paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle avenger, stock set-up.9.0oz. tank,150rd. hopper
Marker Setup: stock set-up,9.0oz. tank, 200 rd. hopper.tank is set-up in a verticle feed mode.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none so-far.,may-be a longer and ported barrel down the road.
Strengths: shot zap and pmi paintballs out of it with no ball breakage.very accurate, at 30yds. i grouped every shot in a paper plate no problem,in fact i could have done that from about 50soyds.the marker is fairly fast ,also the sight rail is pretty accurate at close range.
Weaknesses: .just paint,or camo-duct tape the barrel
Conclusion: so-far the brass eagle avenger is going to be benched.for #40 bucks you can't go wrong.it's not a tippman,but what the hell,for just starting out there's no need to spend to much money right of the bat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Archangel Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Titan T3
Marker Setup: Zap ZXS-400
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either a Bottom-line adaptor on its own, or with a drop forward, red-dot sight
Strengths: It's rugged, reliable, easy to disassemble/reassemble, easy to clean, affordable and is lighter than most full-bodied aluminum markers.
Weaknesses: It has a rear bolt with no bolt frame (I hit myself in the mask twice with the bolt, thank goodness I was wearing the mask.) and it's difficult to aim the way it is right out of the box.
Conclusion: Perhaps not as good as a JT Excellerator, a Tippman 98 or any other prestigeious brand-name marker, but it's durable, reliable and can handle just about anything a newbie can put it through. A great entry-level marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray, other BE's. Model 83 better.
Marker Setup: Zap Model 83, Ported barrel, double finger triger, bushnel scope, 200rd hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom Line
12" barrel
Strengths: This gun is great for beginners. It is cheap which is why I put some mods on it. If I screw it up, it doesn't matter. I made a double finger trigger and got rid of the anoying trigger play. Can get 5+ shots per second. Gun was too loud so I ported the stock barrel. I also painted it black. (planning to get a new barrel anyway). The porting worked great. I mounted a scope on it for scouting the feilds. It is pointless for anything else.
Weaknesses: Had awful trigger play - fixed it.
Gun was too loud- Ported barrel
Silver barrel would give away location when sneeking up on someone.
needs a bottom line and expansion chamber
Conclusion: A great gun for doing your own mods. It is cheap, fairly accurate with good balls.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a tigershark and a stingray II. The 83 clearly slaughters them in all categories.
Marker Setup: Stock everything except elbow
Recommended
Upgrades:
New elbow, new barrel
Strengths: Everything. There is no other paintball gun besides the 83. All other guns are inferior. The 83 is life. Before I had the 83, I was nothing. Now I am supreme over all paintball fields. The 83 has made me THE LORD OF PAINTBALL. You are getting sleepy. You are having the sudden urge to get up, go out, realize that you were in your underwear, go back, put on some clothes, and GO BUY THE 83.
Weaknesses: How dare they ask such a question. There is nothing wrong AT ALL with the Point Zero 83.
Conclusion: If you do not buy this, you are clearly a paranoid schziophrenic. You deserve to be dragged out in the street and hunted down like the dog you are. Perhaps we will allow you to beg for mercy. Perhaps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact/classic, pirahna, PMI traccer, and other similiar middle grade semi's
Marker Setup: Spyder compact java 2000 2in1 with Tru-Flight 16" barrel and 12oz tank. With on off valve and 32 degrees expansion chamber and 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and if you get one without bottom line get a bottom line.
Strengths: It's light good hard plastic that is not cheap and won't break. Shoots ok with decent paint maybe marbs, or PMI prem's if you don't like spending tons even great america's aren't bad. Descent rate of fire for a 20 or 30 dollar gun. I can get 4bps or.
Weaknesses: Barrel sucks so hard it hurts. No porting silver which can give away your position and is super short. Also without bottomline the weight is uneven.
Conclusion: Altogether it's a great gun if your not sure you want to get into the wonderful sport or you just need a backup or a gun to let people use when they come over to play for the first time like a kid named Nicky!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
pirahna, about the same
Marker Setup: i use a model 83 with a winchester google system and winchester hopper with diablo blaze paintballs and a 9 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe get a longer barrel but it is good enoughwith the 10"
Strengths: -very accurate
-pretty powerful
-easy to adjust the velocity
-cheap!
Weaknesses: -hard to cock
-plastic but who cares?
Conclusion: plastic dosent hurt the gun bad and i was shooting with my neighbor who has a 98 custom and mine was just as good except a lot less money. it is as accurate as anything else you will get and real cheap so why not get it? buy it with diablo blaze paintballs and you will do good. i love this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulldog86 Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann ProCarbine, Spyder Shutter, Brass Eagle Stingray II. The Model 83 is a backup for my upgraded 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: My Personal Setup is a Tippmann 98 Custom with a Lapco Bigshot barrel, a Ricochet AK moterized hopper, and a double trigger upgrade with a 16 oz. tank.
<BR>
<BR>For this review, I used:
<BR>Point Zero Model 83, 9 oz. CO2 tank, 200 round hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If it is possible, I would find a new barrel (I am not sure if the threads are the same as any other popular markers. If so, you could replace the barrel, but I don't believe there are any upgrades especially made for the Model 83.).
<BR>Depending on your personal preference, I would also get a bottom-line.
<BR>Other than that. . . well, there's not much that you can do!
Strengths: •PRICE! I got mine for twenty bucks with a magazine subscription to Paintball2Xtremes (great mag!!).
•Trigger pull is fairly decent, all things considered (price, non-electro, price)
•With a new barrel, the gun could be fairly accurate, in my opinion.
•The ROF is pretty decent. Not great, but okay.
•Simple to mantain.
Weaknesses: •I could NOT field strip the gun. these little plastic nuts just would not come off. And if I did get them off, I was afraid I'd never get them back on. Not a good thing.
•The stock barrel is pathetic. But then, so are most. But this one is just horrible.
•It's pretty loud.
•Eats CO2 pretty quickly
Conclusion: The best for the price ($20 for me). Good gun for a beginner. I would take this marker over a Brass Eagle Stingray (comparable product). Feels more solid, less breakable. All in all, pretty decent backup gun for a "serious recballer" (i think that's an oxymoron, but that's me:-) ) and a good beginner's gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, March 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none others
Marker Setup: stock everything 4 a Point Zero
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel the stock is a tube
Strengths: accurate and cheap great 4 low budget starters like me cocker threads so if u r insane u could get it a good barrel it is light (obviously beacuse it is made of plastic)
Weaknesses: sounds like a shotgun and is plastic cocker threads so if u want to get an ok barrel u can't get one u hav 2 get a great one for cockers there are a millon ball breaks every time u use it i dont know if you got a new barrel that would change
Conclusion: best starters gun but not much range so good for small games but don't go against Impys great 4 beginners who are learning and for small games
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: I own a Tippmann 98 Custom, with an Aluminum Bigshot Barrel.

The Point Zero is my dad's gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
There are no real upgrades available to you for this marker.
Strengths: - Lightweight (much lighter than a Tippmann), can be held like a pistol
- Cheap. Came with free Scott/32 Degrees Mask and 9 oz. carbon dioxide tank for a mere $80.
- Good for people who just want to play few games only
- Excellent BACKUP gun
- Feels solid
- The CO2 muzzle "smoke" effect looks really cool when you shoot (my Tippmann creates a short vapor)
- Did I mention it was cheap?
Weaknesses: I am not sure how it compares to other guns, but it's performance isn't really spectacular. As I said before, it is a back up gun.
Conclusion: Excellent gun for the money!

If you just want to play a few games, then this marker is a must-get.

If you're serious about paintball, though, this makes a great backup marker.

I'm serious, this is a great gun for the money. You won't regret it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, March 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder Compact and Classic, BE Avenger
Marker Setup: I currently use a Tippmann 98 Custom with some nice gadgets added on to it with a 14" CP barrel.
I have a Model 83 with a 20oz and bottom line and scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: This was ok.
*even balance if you have bottom line.
*rear cocking
*I was able to hold my own against much better markers
*Good sight. You can put a 20x20 scope on it just to look down field.
*I can get it shooting at an ok speed. Maybe 3bps
Weaknesses: A few things.
*Without proper care it leaks.
*Really bad 8" metal tube stock barrel. No porting. Quite inaccurate without good paint.
*I heard you could stick a spyder stock barrel on it but you can't.
*Heavy trigger pull.
*loud but that dosn't really matter.
*Really really really really sucks with BE paint. Get some Marbs or JT's and it shoots good.
Conclusion: A good marker for its price $20 and it you compare that witha $20 BE blade it is really nice. A good marker if you are new or if you want a cheap back-up. You can solve its inaccuracy by getting a new barrel. Yes they make them.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media