paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
hellion360 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super Stocker- Nicer but way more expensive
Carters- Less reliable but very attractive, again very expensive
Snipers- similar in price and performance
Other random pumps
Marker Setup: 2k4 Viking
Palmer Super Stocker
Palmer Blazer
Dropout Phantom
Sniper
A slew of old pumps in working and non working condition
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get detent rings
Get a 45 frame, I find that m16 grips are uncomfortable
I also recommend a barrel set from LAPCO but it is a luxury not a necessity
I like a CCI t-stock
Strengths: Very Accurate
Very efficient
Very Light
Weaknesses: Slow ROF (its a pump)
Very light, some say too light
Review: For pump play the cci phantom is the best deal around, no matter what setup you choose you will be getting your money's worth. Not only are they fairly inexpensive they are very high performance.
The barrel on phantoms is easily the equal of most high cost big name barrels. There is no reason to buy a new barrel for your phantom. Some people like to use a smaller bore barrel to prevent rollout but cci has now solved this problem too. They make a product called detent rings. These color coded rings fit in between the barrel and the breach of the phantom and stop balls from rolling out of the gun. Detent rings cost 6 dollars for a set of four different sizes.
The phantom is abnormally consistent. It really is an amazing design that handles co2 perfectly. Its consistency is better than many regulated markers. It is also quite efficient. With Vertical setups generally getting 30 or more shots per 12gram and dropouts or backbottles sometimes getting up to 40. My dropout got 38 full velocity shots at 260 fps when I last tested it.
The pump action of a phantom starts out fairly smooth and only gets better as the guns age. New phantoms are pretty smooth but older phantoms are best described as silky.
Phantoms age very well, they are very high quality guns and break in rather than break down. Since they are a simple design and use high quality materials very few owners have any problems. Even if you do have a problem replacement parts are inexpensive and easy to get straight from cci.
Even though I own several high quality pump guns I use my phantom very often. It is just a lot of fun and its light weight and easy maneuvering is unrivaled. With a stock I also find snapshooting to be a natural movement while using a phantom.
It is also nice that you can get a second breach for your phantom and switch to a hopper feed if you want to.

Note on pump play: Since I started playing pump my game has gone way up. There are a couple of reasons for this.
The first is the slower rof, it makes you aim more and focus more, resulting in more first shot eliminations. It also punishes you for bad play like nothing else. If you are showing a lot of your body and you don't have a wall of balls to hide behind you are going to get shot, and thus you learn to play tight and snap fast.
The second is the lowered cost of playing. If you are going out and shooting a bag a day (even that would be impressive) instead of shooting a case a day you can play way more often. By doubling or even tripling your play time you can improve faster than playing semi only. This increase in play time also means you are getting more entertainment for your money, which is always a good thing.
I recommend pump play to anyone who is dedicated to improving their game.
Conclusion: If you want to play stock class or pump class a phantom is a good purchase. They are an amazing deal and an amazing product. I am constantly impressed by the quality and reliability of phantoms. Also of note is CCI's excellent customer service. You can call the company and actually talk to the owner and designer of the gun, which is impressive to say the least.

Some custom pump guns are nicer than phantoms in very subtle ways but a CCI phantom is by far the best bang for your buck.

Last thing to mention is resale on phantoms is very high. If you buy a brand new phantom and decide that it isn't for you your loss is only between 20 and 50 dollars. Phantoms hold their value very very well.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 9:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weiner121 Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other pumps
Marker Setup: custom built agd gun xvalve ule pullkit dye ultralite barrel

CCI- VSC phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
not much you can do with a pump except get the detent kit you do not want rollouts
Strengths: ACCURACY

improved playing skills
Weaknesses: The ball holder does not have threads
Review: The VSC phantom is a great gun for any player looking to improve his or her game. Its a great gun to be able to go to the field with and more just enjoy yourself without so much the pressure of high competition. The gun enables you to have a great time while at the same time improve on your tactics game planning and gunfighting skills. If you do want to earn a ton of respect in one game at your field this is the gun for you. People talk about there experience and the shear thrill of taking out the cocky guy toting a brand new $1700 DMC 30bps+ but you can never quite understand it until you actually do it. The best part about this gun is just the experience and skills you learn from it. Practice with a pump for a week and then pick up your tourney gun and go play and you will notice a substantial improvement in your game. If you are competitive with a pump gun you will be a strait out killer with a tourney gun. The gun does not make the player though it will take strong mental fiber and willingness to get better. You will get shot more with this gun at first but as you get better the times you get shot will decrease significantly. Also this is a financial godsend. All you will need pretty much for a day of playing is 500 balls if that and a couple of 50cent c02 . 10 for entry 10 for 12grams and 20 for 500 is $40 for one day. The guy who is with the new hot rod gun is paying at least 150 on paint alone.
Conclusion: get this gun if you want to be the best player you can. It is durable accurate and basicaly a coach all in one. it takes one to get them out not 500
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sickn3ss Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only Wal-Mart Pumps.
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom,T-Stock,Triggershoe,Clear Parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only need detent rings so you get no roll outs.
Strengths: -Light
-Small
-Simple
-Accurate
-Hand built by Mike Cassidy
Weaknesses: People give you weird looks if your the only pump out on a field.
Review: This was my first pump marker and I couldn't be happier.

I was really happy about the customer service reviews I heard from people about CCI.It reassured me my marker would be here on it's due date(which it was) and my order would be correct and if not I'm sure he would be happy to fix it for me.

Now to get to the marker itself. I was really surprised in everything the VSC Phantom had to offer for me.I really liked how it was small,simple,accurate, and the quality of which it was made. It's just a really good marker and I can't really describe it besides with those words right there.
Conclusion: If you looking to get into or get more serious about pump or stockclass play the Phantom is a awesome marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhantomPumper11 Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer, Sniper II
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+ with some stuff
im getting a new phantom in the mail soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent Rings i guess
maybe a T-Stock
Strengths: VERY accurate
great out of the box
light
durable, compact
Weaknesses: None REally
Review: this is definatly a great gun. it is an excellent choice for any SC pump player. I loved mine (shouldnt have sold it). I am purchasing a new one, because i was so plesaed with how excellent of a marker this is. GREAT BUY!!! This is definatly the best gun i have ever owned/used! i loved mine so much, i know you will love yours as well!
Conclusion: Great Buy! i recomend this to any Pump player!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bob the Snipa Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle it was a pump of some sort. I also have a 98c.
Marker Setup: Stock,detents,trigger shoe
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock and detents
Strengths: Sturdy, insanely accurate, small and compact
Weaknesses: Hard time finding tools the right size.
Review: I bought it from paintballonline. When I took it out of the box it felt very solid. Right out of the box it shot wonderfuly, it is the most accurate paintball gun I have ever shot. I've shot a 5 in. wide target at 60 yards with this thing no problem.
When I got the detents for it the accuracy went through the roof and it is very co2 effecient ( I can get 30-35 shots out of a 12 gram usually).
Conclusion: It is a wonderful gun that is deffinately worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ir0nExpress Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Trracer pump gun. low end pump, just for trying out pump guns
Marker Setup: Main: CCI Phantom - VSC, detent rings, 4 oz bottle.
Secondary: Kingman Spyder LED Imagine - ACS Delrin Bolt, Dye Sticky Grips, 16in SP progressive, Lapco Feedneck, 12v Revy, Mech frame back up if Egrip malfunctions, Shimmed Noid.

http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadi
d=324962

My Feedback ^.^
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger shoe
Gauge
Stock (i find this the most necessary)
Strengths: VERY accurate
Finest materials ever.
Superior craftsmanship.
Weaknesses: NEEDS detent rings
Pump needs break in period
Review: I bought this VSC phantom with M16 grips for about $230 total with shipping from bulldog paintball.

This gun is the most accurate gun i haf ever shot. PRECISE.

The materials cannot be beat. It is the highest quality stock i have ever seen. No more aftermarket searching because of inferior stock parts.

The only thing that is required from YOU is the SKILL. This gun is definitely not for everyone, your whole style of play changes wit this gun. Just be aware that you will probably lose a few times when you play for the first time wit a phantom.
Conclusion: No doubt its worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

King05 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann SL-68;Doesn't even compare
Marker Setup: 2005 CCI VSC Phantom: 14" barrel, 11" barrel, 15 rd. horizontal feed tube, trigger shoe, 45 grip w/ Smart Parts stickies, 12 gram quick changer, and 4 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The marker straight out of the box is perfect. Everything else is just personal preference.
Strengths: Accuracy
Consistent
Durable
Compact
Customizable
Awesome customer service from Mike Cassidy
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire-Well duh!!!
Kind of Expensive-but worth it
Review: I first bought this gun hoping to save some money on paint and air. Just playing once a month wasn't cutting it. So I sold my cocker and bought a Phantom. Upon ordering my phantom I spoke with quite possibly the nicest guy ever, Mike Cassidy. Anyways I ordered my gun and received it a few weeks later. Straight out of the box, it was awesome.
STRENGTHS
-This marker is very accurate. It's not just the marker though, a combination of good paint and player skill is required too.
- Very consistent using 12 grams. You can get about 30 shots from one.
-Not quite a Tippmann but made of high grade aluminum.
-This marker is incredibly light and compact. It won't wear you out to carry it all day.
-There is a great number of upgrades ranging from cosmetic to performance available.
-Customer service rocks! Mike Cassidy has all the answers.
WEAKNESSES
It's a pump and has a slow rate of fire. Duh.
Definitely a little more expensive than most entry level semis but it's worth it!
Conclusion: In conclusion I most definitely recommend this marker. Whether you're a seasoned veteran or a newbie, give it a try! You won't be dissappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LipGlossandBlac Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Class Phantom (er. non vsc?)
Marker Setup: Titanuiumm E2 Karnivor
Red Halo B
70ci Worrgas

Red w/ Clear Parts VSC Phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have only shot this marker in my backyard as of right now, but I would try to buy a stock of somekind for this
Strengths: Light, Not Expensive, Good Looking, Increases Skills, Save money on paint,
Weaknesses: Not really a bad thing: slow
Review: Well, I just bought my phantom today, and I was impressed. This marker is extremeley light, and VERY VERY stylish. These markers run for about 300 dollars. I was plinking around with it in my backyard eralier today, and I was able to make a couple good shots on rabbits and birds from pretty far away. I know this marker will make my skills sharpen, and I hope it will save me some money on paint. But the best thing about these markers is that ITS FUN TO PLAY WITH A STOCK CLASS MARKER. I've heard a lot of stories about people who go out there and pwn t3h n008z2s with the high end electros, but I dont really care about that. I think its fun to match up your skills against people with more firepower. But thats just my take on things :)
Conclusion: I think people wanting to enhance their game and bring paintball back to a more fun and relaxed state should get a stock class marker like this one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Fireballfx Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Backbottle Phantom with M16 grip
Bottomline Phantom with .45 grip and custom cocking
Marker Setup: Acid grey VSC Phantom
11 Inch Stock Barrel
12 Inch Matching WWA Fr-Antom II
Matching T-Stock
Matching 3.5 oz tank
Matching Armson ProDot
15 Round SC / Center Feed breeches
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detent Rings - A must since most paint dials in at under .691 (ID of the stock phantom barrel)
Strengths: Customer service, quality of product, good resale value
Weaknesses: Learning curve (as with any pump)
Review: I bought my VSC several months ago, and have been very pleased with my purchase. I purchased through one of CCI's dealers, but nonetheless, Mike has stood behind his product very well - when I received my phantom, my feedcap was cracked, and it was missing a barrel sock. No problem. I e-mailed Mike the morning after, and received a reply in 4-5 hours. Quite impressive, since you factor in Mike working on his production line all day. He shipped the replacement cap, as well as a barrel sock, for free, and by air mail, too! Great customer service - unparalleled in the sport of paintball.

The stock barrel is an excellent barrel, unlike many of the barrels out on markers today (save the high end electros, such as the Dye Matrix series and high end autocockers, etc). Detent rings are a must, since the barrel on the stock phantom is fairly big (.691), and since the phantom (as with any pump) is a closed bolt marker, paint will roll out of the barrel if it is too small, and your efficiency will suffer. The detent rings are relatively cheap (around $6 US). I also bought a Fr-Antom barrel that accepts Freak inserts so I could size my paintballs properly (detent rings prevent rollouts and improve efficiency, but are ultimately not as good (but very close) as getting a good paint to barrel match.

I bought a VSC because of the balance it gives, and the ability to use CCI's T-stock on the gripframe (I don't like the feel of CO2 tanks on my shoulder). However, care must be taken, since sticking too large (I'd say larger than a 6 oz or so) of a tank will increase your chances of accidentally hitting the bottle against something, and snapping the entire vertical ASA off of the gripframe (think third class lever). Don't get me wrong, though, the vertical ASA is very durable, and is bolted onto the gripframe itself.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an excellent product. I would not hesitate to buy another phantom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phpumper01 Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Black Phantom, 14" barrel, 45 trigger frame, T-stock, 15rd. feed tube/200 rd. hopper, vertical air with hard line, 12 oz., coiled remote, red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock, sight, detent rings
Strengths: lightweight, accurate, durable, easy to clean, looks very cool
Weaknesses: rate of fire, inaccuracy of the autotrigger (both true of all pumps)
Review: This gun is extremely well built. It is very light compared to most paintball guns, and actually feels somewhat flimsy (don't worry it isn't). I have never had a problem with this gun working, it has never leaked, and the only time that I have broken paint in the barrel is when I have done something wrong. A lot of people seem to think that the pump action is too hard, but it doesn't bother me. The accuracy of the gun is great, even with the stock barrel. It also gets great gas efficiency, since you are doing the cocking action rather than the CO2. If you do buy this gun I must stress that you get a stock to go with it, because otherwise your aiming will not be nearly consistent enough to hit anything. I preferred to go with the T-stock because its length could be adjusted. A sight also isn't a bad idea. I just bought a red dot sight, and although I've only played with it once, I think it helped my precision considerably. If you buy a sight and use a hopper, you'll need to also buy a sight rail from CCI, but if you use the feed tube, it has a sight rail built into it. One of the nice things about this gun is that you can switch from a hopper to a feed tube fairly easily just by changing the breech that you're using. I tend to use both because the hopper is more convenient, but the feed tube is lighter and less likely to get hit. You can also switch from using CO2 cartridges to using a tank by simply unscrewing the adapter from the vertical hook-up. The last thing to mention is that the internals are very easy to clean, as is the barrel when you break a ball( be careful that you don't let the detent ring fall out of the gun when you remove the barrel. When this happens it is very annoying because you either have to order a new set from CCI or use a different sized ring). Basically, if you want a pump gun, then this is the best one to buy. Carter buzzards and comps are much more expensive and only minutely better, definately not worth the price difference.
Conclusion: If you are going to play in speedball tournaments and are extremely serious about winning, this is definitely not the gun that you want. But if you want to refine your skills while having fun and don't mind being outgunned by the ball spewing semi-auto's, then you should buy this gun. I say this because using a pump gives you a sense of satisfaction that you just don't get from using a semi. You use less gas and fewer paintballs, and you rely more on accuracy and movement. It will make you a better player, teach you to sneak around more, and in the long run will save you money. If you buy this gun you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media