paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Darkstarops Wednesday, November 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out stingray 2 with 16" spin free riffled sniper barrel- 3 stage expansion chamber, custom extra under barrel grip, ghillie cover and scope! Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" spin free projection rifled sniper barrel- bottom line adapter, a co2 gauge, and custom 6-color desert camouflage painted. Griffin B/L just now getting upgraded. Ordered a new silenced 14" barrel and a co2 gauge that both havenít arrived yet.
How do they compare with this product?
The answer
Everything stock sucks until upgraded!
Marker Setup: SNIPER RIFLE! A fully decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-piece thunder pig spin-free projection rifled barrel (Extremely Accurate), Co2 gauge, scope, hair trigger system, Polished internals, polished barrel, and ghillie covers. The barrel is actually rifled. You can look down it and see the straight grooves! I also own a 14" see through chrome plated razor barrel and the stock barrel thatís 13" long.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Co2 Gauge, 14" Internally Riffled barrel thats extremley accurate. A bottom line if it didnt come with one. Go here to buy the barrel from my friend billy! Oh and polish your internals
Strengths: Light waieght, Very durable, Extremley upgradable, Havent had one ball break not even BE balls, Makes a great side arm, assembled with pins instead of screws for quick assembly and disasenbly. Very easy to clean and maintain. You can throw this thing in the closet for 11 years and it will come out working. That is if you throw it in working.
Weaknesses: You really cant find a replacement sring for the hammer. The spring for the trigger will get kinked over a period of use. I dont have a bottom line on mine. I took it off and put it on my winchester wich is basically the same thing. The stock barrel kinda sucks. It is pretty loud.
Conclusion: BY IT!!!!

Over all this is a great gun for everyone. I am a pro and this gun is my back up. Weather its your first or second gun it is the best. This was the gun that got me started and it keeps me going. If you really want a barrel badly and dont want to pay 22.00 e-mail me and I will tell you what you can do to get it cheaper. Sincerely

Matthew Fulton

A proud member of Silent Steel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madmax3 Monday, October 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Strengths: this gun is very good for the newb. i took it paintballing at a place and it shot quite accurately.also its not hard to clean at all, the velocity is 1 that u twist a nob and it goes up and turn it the other way it goes down. its quite good on co2 becuz i shot 500-600 shots then it ran out. ITS DIRT CHEAP.
Weaknesses: its not good for the tourny player, its very hard to get upgrades, although my friends spyder sport barrel worked on it and then my gun was insane. it doesnt come with a bottom line. dont snap shoot it or else its mad barrel break, but its fixed with new barrel (if u can find 1)
Conclusion: its a two thumbs up for a newb who isnt sure if they wanna get serious into paintballing. i havent had any bad things happen to it , but it definately not for the advanced or tourny player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bitter_orphan Sunday, September 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: basic factory modle
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Pretty good gun for a newbie. fairly accurate. lasts a while before breaking or anythingthe fireing rate is pretty nice. i rarly ever broke paintballs while fireing. good for even seasoned players. ive beeten my friends that were all using tipmmans and spyderds but of cousres skill is also a requierment. the gun can easily kerp up with medium class spayders and other brand name guns.
Weaknesses: hog on c02, crappy barrel, not good in sub zero temperatures. i haven't been able to find a barrel upgrade
Conclusion: good gun for newbies. a players cit will only run you about $150 CND that also includes a 9 oz tank
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Taco_Joe Monday, August 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Brass Eagle Avenger, Field Pirahnas, Spyders, Spyder clones
Marker Setup: 2002 Smart Parts Impulse, 20 oz C02 with anti-siphon and on/off, Max-Flo regulator, tapeworm, custom trigger job, 12 volt smoked revolution, cricket board, Smart Parts smoke coloured sticky grips, 14" All American, and a gas thru grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottem line C02 adapter, barrel from Barrels of America (they make the only barrels for the Point Zero)
Strengths: This gun even though made out of plastic is almost indestructible. Don't be fooled by the price, this gun is great for beginners or for anyone that wants to have fun. It's actaully pretty accurate with the one stage 8" barrel, I can hit targets okay over 75 yards away. The bonus of a raised sight rail and right sided feed is good for newer players because they don't have to learn how to shoot down the side of the gun. While the trigger pull is kind of long, you can get a good rate of fire out of it. The sound the marker makes allows you to scare the renters becuase it sounds like a M9 9mm pistol! It's good a good handle and has a pretty good size. I sometimes use it instead of my Impulse to have some fun with the renters and to really tick off the cocky gun owners who ridicule this marker.
Weaknesses: It's kind of hard to field strip, you have to take apart the gun to clean out the bolt, and it can be pretty hard to remove the pins that hold the gun together. The trigger pull is long and hard, but when you use it alot, it eventaully get lighter. The same goes with the rear cocking nob, it's hard to pull it back when you first get it but after a couple of times using it, you'll notice that it's easier to pull back. Also with the nob, I would suggest getting a aftermarket beavertail if you intend to stay in tight to your bunker, as the nob itself is long and it can hit you pretty hard.
Conclusion: This gun is great for the beginner player and is one of the better lower end markers out there. If you decide to get into the sport, I suggest getting this marker. Or if you want to mess around with the lower end guns and don't want to spend a lot of money, go for this. It's worth the money ($100 Canadian where I bought it). And you can get on Ebay for $35 Canadian sometimes. Go for it!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fred1 Saturday, July 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
sling shot
Marker Setup: (green) R.A.S. Persicuter with M3 black dragun E trigger, Dye xcell / smart parts teardrop,
green drop forward, pmi gas thru, force 3 cyclone bolt, beaver tail PMI perfect HP tank, 12 volt revelution
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: VERY VERY light
Weaknesses: ummm plastic tells it all
Review: one weekend i was out playin paintball with some friends and my friend happends to own one and he wanted to try my gun out so i let him and i tryed his it felt so awkward
and light almost to light i \t felt like it was going to break in my hands when i shot it the trigger pull is stiff and its a long pull
Conclusion: i wouldent recomend this gun to anyone because who want to buy something they no will break
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

elTwitcho Wednesday, January 24th, 2001
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Well, the other day I went to the field and let my buddy use my Intimidator for a couple of games while I would use his rental, which unfortunately was a model 83. When I first fired this thing I almost cried. But I'm spoiled from owning an electro, so that was probably why. The gun does shoot paintballs, and the accuracy isnt horrible, but it's none too great either. Pretty light as a result of being made of plastic. It's cheap, which is a consideration for most people.
Weaknesses: Well, though plastic makes it light, it also makes it weak. The guns i saw at the field were in pretty sad shape, even for rentals. The trigger pull is heavy, and feels unrefined. You cant really get your ROF much past 5 bps. Doesnt look like there are any upgrades out for it.
Conclusion: Well, it doesnt perform wonderfully, but it's still usable. The gun always recocks, and didnt chop any paintballs. The paintballs came out semi accurate, not good, but not bad enough that it becomes frustrating. You see alot of these guns in magazines for maybe 40 bucks, which I suppose makes it one of the better guns in it's price range. I would recomend this gun to someone who has never played if he can get a good deal and wants to get into the sport. But i would also recommend him getting a new gun after playing for maybe a month and decides he likes paintball. Not an awful gun, but sure isnt good either
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danny pelt Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A stick in the shape of a gun, a cap gun, a potato gun, watching my dog take a crap, oh yeah, I got this really neat squirt gun at the dentist's once.
Marker Setup: TL Plus with 21 inch three piece CMI tru-flight barrel. PT Extreme
Recommended
Upgrades:
A proper burial, or if you are cheap, I'm pretty sure that the plastic is flammable, buy some matches, or even a zippo lighter. Another good one is a nice steep clif to throw it off. Oh, the plastic floats, send it over the edge of Niagra Falls.
Strengths: This lightweight model is compact and extremely easy to throw!
Weaknesses: The pins like to fall out while you're paintballing.
Review: This gun used to have a 7.7 rating. That's messed up. There must be a whole lot of crack heads writing reviews. Anyone who gives this gun a rating over 1 is an idiot. This gun almost turned me off of paint-balling. I mean the guns that I have now aren't that great but they kill this. Now I have a little story about this gun, when I first got it, I was holding it up to my cheek and shooting it(with no mask no paint and no CO2). Well, the bolt isn't supposed to go all the way into the gun, but it did, and it took about half of my cheek with it. It took two minutes to uncock that piece of crap, and by then there was a huge blister on my face. The point of this story is that if you buy this gun, than you are obviously too dumb to defend yourself from it.
Conclusion: This gun is a danger to your health. It will turn you into a retard if you expose yourself to it for too long. The bolt of this gun has been known to clamp on to the faces of any idiot that buys it. If you want a gun to just "mess" around with chances are, you're not going to paintball with it. If you want to go shot cars, use the Model 83, it won't leave any dents, chances are that the paintball will just bounce off the car and hit the "gun" and cause all the pins to fall out, then, just watch the thing explode in your hands.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PhantomOfStuff Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Super Swirl, Diablo, Cheaper Paints
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC
Strengths: Cheap for new players.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate, chops rather consistantly.
Review: This brand of paint has very few things going for it. It costs less than some other brands, thats about it. Its weaknesses outweigh this single strength. When I fired this paint it seemed to chop quite often, and when it did come out of the barrel, even after i cleaned the gun, it was rarely accurate. It is hard to say anything good about this paint because quite frankly, there is nothing good about this paint. I suggest paying the slight extra bit of cash for any other brand of paint. Avoid this at all costs.
Conclusion: This paint is not well manufactured. Do not buy it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sniper199 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really
Marker Setup: stock (rental)
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything!!
Strengths: -easy to adjust speed
-rear cocker
Weaknesses: almost everything, barrel, CO2 setup, wear and tear, everything
Review: I used this gun at an indoor field, it looked old so i wont bash it too much.

Anyway, the barrel looked to be only abot 5 inches long, and the accurasy was terrible (about 3-4 feet off over 30 yards), and i needed to hold a pin in above the trigger 'cause after about every other shot it would fall out and then i could shoot (the trigger jammed)
I also cut about 10 balls in 200.
Conclusion: This gun is the crap of all crap, it is the worst gun ive ever used. hence the 1
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neutsy Thursday, October 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha GTi
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat w/ M4 Barrel, Bipod, Apex.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever you want.
Strengths: - Light Weight
- Decent range
- Fairly decent construction considering price
- Cheap
- Very user friendly
Weaknesses: - Quite Loud
- Slow rate of fire
- Not many upgrade options
Review: I recently purchased this Point Zero marker for $30 Canadian, it's not too bad, and I just mainly use it as a backup. Its much lighter than the markers I'm used to using. It has a fairly weak rate of fire, but then again you can't get much around here for $30 that's semi-auto. Its barrel looks like it was once a piece of metal tubing you could buy at a local hardware store, its range isn't too horrible but its not very accurate. Its a great noob gun. I compared it to a Piranha GTi, the GTi is a bit better (obviously) but this still isn't that bad of a marker, the weight is the big issue, It weighs nothing and is easy to haul around.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone wanting a cheap and semi-auto alternative to for instance a Talon Ghost or some other pump action marker. It also makes a great beginners marker, very easy to use.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media