paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
kyle2159 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BE Blade 02,PMI Black Maxx.
Marker Setup: 2K3 PMI Pirahna STS Pro E-force
Gravity Hopper
20 oz Pure Energy C02 Tank
14" SP Linear Barrel
Medium Bullet Drop Forward

Winchester Durango (Point Zero)
9 oz Pure Energy Co2
Custom Ported Barrel
Pocket Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline kit, Get the Barrel custom ported.
Strengths: Size
Durability
Accuracy
Beastlyness (to show all you friends up)
Weaknesses: No Bottomline
Doesn't work in cold weather
Awkward with Larger Loader
Review: I bought this marker from my local field that were using them as rentals for 20$.I took it home and stripped it right down and gave it a good cleaning because it was obvious that it was in the rain.I put on a 200 rd loader but it was too awkward so i used a small 50rd hopper.I tested it and found that it had too much blowback and it was loud so I custom ported the barrel.My main marker was broke so I took it out to a young guns game along with all my friends to just have a bit of fun and test out the new barrel.Most of the people i was playing with were using 98C's,Bt-4's,Icon X's,PIrahna Gti's,and other low end markers.First every body was laughing at me but by the end of the day they had respect for my durango.The accuracy is great on this thing i picked off my friend from 100 feet away and it is pretty silent too.A good thing about it is its size because you can keep it closer to your body but you have to watch out for the bolt!I normally shoot about 500 paint per game but with this I only shot 125 with just as much or better accuracy than my pirahna.As far as speed goes ...there aint much.But no Problems at all.
Conclusion: This Marker is great for someone starting off or a backup for someone with a year or so under their belt.If you want something reliable then get this marker.You may get laughed at,at first but if you play your balls right , your friends will have newfound respect for your skills and your 20$ marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MountainMan Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
In the past, I have used mostly Tippmann 98 Custom or Pro Carbine rentals before I bought this gun.
Marker Setup: Point Zero Model 83
PMI Standard Hopper
12 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you can find them i'd recommend maybe a better bolt and barrell. But in my searches i've only found one place that carries Point Zero barrells.
Strengths: Accuracte at close range, small, very easy to maintain, cheap, and efficient.
Weaknesses: Range, barrell, rate of fire, trigger pull, and bolt.
Review: I bought this gun used from a friend who used to rent them out, and didn't take the best care of it. Needless to say I didn't expect much from it. I thought it would be just enough to get me buy until I could afford a better gun. This gun caught me completely off-gaurd. I still am completely blown away at how well this gun has worked. Every game I used this gun I was up against guns far better than my own (namely Tippmann 98 Customs and better), and most of the time i'd take them. It didn't have the range that those guns had, but if you're the conservative type (like me) this gun works beautifully. Its small which makes sneaking around far better. Good accuracy at short and medium ranges (say up to 130 feet), and very efficient. I've probably shot through over 750 balls on a 12 oz. and its still going strong. Finally, the gun is very simple and easy to clean and maintain making it a very good gun for new players.

However, nothing is perfect. Like I mentioned the range is not spectacular. You're definately not going to snipe someone at 250 feet. Same with the rate of fire, I'd say around 3-4 balls per second, which is probably fine for new players but for the more experienced players its a dread. This gun also has a tendency to jam. A definite hindrance in tight situations. Finally, the trigger pull is also a weakness. You have to pull harder and farther than most other guns.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I would definately reccomend this gun to anyone relatively new to the game or doesn't require a gun that fires 20 bps. Its cheap but still performs, and after some experience with the gun you learn to compensate for its weaknesses. In the end, a solid gun for the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

titus411 Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
winchester is almost exactly the same.
Marker Setup: Spyder victor , nothing upgraded yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
for the point zero? none there is none
Strengths: It would be pretty good if it actually worked once in a while.
Weaknesses: It frezes up all the time , its not reliable and its made out of plastic.
Review: The thing sucks , i might actuall give it some credit if it worked its not bad when it does work but its totaly un reliabe. if you have one take the whole thig apart and oil everything.
if you love getting pissed off, shot , pulling the trigger and hearing a bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbuuu[pp[[pppp right before you sneak up on someone than get this gun. its the one for you.the only thing smart about this gun is the name because whats the point to have thhis gun? zero!. I would actually rather call it point less.
Conclusion: If you oil it often it might work. it just sits in my house i dont even know if it works anymore.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

haloeater1 Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A rock sling shot and the bast a boomerang
Marker Setup: PLANET ECLIPSE EGO
Recommended
Upgrades:
M80 taped to it
Strengths: Ummm, light, ummmm, guaranteed never to hit anything aimed at.
Weaknesses: Plastic, paintballs turn back at shooter.
Review: I had this gun for like 3 years then I went painballin at a feild for the first time i relized anything is better than this gun. I love its ability to shoot curved balls. Soon after shooting at a field i gave up paintball.... Then i got an autococker, 1000x better.
Conclusion: At least its not a brass eagle.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pointzero owner Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tracers,spyders,inferno
Marker Setup: Point zero with 8oz tanks (easyer to act as a handle) and 6" plain spyder barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
If at all possible try to find the drop down expansion pack for the pointzero just because vertical tanks get in the way when in a lying down position.
Strengths: Cheap,plastic,trigger has a long pull not a ammo/air hog,very light
Weaknesses: inaccurate shots and long trigger pull
Review: Cheap Light after 3 years of use .well 12 games every summer so 36 days at about 6 hours a day ..what ever that adds up to that ammount of useage i havent had any problems with breaking parts so thats a blessing i guess. this gun is for the more reserved player who moves about cautiously since the plastic body is not going to tolerate alot of wear .
But they are cheap and iv got a friend who bought 2 of them left the small barrel on them used 12g cylinders and 45 round hoppers . they are a realy good spray & pray gun with 1 or 2. a pre 2000 edition pgp has more accuracy. for the money they are a realy good entry level for children 7+ as the gun doesnt pack alot of punch i had to actually yell to people and say your hit! and get in to an arguement over it cuz ..like i said not alot of power.
Conclusion: good for thoes occasional players & a Entry level semi for players 7+ its a good buy if you have a day job and arent to fanatical. its deffinitly not for any prospecting sharp shooters.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderLover Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE get a new gun instead of an upgrade (seriously!!!)
Strengths: light, cheap.
Weaknesses: plastic, ( says it all) very innacurate.
Review: No matter how cheap it is don't buy this gun. Get a better gun. I made the mistake of buying it. Ok, it may look like an average, cheap gun but don't buy it. PLEASE. It's all plastic (except the barrel and bolt and CO2 nozzle thingy) which should explain something. Even with a new barrle it is still EXTREMELY inacurate. I forever regret buying that barrel. If there was one thing good I could say about this gun is that it's $30 and it may be alright if youre a super newb. BUT ONLY if you're an uber newb that doesn't play much and just wants a gun.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. I must admit it is better than some Brass Eagle Talons and stuff but I don't recommend it. Get a more expensive spyder. Even if it is more expensive this gun really is not accurate.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

truman_5 Sunday, July 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tracer, black maxx, silver eagle, samurai(but this is lots better)
Marker Setup: genesis, 14"barrel,
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, bottomline, if u can get the bigger zap barrel from the electric.
Strengths: cheap, light, good feed, doesnt break paint to bad, can use good paint (marbs, all stars,el-tigres) upgrades r cheap, good backup gun, easy to find, good starter gun, can hold two at a time for double fire(only tried once)
Weaknesses: cant upgrade barrel, inaccurate, looks bad, crappy barrel, will only last a while, its plastic, doesnt shoot far, electric hoppers dont work to well wit it for some reason
Conclusion: its good for beginners but u should get something else if u r serious about your game. for anyone starting, get this instead of ANY brass eagle guns(raptor, samurai, saber) but its good nonetheless.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phat John Saturday, July 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Matrix with Trinity LPR, Aardvark Red Bolt kit, Aardvard 45 Grip frame, Aardvark red, white, and blue stickie grips, Aardvark switch trigger, Enigma red low rise, red back plate, Black CP flame drop forward w/ red asa, 16in Dye Boomstick, and Nitro Duck 90ci 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever you can find for it.
Strengths: It is really inexpensive i got mine for $30. I will work as a back up gun being fired maybe 100 times in a day but beyond that i don't trust it. I use a matrix so i barely need it for a bck up gun it is mainly for someone else.
Weaknesses: It is innaccurate after about 25 yards and has no range at all. It is made of plastic and some screwed up matel for the bolt.
Conclusion: It is good for someone you rarely needs a back up otherwise for newbies get the pg1 pro
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Winchester Wednesday, July 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Minimag, M98 custom, Bushmaster, Automag RT and my baby 2k2 Angel Fly w/ Freak kit
Marker Setup: M 83 with 12 volt revy 12 oz. co2 and a remote with a 4+1 pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electro trigger or any kind of double trigger
Strengths: The good where do i start well first off the barrel is as accurate a Freak kit also you can probably get 4 bps and it gets good gas mileage plus it is as small as a minimag
Weaknesses: The bad is its got a long trigger pull just go to the gym lol or use some oil then the cocking rod is a little hard to pull back just put oil on it and that is it aalso it is pretty load but if you snipe pull it will scared the crap out of them so it could be also gun lol
Conclusion: my final statement is that this is a great gun for beginners or people that are snippers that want in accurate gun and a cheap gun Buy this gun it is awesome you we love it and you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
It's great Compared to Brass Eagle Talon (lol)

It's not bad compared to the spyder special edition. It's great for the amount of money you're paying.
Marker Setup: Viewloader 200 Hopper, 9oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You could get a bottom line feed hose.
Strengths: It's great for the beginner paintballer or anybody who doesn't want pump guns anymore.
It's also great for it's price, and it's decent.
Reliable.
$60.00 Canadian!
Available in Black or Camouflage.
Easy to adjust velocity.
The PRICE AGAIN!
Very light weight.
Has a bottom line feed hose as an add-on.
Weaknesses: If you have the money get something better.
Plastic body.
Kind of hard for cocking when brand new.
Only fair accuracy.
Trigger kinda flimsy.
Barrol is made of some type of cheap metal.
The bottom line feed hose is the ONLY add-on that I know of.
Conclusion: It's a great product. It's good for someone who been playing for a while as a newbie and wants to upgrade to something that doesn't cost a fortune.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media