paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, March 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, rental, worked fine, will be buying one either sniper or RT config as soon as I can get the cash
Marker Setup: Point Zero Model 83 w/ bottom line, coiled remote and 20 oz co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom line definitely and colied remote if you like that sort of thing. Looking into getting a better barrel for it.
Strengths: I think it is a great first marker, I was competing against a whole field of tippmans(rental) and several nice semis(autocockers, BL Intimidators, automags) and was keeping up with them. It only cost me $20 and is an excellent starter marker. Its light, easy to strip(at home) and clean, and works well. I went through 1500 rds of paint on one 20 oz CO2 tank.
Weaknesses: It is not extremely accurate wise I can still hit a person at 100 feet with a 2-3 round burst. Up close it is just as dangerous as any other marker.
Conclusion: Fine First marker and I will keep it around after I get a better marker for a friend to use when they go with me to the field. If it gets destroyed I have lost $20 and won't feel too bad.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blindspot Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer S/A, BE Stingray
Marker Setup: Reviewing a stock Zap Point Zero Model 83.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Accessories I know of for the marker:
Bottom Line
Barrell
Strengths: Got it through Paintball2Xtremes magazine for $20 more on my subscription cost.
-Shoots accurately (for an inexpensive marker)
-Doesn't seem to break/double feed my paint (Diablo Blaze)
-Without Bottom Line, easily handled one-handedly
-Cheap enough to buy 2 and get some double-pistol action
-Disassembles and cleans very easily (vs.my bro's Bruizer)
-Price vs. performance outweighs "superguns" (ex: $20 for 100points of performance vs. $600 for 200points of performance. A $600 gun functions at a higher,better level-- but you pay $580 more for 100 more points of performance)
-Easy to cock
-I "heard" more barrels will become available later
-I would prefer a stock Model 83 over a stock Stingray
Weaknesses: -Sometimes short strokes (what gun doesn't from time to time?)
-limited upgrades(but the whole point is to buy it once and never spend money on it again)
-watch out for backflow CO2 from your shots popping your hopper off the gun. Drilling a small hole in either the elbow or the top of your hopper will help to alieveate this.
-non-metal body (not completely)
-saves you money to spend on other paintball gear that keeps you addicted to paintball and spending more money than you originally envisioned.
-People will not appreciate being shot at by a guy with dual Model 83's sending a wall of gelitan balls in their direction.
Conclusion: -Breaks are usually a factor of paint & since everybody used different paint, I refrain from commenting. As stated above, Diablo Blaze works for me.
-Great starter gun that evolves into a backup after you buy a Tippman, or Spyder, or Piranah, or F4, or Rebel, or....
-For Newbies, this is a great buy. Get it in a kit for $70 , or alone for $50. Rated a 10
-For existing players, great cheap backup or loaner gun. Rated a 8
-Personally, I was very impressed with this product's durability and reliability
-Slap on a 12gram quick change in the vertical ASA for an even lighter, smaller footprint and go to town on someone's <insert colorful metephore here>
-Remember, it only takes ONE paintball to eliminate someone from a match!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Taco_Joe Saturday, March 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders that really sucked.
Marker Setup: Model 83 with bottemline feed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottemline feed. BOA barrel.
Strengths: It's got good accuracy for it's size and price, lightweight, it's small. Pretty good rate of fire. Doesn't break paint that much. Pretty good range. Nice trigger response time which affects the rate of fire. Good at CQB because of size.
Weaknesses: If you shoot too fast, the paint does break, this can be easily be avoided by watching how fast you pull you trigger while shooting. Short stock barrel, hard to pull back the bolt at first.
Conclusion: This is the best gun overall that I have come across. Mostly because of the price. Also it can compare to most mid-range markers (Spyders, Tippmanns, Piranhas, Specters). If known how to be used properly, it can put up a fight against high-end markers (Angels, Tippmann custom 98 flatline, Shockers). Very good at CQB because of the size.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my sons have tippman 98 one with a new barrel. have played with schokers,auto cockers
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are available ..... next gun will never match the value of my model 83.

an other one or maybe an other zap marker.
Strengths: *very light price lots of shoots in one tank of air. twice my tippman.

shoots all paint with very few breaks been through 2000 rounds with out a break.

depending on wich paint will out shoot the tippmans though the tippman can be more accurate with the right paint.

CUSTOMER SERVICE:CUSTOMER SERVICE: CUSTOMER SERVICE:

I had a problem the marker became almost impossible to chock. probly from old paint jamming the bolt. I called customer service and got an updated bolt and hammer. It works great. he tried to give me a new spring too. now it will only shoot 250-260 fps. I will call customer service again. They are the best customer service i found in any industry.

I love taking out angels,shockers and auto chockers that cost 10-50
times a much

Weaknesses: people can not believe a cheap gun can be any good it is.

loud but when iI run out of paint the noise keeps them down.

the expensive guns hate being taken out by a cheap gun.

I LOVE IT>CHEAP PAINT CHEAP GUN>KILL EXPENSIVE GUN AND PAINT

i did get a problem of hard chocking quickly and pro solved by great customer service...a new bolt and hammer arrived quivkly with no charge.
Conclusion: do not rent buy this marker now.

Buy a spare for friends
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom. Its stinks compared to the tippman, but hey, what doesn't?
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
Quiet Riot barrel 14''
12 ounce CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I didn't know if there were any.
Strengths: Cheap.
Light.
Pretty durable.
Weaknesses: Bad barrel.
Bad accuracy.
Also, it broke down after 2 weeks.
not very good distance.
bad in cold weather.
Conclusion: It's a decent to below average starter gun. It was my first gun, I got it in a starter pack. Its okay if you wanna have an okay gun for a really cheap price ($30) then get it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle silver eagle was crap
spyder shutter
Marker Setup: spyder shutter 20oz co2 12 volt rev 18in stone cold 2 barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
are there any upgrades?
Strengths: this gun shoots great it is reliable and eazy to clean. i held a bunker with this gun for 30 min aginst people with moldel 98 and spyders
Weaknesses: broke alot of paint- i was using brass eagle paint
loads 2 or more balls alot of the time
Conclusion: this is a great gun for the money i got mine for 25 new. if you are a biggner or want a backup get this gun.BUY IT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kylespoo Monday, February 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, pmi tracer, spyder compact 2 in 1
Marker Setup: 12 inch barrel, 200 hopper 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger tank, longer barrel
Strengths: light , paintballs dont break that often, fairley accurate
Weaknesses: not much just barrel to short
Conclusion: good for beginers , works good for a 30$ gun
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I use the point zero still. I can't get a new one.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, a 20 oz., good hopper, double trigger... pretty muck everything needs to be upgrade because it is crap if you don't get the upgrades
Strengths: You can get it from a place for $40 and a one year subscribtion to the magazine.
Nothing MOre
Weaknesses: Acurracy is horrible!
The durability is bad too. it could break any second!
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a cheap backup gun. If your gun messes up you can use this one. But dont buy it for your main gun. Bad gun!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: it is light wieght, it has an easy trigger pull, if you get an airtank it can be used for a 2nd grip, i've droped mine many times and it hasn't been dameged yet, at my b-day party i won evey game with it and i was up against 4 peeps at a time, it has a comfortable handle grip
Weaknesses: you need to get a hopper that is the same brand or it will sometimes fall off [it only fell off once for me] thats about all the bad there is to the gun
Conclusion: I recomend this gun for a begginer or and expert, expesialy if your lookin' for a non expensive gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Justin_19 Friday, January 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: basic
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barral, i want to get an expansion chamber or a basic through the handle bottom line
Strengths: this gun is a really good deal for anyone starting out like myself, fairly accurate, it doesnt break balls very often ( i havent broken one yet and I've played about 5 games)
Weaknesses: short barral, not accurate all the time, not worth upgrading
Conclusion: I think that this is an awsome paintball gun for the price and for anyone starting out
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media