paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Saijin_Naib Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
AKA Viking, Spyder e99, PMI Tracer
Marker Setup: Point Zero-Model 83. Bob Long EX Chamber & Foward Drop, Tippman A-5 Stock Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, EX Chamber, Spring kit (i think the ZAP ZXS 400 kit works, same gun)
Strengths: Cheap, Durable, Light, Balanced
Weaknesses: Low BPS, Low FPS, Okay Accuracy, Freezes if wet/rainy, Sputters
Review: Ive not done anything to maintain it, and I doubt my friend did either when he had it. Still hangin in there, and for what it cost me (15$) its a friggin great gun. Ive tagged out my friend who was using the AKA Viking in the face. I guess its not the fastest,strongest, or most accurate, but if you use it right, it wont really let you down. Its not a paint spraying machine though. Id say I got like 3-4 BPS max without chop. Not bad for manual blowback. It does sputter as other reviews have mentioned, and its FPS is not at all predictable. It also does leak if you dont cock it before you put the CO2 in, and I guess it kinda wastes alot. That could just be from removing the tank from the foward drop/ex chamber though.
Conclusion: For a beginning player like me, who is rather limited on funds, it performs great. It shoots paint, puts it basically where you point it, and fires about as fast as you can pull. If your starting out, or short on cash, its a good gun. If you dont fit that category, Id reccomend another gun (Icon, or other Spyder clone). Im keepin the Pointy till it craps out, and I may just get the Icon anyway.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

chromesoul Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap zxs-400/Winchester Durango/Point Zero (they're all the same gun), almost every crappy BE marker out there, Tippman
Marker Setup: Point Zero w/ bottom line and upgraded barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel - Yes they're out there. It's custom-threaded, though, so make sure the barrel is for Zap/Point Zero/Durango. If you use the stock barrel, polish the hell out of it.
-Bottom line if you so wish
-LUBE. This gun performs great if you keep it really well lubed. Also, cleaning and sanding the internals helps tremendously for accuaracy and noise.
Strengths: -Dirt Cheap
-Light
-Suprisingly accurate
-Fun to tinker with
-Very gas efficient
-Compact.
Weaknesses: -Loud.
-Not the best firing rate.
-Rear bolt
Review: I picked this thing up at a pawn shop for $25. I have to admit, I love this gun. While my friends Tippys are obvioulsy better markers, you'd be surprised at how well this gun can hold its own in the hands of a decent player. Upgrades are minimal, but there are a few out there. Accuracy's actually quite nice in the short range. Even with a new barrel, you're not gonna pick off players at a good distance with this thing. For my occasional woodsball games, this was an excellent find. It performs very decently (nothing incredible, but not too shaby) overall, and performs incredibly considering I payed what some people pay for a BE Blade for it. The low cost makes me more willing to tinker with it, not to mention fall on it, bang it around, and occasionally throw it at other players and run (it's a surprisingly effective diversionary tactic).
Strengths
-Dirt Cheap. I bought this thing used with a 9 oz tank and VL hopper for $25.
-Light (but tought). I'm not sure what kind of polymer this thing is made of, but despite what everyone thinks, it's virtually indestructable. Believe me, as cheap as this thing was, I haven't been gentle with it.
-Suprisingly accurate
-Fun to tinker with
-Very gas efficient
-Compact. With a 12gram adaptor and 45 rnd hopper, it makes a great side arm.

Weaknesses
-Loud. This doesn't bother me at all, but everyone who sees it seems disturbed by this. Cleaning the internals and filling the handle with styrofoam/resin/etc helps some.
-Not the best firing rate. Tinkering with the trigger helps the long hard pull. Cleanly pulling the trigger all the way back each time eliminates 85% of all chopping problems. This gun is relatively accurate and not meant to sling gallons of paint. If you try to keep the rate of fire on par with a spyder, you're gonna chop some paint. It's rated at 6 bps, but 3 is about all you can get and consistantly not chop.
-Rear bolt. While it helps to keep crap out of the gun, it's a pain to cock. Try drilling a small hole in the cocking knob and sliding a key ring through it. Also, watch the bolt. It will catch you in the cheek if you're someone who tends to not pay attention.
-Despite the gun's overall good performance, you will be mocked by players with "real" guns.

Many people have pointed out that it would be better to save and by a better gun. I agree with this since most people noted the gun retailed for about $50-$70 originally. Now that it has come down a good deal and price, I recommend you pick one up if you are developing an interest in paintball. While this is not the greatest marker out there, it is probably the best gun for beginners or occasional players. A search of Ebay can find one of these (or similar models) for less than dinner and a movie, so what have you got to lose?
Conclusion: Perfect beginner gun...good back-up or sidearm...decent intermediate gun (especially if you're looking for a slight challenge/handicap). Yes, the elitists with Angels have better guns. Yes, they will probably cane you in a match. But you might be surprised what you can do with this little gem. Please note that my product rating is aimed for the Beginner-Intermediate range.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IEatStuff Saturday, May 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think you can upgrade it.
Strengths: Cheap. Rarely chops paint. Incredibly accurate. Very easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Short range. Rear cocking (personal preferance). Low rate of fire.
Review: This was my very first paintball gun, I bought the players package which gives you all the stuff you need to start playing accept the paint and the co2. One of my friends was very dissapointed to see such a cheap weapon fire so accurately, what it lacks in range it makes up for in accuracy. You could go out to Walmart and buy a brass eagle Avenger or Stingray, they may cost the same or just a little more, but are not anywhere near as good in the performance end of things. The trigger pull is a bit hard, so it has a low rate of fire, but who needs a rate of fire when you can put the paint exactly where you want it?
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun for anyone who is just entering the game, it is cheap, easy to clean and fix, and you will actually be able to hit what you are aiming at, which will really add to the enjoyment of the game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mak349 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (rental). PMI Black Maxx (Rental) Spyder Xtra (pwn
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra= 32 Degrees Whisper Barrel> Spyder ESP IPI 3.0> Empire Reloader 2 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
search in yahoo paintball-loco for a good barrel of this gun.
Xpaintball carrys a durango bottomline for this gun.
Strengths: Accurate. Durable
Weaknesses: low FPS/BPS. cold weather cause paintballs to curve and spiral!!
Review: This is my first marker. For its price it was awesome. It is fully solid plastic besides its 7 1/2 inch stock barrel (Aluminum). This marker is a great beginners marker. For starters this is not the worst marker no matter what people say. I had friends that said i wasted my money on the mod83. but three weeks later each one had a ball in their goggles by the very marker they verbally attacked. Upgrade it and you will squeeze every last ounce of its ability. Refrain from playing in cold weather or winter. Ur paintbals will Curve and spiral crazily across the field and it will not pop. But i did land a curved one on my friends neck and it did bruise up big time. Painful.. I had both excellent and horrible experience with this gun. But dont' get me wrong this is a good marker. So upgrade it and ur up and ready to take on those angel LCDs!!!!.
Conclusion: UPgrade it and it can become a good marker in fields that only allow 260Velo max!! awesome speedball marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

samsn4 Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Point Zero Model 83
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-21" thinder pig - paintball-loco.com
Expansion chamber-iisports.com, paintball-loco.com
Bottomline - iisports.com, paintball-loco.com
Strengths: Not alot of parts, easy and quick to clean
Weaknesses: Oil, Oil, Oil, oh did i mention oil
Review: Very good beginner gun and for the annual paintballer, I sometimes have to sit and wait for the others with their $$$ guns to fix them so they can play so . . .
I got my gun, mask, tank, hopper, and cleaner for $50
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
blah
Conclusion: See above
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brian S. Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon Ghost, Thats the only "similar product"
Marker Setup: Pirhana EXT Pro G3
12 Volt Revolution hopper
Tear Drop Barrel
20oz. CO2 with anti- siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
none exist
Strengths: hmmmmm, dunno
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: If you noticed i said only tested, well i actually own it. I fired about 20 rounds and i was done. I got it for free from one of my friends and i think i paid too much for it. the stock barrel is about 5 inches long with no porting, its so inaccurate and you cant buy a different barrel, cause they dont make any. next off its plastic, need i say more.

- If you get an adapter for a 12 gram C02 tank and a small 50 round hopper, you could use it as a side arm (i guess)
Conclusion: this thing is flat out horrible -DO NOT BUY THIS- I would give it a zero but i cant
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2004 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann_cpro Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
winchester durango ( equal )
Marker Setup: point zero ( Stock )
Recommended
Upgrades:
None this is just a beginner gun
Strengths: Durabillity, light, balanced, somewhat accurate, dont chop too much paint, reliable, cheap, easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Barrel, trigger, bps and fps
Review: I bought this gun, a mask and 2 tanks off my friend for 25$ so my lil sis would stop borrowing mine. It looked exactly the same as my durango, but these shoot like way different guns. my durango is a much powerful gun then the point zero but is less accurate, personally i like durango cuz then you dont have to arch your shot to shoot ppl that are like 100ft away. but the point zero isnt all bad, my sis manages to whoop me sometimes when we play so it works for her.
Conclusion: I give it a 7 because its a good reliable begginers gun that is easy to maintain
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 24th, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mitchyisbomb Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion, Evolution 2, PMI 3000 psi compressed air tank, JT proflex mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
i havent used any, only rental gun.
Strengths: Cheap
Not much maintenance
Reliable
Some what accurate
Weaknesses: Plastic(i thought it was strong)
No porting in barrel
Review: I have only used this as a rental when mine was in Wasaga Beach getting fixed. My first impression was they were going to suck, being cheap and plastic, but to my surprise it was accurate. It was pretty light too. When you shot fast though it chopped like crazy, but the only people who should use this gun are very new to paintball. I didn't mind it but it was plastic, and the one i used for the last game wasn't cocking right.
Conclusion: this was a great gun for the price. Good for rentals to because they are cheap and require almost no maintainance.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NateMac13 Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor -- the model 83 is made a little more cheap and there are no upgrades for the model 83. Shooting the same paint with both of these guns is roughly the same. The Victor shoots a little more accurate.
Marker Setup: 3A Invincible E Power electronic gun
Viewloader Revolution electronic feeding hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't think there are any upgrades for the Point Zero.
Strengths: I bought mine very cheap. Accurate with good paint.
Weaknesses: Loud. No upgrades. Doesn't shoot cheap paint accurate. Some are very over-priced.
Review: I bought the Point Zero Model 83 as my first paintball gun. It's lasted for 3 years, although I don't use it anymore. I think it's a good gun for a little kid to go out and play with, although there are better guns for them. It shoots accurte if you have some decent paint. If you have cheap paint, this thing will shoot them all over the place, which is partly the cheap paint's fault. I wouldn't spend more than $35-$40 on it. It's a good entry gun for a youngster if you can find a cheap one.
Conclusion: It did good for my first gun, I was pleased with it. If you're trying to find a cheap gun for a newbie, I'd recommend the Point Zero Model 83, the Spyder Victor, or a Black Maxx....they're pretty much the same quality. Although if you ever want to upgrade the gun you get....get the Spyder. There are no upgrades that I know of for the Point Zero.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blade Boy Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade, Tippmann Model 98 Custom, PMI Black Max, Spyder
Marker Setup: A Point Zero Model 83, 12oz, 45rd hoppers, Quick Change 12g CO2 adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(if you want)go to www.paintball-loco.com for good barrels, Bottomline
Strengths: Very accurate,good range, great on gas, light, durable, great sight rail, good quality
Weaknesses: Sorta hard to cock, but you only have to once a game. Adaqute trigger
Review: This is a great gun for the price, compare it to any Tippmann 98 or Spyder or similar. Used mine in a one on one battle in woods. Faced a much better player. I am only an average one. He had Tippmann 98 Custom with sniper barrel. Made him think twice about attacking me. This gun can put paint where you want it. i was using a 12 gram in it with quick change and it lasted with good volocity and range for about 30 rounds of paint. I conserve paint. Only take aimed shots. Others who are trigger happy would not like this gun casue of the trigger. It's like dual stage target rifle trigger which i am very finmilar with so it works great. Great for rec. play and backyard play.It's great when you scare the crap out of people ( ethier coming very close or hitting them) with a 50 dollar gun and thiers is 200.
Conclusion: The people who give this gun a bad rating dont know how to take care of thier paintball guns or play. Cause this thing rocks. It's comparable to any middle level semi in the 50 to 250 dollar range. Buy it if you want good price, great performance, and you are a person who isn't trigger happy. Play Safe and Fair!!! A nine cause of the small cocking and trigger problums that are just not real things to comaplain about in a 50 dollar gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 3rd, 2004 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media