paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, May 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Custom 98, Veiwloader Genesis, Brass Eagle BLADEhahaha, Brass Eagle Avenger, Veiwloader Triton
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, Pmi Coiled Remote, 20 oz Co2... Kinda sad... Kinda
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, but you need to buy a new one for most guns anyways.
And, if you've got money to buy a nice barrel, you should just save it to buy a new gun anyways.
Strengths: This gun shoots paintballs.
This gun is very VERY inexpensive.
Weaknesses: Well, this gun is a beast... in a bad way. In my experience with it, it ate up co2 pretty quickly, but thats the least of its worries.

It is riduculously uncomfortable to hold, hell, the whole thing isnt even made out of metal, its more a semi-high plastic. The barrel though is maybe tin or somthing, shrinks quick in cold weather. Target shooting? Aiming? Dont even bother, you'll just waist your time, this gun is insanely inaccurite.

The trigger is pretty stiff, same with the cocking mechanism... and the safty... well, anything that moves really.

It chops balls pretty consistantly, but at least its not a Brass Eagle.
Conclusion: This gun may suck pretty bad, but it does shoot paintballs, and so if your short on cash, I actually recomend it.
In wal-mart you can pick one of these up with a mask and ball hauler and two 100 round tubes for a hundred bucks canadian.

But, if you have money to spend on paintball, look for a Tippmann or somthing, they cost more, but you can take them a long way...

Oh, yeah, and if you bought this gun in hopes of going to your local paintball feild, don't.

They will laugh at you.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dbmac Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
Marker Setup: i have a model 83 with 14" barrel and 16 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new 14" sniper barrel
Strengths: light
durable
fairly accurate
CHEAP
semi atutomatic
easy velocity adjuster
black or camoflauge
sturdy
if ur just plain tired of pumping those pumps and bull crap like that and you just want a reliable semi auto paintball marker then you will need tyhis gun for sure because its semi auto and cheap and it can really make you a very good pasintball player
and has easy grip
Weaknesses: small barrel
kind of hard to pull the trigger
its pastic but who cares....(lowers the price)
barrel reflects off the sun
sometimes can be kind of hard to cock
it can be inaccurate like for example. . . . . . . i could shoot a target like ten times and probly only 7 would hit my target were i wanted it buts a pretty good gun.
Conclusion: this is a great gun to get started with!!!
and i recomened it highly for those who are just getting in to paintball!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Just the rentals at the paintball place, but i think this gun is way better and I'm glad i bought it.
Marker Setup: Just what came on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a bottomline and a new barrel, maybe a trigger if you can find one. If you don't want to buy those things it still works great.
Strengths: I bought this gun slightly used from my friend for 60 bucks. (Not bad)
I just started paintballing and i think this gun is great. Of course the people who have been playing like 2 years don't like it cause it can't compare to their angels or e-mags. (Always look at what other guns the person has before believing their review) The gun is really light and pretty accurate. It hasn't ever broken a ball for me. It is really easy to adjust the velocity. The price is great, the gun is almost as good as some of the 200 dollar guns my friends have, and it far surpasses others in its price range.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is a little far, but not too bad and if your not trigger happy its not a problem. It would be a little more accurate with a new barrel, which are hard too find. If you get your face too close to the gun while shooting, the bolt might hit you in the face. The canister is vertical and it can be hard to hold and shoot with one hand unless you have a bottomline.
Conclusion: I think it is an excellent gun for beginners and intermediates, and would be a great backup gun for experts. For it's price, i think it is the best gun you can get. If you are just getting into paintball, or are tight for cash, I would definitely recommend the model 83. You might want to get a new trigger or just replace the spring.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman98 custom ,Rebel bottomline
Marker Setup: Dioblo paint brass eagle, mobilizers new and longer barrel 9 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
buy a new barrell need a sight with the bad accuracy (the gun's accuracy) try to buy a new trigger it helps
Strengths: price is good, most of the time it works package comes with marker,
squeege, hopper, elbow 9 oz. tank, looks sharp, you can always get friends back from there talk about the gun, shoots alt of balls about 500 in a full 9 oz. tank cheap, cheap in a short period of time only afew paintballs have chopped, long period of time very mant choped
Weaknesses: trigger squeaks a lot , it wouln't work for a long time untill I took it a part and put it together again, very hard to pull trigger 1st time every once and a while the cocker will hit you in the face if not careful when trying to take off elbow the sight holder gave me a cut. ( don't take off elbow, thats what does it , just take off the hopper nothing happens) easy to put hopper on after that
Conclusion: for this price from youre opinion it depends on whether you like it or not at first you may like it but as time goes on it starts to get worse and worse your friends know that it sucks but you don't so be careful what you want for youre birthday .I will next time
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder 2in1, JT Excel 4.0, VL Genesis.
Marker Setup: Zap ZXS 400, out of the box. 9oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom feed. you cant lie on the ground and fire this gun at all unless you turn the hopper sideways and fire the gun at a 90 degree angle.
Strengths: -The Price! 100 $ canadian for the gun, hopper, mask, squeegee, 2 paint holders w/ belt strap. awesome gun for a beginner or anyone with skill that doesn't need to rely on a good gun to get them kills.
-Theres nothing better than owning a person whos packing a 500 dollar beast of a gun, using a 50$ Wal-Mart special.
-A full 9oz tank can fire off approx. 600-700 rounds from what ive seen.
-I've only had 4 balls in 1000 chop so far, all when firing rapidly while running.
Weaknesses: -Trigger squeaks a lot
-hard to disassemble without proper tools
-less than perfect accuracy/range
-bolt hits you in the face if you get too close while aiming.
-sharp sight rail sliced my thumb good while taking off the hopper. (this gun causes injuries)
-bolt gets jammed once in a while. hasnt happened since ive taken it apart.
Conclusion: for the price you can't go wrong. At first your friends might laugh at you, but after you kill them with this thing, the joke will be on them. If you wanna try paintball before making a huge investment in a good gun, then this little puppy will serve you well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
talon ghost (pump)
Marker Setup: what it comes with in the player package.
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line, and if you can find a new barrel that will fit it. If you do find a barrel e-mail me.
Strengths: fairly accurate from around 80-90ft.
good for starters
looks cool
shoots generally hard
Weaknesses: auto cock bolt comes out in the back and hit me in the face the first time i shot it.
not very good stock barrel (when fps is really high it hooks massively)
Conclusion: this is a perfectly good gun for a beginer on a low budget. i got my full player package for $60 on ebay. Also don5t listen to all the idiots who right bad reviews because most of them have been playing for like 3 years and have thier damn autocockers or angels that cost $600.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Itza big hunk of crap. I hate it. I spit upon it. Nothing can be similar to this tripe.
Marker Setup: Model 98 custom w/ stainless barrel and D/F
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you can find. You'll need it if you want to try playing well.
Strengths: well it's light
and, probably low in fat if you take a good bite out of the reciever
It won't cost you your kidneys
Weaknesses: Inaccurate
Loud
Pops CO2
Farts CO2
Cackles when you screw in the tank (run it's gonna explode!)
Has the trigger pull of a windex bottle
Made of glass-filled polymer
Conclusion: Good thing it's made of polymer, it keeps the price down. Otherwise point zero would be ripping people off! (heh heh)

Remember, you want moving metal parts coming in contact with plastic for extra long life of this paintball marker. Also, try to make sure the plastic has glass in it. You want fragile paintballs as close to pieces of glass as possible.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used the Talon Ghost.And tested a Spyder compact
Marker Setup: All stock But painted the barrel black.Might port it my-self if it dosent work ill just get a new barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel and if dosent have an bottom line you need to get one.And if you want get a bigger hopper.If you can get a new trigger.
Strengths: It's a great gun for most beginers or just for backup.Its light and very accuret.Its just as good as some as my friends 200$ dollors guns.Acutaly i think its better.You dont use alot of air.And its just as powerful as any other gun would.And the best thing its cheap($80-$90)
Weaknesses: Its hard to cock and the barrel is ti short but you can get a new barrel for like $30 dollors or something.And when you pull the trigger It makes a squeeking noise its kinda anoying but i got used to it.
Conclusion: Like i said its a great gun for beginers or just for a back-up gun.Alss you need to do to it is what i listed up above.
So get off your couch potaeto butt and go buy a Point Zero Model 83 and go have some fun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dead Parrot007 Friday, April 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BE Avenger (sucks), Tippmann 98 custom (much better)
Marker Setup: (1) Tippmann 98 custom with Rikochet 2K hopper, 20 oz co2 with butt plate, SP 2002 All-American, double trigger and small drop forward.
(2) Point zero model 83 (no bottom line)
Also I guess Zap makes another marker just like this called the Winchester Durango which looks exactly like this except apparently it has spyder threading.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Are there any upgrades? Apparently the barrel is Zap threaded but if you can find one a better barel would be nice. I like mine without the bottom line because then the tank makes a front grip and also the co2 won't turn liquid and run into the marker or whatever happens.
Strengths: Looks cool, pretty light, fairly accurate, cheap- I got mine for $20 with a subscription to Paintball 2 Xtremes which was also $20, but I think that offer is over now. Otherwise you can get it and a package for like $70.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is really long and kind of stiff and also it kind of makes little scrunching noises and feels weird when you pull it. I guess you could put in a lighter spring or cut the one that's in there or something. It has a sight rail, which is bad for me because I just happen to like normal open sights better. It's hard to cock. The barrel is short and doesn't have any porting. Also it's silver and shiny so if you play woods games and you want to be all camoflaged, you'lle have to put something on the barrel or better yet, get a new one.
Conclusion: This is an ok beginner marker I guess, but anyone considering buying this should probably just save up a little more money and go with a Tippmann 98 custom or something. I just got it so if I have a friend over we can shoot around a little or even go to a field and not have to rent. I wouldn't really want to use this as my primary marker but it's fine for a backup and for friends. I'm giving this an 8 because of the price, but for perfomance it's probably a 7.5.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball66 Wednesday, April 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vulcan 2000
Tippmann 98
PMI Tagmaster (Good gun)
Marker Setup: Point Zero with a bottomline.
I use a 12oz tank but a 9oz works too.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
Longer ported barrel
Strengths: The first good thing is the gun is very accurate. It is also easy to clean but you dont need to worry about that because there is little to no ball breakage on an average velocity. The velocity is thumb adjustable and has good speeds. It is really light too. You can get a good set up for about $120.00. A good gun for newbies and average players. A good backup gun for advanced players.
Weaknesses: Nothing really except for when you have it on a low velocity the bolt doesn't cock back sometimes after you fire.
Conclusion: I really like this gun alot. They are cheap and a good deal. I give it a 9 out of 10. Iam comparing this gun to other guns in its class. Iam not comparing it to autocockers or mags or other guns that are obviously better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media