike the Dye Carter Buzzard the Phantom is lighter. This allows more mobility and steadier aim. Also your not tired of of holding your gun at the end of day.
Overall a great gun, only flaw is that the barrel has a .691 bore, I would prefer a .689 bore barrel but that just helps a little bit more. I've also heard of the telfon washer or something inside the bolt getting messed up which will cause the Phantom's FPS to rise up as the day progresses.
Conclusion: If your looking for a pump, you should consider the Phantom. It is very accurate even stock. You don't have to get the upgrades I mentioned, they only a bit. Overall a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soccerz2live4 Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2, the spider was a waste of money. Doesnt even compare.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Stock class, clear parts, T-stock, .45 grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-stock, makes it easier to pump. Clear parts add to the look of the gun.
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Paint effiency
Weaknesses: Hard to get 3.5 oz tank
Review: I love this gun. The paint always goes the same way. I can pull the trigger and know exactly where the paint will go. This gun saves on paint. I am shooting half the paint I normaly do and getting even more kills. This gun is really compact and it is easy to snap out of bunkers. Even though it is a pump it doesnt make you more vulnerable. I have been in fire-fights with guys with cockers and impulses and won. It is funny when they find out that you have a pump.
Conclusion: I think this gun is worth your money. Dont waste money on spiders. The phantom is accurate and has good range. When you turn up the velocity, the paint shoots farther and is just as accurate. It is quite too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Qweezle Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer, PGP, both not nearly in the league of the Phantom
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom with 45 grip, 14" stock barrel, and clear parts kit(main gun)
Spyder SE with 16" Dye Ironman Stainless Boomstick
Spyder TL+ Java Edition that uses the 16" Boomstick
"The Nemo Talon", Talon painted blue from the inside (just for fun, pump loaner)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Great out of the box, perhaps a 3.5oz CO2 tank if you don't want to mess with 12 grams, you may also wish to get direct feed for those times when you don't want to play stock class, you also will definitely need some 10rd tubes.
Strengths: Durable, reliable, accurate, good looking, well built
Weaknesses: Really none—autotrigger not stock class legal, but usually acceptable, lack of aftermarket upgrades
Review: The Phantom is a venerable gun, a truly respectable piece of machinery.

For 4 years I used semi-automatic markers, then I decided not long ago that I was getting fed up with the Rate-of-Fire race and the Balls-per-second crap, and so I placed an order for a Phantom. I got mine from White Wolf Airsmithing for $250, that included the installed Clear Parts Kit.

I've played with it both in the backyard and two Saturdays in a row at the field, I can draw several conclusions thus far:

1. The Phantom never breaks balls. If a ball is broken, it is your fault. You either cut the ball in the breech by pumping incorrectly, had the velocity up, or had a terrible paint-to-barrel match. The Phantom will treat you well if you treat it well.

2. The Phantom turns heads at the field. You will always have a few people who are like "Dude is that a Phantom!", and then the majority will wonder what it is. They usually think it's pretty cool once you show them how you can pick off that small sign 30 yards away with one shot, and you can't deny that it just looks cool.

3. It is an extremely light gun. Even carrying 3 or 4 CO2 cartridges in one pocket and 5 or 6 10rd tubes in another, the Phantom will make you a faster player. Not only is it light, but also very low-profile. On speedball I have found I can have the Phantom sticking halfway out of the bunker and have little chance of being hit. In this way I can snapshoot much more effectively, since I just have to turn quickly around the side of the bunker.

4. IT WILL MAKE YOU A BETTER PLAYER. I have yet to pick up a semi since exclusively using the Phantom for just about 3 weeks, but I have gotten good with the Phantom, good enough to keep up with the semi players in most respects, and I am sure that once I pick up a semi again I will be a better, more conservative player. I'll update this review once I do play with a semi again.


I've heard people complain about the pump, it really isn't that bad, if you think it is bad perhaps you ought to lift some weights? Over time the pump gets smoother.

If you really have a problem with the pump, you can remove the return spring, although now you have nothing to spring the pump back forward once you have pumped it back. I left it on there, and I prefer it. The pump has gotten smoother and I like it very much.
Conclusion: I bought the Phantom initially as a way to improve my game and conserve paintballs...I have come to love it for what it is. It is the best built marker I have ever handled, it is rugged as a Pro-Carbine, while keeping the weight to a minimum. It is the most accurate marker I've ever used, I can literally pick off a gas pipe warning sign from 40 yards away, with one or two shots.

Don't have any qualms if you can afford it. The Phantom is the best marker value in the world, pump or semi.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sven van poppel Thursday, April 26th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is a the best pump made. It is all made of metal except the sticky part of the grip. It is the most accurate gun I have ever shot including a Flatline, Spyders, Piranhas, and more. I was shooting in my backyard, and from 90 feet, I hit a tree 15 out of 20 times. The tree is less than 8 inches wide. It is very lightweight. This gun is so small and compact, you could sneak around the field and nobody would know you were there. It is amazing how gas efficieant this gun is. I get about 25-35 shots per 12 gram co2 cartridge. The pumping mechanism is very smooth. Most people have only pumped Brass Eagle guns. You only have to pull the pump back, and spring pucshes it forward. Nice autotrigger.
Weaknesses: And why is this category here again?
Conclusion: This is my favorite gun. It is perfect for sniping. You do not need any upgrades. Most people think playing stock style is stupid, but it is fun and gets your adrenaline pumping. It is sweet with the 12 gram changer and only holding 15 paintballs in the tube. It is the only gun I have ever shot that doesn't need any upgrades. Mine did come with a .45 grip, and that is very nice. I don't think you need any epgrades. It is way better than any other pumps that I have ever shot in my long paintball career. Get it, you won't regret it. 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

long Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2's, Buzzard, Super Stocker, SS25, Maverick, Hornet, Traccer, Hammer, Diablo
Marker Setup: blue vsc phantom, T-Stock, clear parts, 8 inch Fr-antom barrel, SS Freak inserts, 7.5 JJ Ceramic barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades are required for Phantoms. The stock barrel is very high quality and will shoot just as good as any aftermarket barrel if you have a good paint to barrel match. Some people will invest more money into their phantoms to have it be their own; aftermarket barrel kits, undercocking kits, custom made grips, different stock feeds, regulators or stabilizers etc.
Strengths: Overall Phantoms are incredible markers.
Weaknesses: Some screws can loosen up during game play.
Review: Phantoms are a great gun for someone on a limited budget or are looking to improve their game. They force you to concentrate more on how you play than how fast you can shoot. In my opinion every player can benifit a great deal from playing with a pump marker instead of a gun with an electric trigger.
Conclusion: For the price Phantoms are top of the line. I have owned and used quite a few different pump markers. Though some of the higher end will always be considered better, it always comes down to the player and what they are more comfortable with. I owned a 775 dollar Buzzard, but in the end I sold it off because i was just more comfortable with my phantom.


The only thing I can think of to be improved is that some of the screws do not stay in place. The screws for the T-stock can become loose during game play and fall out (easy fix, less than a quarter at your local hardware store for new screws). the screw that keeps the safety tight also loosens up and can occasionally get in your way during a game. Those are the only things that I can think of that could be improved on this marker (can easily be improved on your own with a little bit of teflon tape or blue lock tite), but for the quality of the marker you are getting I would say that it is worth every penny you spend.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 18th, 2001
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: i din't read all the reviews so if someone already said this then sorry. anyways. one thing that is really cool about phantoms is that mike(creator) is there when you call up cci. no moronic sales rep there! when i first called him i was surprised that it was actually him that i was talking to. i got a custom setup and described what i wanted to him and he understood all i was saying and was all around very helpful. i also got into a indepth conversation about how he makes his phantoms and how he does the anno jobs and all that, which was all really cool to learn. call up WGP and lets see who answers! "uhhh.... hello??? Is anyone there??? oh well." thats right some stupid sales rep answers. the gun i just ordered is a vsc in urban camo with a urban camo center feed m16 grip, metal hose thingy(they come stock now) stock barrel. i was gonna get a nickel plated barrel but he said that i couldn't get it in urban camo which i wanted.
Weaknesses: what could possibly be said that is bad about this gun??!
Conclusion: one phrase: GET THIS GUN!!!


need i say more??

-kris "tek" long



ps. awww the rating system only goes up to 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

listentoclutch Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
have not used any other pump/stock class markers
Marker Setup: phantom vsc, stock 11" barrel, blue acid wash, clear hardware upgrade (includes front part of feed tube and the actual pump itself), detent rings, matching anodized trigger shoe, t-stock, 3.5oz tank, 15 ball feed tube and 12 gram holder, adapter to switch from 12 gram to constant air, etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The detent kit is pretty much a requirement. It's very simple consisting of 4 slightly different sized rings that are held in place by the barrel when you screw it in. The different sizes allow you to use whatever paint you want without balls rolling out. The kit is cheap, just buy it. Trigger shoe is not necassary but without it the stock trigger is very thin and hurts after pulling it all day long. If you're gonna play stock class I'd recommend upgrading to the 15 ball feed tube as opposed to the 10 ball feed tube. Stock class pods hold ten balls so during play you can refill when you still have 5 balls still in the feed tube. If you use the ten ball feedtube you have to wait until it's completely empty before you can refill. FINALLY, I highly recommend a sight--not a scope, a SIGHT. Adco makes awesome "red dot" style sights. Don't get a laser sight, they are not practical at all for paintball. Trust me, look into the red dot sights. They are amazing little tools that will train your eye for better accuracy. Oh yeah, go for the 45 grip instead of the m-16 style grip.
Strengths: Light weight, works great, looks cool, very upgradeable, the best customer service anywhere, good price.
Weaknesses: No real weaknesses, just a different style of play
Review: This gun is so much fun. It will hone your skills, you won't be as tired from lugging around 12 pounds of marker all day, you'll use unbelievably small quantities of paint, and you'll get lots of compliments and curious onlookers. Don't count on people wanting you on their team though, you'll be considered a liability against semis and electros untill you prove yourself with a pump. You will also notice your problem solving skills getting better because you have to rely on quick decision making, smart movement, and making your shots count. Trust me, these guns a FUN.
If I had to give a suggestion, it is this. If you use a suspender style harness to carry 10 ball tubes, cut the suspender parts off and just use the belt. Tighten it up so if fits up above your belly button so you can still slide and move around without falling on your paint. Even without the suspender part you can still carry more than enough paint and 12 grams if you're playing stock.
Conclusion: If you are ready for a challenge and haven't played pump the Phantom is what you want. They are awesome and Mike Cassiday will help tremendously if you need him. Play for a month or two with your Phantom and then switch back to semi. You'll be an unstoppable animal on the field. I rate it 9 because mine had a slight problem that required me to ship it 2,000 miles away for repair. But it works great after Mike worked on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FantomFreak Wednesday, December 19th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: CCI phantom, trigger shoe, 15 rd tube
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger shoe
Strengths: ACCURACY
speed
lightweight
Weaknesses: Nothing at all.
Review: This is the best pump gun for the money. You can go out and buy a CCM, but to me both are of equal quality! I love this gun, and you will too! The precision of accuracy is amazing. I can hit a can 4 out of 5 times at 20 yards away. The gun is really powerful too. Dont be suprised if you hear guys moaning after you hit them!
Conclusion: The best stock class gun!
GO BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

krasher Tuesday, June 12th, 2001
 
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The CCI phantom has many good points. It is, in my opinion, the best pump marker, for the price. Ok, on to the good points...
First, it is very small and lightweight. I had a VSC phantom with adjustable t-stock, .45 frame and green acid wash anno. I played MSC (modified stock class- with a tank on the VA) and a 16 oz tank on the vert adaptor added alot of weight. I would suggest a 3.5 or 4 oz tank for the gun.

Accuracy was excellent. Off straight C02 I was getting +-7 fps, which is pretty amazing without a reg of any kind even when running verticle bottle. Nitro actually did very little when I tried a crossfire 88/3k tank on it. With a good paint match (the stock barrel is just a bit smaller in bore than a .689 lapco or a stock imp barrel) my grouping from about 120 ft was 10 inches or so (estimated). If you want to further improve accuracy, look into either running a palmers stabilizer on the verticle adaptor and running bottomline, OR you can look into a sideline stab (recommended).

The stock barrel is very accurate, you don't need to replace it unless you shoot a small or large bore paint.

The verticle adaptor can hold large tanks with no problems, it is not flimsy, do not worry.

The gun is very easy to field strip with no tools, just unscrew 2 thumb screws and slide the hammer assembly out. You can replace the springs easily for major velocity adjustments.

Very good price for what you get!
Weaknesses: The nylon set screw can come loose easily and affect consistency. I kind of, kind of don't like the bolt design. The TPC allows you to adjust velocity with a flathead screwdriver in small increments, and it quiets the gun a bit. But as stated before, it can come loose and change your velocity.

I broke in the gun; by that I mean I used it for a couple months. The pump action became considerably smoother than when I got it, but not as smooth as a higher end pump, EG carter or sniper. Not a major complaint :)

There aren't very many upgrades, so if you like to tinker (like me) then you will get bored with this gun.

That is pretty much it! Nothing major in the bad section, I could not find real fault with it.
Conclusion: I was happy to have owned the phantom for a number of months, but sadly I sold it to pay for tournament fees this summer. Oh well, I will probably buy another pump somewhere down the road- but it will probably be a sniper II. My reasons for this are: will take cocker barrels, so I can put a freak or other barrel system on it to fit the paint, it can be switched over to semi as a backup, and it can be upgraded to no end :D

I would suggest this marker to anyone who wants to play just pump for awhile, while not wanting to spend over $300. If you have more than $300 you could grab a sniper II and an upgrade or two (barrel, grip frame, reg etc.). All in all, I was very impressed with this marker, and I am glad I bought it (which is not what I can say for many of the other markers I have owned in the past).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

FallenAngel192 Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Closest thing is a Zeus G2+
Marker Setup: Zeus G2+
Derlin bolt

2k4 VF Autococker
Shocktech front end
Shocktech Supafly
Shocktech inline reg
SP Freak kit
E2

Dark Angel IR3

Phantom VSC w/ 45
Ghost Ring
Detent Rings
Stock

98 Custom
J&J Ceramic
Folding Stock
Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent Rings
Stock (helps stabilize aiming)
Strengths: Weight, sound, smooth action, annodizing, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Weight, fieldstripping.
Review: I'm pretty new to the pump part of paintballing, but i have used pump cockers before, but didnt like the idea of using a hopper so i went with a Phantom. The grip frame comes down to personal preference, i liked the 45 partially because i can get a set of grips for it. I took out my phantom for the first time yesterday and was quite surprised by its performance. I was told the Co2 wasnt going to be as efficient as it would be in a couple of months, but i was averaging 35 shots off a 12 gram, velocity was generally +/- 10 (it was 55-60 degrees out). Accuracy is easily the best point on this marker, i liked my autococker for its accuracy but this was landing shot on top of shot. It does take a bit getting used to the idea of 10/15 shots if your used to playing with a big setup, but you quickly adjust. Also theres no need to worry about batteries which makes this all that much better. It's a cheap alternative for playing, that also improves your skill while keeping paint within an affordable budget.
Conclusion: I'd reccomend it to people who are interested in pump play, its not too expensive, and theres not really any reliability issues.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media