paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce / PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce / PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce / PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce

PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $125

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
Tournament grade electronic grip frame
Multi-mode settings: semi - burst - full auto – tournament lock
Powered by either CO2 or N2
Ammo: .68 caliber PMI paintballs (not included)
Barrel: Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with muzzle break
Construction: Corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear resistant Teflon finish on all internal parts
Receiver: Sleek custom milled Vertical feed, closed receiver
Grip Frame: Slim compact Tournament grade electronic grip frame
Electro mechanical multi-mode trigger frame with on/off button
Powered by one 9v rechargeable battery (included)
Air System Adapter: Mini drop forward with 10° Bottomline adapter designed to accept all PMI Pure Energy® gas systems
Trigger Speed: 17+ shots per second
Length: 17+1/2"
Product Availability 
The PMI 06 Piranha GTI eForce is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
soccerjacks12 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months76 of 81 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine 04-Worse
Piranha SRT EForce 04-Same, heavier, slower ROF
Piranha Black Maxx Rental-What do you think
Tippmann 98C-Much worse, but never breaks
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha 05 GTI EForce
eVLution 2 Loader
14" Custom Products One-Piece Classic Barrel
20 oz PMI Pure Energy CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(Spyder Threads)
HPA(if you dont have it)
Trigger
Strengths: Small Profile
17 BPS
Light
Sexy
Weaknesses: Mine Leaks ALOT(easily fixable)
Springs
Trigger Shape
Feed neck
Review: I am overall pretty impressed with my gun.
the bad-
Mine leaks alot. When I first got it it leaked out the front of the lower chamber, fixed it with teflon tape. Leaks out the barrel, need to replace valve cup seal.
My springs shoot ridiculously high. Medium Velocity=320 FPS min., LV=300 FPS min., no problem I cut down the springs.
The trigger is a weird shape, takes a little getting used to, having mine of 3 months really helps and I can do about 11BPS.
Feedneck-very small, had to sand down my egg, you cant replace it because it is welded on.

the good-
Inexpensive-If you look at actionvillage.com they have it for $100
Colors-I have the gunmetal to olive fade and it looks really good, the milling is well done, nice but not super extraordinary
Small profile-this marker is very compact, snap shooting is very easy, and pretty easy to hold. it is also very light
17 BPS-this gun shoots really fast, if you can do it.
Field stripping-this marker is very easy to take apart. Youll understand after 2 times of doing so.
Fairly accurate but a barrel is the best upgrade.

UPDATE: the leaks in my gun were not easily fixable. I sent it into PMI and the "fixed" it 4 free. However when i got it back (2 weeks, not bad, nice box, well packed) there was still a leak, minor however, still losing enough air to make me uneasy. I have emailed them again and will see the results. this is after 4 months. My GTI worked the first month and has died on me. Will see what PMI does, hope they fix it 4 free again. Ill update later and leave the score the same 4 now.

Update: i fixed the gun, and it works flawlessly again. if u have problems with ur marker PMI will fix it, my prob was retefloning (new word) the screw under the valve

6 onth update: I have owned the GTI for 6 months now. After the initial big problem, it has not had any problems. I can consistenly get the trigger to 10 BPS. The only upgrade I have is the CP, and boy do I love it. I have even outlasted my friends SRT and have had less problems than my friends Wrath. A suggestion, if you go ballin' in the rain, duct tape around the top of the trigger frame, it will keep the water out and you will save your board.

Post in the comments, I will check back frequebtly or PM me if you have any questions on the GTI. soccerjacks12
Conclusion: Good marker, good buy, but be prepared to mod it a bit. If you can shell the extra cash go for a Mongoose, EVO, or Ion.
Good buy for newer players, recommend it and you get PMI customer service and they fix everything


P.S. The NEW GTI IS THE 05, unlike what PBR lists this marker as, check out buypmi.com if you don't believe me
8.5

***if this was helpful please "rate" it
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 24th, 2006 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

david kraft Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, PMI black maxx
Marker Setup: piranha gti, ricochet 10-12 bps, stock barrel, 20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
Strengths: Trigger is pretty fine for an inexpensive gun, barrel is fine for stock, inexpensive, grip.
Weaknesses: Standard hopper, breakage
Review: this gun is great for noobs and (uber minor) pros, its durable and inexpensive, full auto, 3 burst, 6 burst, and for some reason they decided to put on a 9 burst. 12-14 bps. keep it oiled, and you will rule the playing field. acoording to other guns i have used i have not been jealous, therefore i know that this gun is sweet. You should really get a fast hopper, otherwise you will chop in long reigns of fire.
Conclusion: Buy this gun!!! noobs and pro, its a great all around gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

No_Name Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98- Had bad luck with this, only worked half the time but it had some type of defect
ViewLoader Triad- Good noob gun
ACI Assassin- Really nice gun, looks good and feels solid, shoots well.
Marker Setup: 2006 PMI Piranha GTi Gunmetal/ Olive
Ricochet Apache Loader (20 bps)- Awesome
On the way here-
J&J Ceramic 14'' - Cheap, Accurate, Shoot through breaks. What else do you need??
Boss Paintball Products Blade Trigger- Sweet
Anti Siphon co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
HOPPER- You need a 14+ BPS hopper for this gun, you WILL break balls if you dont.
Barrel- Stock is ok, but you will need a new barrel.
Trigger- The stock I have to say.....sucks.... Bad shape, hard to walk... the best trigger is the bosspaintballproducts.com blade trigger.
Strengths: -17 BPS!!!!!!
-Sexy
-VERY Reliable
-Easily Upgradable
Weaknesses: -Trigger and thats it
Review: Got this gun a little over a month ago (I know it says 3 months but) and when i took it out of the box, it looked awesome. I picked it up, screwed in the barrel, and charged it. The next day i went out paintballing with my girlfriends church group and I chopped a few times because i was using a gravity feed hopper, not the best for this gun.... but most the time i was shooting pretty good and ended up i got out like 7 people out of 2 games of woodsball so i did pretty well and i was using basically a stock gun. I havent went since then, because of my 8th grade grad and my sisters high school grad and putting together parties and all this but i am planning on going soon after i get my upgrades on this thing it will be ripping even more.

Anyone can get this gun and be EXTREMELY Happy with it, its $95 new so a noob could use it stock and have a nice nice gun or a competitive paintballer like me could get it and up it and not spend a lot, but have a gun that rips with the best of em'.
Conclusion: Get this gun, wont let you down.....

and IT RIPS.....

I would do a 20/10, but thats not an option.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

spence087 Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: gti j&j ceramic barrel, revolution x hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, bolt, barrel
Strengths: Fast, Quiet
Weaknesses: Bolt, No anti chop
Review: This is a great gun. I got it for 120 and love it. itg has served me well. This gun is quiet and fast. I dont like the trigger on it i would recommend a different trigger there are lots of them for this gun I would also recommend a new bolt. I have shot over 2 cases of paint and only chopped once. Thats probably because my hopper is faster than the gun feeding at about 20 bps where the gun can shoot about 17 with a diff. trigger and if ur extremly fast.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun as a cheeper speedball gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

azndragon2222 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine '04 (So-so)
PMI Piranha GTI '04 (Good)
Tippmann 98 Custom (Good)
Tippmann Pro-Carbine (Rental; Bad)
Brass Eagle Stingray (Bad)
Brass Eagle Avenger (So-so)
Marker Setup: '06 PMI Piranha GTI
16" Smart Parts Progressive barrel
ViewLoader Evolution II
Shocktech SupaFly Bolt
Flush Cocking Rod
Thumb Adjust Knob
Fireball Mountain Delrin Double Trigger
Shocktech Low Pressure Chamber
Shocktech On/Off Bottomline w/ Dropforward #1
Marcoline w/ 2x 90' elbows
ACI Bulldog 3 68ci/3000psi N2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electronic hopper
Bolt
Trigger (Flat or Blade trigger recommended)
Strengths: Looks
17 max BPS
Cheap
Easy to clean and maintain
Weaknesses: Weird trigger shape (skips shots)
Tight feed neck
Plastic cocking rod
Review: Ok, first time i tried airing this thing up with upgrades from my '04 GTI, i had a leak down the barrel and bottemline. easily fixed, but a bigger problem came up. the gun wouldnt cock back and kept double/triple shooting. something had to be wrong with the hammer, but turns out the regulator didnt work properly. went to stock gas-thru grip instead. anyway, after that, thats when i could actually fire the darn thing. with all the upgrades i had, it amazingly accurate. i havent shot it with stock parts, so...i cant really say about it being all stock. now, with the Shocktech Superfly bolt combline with the Smart Parts Progressive barrel make a deadly combination on the new GTI. heck, i was firing random shots and it was shooting straight everytime. each ball hit with about a 1 to 2 foot range from the target. what really suprised me was its firing rate. shooting the alone without air, felt a bit slow. but for some reason, the gun shoots faster when it has air in it. only reason why i had problems in the first place was from a couple of the upgrades not working properly. other than that, good gun to have...i wouldve give it a 10 if it didnt have problems with the upgrades. other GTI users beware....this thing shoots very high velocity, be sure to change the springs...but even with it, it still break 300 fps. i suggest getting a spring kit or the Shocktech shim kit.
Conclusion: want a low-end marker? go out an get this. if want to save a little bit of money, get a '04 GTI (slighty slower)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman E-blowbacks compare favourably.
Marker Setup: Too many pumps to list.

Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't really know where to start, I'll go over what I believe are shortcomings in my review.
Strengths: Price
Looks
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Trigger/Electronics
Quality Control
Kick
Review: Let me start out by stating that I don't own a Pirhana. My experience with these guns is purely from teching at my local field. From what I've seen, I would not recommend this gun for most players. This review is based on multiple STOCK Pirhana GTI's. I have not tested the marker with any upgrades.

First of all, the GTI is still just a sear-tripper. That means that it inherits all of the kick from its mechanical counterparts. In all blowbacks, you have a huge reciprocating mass kicking around inside. The Pirhanas are no different. This is the same as any Spyder, and any other blowback.

The main disadvantage that should be apparent right away is that there almost isn't a need for the electronics. This marker CANNOT shoot fast in stock configuration. I have never come across a trigger like the GTI's. It is, at once, extremely sensitive, yet impossible to fire quickly. When firing, I felt very disconnected from the gun. I believe it is a combination of slop in the trigger after the pull and a capped electronics board that limit the gun to a very low speed. I'm sure there are ways to bypass this, but every stock Kingman E-marker I have seen is easier to shoot than the GTI. I found that I could shoot faster with a mechanical trigger. This, of course, takes more effort. I don't understand why the Pirhanas are so slow, when the trigger is reasonably sensitive.

Quality control is somewhat of an issue, from what I've seen. I had one GTI come in leaking from just about every hole in the body. After half an hour trying to teflon or reseat every seal and screw, I looked down at that valve. PMI had installed the valve backwards from the factory without ever testing the marker. This meant the cupseal couldn't seat, and it was leaking huge amounts of air. Also, most GTIs have to have their springs cut before I allow players to use them. I find that they are regularly coming from the factory shooting at around 335 when completely turned down.

There are still some redeeming features on the pirhana. The sear-dropping switch is great for reassembly. (Field stripping is slightly more difficult than a Kingman, simply because the hammer must be pulled completely out to remove the mainspring.) The gun is very lightweight, and points well. The milling and annodizing is well-done, and the price is reasonable.
Conclusion: I would recommend buying a mechanical Pirhana instead, unless you know enough to do a trigger job and can deal with possible mechanical defects from the factory. The rate of fire is not sufficient to justify having a battery.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 31st, 2006 at 9:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikefat0034 Wednesday, May 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i have a spyder extra and a spyder pilot acs
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs red black fade
14" smarts parts barrell
Halo B frontman
Recommended
Upgrades:
elctronic hopper (common sense)
new barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Looks great
Weaknesses: I couldn't find any
Review: This is my friends gun so i borrowed it for a couple of games. I used it and seemed to be a litlle slow stock. I put on my halo frontman and my smart parts barrel and played withit like that. It performed like a champ and i didn't see any problems with it. Just get a new hopper and barrel and everything should be ok.
Conclusion: Its a great gun with the upgrades i stated above. im giving it a nine because of the stock barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gatorswamp Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (only shot once)
Brass Eagle Eradicator (sucks)
The Xtra is a solid marker, but i wanted something faster and i really like electros
Marker Setup: Piranha Gti Eforce
Evil Driver Barrel
Halo TSA hopper
Pure Energy 20oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good loader (doesn't have to be the fastest in the world)
New Barrel! (the stock is realllly short)
If you have the cash, get HPA--obviously i dont
Strengths: Okay trigger
Pretty accurate
Fast with good loader
Weaknesses: Loud
My Evil Driver Barrel doesn't fit flush
Hard to reach Max ROF

Review: This is my first marker, so i wasn't looking to break the bank when i got it. (That's a good aspect of this marker).

When i first shot it i did notice the loudness of it, but it didnt really bother me that much. I was aiming at a tree and hit it within the first 3 shots.
My first actual in-game experience with it was at a friend's house, and we played in a big wooded area. Let me tell you this before i go on too far. YOU NEED TO TURN IT DOWN OUT OF THE BOX. i know it was shooting too many fps, and i didn't have to chrono it.
But anyway, the marker performed really well. The only accuracy problems i had were from chopping, and thats only because we were using REALLY cheap paint, and the marker was probably firing way too many fps. I did have problems with dry firing, but i didnt have my TSA at that time. Now i can get pretty close to that claimed 15-17 bps. Soon i'll get a chance to play speedball with it, and i'll do an update on this review.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to any new paintballer who wants to go electro early, but doesn't have the cash to get a higher grade marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C3 boy Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: evil pimp
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel feedneck regulator maybe electro hopper
Strengths: Fast
Light
Effiecient
Tough
Weaknesses: Colors
Front grip
Feedneck
Trigger
Review: This is a great beggining gun got it for 110 at paintball discounters. trying to buy upgrades. the color is matte black. not a shiney one but okay. recommend new front grip it has like a cone grip and hard for me to hang on. the feedneck is o ring and trigger is piranha wierd finding a new trigger. might by t board don't know if i can go real fast but it feels wierd with the trigger in all (sometimes wobble) . but prety good gun not as fast as an ICD but pretty darn close.
Conclusion: IT broke down i forgot that i have written a review gosh i should never have bought it but sold it for 90 to a dumn kid got a pimp
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 7:14 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

brad1490 Saturday, February 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirhana sts
pirhana gti
Marker Setup: gti eforce i upgraded the spring(omi camelon) i put an evil driver on it (worth the money) and i am currently lookin for a trigger i really like
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
spring
barrel
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light
Fast
Reliable
Weaknesses: Barrel
Trigger
Review: Overall this is a sick a$$ gun for the cost and for every thing all you have to do is upgrade a few parts and u have urself a really sweet gun for paintball. I recommend it to any person noob pro all star dosent matter it is a sweet gun expecally for its cost.
Conclusion: Any body noob-pro dosent matter its cheap and reliable so buy it dont listen to "dan Freind" listed sum where else on this review site just buy it . it is so worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media