paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Smart Parts Linear Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Linear Barrels
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 92
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A straight ported barrel from Smart Parts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Linear Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
ethan rice Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees night stick.
It's not as good as a linear.
Marker Setup: Diablo mongoose II reincarnation LED, 20z co2, Empire reloader, smart parts linear.
Recommended
Paintballs:
probably use x ball although i used those and walmart paint
the cheap paint still worked but the x balls hit the same spot from like 30 ft away in a busrt!
Strengths: Adds a lot of distance to your gun and accurate.


Weaknesses: Not as good at a far distance but thats not too suprising.
Review: Not only does the barrel look sweet on a mongoose, but it worked pretty well with most paints. I was picking off heads from at least 30 feet with wall mart paint which is satisfying. I managed to pin down and head shot my buddy who's been playin longer and has a wrath LTD (Wicked gun) from like 40-50 feet with xball. The barrel also cut down on sound and vibration which is good because the mongoose has a lot of vibration. this helped my screws stay in the gun for once and it helped with my hopper issues (the mongoose feed neck is too wide for the Empire reloader stem). In other words, my hopper falls off when i walk the trigger too much. Anyways, the barrel was very good for the price and i would recommend it in a second to any rec player or beginning team player like me.
Conclusion: Wicked barrel especially for the price. If you need a new barrel and are short on cash, definitely buy one. It works with almost all paints!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

delldude405 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
14'' Pmi Razzor
Stock Spyder Barrels
Tippmann Flatline
8 1/2 in Stock A-5 barrel
Marker Setup: Tricked Out Spyder Imagine. A Spyder Tlr that i made a sniper rifle. Abd Of Course My A-5.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Dusk. (Dunhams), Wrek Elite, DBX. any thing bout .679-.68
Strengths: Really Accurate. Quiet! in 3 lengths for same $'s
Weaknesses: None
Review: So I was Playing the Role of Sniper during a protect the president game so i was taking some practice shots at hitting the flag and I was amazed that i hit it one of the reffs was looking around because it it was soooo quiet and accurate. Oh and the Flag was about 3" wide. and i was about 35-40 feet out. I promise. you have to use ok paint. Oh and dont believe the things you read of heard about breaks being hard to clean just get a squeege that folds open and you stick down the barrel to clean it out. No more taking the barrel off. if you sniping its perfect no noise.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if your upgrading. plus if you shop around you can find it for cheep like 30 dollars.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatmaster369 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
teardrop- good but not as accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
-14' Linear Barrel
-Smoke Richocet Apache LED hopper
-12 oz pure energy co2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
small and medium bore size works best
Strengths: -very accurate
-increases range a bit
-PRICE: $35 new!
-cool design
Weaknesses: -Middle section is a little small and that sometimes jamms balls
- Kinnda hard to clean
Review: So I'm at my paintball store lookin for a new barrel to improve my accuracy. I was pretty convinced that i wanted to buy the All American. But a man in the store said that I could get the same results with the linear. So considering the linear was about $50 cheaper, I bought it. The next week i took it out to the feild to give it a go. It worked great! I don't know if it is as good as the All American, but i was able to put about 6-8 balls within 3 inches of each other from 50 yards away. During a few games though, balls got jammed in the middle part of the barrel. But i just took the barrel off and flicked the paintballs out and it worked.
Conclusion: Overall, I'am very pleased with this barrel. If you don't want to pay through the nose to improve your accuracy, get this up grade. Just make sure you don't use .693 paint!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rand al'Thor Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none rifled
Marker Setup: Icon E, regular hopper for now, and 20 oz. CO2 and a Freak Jr.
I have used it with an Revolution hopper and I have to say...wow ...I can shoot pretty fast
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever fits
Strengths: Quiet
accurate
Weaknesses: not as good as I hoped
Review: I got this barrel for my friend ( birthday) for his Model 98C, as soon as we got to his house we tried it...and I've got to say that it is an OK barrel...but I brought both my Icon E and an 68 Automag ( which belongs to my sister's fiancee, who was lending it to me)
My Icon E ( which many people say bites) actually did pretty well when compared to the Model 98 with the Linear barrel....and I was using the stock barrel....ouch....
The Automag kicked his 98C.....and guess what....the Automag needs to be serviced....its leaking gas and not performing as well as it should...but it was still better than the 98c with the linear barrel....
Conclusion: It is a good barrel.....just not TOO good....if my Icon's barrel can almost match its accuracy.....again ouch....but I have had people tell me that it is only this way with the 98c, so just understand that my review is only based on the barrel's performance with the 98c
I still suggest buying a more expensive barrel, like the Freak Jr. I have one of those and it rocks out loud
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 at 9:37 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

PattyPaTatty Wednesday, May 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All-American
Smart Parts Progressive
Smart Parts Tear Drop
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Expansion Chamber
Collapsible Stock
E-Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Very Accurate
Not very loud
Light
Durable
Weaknesses: Barrel is still decent but not as good if there's a ball break
Review: If ur looking for a good accurate barrel this is probably the one for you.....i tend to use 12 to 14 inch barrels but i went with a 16 with the linear so i could get a bit more distance with it....the first time i used it i was using old paint that was prolly over a year old so it didnt do as well as i hoped but when i used it with newer better paint it worked like a gem.....i feel like with this one you velocity doesn't have to be crazy high but if you have it at the right velocity you'll be hitting the same spot everytime...i have an e-trigger on my a-5 and was worried if i went full auto with it the barrel couldn't keep up and it would just chop balls but it doesn't....out of 2000 shots ive probably broken 2-5 balls....it just depends on what kind of player you are if your going crazy shooting automatic i dont care what barrel you use ur gonna break some balls.
Conclusion: I thought this barrel was awesome...ive used other smart parts barrels and honestly are the only barrels i use because they are so dependable....id probably go with an all-american but with the linear i got it at a longer size for distance and its perfect for my setup....this is a good barrel and didnt have many problems with it...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 18th, 2011 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Konraden Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Flatline
Tippman A-5 stock 8" Barrel
Lapco Bigshot 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
X7 LP Hopper
RAP4 Aluminum Power Tube + Bolt
Liberty Collapsible Stock
Upz 3000psi Remote coil
NXe 4+1 Harness
Recommended
Paintballs:
Fired with Fireball "premium" paint (from Draxxus, Exotic Sportz, used at Hell Survivors playing field)
Strengths: Accurate, light, sturdy, easy to clean barrel, inexpensive
Weaknesses: Porting not easy to clean, longer than average barrel
Review: I played at Hell Survivor's infamous Monster Game over the weekend (a grueling 12 hours of playtime), and was genuinly shocked at the Smartparts 14" Linear barrel's performance. I paid a scant $12 for the barrel, and "you get what you pay for" did not apply. Normally $35, eBay was able to save me almost three times the cost of this barrel.

During the course of the two days, I made several confirmed kills with laser point accuracy. The stock barrel is simply too inconsistent in its shots, leading to many dips and curves of the balls over range. The Flatline, although handy for getting that extra range, suffers the same dip-and-curve problem over range as the stock barrel. I was slightly more pleased with the Lapco 14" barrel I have, but again, over range, I was placing shots in a 6'x'6' square--great for an aftermarket barrel. When I screwed in my Linear this year, I was blown away. At 100', I was putting 90% of balls in a 3'x3' square. The accuracy was phenomenal. I lose the range advantage of the Flatline, but the accuracy more than makes up for it. I don't tend to long-ball the opponents, and prefer to be a little more up close where I can guarantee ball breaks.

The laser-accuracy of the barrel undermined by the incosistency of CO2. My next upgrades will be to an HPA system. Hopefully, it'll keep my velocity more consistent and result in fewer dropped balls.

The Linear barrel was also quite durable. I routinely threw the barrel down onto cover, using the cover as a hardpoint mount for the barrel. I didn't see any chips or cracks in the barrel after 12 hours of playing and beating up my barrel. The only time I had a ball break in my gun was when I slipped in mud, shoved the barrel into the ground, and came up with an inch of mud caked into the barrel. I fired a couple of times to clear the crap out (never do that with a real gun, eh), and noticed I had a ball break in the barrel. Nothing a little wiping didn't clean out.

The greatest downside of this barrel was that I kept pushing into objects (on accident). I'm used to the rather short 8" stock barrel and Flatline, so running around from cover to cover left me poking my gun into plywood, trees, and other hard objects. A testament to the durability of the A5 and Smartparts barrel, to be sure.
Conclusion: I'm a cheap guy, and I wouldn't have bought this barrel at $35. Getting it at so low cost genuinely surprised me. If you see $35 lying around and you don't have an excellent barrel, this is definitely a great one to pick up (they come in 14 and 16 inch flavors). For its low cost, the performance advantage is huge over stock parts.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jake is killer Monday, June 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippmann barrel
Marker Setup: tippman 98c platnium
smart parts linear 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Length
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
Paint can stick to it
Review: I bought this used it around 3 times 1 ball broke inside and i had to sit out a game to clean it. The price is good the length of the gun is good and the bore size I think is alittle to big. overall great accuracy i like it
Conclusion: Awsome barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord_Sidious Tuesday, January 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel (do I really need to answer this one?)
Apex barrel & Tip (more range, less accurate)
RAP4 M-16 barrel (about the same quality)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Cyclone Feed
Invert Halo Too Loader
Response trigger
Apex barrel & Tip
Smart Parts Linear Barrel
collapsible stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most .688-.689 paintballs should work. Stay away from "el cheapo" brand paintballs.
Strengths: Cheap
Lightweight
Decent accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: The SP logos do not align perfectly, but that is no biggie
Review: This barrel is worth every penny. If you're on a budget, and want something to upgrade from the stock barrel, this is one you should definitely look at.

It is very accurate up to 80-90 feet using medium quality paint. Should perform better with higher quality paint, but I haven't had a chance to try that.

My backyard is about 100 feet across and I am able to hit consistently a 2 gallon bucket from that distance, using Draxxus Basic Training paintballs.

Noise reduction is noticeable.

Some people report an increase in range, I didn't see that, but, on the last hyperball game I played a few weeks ago I was able to pick off players right from the break. I had to arc my shots, of course. From one end of the hyperball field to the other is about 175 feet.

I paid $29.00 for mine.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to those who are on a budget and are looking for an economic alternative to the stock barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 12th, 2010 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

downedmedic Sunday, September 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak jr.
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical, 14" linear
Strengths: Quiet, accurate, affordable, light
Weaknesses: Haven't found any yet
Review: I picked up a used linear barrel for the extremely high price of $5 from a vendor at the field i go to, and it was the best $5 i ever spent. The stock alpha black barrel was alright for a while but i knew it was time to upgrade. This barrel is so accurate that i was picking off people 3/4 of the way across the field, i only dreamed that my stock barrel could be this accurate.
Conclusion: This barrel is an good choice if you want more accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Landerpurex Friday, September 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels, CP 12" barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
universal spyder virtue board
infiniti trigger
12" CP barrel
new designz feed neck
HALO B w/ rip and v35 board
48ci 3000 psi NO2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
All paintballs should be fine, watch out for cheaper ones as they tend to veer off in weird ways.
Strengths: Accurate
Price
Assorted lengths
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought one of these things about 3 years ago from my local paintball store for 50 bucks. It was the 20" one so the extra price was no surprise. I slapped this thing on my good old victor and I was baffled by the accuracy. My friend has a hammerhead ported barrel, he paid 180 bucks for it, and this barrel was just as accurate. It is also relatively cheap, especially for the level of accuracy gained. This was what gave me the edge on the field as a kid before I could afford a high-end marker and other stuff. This barrel was available from 10" to 20" (if I remember correctly) which is a great range for one barrel type. This barrel handles the max velocity of my victor well and can easily shoot 150-200 feet.
Conclusion: This is a fantastic barrel, I've used the same one on my victor for years and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media