paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Smart Parts Linear Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Linear Barrels
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 92
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A straight ported barrel from Smart Parts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Linear Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Squirrelking Wednesday, May 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro Basic (drop forward, double trigger, 11" Werks barrel)
HPA 50 ci Worrgame Tank
Cyclone
RT trigger
16" linear
Recommended
Paintballs:
paint that is matched to bore size would be best
I've been using Draxxus Midnight and have had no problems
Strengths: silent
looks
accurate
Price
shoots through breaks
Weaknesses: Heavy
paint finish
Review: This review is for a 16" black Linear

PROS

Compared to stock barrels, the Linear makes a lot less noise. I play in the woods so this is greatly appreciated when I'm sneaking up on an enemy.

I personally love the look of the barrel. Plus It goes really well with the look of my Custom Pro.

I can routinely (9 times out of 10) hit my friends hopper from 50' away. To his cleaning pleasure of course!

For 30$, you can't go wrong.

Plus I've had a few barrel Breaks: 3-4 in 1000-1300 shots. But it managed to shoot very well through them: the first 3 balls out might swerve a bit but then it's back to normal.

CONS

This barrel is heavy. I know it's a 16", but it still is very heavy. I don't mind, because weight is not a factor for me. But if weight is a factor for you, this is something to consider.

I'm disappointed in the paint finish: it has a purple-ish tint to it that keeps it from meshing perfectly with my marker. Plus it is a bit shiny, could be a disadvantage in the woods.
Conclusion: Bottom line: for 30$, you can't go wrong. Is this the best barrel out there? Of course not. But for the price it has great performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

player1.0 Monday, January 31st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts vibe stock barrel
dye ultralite
custom products classic one peice
Marker Setup: smart parts vibe
linear barrel
compressed air tank
Strengths: VERY accurate
light
looks nice
quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: Okay. I know that there are these retarded kids that say "oh, this barrel is a good as the dye ultralite." they say that when they want to explain that the barrel is good. Me and my brother have done multiple tests to prove that this barrel is as accurate as the dye ultralite. the first test we did was a target test. we each shot one paintball at 10 multiple sized targets. the results were that each of us hit all ten target. the next test was in the heat of battle. we played two 10 v 10 rounds at high velocity in the map "trenches." when my brother used the dye ultralite, he got three people out. when he used the linear barrel, he got an astonishing 8 people out. now, my barrel is enchanted with part of the eight poor souls who he shot that day.
Conclusion: Both me and my brother came to the conclusion that he like my barrel as much as his dye ultralite and went out to buy it the next day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr-paintball Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Piranha R6
16" SP linear barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
any (good quality shoots better of course)
Strengths: cool looking
Pretty quite
Accurate
Not shiny
Price
Weaknesses: Nothing yet!!
Review: OK, ive had this barrel for about 3 days and ive tried it twice. and it preforms!

I was standing about 50 feet away with 2 barrels. my stock PMI R6 barrel (crap...), and my brand new, strait out of the box 16" linear barrel. first i tried out my stock barrel. now, i have a little picnic table ( 2 feet x 4 feet) set up and a tarp behind it, not to make a mess. anyway... i shot about 10 balls. they hit the tarp around it, with about a 3 foot spray radius. dang. well, i thought, i might as well us my new barrel. and, once again, i shot 10 balls. they all hit the table, pretty much on top of each other. well about 5 cm spray radius. its also light, but its hard and very durable. the only thing wrong about this is that, because of its shape, its a little hard to clean. but otherwise its easy enough.

Another thing i wanna talk about about is the price. i think its a good price. which is $39 cdn. i would defiantly pay $50-$60 for this any day! Im going to a big game this sunday so after that ill update to show how the barrel preformed.


OK. well, for the rest of the review. as the big game went on, i found that i was taking out about the same number of people the scenario built people were, because of the barrel. i also didnt get spotted as easily as some other people did, because the barrel is a matte black finish, so its a little more stealthy than some others, it made a good sniper barrel too (on my piranha r6) because as i was up in a tower, i was acually hitting people, because of the length, not just missing them as they were standing out in the open. so i think that the barrel is good for the woods ball scene.
Conclusion: I would strongly recomend getting this barrel if ur in the market. it definatly is a very good price for this great of a gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 5th, 2007 at 12:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sameagol26 Tuesday, July 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini stock barrel
BT Delta stock barrel
98 Custom 8.5 inch barrel
BT AK47 barrel
Marker Setup:
Empire Events maskBlue Invert Mini
Halo BV35 with Rip Drive
62/3000 psi Tank (Basic)
PMI Squeegee

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" linear barrel
4 Position car stock
Rail Mount
Airsoft Acog scope
BT Bipod and adapter
Tippmann double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
It can use any from low grade to high end paint but I suggest something in the middle like Premium. I use Xball paint as my primary but its bore is too small for the barrel so I dont always get consistent accuracy. I have used Cryptic paint and it shot well
Strengths: Its cool shape and looks
Nice Porting- keeps it quiet
Length
Price
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Large bore size
Accuracy can be inconsistent
Review: I got this barrel probably almost a year and a half ago and I have to say it is definitely a step up from the stock 98 custom barrel. It fires straight and true ONCE you find the right paint. I have used many different types, from JT paintballs (Really cheap paintballs) to Xball (Mid- grade walmart paintballs) or cryptic. they have all had different results but generally end up doing almost the same performance. I prefer the Xball paintballs because they usually have the best accuracy with the barrel.

The barrel is very durable, and easy to clean. All you need is a good squegee and then a good old rinse of water and you're all set. I have many times smashed this barrel off of rocks and concrete and I haven't seen any difference in performance. It has the odd chips, and scratches but none that effect accuracy whatsoever. The inside of the barrel is polished to a nice smooth shiny texture and is ver consistent. I have usually gotten a pretty decent spread with the balls I use. I just recently tested the barrel with low quality field paint and the paintballs averaged in a 12" spread which isn't that bad. I have only ever once chopped a ball and that was with Recon paintballs from wal mart which are garbage. It is also fairly quiet, quieter then the stock barrel.

Now by no means is this barrel perfect. Obviously it has its flaws. The main flaw which I have briefly mentioned is its inconsistency with paint. It will have different results depending on what paint you use. basically when you go to choose paint, buy stuff that is at least mid grade for good results. Now obviously you can use low grade paint but it will chop paint and it won`t be the most accurate out there. Also if you are into milsim guns then this barrel wont look the best because of the odd shape it has.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a barrel that is cheap and will get you good accurate shots on your gun, look no further because this barrel is it. It will send your paintballs straight and true. I recommend this to anyone who is looking to step up their game.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

silenthawk Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock barrel- good barrel for the first 3 days you play
-Stiffi Barrel- Good with THE RIGHT SIZED PAINT. If you have too small of paint, which most standard is, then it wont be accurate at all. Better then linear with the right paint.
-Progresive barrel-Linear is better in my opinion and looks cooler, also its a bit more accurate.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14" Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Commando Stock
Tapco Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any standard sized paintballs
Strengths: -Weight
-Looks
-Accurate
-cheap
-Standard bore
-shiny or dull
-scratch resistant
-never chops
Weaknesses: -Balls curve to the side after about 100 feet
-May be a bit long.

Review: I picked this barrel up after hearing the great reviews. Its cheap and looks awesome. When I was playing, it was hitting a spread of about 4 inches from about 75 feet away. I was lucky enough to hit someone through a 2x2 hole inside a bunker. It was pretty sweet. It was a total fluke though. Don't expect the most crazy accuracy from this barrel.. Yes its accurate, but you wont be hitting one on top of each other from 75 feet away. Amazingly it didn't chop a single ball and I was using some pretty junk paintballs. If you have the money, get a lapco big shot, a freak barrel or a stiffi, if your on a budget get this barrel for sure!!!! Or you can get a J&J, but i couldn't find one here in Canada. GET A RED DOT SITE WITH THIS BARREL, MAKES AIMING OH SO MUCH EASIER!!!!
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this barrel to anyone looking for there first barrel upgrade. It has great accuracy for the money you pay and looks pretty kill. The only problem i had was that it would be better if they made one in 12", it would be more convenient, and the balls kind of curve to the left and right after about 100 feet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Foxhound4 Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 barrel-crap
Apex A5 barrel- fun but inaccurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Spec Ops Dogleg stock
Remote
Air tank
Spec Ops Custom vest
16 in smart parts linear
Recommended
Paintballs:
I recommend DBX practice grade, good reasonably priced stuff, nice fill too
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Sleek design
Weaknesses: Ball breaks can be messy
Review: I used a Tippmann A5 stock barrel once and decided that a new barrel was one of my first upgrades. I played around with my friend's Apex and thought it was awsome but not for me, I was looking for something a little more accurate. I stopped by my local store and looked around, my first noobish question was "whats the longest A5 barrel you've got?" and the autococker loving counter guy said "uhhh this smart parts thing" well i got it and thought it was a good deal at 40 bucks. The barrel was nice, when I first hooked it up on the gun I layed down some practice paint and it was shooting hot I was putting ball after ball down on the same few square inches. Now the only barrel I use is the 16 in linear, with good accuracy a great price wonderful stealth and all around great looks. I scored some great kills and I usually play medium rifleman but if need be I can sub in for a sniper if we are desperate.
Conclusion: Anyone short on cash and in need of a barrel this is your buy.
Anyone who needs a barrel at all should buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kung_fu_hippe Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
progressive,
Marker Setup: Ricochet 2K, 20oz tank, spyder pilot
Strengths: Much better then stock, cheap
Weaknesses: Not as good as progressive/J&J
Review: Well, I was trying out my friends 98 with a 16 inch linear, and it was okay. It was alot better then my stock barrel, but, I found it wasn't quite as accurate as the proggresive I tried out earlier was. Its an okay barrel, but there are better for 10-20$ more.
Conclusion: Put the extra 20 bucks in and get a J&J or progressive, they are more accurate.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Specialist101 Tuesday, October 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 (stock), except 16" linear barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any quality woods balls as I've never really played Xball but marbelizers & draxus are always good.
Strengths: Pretty accurate.
Quite.
Doesnt break many balls.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate after ball breaks.
Ten shots to clean out without taking off the barrel
Review: This is a quality barrel all in all, although it does have its flaws. I will focus on its good points. I will start with fact that the cost is very inexpensive which kinda threw me but I couldnt resist. The first time I used this on a field I knew it was a good investment even though I didnt invest all that much, which is always a bonus. My game was alot better in the aspect that my shots were going where I wanted them to, which meant I was hitting more often then not and not wasting so much ammo. This also comes in handy when your sitting in a bush an trying not to give your possition away.
I would recommend this barrel to someone who is looking to save a bit of cash but get a little more out of your gun. This will help save money for an equipment upgrade later down the road but still allow you to, again, get more out of their gun
Conclusion: Good barrel. Its dirt cheap. You really cant lose, even if you expected more, look at how much you paid.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 14th, 2009 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Voodoo Baller Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none of this quality unless the flatline barrel counts as high quality
Marker Setup: -Smart parts linear barrel 16 inch (rifled apparently)
-4 postision CAR stock
-Trinity carry handle w/ side weaver rails
-NcSTAR 1x30 B-style red dot scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
any good to high quality paint
Strengths: Looks
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Cleaning
design
Review: I purchased this barrel from the field "Barrie Paintball" entrusting the owner of the field that this was infact an effective barrel, he couldn't have been more right, this barrel out shoots the flatline and stock barrel that I previously used. Apparantly the barrel is "rifled" or so it says on the package, I looked inside of it and can only see minor grooves in the barrel, nothing to confirm this. What can be confirmed however is the reliability of the barrel (So long as the barrel is clean) and accuracy, I was so impressed with the performance, that I sold my Flatline for 500 paintballs (45$). This barrel (my 16 inch) is ideal for all ranges, but because there are no such thing as snipers in paintball so (no offense) mid range is the most ideal range for engagement (If you like to play at that range). Ultimately this barrel is awesome for whatever position you play in paintball, I personally recommend it for woodsball. (note: look at other reviews to see range/groupings specifically)
Conclusion: For 98 custom, you can't go wrong, but make sure you look at other products and their reviews before you decide to buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

demoteam44 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 barrel
Stock A-5 barrel
Linear 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with R/T
MP5 SD shroud
MP5 Air-thru mag
A5A2 Commando Stock
14" Linear SmartParts Barrel
Adco Hot Shot red dot scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anthing that will fit the bore, or something a little smaller.
Strengths: ACCURACY!
PRICE!
Looks cool
Easy to clean (in my opinion)
Weaknesses: Games dont last that long cause you pick off the targets to fast :P
Review: I used this barrel for the first time yesturday..and WOW! I could stand at least 100ft from a window, and i was able to hit the middle of the cross beam in the window with every shot i took. (i took about 15 shots). I did get some crap paint at first, and i got a barrel break. I took my reds and with one swipe paint was gone. Some people cry about paint getting stuck in the holes. I used the swab and cleaned out the paint just fine. Build looks good. Looks like it could take a beating. I fired about 900 rounds of X.O hotbox paint and every ball (even with R/T) went where i wanted. I was able to thred the needle, through a few doors and windows and peg a noob in the face. :)
Conclusion: AWSOME! Can't beat the price for what you get. I definatly suggest getting this barrel for any of the guns because it goes straight (unike the flat line) the whole way so it is definatly woth getting. BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media