paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
pump.prodigy Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom, WGP Sniper
Marker Setup: CCI stock Phantom, with adjustable stock, and Frantom barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
frantom barrel
Strengths: accuracy, consistency, easy to strip and put together, light, tight
Weaknesses: difficult to pump AT FIRST, hard to adjust velocity
Review: Light, small profile gun, with the potential to take on anything else. But just potential, until developed. Ounce the velocity is set then you'll rarely have to reset it. (Be careful with the nylon set screw that holds the velocity in place) The Frantom adds alot of versatility to this gun (now you can run smaller balls through it with no prob!).

Like all Stock guns, it grabs attention, so don't talk trash and ruin the reputation of stock players. Im out here to suprise and have fun. A coouple of tricks for your Phantom-remove the spring that adds weight to the stroke, then vaseline or heavily oil the pump rod, and add the t-stock, now your pump will pump 100 percent smoother.

The bad, everything has something wrong with it, but the Phantom has only a couple ot things,
-tough stroke out of the box (read above to fix)
-15 tube too long, 10 too short
-velocity adjustment
Conclusion: Nothing really deserves a ten, because that would mena it's PERFECT. But to keep up with everyone else's ratings, just to be fair to this great stock,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gothmog Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maverik, Hornet, Lots of semis, Illusion, Sniper II
BE blade *recoils in horror*
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no upgrades required for this gun. I'm going to try a q-loader on it. If you run it off a Co2 tank you might want a palmer stabilizer.
Strengths: Top quality, Light, Accurate, Light, cheap, Light.
Weaknesses: Pump could be smoother. Not quite as good as some more expensive pumps.
Review: This is absolutely the best pump you can get for under $200. Period.

Let me first dispel some myths. Pump guns are not more accurate than a good semi with a good paint/barrel match and they don't have better range. They can, however, have very bad accuracy and range if they don't have a good barrel. There is no such problem with this gun. The stock barrel is very possibly the best stock barrel I've ever seen and it is also competetive with the better after-market barrels I've had the pleasure of using. I prefer it over my All American.

The biggest thing this gun has going for it, in my opinion, is its weight. This is, without a doubt, the lightest gun I've ever used. When you're playing against semi's the only thing going for you is mobility and this gun gives you the maximum. I can run noticeably faster with this gun. I actually get more people with the phantom per game from surrenders alone than I did with my chubby electro. When I hand people this gun for the first time they usually jerk it upwards since they're expecting more weight.

Maintainence is very easy. I can dissasemble, clean, lube, and be ready to play again in under four minutes. I can change the breach and ASA from Stock class to vertical feed in under two minutes.

Cons:
The barrel is not honed to match the gun, but how many companies besides palmer do that?
The only real problem some may have is the pump stroke. It takes a while to wear in the pump assembly and many guns never get silky-smooth. It's a problem I'm wiling to accept, though, since I don't like the weight of the Sniper or the cost of a Buzzard.

Although it is very consistant with 12g's(what it was designed for) it could benefit from a reg if you use a Co2 tank. I'd recommend the palmer stabilizer. Use a sideline version and screw the output directly into the rear of the gun. Chop the hardline and screw it in to the bottom.

[edited for spelling]
Conclusion: If you want to play stock class, get this gun. If you play pump just for the heck of it, get this gun. If you want to improve your game and you normally play semi, get this gun.
*get* *this* *gun*
Do it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 23rd, 2004 at 11:38 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

neubs Friday, February 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares.
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC
Recommended
Upgrades:
-3.5 oz tank
-Stock class harness
-Red dot / Fiber optic sight
Strengths: Quality, consistency, barrel, light-weight, customer service, and nice looks.
Weaknesses: The stock class tube may hit the user's goggles when aiming.
Review: Quality. When I hold this marker in my hands, I feel like I am holding a piece of art. This marker is so light it becomes an extention of your arm. Expect to have the accuracy of a high-end marker, because that is what this is. The main difference is that your arm is the cocking mechanism. Unless you have a pneumatic arm, you will save money on paint. If you own this marker, trigger discipline isn't an issue.

Conclusion: You WILL play every week. I can play a full day of paintball at a field for $15 easily. Not many people can claim that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 5th, 2004 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

easix6 Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Sniper II, Tippmann SL-68, Tippmann SL-68 II, Sheridan PGP, Sheridan P-68SC, Sheridan KP-2 Rifle, Sheridan PMI 1
Marker Setup: Rifle Setup: Black VSC Phantom with M-16 (Lonestar) Grip, CCI made L-stock, 14" CCI Standard Barrel, 2.5" pump handle, CCI Trigger shoe, 10 round stock feed. Micro Setup:.45 grip frame, Hogue grips, 5 1/4" custom bbl, 6" Standard CCI bbl, 10 round stock feed / 10 round tubes jammed in stock feed port.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are needed. The marker is ready to go right out of the box. Only upgrades are those to suit your personal preferance.
Strengths: Very light weight but durable. Exceedingly good craftsmanship. Best stock gun on the market.
Weaknesses: None. A little pricey, but well worth the money.
Review: The Phantom VSC is in my opinion the best Stock Gun available on the market. I have owned several guns over the 16 years that I have been playing and in all honesty I find the CCI Phantom to be the best I have had the pleasure of owning to date. It's construction is simple with very easy breakdown characteristics. All parts on the gun are obviously of the utmost quality upon inspection and have been very durable. It is evident that Mike Casady at CCI has excellent quality control and does not cut corners on quality material. The gun is lightweight, yet is extremely durable. In stock class form from 65 - 90 degrees temp you can expect about 40 usable shots per 12 gram, so the gun is very efficient. There are a multitude of parts available from the factory to allow many varied configurations to suit individual preference. The marker is ready to go out of the box though. There are absolutely NO AFTER MARKET PARTS needed when you purchase a Phantom. The only parts / accessories that I have purchased have been to suit my personal preference. The marker is very accurate, reliable and a joy to shoot. My Phantom has never given me an ounce of grief. Finally, the customer service of CCI is well beyond that you will experience with ANY OTHER PAINTBALL COMPANY. Mike is a great guy who will go to great lengths to see that you are satisfied with your purchase. CCI as a company is simply the best paintball entity that I have ever dealt with in my 16 years of playing paintball.
Conclusion: There is no better stock gun on the market in my opinion. The CCI Phantom is built of quality materials formed with the apex of craftsmanship. It is light, rugged and simple to operate / maintain. The customer service is the tops in the industry BAR NONE! I would strongly recommend anyone seriously interested in a stock / pump marker to purchase the CCI Phantom VSC.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fochinx2 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
-BE Talon (HA!): Not exactly the best...;-)
Marker Setup: -VSC Acid Yellow Phantom
-45 trig frame with Hogue grips
-Stock 11" barrel
-PMI Premiums, RPS Marbs, Evil Premiums
Recommended
Upgrades:
-The stock barrel is kinda loud, but extremely accurate. If you want to make it quieter, buy a new barrel (although it's really not neccessary)
-If you dont like 12 grams, buy a 4 oz tank and swap out the cartridge port
Strengths: -Lightweight
-ACCURATE
-Easy to field strip/clean/maintain
-Saves paint
Weaknesses: -Loud stock barrel (Not really a weakness)
Review: I decided to sell my spyder for a phantom because I initially wanted to save paint. Also, everyone said I should get the phantom if I really wanted to go stock. Turns out they right! This baby is full on awesome! Since it is lightweight, I could make long rushes for stretch bunkers easily. The balance of the VSC is also very nice; no bulky tanks or anything. Although some people have said that the phantom isn't exactly the best for speedball, I say nay! As long as you have people providing cover fire for you, if you make it to the front position, eliminations are just a trigger pull away. Of course you'll have to learn to snap shoot and stuff, but that can be learned in just a moment's time. The VSC phantom is an excellent buy for it's money.
>For those of you who are low on money, check out your local field and see if someone is selling there's. I bought mine for 225 brand new (the msrp is like 300 i think).
Conclusion: The VSC phantom is an excellent first or back up marker. If you want to save paint, this is one that will give you what you want for your money. BUY IT NOW!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

IEatStuff Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing similar to The Phantom...
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC
Recommended
Upgrades:
A stock.
Strengths: Most accurate weapon I have ever used. Virtually no chopping.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: This is not a gun, it is a gift from above. First things first, if you don't like pump or stock class guns then don't buy this. Don't play stock if you don't want to use 12 gram co2 catridges and 15 shots of paint. It is amazingly accurate, and retains its accuracy even at long ranges. My Phantom is still the exact same as when I got it, there are no real upgrades accept the stock, and it still performs incredibly. I have chopped all of 4 paintballs in my 1 year of using this gun, and I play alot. I found that after I added a stock to it, I could walk at slow or jogging speeds and still maintain high accuracy, without the stock you will obviously throw off you aim a bit. The mere look of this gun could make someone want to play stock.
Conclusion: If you want to play stock, Buy this weapon. You will not find a stock weapon of higher quality. I love my Phantom, I assure you will too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

madogg87hc Sunday, January 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only automatics or semis
Marker Setup: Impulse, 68ci 4500 nitro, 9 vlt revie, sp sticky grips, powerlyte sceptor barrel system, tapeworm
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a sight or a shoulder stock
Strengths: This is really my friends gun and he let me use for one game
-Mad accuracy
-Cool colors (urban camo, woodland, acid blue)
I didn't think the stock barrel would be worth crap, but it rules. My friend used it at an all day scenario game and he was the only person using a pump, much less a stock gun, and he used it over his orracle.
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing, unless you're used to semis or autos, then you'll have to get used to it.
Conclusion: I'm definatley getting one of these(urban camo), it rocks. I recommend all of you to go out and get this, it'll save you money and improve your tactics.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hawaiian flamer Monday, January 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None really well ya ive only used the tip 98 custom and spyder amg lcd if you want to consider those similar.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom VSC, dye sticky grips, t-stock, dye izon red dot sight, ronin gear stock harness, and trusty pgp
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend the stock and a stock harness to hold 10rd tubes and extra 12 grams, maybe a sight
Strengths: I just love this gun and i love playing stock now because it teaches you to consereve your balls and shots. it teaches you to be patient and you save lots of money when using this unlike the amg where you just unload. The wieght is super you can sprint half way up the field ( down at my friends valley) by the time they even make it down one eighth of the field (because most of my friends are slow or im really fast :P). The aim is amazing i didnt think that a stock barrel could shoot so straight. This gun looks great and performs great.
Weaknesses: The only bad that i find with this gun is the velocity adjuster down the barrel its kinda annyoing. The price was good all the way until i got to the shipping cause im in hawaii! but none the less this gun is awesome.
Conclusion: Love this gun. love the fact that you pay more in the begining to learn it well and stuff then it pays for itself. Love the satisfaction when you take out a guy with a 1,500 dollar gun with your stock. Also love the fact that you can gaurd the flag from the bushes and take out the other team without them even knowing where you are! This gun is great i recomend everyone goes out and gets a stock it brings out the fun in paint ball!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigRizzle Friday, January 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C, Evolution autococker, spyders, pirhannas
Marker Setup: CCI VSC Phantom ,.45 grip, 14" nickel barrel, in yo face stock, right direct feed breech , 4x and 2.5x scope, red dot sight, 4oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock for stabilizing shots, red dot sight or scope, nickel barrel of you're not satisfied with stock barrel, detent rings
Strengths: 1. Accuracy- I can hit a pop can at 40 yards with ease
2. Weight- The phantom fully loaded weighs less than a tippy 98 with no barrel or anything.
3. Easy pump stroke- When you first get the gun, the pump stroke is kinda stiff but once ya get it broken in it is like butter.
4. Durability- This think is all aluminum except for the pump, and since its a pum, there are no holes for dirt or crap to get in it.
5. Easy disassembly- Just take apart the two thumb screws and it is apart
6. Simplicity- There are only 3 moving parts when you take out the thumbscrews, so even a dumba$$ can figure it out.
7. Badassedness- There is no better feeling in paintball when you demoralize your opponents by killing them with a stock class pump. Take it to em on the field and show them the phantom's power.
8. Looks tight and has many annodizing options
Weaknesses: The only thing i can think of is velocity adjustment, but its easy once you've got the hang of it, just try not to strip out the nylon tip.
Most people hate on pumps, but you show them the phantom and they should will learn to respect it if you know how to use it correctly.
Conclusion: The Phantom is a great gun and one of the best pumps made. CCI has the best customer sevice anywhere( mike cassidy sent me a new detent ring cause my other one was busted). The accuracy of this gun is amazing so you will easily be able to out range your friends that have semis or other pumps. Playing speedball with the phantom is awesome as well as woods ball because it os so compact and light. It is more reliable in hot or cold weather than any of my friends guns and hasn't broken down on me yet. Playing with the phantom is more fun, challenging, and a hell of a lot cheaper than playing with a semi. Even if you are into tournaments and play strictly with semis, you should pick up a phantom to inhance your skills. This gun rocks ass so buy it now. And by the way, dont even bother reading that idiot who gave the phantom a 2 because he obviously is not ready for a killin machine like this.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:57 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer pump, Spyder rental gun
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom stock class, vertical air, 45 grip w/ black DYE stickies, ADCO e-Dot, CCI T-stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-stock really improves stability, red dot sight will make it hard to miss your target.
Strengths: This is one sweet marker. I cannot imagine playing with anything else. It is a lot of fun to tear up semi owners on the field with it. Accuracy is excellent, stock barrel is also very, very good. It is a little loud, but I kind of like it. Very gas efficient, and extremely easy to disassemble and clean, even in the field. The simplicity of this gun is absolutely elegant. You will save a small fortune on paint with this marker also. I generally shoot about 50 rounds a day when playing, and still make plenty of eliminations.
Weaknesses: Really nothing. The only "problem" I had was that it came with a 15-round feed tube that stuck out a bit far. After replacing it with a 10-round, it is easier to sight with.
Conclusion: You can't go wrong with this gun if you want a simple to use, yet highly accurate and dependable marker. Stock class is not a handicap with this gun, it makes you more mobile and much more dangerous. CCI has a fantastic product here; give it a try.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media