paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Smart Parts Linear Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Linear Barrels
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 92
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A straight ported barrel from Smart Parts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Linear Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Opteron_FA Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month57 of 60 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Razzor
Odyssey Barrel
SP Freak
SP All American
Marker Setup: Gameface Vexor
Empire Reloader 2 (Revy Version)
Odyssey Twist Feedneck
Smart Parts 16" Linear Barrel
20oz Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap Rec Series - Work very good to be on the cheap side of paint.
Super Swirls - Work the best in my opinion.
Strengths: Slick
Quiet
Accurate
Nice Bore Size
Weaknesses: Doesn't clean barrel as effectively as others....
Review: I was looking around for a new barrel and came across this new Smart Parts barrel. Looks nice and has a nice price tag! $30!

As soon as the barrel came home, I gave it the tests I give to all my paintball equipment.

Smart Parts 16" Linear Barrel
-Super Swirls were used since they had perfect paint/barrel match.

Test #1 (75ft, No wind)
All balls pretty much landed ontop of each other with a spread of about 3-5 inches... not bad!

Test #2 (Barrel Break)
On this test I broke a paintball and smeared it all in the inside of the barrel to see how good it cleans on breaks... Well it's really not the best at that you have to shoot quite a bit to get your accuracy back.

It's not a real easy clean on barrel breaks, but it's nothing to really worry about if you just rec ball. But if you're a tourney player, you might want to look else where.
Conclusion: Personally, I really recommend this barrel. It's a good all around barrel that has superb accuracy for he price tag. I give this product a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ace_of_diamonds Wednesday, March 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Stock Barrel
Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (bet you didnt see that one coming)
4-point adjustable stock
Smart Parts 14' Linear Barrel
OR
Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint works. i have been using white box paint so far, looking forward to seeing what this thing can do with good paint.
Strengths: Crazy Accurate
Really Cheap Considering Quality
Weaknesses: So far, none. no chops, no anything bad. This barrel performs.
Review: Alright, here i am with my flatline barrel 30 feet away from this guy who doesn't even know im there so i take my time line up a perfect shot and BANG then i watch as my perfect shot decides it likes a tree off to the left more than its intended target and flies over there....Damn.

the point is, i needed a new barrel so i started shopping around for one. i looked at the progressive for a while but then i noticed this jewel. its 39$ Canadian where i got it and honestly. i would buy this barrel for sixty without hesitation. it is ridiculously accurate and also it is quite quiet. also it looks really sleek on the end of a a-5 w/ stock.
Conclusion: It is cheap, great quality, quiet, good looks and everything else you want from a barrel.
if you have 39$ you may just want to go out and get this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Somm-1 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Progressive 16", Stock Barrels
Marker Setup: -Spyder Sonix 06'
-SP Linear 14"
-CO2
-Egg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch, Big Ball
Strengths: -Quiet
-Accurate
-Doesn't break balls very often
Weaknesses: -Doesn't shoot through breaks very well
Review: I love this barrel, it's accurate (I shot a guy that was 100 feet away twice in the mask), quiet (with my sonix) and looks good besides. It takes about 7 shots to clean a break, although it only breaks 1 of like 2000. I have put over 5k through it and only 2 broke. This barrel looks good too, especially on my sonix. From fifty feet away the only sound you will hear is a little popping sound, you can't tell where it's coming from at all.
Conclusion: This barrel is a good barrel for little $$$, the good far outways the bad, this barrel and the Ceramic are probably the only two this good for under $50. Try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 9:21 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

physh247 Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock C98 (dont touch it)
SP teardrop 14"
Marker Setup: c98
bt rocket cock
double trigger
ricochet ak
trinity drop asa w on/off
co2
crossman red dot
lapco offset sight rail
custom steel t-stock
sp linear 16"
Recommended
Paintballs:
its not picky
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Looks nice
cCheaper than any other barrels
Weaknesses: This thing doesnt have any
Review: Well this thing is sweet. i picked it up right before i went with my buds one day, and i was surprised at how consistent it was, even with co2. the balls kept landing on top of each other and it made a deadly combo with my c98 and red dot sight. my gun, party because of the rocket cock and partly becasue of the barrel, is now of the most quiet tippys ive seen. so its safe to say the barrel is quiet. also, i go and shoot stuff up at a park nearby with some friends and the barrel never fails to perform. i though my old teardop was really accurate, but the linear surprised me and it keeps impressing me every time i use it. it also looks really sweet.
Conclusion: its got it all: accurate, quiet, good looks, and you won't have to dish out 100 bones for it. at a mere $40 (CDN) it's worth getting it for sure. hell, id even buy it for twice that. it shoots as well as any high end barrel and it will serve any type of player really well. go get one now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

twokren Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Pro Stock Barrell
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Smart Parts Linear Barrell 16"
Adjustable Car Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't really matter. Just dont use really crappy paint.
Strengths: Shoots Straight
Quiet because it has a lot of holes.
Weaknesses: Bad with breaks.
Doesn't clean itself well.
Hard to clean the holes.
Review: This is a great barrell. I was out looking for a barrell and I was thinking of a J&J. So i went to my local paintball store and saw this smart parts and gave it a try. I loved it. It shoots straight and it was cheap. I'm talking $30-$35. Its great.
Conclusion: If your an amatuer or a novice definitly get this since you need to save cash to buy paint and stuff. Its great it shoots well and straight but you need to be careful of breaking balls. Nothings perfect so i give it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 19th, 2006 at 6:00 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

wannabedynasty Thursday, June 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
freak barrel
Marker Setup: A-5 with rufus dawg wicked venturi bolt/response trigger/pro team carbine 6 position stock/16 inch Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
EMPIRE RAMP(best paint ever) Proto darts work pretty well too.
Strengths: It shoots far and is very accurate.
Weaknesses: Chops make the accuracy basically dissapear.
Review: This barrel IS FREAKING AWESOME. befor i bought this i had the stock 8.5 inch and then i put this baby on and it shot like three times longer then the stock barrel. I have 5 acres and i shot my gun and i t went accurately about 1.5 acres but went about 2 acres its pretty sweet.
Conclusion: I can shoot powerlines with this it is AWESOME.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Lizard dude Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 flatline
A-5 stock
98 flatline
98 stock
Marker Setup: A-5 with car stock
remote coil
response trigger
smart parts linear 16 inch barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's not picky
Strengths: light
accurate
shoots far
sleek
quiets a snarling beast like the A-5
cool overall
Weaknesses: Broken paint gets trapped in the holes
Review: I went down to my local proshop because I had my mind set on a new Apex barrel for my A-5 but when I got there the guy there said that the Apex could be a bother to fine tune. Besides, it was way too expensive for me. He recommended this smart parts 16 inch barrel. I had never heard of it but its cool design intrigued me. The best part was when the guy said this thing went for only 35 bucks! I was sold. I rushed home with my new barrel and went to work unattaching the flatline that was on my A-5 at the time and attaching the new barrel. I had no good paint around the house but managed to find some 3 year old white box lame paint from before I went to my first game. Some of the balls were sun-bleached and deformed but I popped them into my hopper anyway and went outside to test it. Tying a little buoy to a tree I made a makeshift target and stood about 80 feet away. It shot straight as a ruler. Even from a standing position with nothing to rest my gun on it shot dead on. I shot a couple out into the lake and they went so far out there wasn't even a splash. I shot it from the hip and bullseye. Out of the fifty or so old balls I shot only one broke. I was surprised, these balls should be breaking in the gun left and right. It was a little hard to clean the paint out of the barrel holes but it wasn't impossible. The bottomline is this marker is brilliant and for a dirt cheap price. I would have paid double the price for such a accurate barrel. Snipers will love it. I am and I do. Just try to bring a battle swab with you into a game or you may end up having to remove your barrel to clean it.
Conclusion: Awesome. accurate, stealthy, really cheap, cool design, quiet, perfect. I can't wait to test it in a game. Even with 3 year old demented paint it will still give you one shot and one kill.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ek4dizzle Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
SP All-American Barrel, Rating: 8.5/10

SP Tear Drop Barrel, Rating: 8/10

Stock Spyder Rodeo Barrel, 5/10
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo, Smart Parts 14" Linear Barrel, Shocktech SuperFly Long Bolt, 20oz Co2 tank, Extreme Rage Gravity Hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs. I use Draxxus Rec-Sports and Stinger paintballs
Strengths: Design, and Price
Weaknesses: I haven't found any so far.
Review: We went paintballing today and the barrel did it's job better than the all-american did. My shots were more accurate suprisingly for spending only 30 some dollars on this barrel, when I spent 65 on the all-american. The barrel didn't get dirty at all during the first game we played. I unloaded one full hopper and a half during the first game, I checked my barrel and it was still clean. Third game comes around and I unloaded about half a hopper, the barrel was still doing it's job. The barrel had a decent amount of residue after 6 games. 2 of those games were scenario play in the woods. and the other 4 were speedball.
Conclusion: It's cheap, and it gets the job done. If you're low on cash i'd recommend getting this barrel, don't settle for anything less.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 26th, 2006 at 9:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

natedog75 Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder spiral ported Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
Richochet Ak
20 oz CO2 / spare 9 oz C02
Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Very Accurate
Doesn't Break Balls
Quiet
Cheap
Weaknesses: Logos Don't line up on my Spyder Pilot ACS
Review: Well I went to a paintball park where i never had been before this weekend. Tired of my stock gun i bought a few ups. This barrel was one of them. I played speed ball with my friends i usually shot up 2000 balls in a day just so i could hit whatever i am shooting at. My stock barrel stinks. I used about 300 balls in 3 hours of on field play i would be able to hit the other team as they were setting up on the field while i was running to the bunker of choice. I love this barrel it will improve your game greatly for a minimum amount of doe. There is no doubt where it is going. Oh yeah i was using white box paint. Every ball had a dimple still shot great but a few were uncorrectable. I also had Mosterballs by BRASS EAGLE HA HA HA Cheap woods ball paint!! IT SHOT IT GREAT EVERY SHOT ON TOP OF ONE ANOTHER. I usually shoot three shot burst just to make sure i get them but with this ONE SHOT KILL EVERY TIME. VERY CONSTANT. Thanks Smart Parts!!
Conclusion: Great low price barrel buy it. Gave it a ten on performace
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Wolf1990 Sunday, September 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline - shoots farther then linear, but linear is definately more accurate
Apex - almost the same as flatline, except not as paint picky and shoots slightly more accurate.
16 in Progressive barrel - Linear is overall better in both distance and accuracy.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with 16 inch progressive smart parts barrel
double trigger
folding stock

A-5 with X-7 low profile hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but Brass Eagle Wild Streaks
Strengths: CHEAP!! YEAH!!!
Accurate, slightly longer shot distance
Weaknesses: Not the best of the best, but works very well for the price
Review: I bought the 14 inch Linear barrel for my A-5 on ebay for $18 and it works great. I play alot of outlaw woods ball with friends so we just kinda guess what our velocity is by sight and sound. I first had my velocity set for my stock barrel, but when you add the Linear Barrel to it, it makes the Velocity go up a lot therefor making it very inaccurate because the ball would come out too fast and it would make this weird shot pattern of falling, then it would spiral back upwards, kinda like a tornado on its side. But of course I solve this problem by just turning the velocity down, and now I can shoot about 100ft with some good accuracy. It will hit right on top of each other even with co2 at about 40 feet. I compared it with my friends flatline and even though he can out shoot me in range, at 40 feet, I would hitting my target more then him because his balls would start curving slightly to the left or to the right and it was also more quite then his flatline. Compared to the progressive barrel I once had, it also shoots slightly more accurate and further because the linear barrel puts a choke about half way threw the barrel giving it more push while for the most part, the progressive barrel was just a longer barrel that was just slightly better then the stock. The linear barrel is not the best of the best barrels out there that you can buy. But for the price, even if you bought it new for $30, its out performes does most of the other barrels out there that cost twice that much. I personally have never broken a single good/fresh paintball threw this barrel. I have broken a few super cheap / super old tactical performance paintballs with dimples in them that also had gotton overheated in my truck several times and the accuracy would get effected somewhat when the ball broke and paint got in the barrel, but with a quick swab threw the barrel, it was just as good except for the paint that was being held up in the portholes on the end, but the portholes don't really do anything for accuracy. I learned its just quicker to poor water over the holes then dry it off then it is to clean each little hole separately.
Conclusion: If your always on budget and scratching for money just to play like me, but you always want the best accuracy you can get with a slight plus in distance, then this is definitely the barrel for you. I'm giving it an 9 because of how well it performs and the fact its super cheap, should be a $50 barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media