paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel Speed 2005 / WDP Angel Speed 2005 / WDP Angel Speed 2005 / WDP Angel Speed 2005

WDP Angel Speed 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel Speed 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel Speed 2005
[ View Photos (51) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 117
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $895

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This completely redesigned Speed offers unsurpassed performance at an unbelievably low price. The Speed 05 is available in Graphite Dust, Black Dust, Red Dust, Blue Dust, and Silver Dust all colors featuring black dust accents.

Speed 05 Features

‘Angel Eye’s’ Dynamic ball detection system.
NEW Contoured super-comfort fore-grip giving optimum balance and control
NEW Cartridge Mini Reg, with increased porting and gas galleries for even lower pressure.
NEW Style Space Frame for Improved ergonomics and more finger space.
NEW ‘EMF’ Dual Polarity Magnetic Trigger. Utilizing Instrument bearing mounting system offering the crispest trigger operation in paintball, with zero friction or side-play.
New Opto Trigger, featuring non-contact activation with forward, return, and toe adjustment.
NEW Electronics pod, featuring durable 9Volt battery housing giving secure battery retention
Angel Fly Engine with 31bps Capability.
Twist-lock low-rise feed
External (lockable) Vernier trigger adjustment wheels.
Soft Face Bolt
NEW Soft-touch TPR grips
NEW Energy Efficient electronics, offering up to 200% more shots per 9v battery than any other Paintball Marker
NEW Encapsulated circuit board that is fully reprogrammable and upgradeable.
NEW user friendly Speed LED display system delivers the most advanced player to gun interface in its class, accessing 6 firing modes, with trigger offset, 4 loader settings, Dwell Adjustment, R.O.F indicator, Multi level Battery Indicator, Eye on/off indicator and test feature and Software version Indicator.
The Speed 05 is ½ an Inch shorter and ¼ of a pound lighter than the previous Speed.
Blackened Stainless Steel screws throughout
Infinity 14” One Piece Step-Bore Barrel
All Kills no Frills Switch and Play operation
The New Angel speed has been designed to out perform any gun in its class!
WDP have devoted incredible attention to the Trigger operation of the Speed. Having established a clear industry advantage in being able to cycle and fire 31 balls per second they are now concentrating on helping you get closer to actually achieving that ROF.

The EMF trigger is a highly engineered performance component. The trigger pivots on instrument bearings, ensuring a slick, smooth movement when pulled from any direction. The trigger gets its name from the integration of Electronics & Magnetic Forces.

Having a non-contact traction and repulsion magnetic action, which offers incredibly fast trigger return with no spring and zero friction or side-play. It is adjusted through the external Vernier trigger wheels to set the amount of trigger travel. The Opto-Trigger activation point can be set separately though the Toe adjuster.

To further enhance its performance the new Speeds EMF trigger system is mounted in a restyled grip frame that combines with a new ergonomic fore-grip to deliver the most balanced, comfortable and solid shooting platform available. The new ergonomic fore-grip has increased gas flow characteristics allowing for a further reduction in the Speeds operating pressures and recoil, whilst still maintaining its position as the most gas efficient firing system in paintball.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel Speed 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
AftermathJesus Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED
Eclipse\Angel LED
Angel IR3
Karnivor
Eclipse Ego
DM4
DM5
Proto Matrix
SP Shocker
03 vert feed mech cocker
Marker Setup: black DM5
virtue chip
CP trigger
CCM no pro
halo b\ v 35
crossfire 58/4500 lp
Recommended
Upgrades:
evolve kit
new gun
Strengths: They are listed below in the review body.
Weaknesses: They are listen below in the review body.
Review: Pros:
not much
if you like the looks or the trigger buy it

Weaknesses:
trigger = huge disappointment
chops
shuts down in direct sunlight
kick
not efficient

here is my story
this is my second angel
i bought it expecting something spectacular. after all the WDP hype i expected a lot
i got very little
the trigger was too stiff come stock
and after some adjustments and removing a magnet it was better
still not great
it can't handle brittle paintballs
its not the best out there, not even close
Conclusion: i bought this, i was dissapointed. i sold it, lost about 200 dollars. then i bought a DM5. wow, i felt so stupid for buing the speed
go and try this gun before you buy it
try lots of guns
buy the best one
it probably won't be an angel
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

rexinater Wednesday, June 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5, dm4, timmys, cockers shockers,and tried a g7
Marker Setup: Angel speed 05 blue 90 degree trigger, nw drop, nitroduck adjustable tank 68ci 4500 psi, blue halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast loader and maybe a new barrel but its a infinity get good paint and the barrel is fine.
Strengths: Fast, light, good desighn, eyes, good price
Weaknesses: None
Review: Im 13 im sponsered my team aksed me what type of gun we should get i said the speed its fast light and has a good design well the speed was a great chice two years ago my tem one the young gunz tourni nea me, if u have the money deff get this gone.
Conclusion: There is all this stuff bout a halo screws it up it doesnt
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

skinbabeluvr88 Monday, January 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter,e99 avant,imagine, bushmaster
Marker Setup: angel speed black 14 inch cp barrel and an egg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothin its perfect stock.
Strengths: Fast,Gets the job done,Plus people always want to be on ur team.
Weaknesses: Just needs a low pressure tank if u think a weakness play more.
Review: Well i went to a paintball store and i wanted a gun so i looked at a few and my friend ricky was tellin me its a nice gun i swear so i asked if i could look at it once i saw it i loved it, it is the most beautiful gun ever so i got the balls and bought it and ron let me shoot it right there in the shop it was a beautiful thing!

Conclusion: I think that if u want to buy this gun and u are hesitating "DONT" it's the perect gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prognosispb Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-bomb timmy, angel jd, and angel 4
Marker Setup: angel 05 speed, angel air (68ci 4500psi), q-loader, and a pipe barrell kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrell kit
Strengths: Really really! fast (31+ bps) and sweet trigger
Weaknesses: Big money besides that nothing
Review: In my opinion this is one of the best guns on the market.

I used to have a angel lcd but the technologies kept getting better and better until guns started shooting ropes of paint so i had to give in and buy my self something that could not only keep up but own all the other guns on the market.

The first ball i shot through this gun even though it was at the chronograph i fell in love with it.

It is fast reliable and accurate
Conclusion: if you have enough money for one of these bad boys then DEFINITELY GET ONE!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SeanKimStyle Sunday, October 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranah Semi Auto, Evil Omen(Great Gun)... Nothing can come close to Speed 05.
Marker Setup: Speed 05, Evil Bottomline, HP Crossfire 70/4500, Egg Z(soon to get Empire), Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: SPEED, Accuracy, Efficiency, Consistancy, LIGHT, SEXY, Comfortable, NO CHOP
Weaknesses: There are no Weaknesses at all.
Review: I've never shot faster gun than this Speed 05. I can't wait until I get Empire B Reloader. I thought i was going to rip someone's head off with this gun. It seems very reliable, it is so light, i thought i could fly during the play. It is very accurate with stock barrel, I don't think upgrading barrel will be neccesary, but get a barrel kit if you think you'll need it. I shot 1300 balls with 70/4000 fill in 70/4500 tank. Very Consistant. :) I Just love this gun. Here is a Video me shooting with it. When I get Empire B Reloader, I'll be shooting much faster. http://home.nyc.rr.com/pwilcox/100_0787.MOV

I didn't chop any ball shooting Zap Spank!
Conclusion: Don't buy this, because I don't want to see you competing with me :). I'll keep buying WDP now on. So good.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 17th, 2004 at 5:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ncbigdog Monday, September 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, E-Blade, Angel Speed Original, Angel Fly, Alias
Marker Setup: E-blade cocker with Nexus Kit, Sidewinder Regulator, Palmer front Reg. and Scepter Barrel System
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, the stock barrel is extremely accurate already, unlike older angel barrels. If you wanted to get something new the only thing would be volumizers which it doesn't come with.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light-weight, small, sick milling, cheap
Weaknesses: It makes your buddies jealous
Review: This is an awsome gun. I tested my buddy's at a tourney and fell in love. Another friend of mine had the old angel speed which doens't compare with this gun. It has the best trigger of any gun I have shot, and it very light, small, and extremely accurate. It has convinced me to go out and buy one, which I will be doing next week. SO if you want to spend less than $1000 and have a gun as fast and accurate as a Dm4, but smaller and lighter and way sicker, get this gun. It rips!!!
Conclusion: Go buy one! What is there to lose???
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

kingman89 Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: Fast, light, looks good, they are getting better
Weaknesses: High maintenance
Review: Awhile ago i was talking alot of crap about the angel speed but ive noticed that they are getting better so i take back everything i have said. Yes i did have some problems with them in the past but now they are lookin better. I am still going to stay with smart parts because they are good cheap guns. This thing is also pretty cheap but i dont want an angel.
Conclusion: I like this gun but im not patient enough to handle all of the maintenance so ill stick with my impulse.If you have the patience for one then i would strongly recommend you buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 12th, 2004 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
59 Comments - Add Comment

DarthAlan Monday, November 29th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4 - Heavier, Faster, Uglier
2004 BKO Extreme - About the same amount of chops
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 05 (Black)
45 Trigger Frame
Reloader B (Sound Activated Halo)
Custom Products Rail and ASA set-up
Air America 68/4500 Preset HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Jam Bolt, because you will chop a lot.
Volumizer
Evolve Angel Newton Valve Kit - I tried this at Commander’s Cup and the bolt bounced off of my finger
Strengths: Beautiful
Light
Fast BPS
Desired
Weaknesses: Chop Suey, Ginsu Chop, Karate Chop
Feedneck
Loud
Inconsistent
Review: I have had my 05 for about a month and have shot 3 cases of paint through this marker so far. When I got the marker I was really impressed with the looks, milling, grip frame, and speed of the marker (hearing the solenoid click).

I attached my Reloader B for my first day at the field and my first game was amazing. I made the snake off of the break. Then I did sit-up snap-shots to take out 3 opponents. I had the highest setting of Bounce and all other settings were stock. The balls flew out of the marker uncontrollably. There was about a foot between each ball in the air flying toward my targets. I only went through one hopper this game.

My next game was an omen for what was to come for the rest of the time so far with this marker. I have chopped 1 ball out of every hopper shot through this Speed 05. There is paint that sprays up between the breech and where the feedneck screws in the body. The balls go everywhere from there.

PROBLEM: The problem is that the balls can roll around in the breach, and allow 1.1 balls to enter the breach. The .1 ball on top of the ball being shot gets nicked and partially chopped. Then the chopped ball is sprayed out of the gun and barrel with the next shot. I have adjusted the ram as far forward as it can go and there is still a lot of play in the breach. I have increased the dwell to the highest setting and there are still chops. Chops during a game get you shot and cause big loses.

There are a lot of people having chopping problems with this marker. Another guy at my field has a brand new Speed 05 too and he chops all the time.
If you don't believe me look here for proof:
http://www.angel-owners.com/showthread.php?t=31076

http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72193
2

This gun is pretty consistent at times and at others it is not.
Conclusion: I recommend that you do NOT buy this gun. It is very aggravating, and a $1000 gun should not give anyone this many problems. It should not need adjustment, nor fine tuning, and even though I have fine tuned it the thing still chops. Because I have spent so much time researching ways to cure the chopping and have spent $55 on a Jam Bolt this marker can not be rated at a perfect. Only a perfect marker should get a 10. That means no breaks, perfect consistency, perfect trajectory, and under 1.5 pounds.
Here's my break down
Body shape and looks +3
Grip Frame feels +2
Trigger +3
Weight +3
Chops -4
Price -1
Disappointment factor -1
Total--------------------->> 5

I have had cheaper guns work with more precision and better paint handling than this, so this marker deserves lower than what I would give a Tippman or a Spyder. If you look at the Product Rating Guide, a score of 5 is for "Average." Average is what this marker is.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 30th, 2004 at 12:02 am PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

park bench Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidator
Marker Setup: Black 05 Speed
Silver Promaster
Classic Automag
Blue and Red Tippmann 98c
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vert. Adapter and Reg If using an HP tank.
Barrel, but I never used the stock.
Maybe an externally adjustable LPR.
Strengths: Solid
Quality
Fast
Easy board
Easy to maintain
Completely sealed
Weaknesses: Larger and heavier than similar markers
LOTS of parts when fully disassembled
Review: My 05 speed:
90 frame.
CP trigger, rail, asa, reg, vert. adapter, breech knob.
Cobra valve and bolt.
Custom ano lime green/violet acid washed stock feedneck, soon to be on a lot more parts.
G7 red laser eyes.
Evil pipe barrel kit w/ 16" st!ffi tip
68/4500 pure energy tank
stock halo b

My review is based off the above setup. Its the only one I've ever used with my angel, so I cannot fully review a 'stock' 05 speed.

Anyway, traded my highly up'd 2k5 timmy for this beast, My timmy had an eigenram, lurker valve spring, the works, with no kick and pulling almost a case per fill. I thought I would be losing some efficiency and gaining some kick but I was only half right. The 05 speed has no noticeable kick, same as an eigenram'd timmy. The efficiency is closer to 1500 shots per 68/45 fill, but it is still plenty.
Quality is awesome, I was expecting that after own WDP's 05 airtime pants, which I love to death. They are definitely in the same standards as MacDev and Eclipse, and IMHO foreign marker quality beats the best US marker quality that we have. The parts are well engineered and machined, and the whole gun is easy to maintain. The solenoid, for instance, is 'manifold' mount, but instead of it screwing onto a plate or into the body, it sits on top of a plastic 'mount' and is then held to the body by a set screw threaded into the solenoid cover. This means easy solenoid removal and maintenance, with no screws to lose. The wiring is all solid, very high quality, high gauge stuff that will not tear out or even take serious damage from being pinched. Its like steel cable compared to my intimidator's wiring.
Performance-wise, like I said, the 05 speed is amazing. Best stock trigger I have ever had. Roller bearings, magnetic, and full adjustability through the ingeniously designed vernier wheel system. The cycle rate is phenomenal, and the accuracy is superb. I have yet to experience any chops and have only had 2 barrel breaks with paint that was 9 dollars a bag. The eyes work well and look cool, and the board is super easy to program and navigate. The ability to use 9 volts makes this a perfect choice for the guy that doesn't want to plug his gun into his car or wall.
There are several downsides, but they are nothing to cry about. Yes, angels up until the A1 have typically been large, but that does not mean bulky. After some practice, you can whip them around as easily as anything else, and they feel really good in your hands. My only other possible complaint would be the massive amount of parts in an angel. They are real easy to tear down, but after I had mine completely apart for anodizing it felt like I had at least 100 pieces in front of me, a lot of them the size of small screws. Something a first timer should not even mess with, or someone who tends to lose things easily. But, once together everything works great!
Conclusion: I've used my 05 speed 3 times, and will a fourth in 2 days, and all I can say is good things. Angels are solid, reliable markers that need a few drops of oil in the asa before every day of play to keep them running great case after case. If you are looking at an 05 speed, stop thinking and go for it, you won't regret it. Anyone who things angels are crap has obviously never seen or owned one that was working under the hands of a good air smith or tech. No problems period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TheDan8th1/2 Tuesday, March 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker E-Orracle, DYE DM4 (these are the only guns that could compare, both very good)
Marker Setup: 05 Angel Speed, DYE Throttle 45/45, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel (stock is accurate just not self cleaning, YUCK)
Volumizer Kit (mine never came with one, boo hoo)
Strengths: Speed, accuracy, weight, size, OHH OHH and style, very sexy piece.
Weaknesses: Hard to find upgrades for, Price (if your not smart), Can't take bad paint.
Review: Okay ive had my angel for about a year now and i absolutly love it and so will you!

First I will cover the ups and then the downs of this product.

GOOOOD

-Speed
this baby can cycle at speeds of up to 31bps and with the oh so incredible and notorious trigger its not that hard to do so. with this speed you will never miss your mark.

-Accuracy
the accuracy on this is well not incredible but still enough to piss someone off. The stock barrel has a few issues though its not that its bad or anything its just that if you chop (which is a rarity thanks to the eyes) than your in trouble because it cant self clean(tear, tear ;(

-Weight
first time i held one, i forgot i was holding it because it just so dang light. and the grip on it is really comfy too so manuvering is a breeze.

-Size
so thin, so short so sexy. what more do you want to hear about this.

-Style
a very, VERY sexy piece indeed. and when your blazin' and everyones lokking at you they'll know its an Angel thanks to its distinct styling.

BAAAAD

- Upgrading
aight, with an Angel it will be really hard for you to find any upgrades, but luckily you wont need much to maximize the potential of this gun.

-Price
i know people who paod 1000 for their Angel and thats why some people dont bother. Just be smart and patient. I got mine for 800 with a free Halo.

-Barrel(Chopping)
okay you heard it before but your gonna get it again. the barrel has decent accuracy but if you chop your in trouble. it chops frequently on BAD paint (easy fix, just use good stuff) and it cant self clean at all. Its such a good gun i dont know why they went weak here.

Conclusion: Lot o' ups and a little downs. I'd give it a 9 because of the minor flaws. Still, its an INCREDIBLE gun and does the job almost too good.

Aight, now do me a favor, STOP reading and GO GET ONE!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 15th, 2007 at 4:11 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media