paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83 / Point Zero Model 83

Point Zero Model 83 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Point Zero

Buy Point Zero Model 83

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Point Zero Model 83
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 147
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-auto marker featuring rear-cocking bolt, raised sight rail, and polymer body.
Product Availability 
The Point Zero Model 83 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, January 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a rental tippman and it's about the same only it breaks less paint
Marker Setup: I have the model 83 w/ a 9oz bottle and a 200 round hopper and stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a bottom line might be good, but i like having something to grip so you would have to get a gas through grip, or an expansion chamber, also the barrel is not good at all, and i haven't been able to find anyone who makes a replacement
Strengths: It's cheap and requires very little maintenance other than just cleaning
Weaknesses: It isn't accurate and you can't upgrade the barrel, also when you break a ball (which it does pretty often) your accuracy is awfully worse, the trigger pull is heavy and the rate of fire is really slow, it has a single trigger and the gun can't keep up with me, i'd say it's in the 2-3 balls a second range if that fast
Conclusion: if you just want something to mess around with, then it's not bad, but if you are going to play at a field, i would get a Rebel, or a spyder, they are easier to upgrade and better guns, you get what you pay for
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel, Spyders, ect.
Marker Setup: Point Zero (Back-UP) 4oz. Co2
B.O.S.S. X Raider, 20 oz. Smarts Parts on+off Valve, Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
dont waste your money, although an X-Chamber would help a bit
Strengths: Nothing really, but its $30, and its light.
Weaknesses: Heavy Trigger
No Bottom Line
Plastic
Bad ROF
Inaccurate
Short Range
No Powerfeed
Terrible In Anything Below Fifty Five Degrees
Grip Is Uncomfortable
Poor Balance
Poor Field Stripping
Bad On Co2
Non-Upgradable
Hard To Cock
Looks Kinda Dumb
Conclusion: I don't really think this gun would be a good idea for any of you newbies out there. Your best bet would be the M98 (1,000,000,000,000,000,000 times better tham this thing. I guess its okay for $30, but I would save up for a M98 or a Spyder. Rebels are Nice too.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BodyBagSlam Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C - Obviously better but 4 times the price!
Spyder Compact 2K - Same type of gun, but Spyder is all metal.
Couple cheap pump guns that everyone has used by now - Talon/Vulcan/etc.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c is my main. Mostly all stock with a PMI Razzor barrel. Looking forward to a double trigger, Some sort of 12v hopper, Rear velocity adjuster, perhaps a rocket cocker, and a foregrip or xp chamber.

Spyder Compact 2k (all stock, with a Taso Winforce barrel) is the main backup.

The Point Zero Model 83 a secondary backup or new player gun.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Really isn't much other than a new barrel.
Strengths: Well, first off it's extremely cheap. I got mine off eBay and it got to me for $35 shipped. So I can't really complain all that much.

It shoots quite accurately until about 65 feet, then it starts to move around.

It is light and quite simple to upkeep.

It has a built in rear velocity adjuster! Gotta love that.

Not many breaks, but bad when they happen (see below)

Seems to like most paint.

All the empty areas on the gun seem to be begging for a homemade bottomline kit :)

Weaknesses: It was only $35 shipped, so you do get what you pay for.

The gun is mostly plastic, albeit hard plastic. This includes some major internal parts too. So far it hasnt been a problem, but I could see potential there.

The stock barrel looks like it was made in a prison by a bored machinesmith. It is a simple shined and smoothed metal pipe. Granted it works, but it looks like someones prize shanking pipe and not a paintball barrel :)

My main complaint is how hard it is to pop out the little plastic tabs to get the gun apart. I had to oil the hell out of a lot of parts to get it comfy enough for normal use. This includes the trigger (real hard and scratchy, oil fixed that) and the safety mechanism, which had to be filed somewhat to make it able to be moved without breaking a finger.

One last thing to mention, which is standard for some guns, is that once you break a ball in the barrel, you MUST clean it right away or the gun is useless. This one is really susceptible to that, so keep that in mind. It seems to get gummed up bad when a break occurs, so get to it asap if you intend to keep firing straight or even at all.
Conclusion: Its a true low end decent backup gun. Hell, if you didnt want to get a true sidearm, for the price you could rig this up and save half the cost. It truly performs for what it costs, although I wouldnt pay over $45 for it. Works with a variety of paint, and seems to be lenient on CO2 usage. Most folsk wouldn't have this for a main gun, and even as a new guy, neither would I. However, if this was the only gun I had, or all the others failed, I would use it in a heartbeat!

Conclusion: A decent gun for the price, and like all guns, if you keep it up it will keep working. A 7 for its overall rating should suffice, it isn't perfect, but you aren't paying for perfection either!

P.S. Yes this gun is the exact same gun as the Winchester Sedona, but (from my research) this one is a lot cheaper in most cases.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Java, Brass Eagle Stingray 2
Marker Setup: Stock parts and Laser Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel and Laser Sight or Scope
Strengths: -Very Cheap
-Durable
-Usable right out of the box
-Fire Rate
-Lightweight
-Best Beginner gun under 50 dollars
Weaknesses: -Breaks a fair amount of balls
-Barrel Accuracy is bad
-Chops balls
-Not many upgrades
Conclusion: All in all this gun is worth the money, but only for a beginner or for a reliable side arm.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, January 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder 2000,Tippman model 98,Blade,Talon
Marker Setup: Spyder sniper barrel, .22 cal Scope, Custom Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: CHEAP,Durable,CHEAP
Easy to add custom upgrades and accessories
Weaknesses: The stock barell is a piece
trigger pull is long
rear cocker is hard to pull
Conclusion: Very good for the price of the gun but could use a trigger job
Adding custom parts like barrels,scopes or others is very reccomended
Also rear velocity adjuster make this gun worth while
Plus applying oil to the rear cocker lowers the strength needed to pull the bolt back
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder 2000 compact,pmi ,spyder 2in1,winchester durango,talon,stingray
Marker Setup: stock gun sometimes use a homemade pvc extension on barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel i think would help but haven't found one. i heard that a spyder barrel will fit it but the one on the compact didn't
Strengths: works good doesn't chop very many balls in a year i have only had to take tools to two guns this is with 6 kids shooting them one got sand in it and the other needed a ball pulled out of the barrel.good on air . cheep! can adjust air without tools. the guys with the spyders were looking all over the place for allen wrenches.for a kid who doesn't clean his gun this is great for the price
Weaknesses: not much ,the plastic frame is good quality and has held up well,but my 15 year old wants an all metal gun because its better looking.stock barrel is only 8 "
Conclusion: buy it! 20dollars with a subscription to paintball2extreme 39.95 total cost. plus good mag. or if you need the whole setup less than $80 at three sites on the web.hell of a lot better than the stingray or the talon and better price than the spyders and easier to maintain. its the same gun as the durango accept for the name on the side and the color of the plastic so buy on price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MikeTippyMan Sunday, January 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I havent used talons or anything like that so, I havent used anything this bad.
Marker Setup: I use a Custom 98 with/Smart Parts All American 14", Rtrigger, and a SL 68 II with/Tippmann 14" sniper barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Um....Well if you really want to spend money on this, then a rebel stock barrel :P
Strengths: It only costs around $35.
Weaknesses: With that same $35 you can buy about 5 cases of ramen cup noodles....
Conclusion: This marker is alright if you are only going to play paintball for a weekend cause your best friend keeps nagging you to do so. If you do happen to buy this gun, buy the worst/cheapest paint you can because with the barrel you wont hit anything no matter what paint you use, thats assuming the paint didnt break before it left the barrel. Bottomline.....BUY THE CUP NOODLES!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
griffin,f4,bruzuir bandit
Marker Setup: coil,lazer,and my brother had a spyder stock barrel i put on it (shot much further)
Recommended
Upgrades:
the same
Strengths: light,easy to haddle while walking ,good beginner gun, and velocity adjuster that doesnt come on most 50 $ guns. fires like a cannon or bazooka.
Weaknesses: bad trigger pull , a little hard to cock for a little man,skips a little if dont well oil it. but what can u expect from a 50$ gun
Conclusion: good for a while, but then you might want to upgrade in guns
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 30th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rebel deluxe
Marker Setup: I put a expansion chamber and bottom line and 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
14 barrel
Strengths: Light
pretty accurate
7 shots per second
300 fps w/expansion chamber
STRONGER THAN REBEL DELUXE
Weaknesses: stock barrel sucks
with out bottom line tank gets in the way
breaks marballizers
elbow sucks only accepts vl hoppers
Conclusion: pretty good needs upgrades good for beginners.
Its a good backup. STRONGER THAN REBEL DELUXE
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Tracer, Rebel
Marker Setup: Stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel kind of inaccurate
Strengths: Cheap
great gun for beginner and for the price
hardly breaks balls
good on CO2
lightweight
Weaknesses: stock barrel is a little inaccurate
Conclusion: This is a great gun. I love it, it works just as good as my PMI and is 20 times cheaper. Its is decently accurate even with the stick barrel. I have found it hardly breaks balls. It is a great gun for some one who is starting out or eho is short on cash. Its also a good back up incase your mian fails.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media