paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs / Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Origin Basic Training Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Origin

Buy Origin Basic Training Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Origin Basic Training Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 29
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is one of the best cheap paintballs on the market.
Product Availability 
The Origin Basic Training Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Grivooga Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
SP Freak JR
Recommended
Barrels:
Can't tell- too inconsistent, mid bore probably best though small might work

edit : definitely small, with .689 insert at field it was all over the place. .687 was better but still had a tendency to vear. You couldn't convince me to use anything smaller with how tight some balls were in the .687.
Strengths: Cheap, bright thick fill. Hard to break accidentally.
Weaknesses: Ovals, flat spots, occasional large balls. Very hard to break.
Review: Grabbed a case of this for use tomorrow and for the life of me I can't size the stuff. The vast majority of it goes down my .687 insert smoothly ignoring the flat spots and slight ovaling that makes it need just a little bit of air pressure to send it on through but about one ball out of ten would need the .689 and one out of thirty all the way up to the .691 for a good smooth fit. Random sampling out of just one bag found two balls that were BADLY out of round. Gonna start out with the .689 tomorrow and hope. Only had about 50 shots worth of air on the tank before velocity started dropping off noticeably and they were going fairly straight with only one hooking noticeably and a small acceptable amount of wobble that could be user related. Lots of up down variation but until I can break-in the new reg tomorrow I won't hold that against them. No breaks in barrel despite what I believe to be a high velocity. They passed the bath-tub blowgun test with only one bounce when huffed out of my barrel by mouth. Guess I'll see tomorrow on the field how they perform in an actual game. I'm cautiously optimistic.

edit : Played with it today. Will not purchase again. Had to use my smallest insert to get any accuracy. Only ball break I had was a dumb one at the chrono with my eyes off after I'd been in the pits dry-firing to see if I'd fixed a leaking lp hose. Still they were all over the place. After dry-firing 3000 rounds to break in the new reg I was getting +- 6 at the chrono with the Basic Training. Loading up with some loaner paint and I got +-3 fairly consistently. On the field accuracy wasn't terrible, there was a tendency to veer, but nothing that couldn't be compensated for with 15 balls where one should have been enough. What really killed me was the inability to get breaks. I expect bounces, they're frustrating but part of the game. On multiple occasions I got peppered after dealing out multiple close range bounces. At one time I had a ridiculous angle on someone's shoe sticking out of there bunker actually shooting through the bottom of the big X. I emptied half a hopper on that shoe and never got a break. It was a long shot and a tricky angle that took many balls into the ground before even reaching the target but one of them should've gotten something.
Conclusion: From reading other reviews it's probably good paint if you get a good batch. I've seen much worse. For the money it's a gamble with pretty much anything in the price range. If you spread em out and roll em around on a towel to find the few obviously bad ones you might be happy depending on your expectations. Just don't expect to long ball anything.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 11th, 2006 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Firemedic_Chase Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT, Domination, Freedom, Addiction, Tippmann Werks, Marbilizer
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
BT 1 3/4" Sight Rail
Special Ops A5A2 Stock
NcStar 30mm Red Dot Scope
32 Degrees Remote Line
PMI 20 oz Co2 Tank
Pro Team - 30 rd Hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Any Barrel Type
Strengths: Very Accurate, Not very expensive, No Ball Breaks
Weaknesses: None found so far.
Review: I've used several different types of balls. My buddies and I agree, this is a good choice. Most of our games are played in medium to heavy woods. We have yet to have a problem with them. They fly straight, don't break in your barrel, and the fill is very bright. I use a J&J 14" Ceramic barrel and mostly play as a sniper. When I need every ball to do the job. I can count on Origin. Most recently we played a pretty good size game. Most of the guys (and girls) I know were using Origin. I never heard any of them complain or say they had a ball break. That's pretty good in my book when combined we wnet through about 6000 rds all together.
Conclusion: Flies Straight, No Barrel Breaks, Marks Good. Would recommend to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Reid1745 Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
zap, PMI prems, origin classic
Marker Setup: black evil omen 2.0
J&J edge kit
Lapco Clamping Feedneck

Purple/Silver VSC Phantom

68/3000 tank
eggy w/z board
Recommended
Barrels:
any barrel kit
Strengths: Cheap
Doesn't break in barrel
Weaknesses: Lots of bounces
Not so great fill
Review: These are 1 of 3 choices of paint at my local field(this, whitebox and origin classic). I dont't know if its just how fresh my field sells them or what, but i'm happy to play against these. I always get at least once bounce each game. The fill is a gross green color, but hey its pretty cheap so worth it, especially if you pray and spray.
Conclusion: I get alot of bounces with these, but they're good for the price.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ring31 Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots...
Marker Setup: pmi 68 mag
Kinkman Hammer
spyder rodeo with ACS and Rocking trigger
ION
Recommended
Barrels:
.689
Strengths: The green has a bright and think fill
Weaknesses: If it had anymore flat spots it would be square
Review: The green has a bright and think fill and out of 1300 shot in 1 day, i had 1 break in the gun, so it that respect, it shot well..

but, if it had anymore flat spots it would be square... and because of that, it was not vary accurate. this was field freash, but i cant say how well this field stored their paint..

Conclusion: If you have to use it, its "ok", but there are many other low end high vis bright paints out there..
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

huffman150 Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RPS, Marbilizer, other cheap stuff.
Marker Setup: A-5
JJ S2 Ceramic
T6 Stock
Superfly Bolt
CP-Pro-rail w/ Reversed ASA (so the tank is directly under the gun)
Dead on Bottomline Adapter
Double Trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
Any
Strengths: Accurate
Break on person not in barrel
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love these paintballs, last time i played i shot 2500 of them and didn't break a single one in the barrel. they come in Basic Training(good) then Frontline(better) and then Signiture(best). the field i play offers all three and i buy the basic training and they work perfect.
Conclusion: What can i say there good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mabs Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
gold/silver/bronze xballs, spank zap, worr games practice paint, Pmi stingers
Marker Setup: SP Ion, Egg2, Core 4pc barrel kit, 68/45 nitro duck w/ mega reg, cp twistlock feedneck,
Recommended
Barrels:
small bore
Strengths: Price, fly straight, no breaks
Weaknesses: Small, 1 or 2 bounces
Review: well my team went out and picked up a few cases of these where we play and we were like whats this??? no one ever shot these before... well turns out this was pretty good paint.. noone complained about breaks and noone complained about it not flying straight... the only prob i had with this paint is that i had 1 or 2 bounce off me... 1 on my chest and 1 on my leg... another prob that people who dont have a Barrel kit is that it was small.. i was using .686 bore .. so if ur barrels are "big" u might experience some hooking...
Conclusion: Not bad overall would'nt hesitate to throw this paint again...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RedSpeed Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RBS bigball
Marker Setup: Aci High Pressure Coiled Remote
Dye Sticky Grip
Pro Team Model 98 Commando f/x Stock
Smart Parts 20oz tank with on off valve
Smart Parts Teardrop
TippMann Custom 98
Recommended
Barrels:
The teardrop is good
Strengths: It has a good hard shell and not that heavy. Good ball overall
Weaknesses: None that I can think of.
Review: Like I said it has hard shell and its not too heavy. Shoots strate and always breaks when you shoot someone. I have had no ball breaks out of 6,000 rounds. I play with a tippmann 98c with a smart part teardrop. Overall you cant beat this paint and from what I'v herd there other stuff is jest as good.
Conclusion: For $39.00 you cant beat it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dwmart128 Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil, Scorch, Draxxus, Marblizer
Marker Setup: Autococker Pro-Stock 2005
Redz Pepper Stix Barrel Kit
Air Crossfire 68ci/4500psi
Recommended
Barrels:
Medium Bore
Strengths: -Round not dimpled
-Extremely accurate
-Great in the cold
Weaknesses: None at all...This is a quality ball that you can count on.
Review: I had no ball breaks during the course of testing 200 rounds in Jan 2006 in 29 degree weather....Good cold weather ball and all year round ball. I recommend this for a good winter ball.. Although I have yet to try the Draxxus Polar Ice which I hear is also outstanding.
I play on a Scenario Team and we were trying a bag of this Basic out before the Team was going to start buying in bulk. 25 cases at a time.....This paint is definately going to be our choice for all round use in our practices and regular local play..
www.thegreenknights.com
Conclusion: Recommended...shot straight, no breaks...tested in the cold and no problems..not much more to ask for out of a paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AdagioDolente Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Alpha Black
Strengths: None that I can think of
Weaknesses: Not accurate
Review: I paintballed for the first time this week. I played two days and the first day was great. I used some paintballs (unknown brand) but they were nice and accurate and broke every time. I had a few of those left on my second day and so my hopper was mixed with the Origin Basic Training (green fill) and the unknown brand (pink fill).

Every splatter that was straight on target was pink... everything that pulled left and right was green. Enough said.

I'm not an experienced player, but I noticed that the balls were slightly smaller than my first bag-o-balls. They might work in some other markers, but in my alpha black they sucked. I wasted more paint than I wanted to simply because I couldn't hit a guy in the back when he was standing still from 40 feet away. I'm not a good aim...but I'm better than that. At the end of the day most of us were going on the honor system if we got hit because half of them wouldn't break... we made someone bleed though... that was cool I guess.
Conclusion: Great for stepping on when you throw them in the dirt out of frustration... otherwise don't bother.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media