paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 / Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006

Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The premier marker in paintball! Designed and built by Bob Long, a legend in the sport of competitive paintball. He sets strict build standards to insure the Empire Intimidator is one of the fastest and most accurate markers in the game. Extruded aircraft-grade aluminum bodies keep the Intimidator light and streamlined. Some of the most highly advanced circuit boards and sealed memory chips make up the Intimidator's internals, combined with a friction reducing micro switch trigger system, this marker is capable of over 20 BPS.

Features:

* Used by Bob Long's Oakland Assassins/Oakland Empire!
* 1.5" shorter than the Intimidator Alias Marker and other 2005 models
* 1.6 pounds (without a reg or barrel) which is 8 ounces lighter than the Alias
* FASTER - shorter bolt length has improved cycle time
* Completely new Ram and Poppet system - allows marker to operate at even lower pressures, virtually eliminating kick by using less force to move the ball. Lower pressure and lighter ram.
* New look to the LPR system
* Completely new ram bumper system. Ram cap now encloses the sleeve by threading onto it, verses into it like before
* Grip features an integrated rail system
* Accepts the same board and solenoid as existing intimidators
* Added functions on the LCD, including the option to modify your ramp starts and caps and multiple modes to meet various league standards
* Custom 14 inch barrel insures marksman's accuracy
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Empire Intimidator 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
yeoldespyder Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lower End Markers- Haha don't even ask....
Shocker- Meh too soft. Can't really feel it working.
Marker Setup: 06 Empire Intimidator
Halo
Cp Barrel (2 piece)
Steely Tank
CP ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Reg, only if you want to.
Trigger may not fit some players, but it suits me perfectly.
Drop forward....once again, only if you want to.
Strengths: Fast
Comfortable
Air Efficient
Looks
Trigger
Weaknesses: Sharp edges, sort of hard to clean.

Review: I'm not that good with maitenence and technical stuff, so I am just going to explain all of the good and bad things that happen on the field when this marker is in good working condition:

GOOD:
Relatively light, and compact. Easy to walk the trigger. Air Efficiency is pretty amazing. The eyes work well, the marker is very quiet, the stock feedneck actually works. ITS FAAAST.

BAD:
Sharp corners (not too exposed, in a hard to reach place if your holding your marker correctly. Balls MAY chop if the eyes aren't in good condition, but thats the same with a lot of markers. In terms of cleaning, it has some hard to reach places.

This marker looks amazing and performs even better.
Conclusion: If you don't want to spend all of your money on a new model, with all of the fancy crap on it, go with the timi. Its a pretty decent 'gun in terms of cleaning and maitnence. Good, and efficient. Go for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 31st, 2008 at 10:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

azndragon2222 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster
WGP Zero B Karnivor
SP Vision Shocker
Dye DM6
Dye DM4
Proto PMR
Invert Mini
SP Ion
PE Ego6
PE SL66 Ego
Bob Long Alias Intimidator
Bob Long Classic Ripper
Marker Setup: Primary Setup:
Bob Long Gen4 Empire Intimidator
Hard Detents
16" Deadly Wind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel
Custom Products Grip Regulator
WDP A1 On/Off ASA

Secondary Setup:
ICD Promaster
12" Bob Long Intimidator Stock Barrel
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
Hybrid Shizzle Panelz
eBay Delrin Spike Bolt Pin
CCM Heli-Clamp Feedneck
Vaporworks S-4 Bearing Trigger
Shocktech On/Off ASA w/ Drop #2

Loader:
Empire Reloader B
Hybrid "East Coast Killers" Backplate

Tank:
ACI Bulldog III 68ci/3000psi
Dye Rhino Cover
Custom Products Nipple Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA (Does not come with one)
Harder Detents
Membrane Pad
Barrel
Board
Strengths: Fast
Light
Comfortable
Accurate
Efficient
Weaknesses: Hard Maintenance
Poppit O-rings
Tedious Board Settings
Torpedo Reg Break-in Period
Review: I got this gun new for $600 and figured its a very good deal on a legit High-end gun (the Promaster is consider as a Mid-level High-end gun). When i first shot this gun running at around 60 psi, i kept getting velocities at around 180. fortunetly, one of the guys at the chrono knew a thing or two about timmys. ive never owned a timmy, so i didnt quite know what i was doing. after playing around with the HPR and LPR, i managed to get it to shoot at around 290 fps. the torpedo reg needs a long break-in period before getting consistant. even now, im getting spikes at nearly +/- 8. performance wise, it is very fast. settings allow for no bounce. it feels very comfortable and is fairly accurate, though a barrel upgrade might be a good idea. i had an occasional chop here and there, so the eyes could be better (an after-market board can give better eye logic). maintenace is pain, especially with the poppit o-rings (most noticably the MIDDLE o-ring). settings on the board can be tedious, but relatively easy to work with.
Conclusion: All in all, its great high-end gun. i will say though, this is NOT for someone who is mechanically challanged because this gun requires a LOT of care. taking it apart can be very complex for a noob, but any experienced player will love this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 1:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pms, karnis,
Marker Setup: ION , NDZ fire body, CP barrel, QEV, CCM no-rise feedneck, Evo II hoppa', centerflag nitro tank, orange bolt, hybrid gripz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, on/off
Strengths: Speed, weight
Weaknesses: Not that "special", onyx out now, accuracy
Review: This gun is very nice. My freind bought one and i have occasionally played with this a few times over the last year. The weight and speed are very nice. My freind is a back player and im a front man, and the gun made an easy transition to each position. I heard he had some problems with the gun but he got them fixed and the gun is running again.

When i say its not that special i mean its not the best in any category, but it is near teh top 3 in each category, making it a good overall performer. I noticed the odd ball (using evil so it wasnt the paint) and accuracy wasnt the greatest, but dont let it stop you from buying this gun.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is very good, it can shoot faces with teh best of them. If you can find this gun cheaper than other high ends dont be afraid to buy it cause you wont be dissopointed. i wanna give it an 8.5 but...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SJC Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Own: dm5, ion, soon getting nxt

used: g7, a4 fly, shockers (stock and PL), alias timmies, dm6s, dm4s, ego5, ego6, pm5, pm6... i like this better than just about any gun ive used except my dm5, and i like the 2 the same
Marker Setup: dm5, virtue chip, lucky board, lucky laser eyes, 18" ultralite

empire 06 timmy, virtue board, hardshell bolt, hybrid grips, cp reg, cp asa, cp guage, 18" ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
hardshell bolt- makes alot more air efficient and quiet
cp reg- makes more air efficient
techna katana trigger- makes alot faster, but not necessary
virtue- more consisten, faster, easier/quicker to use than stock board
Strengths: Extremely fast
Very very light
Good accuracy
Very air efficient
Weaknesses: Kind of loud
Dosent shoot through paint well
Barrel breaks if paint isnt very hard
Review: i bought this gun used, but it came in great condition. i have always wanted one and i love it. i went to my field (im friends w/ 2 timmy techs there) and they checked it out, they loved it. i lubed my reg (cp), my ram, and put a virtue board in it.. i air it up and it shot beautifully. if you keep this gun lubed it will work flawlessly.

first round i go out and the gun is shootin great. i adjusted the output pressure to about 78-79, i shot some into the chrono and i got 250, 251, 250, 251, 251, 251. very consistent. i went onto the field and the gun had great accuracy. its so light and easy to run with.

***after about 3 hours of play, however, just before a round started, i turned the air on, turn my hopper on, turn the gun on and hit the trigger...BAM, my gun just started shootin (like full auto), but leaking from bolt/ram/breach area. i took it to my friend.. he lowered my output pressure a little bit and took my bolt out and put it back in.. and it shot fine.. still not sure what that was***

i was usin tork that day, and i noticed the gun chopped every once in a while. i'm told gen 4s are not wat so ever easy on paint, so DONT USE BRITTLE PAINT in this gun.. plus, it dosent shoot through barrel breaks well.
Conclusion: Overall, i love this gun and couldnt even think of selling it. I want anyone who is thinkin about buying one, to go out and buy it. put upgrades on it, lube it well, and u wont ever want to get rid of it. Its a great all around gun. I'd give it a 9.5 b/c i did experience a problem w/ it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 22nd, 2006 at 10:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NATURALBORNKILL Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4,dm5,dm6,ego,impy,shocker,spyder,freestyle,angel g7,alias [my #1 pick]
Marker Setup: 2006 empire timmy,cp asa,freak with stiffy tip,hyper inline reg [dye]
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg, new barrel
Strengths: Great once you get the bugs worked out
Weaknesses: Can b a pain in the ass
Review: Ok i bought my 06 3 months ago because i own a 2005 alias timmy and that gun is the best ever i had 0 problems with it.
but my new 2006 i have had lots of problems with
1] right out of the box it leaked i am a gyn teck at a field so i took it apart and the poppet oring had come off so i put it back on and it leaked gain so i called the teks @ bob long they said they would send me a new poppet no chareg. i live in fla the part came from cali 5 dya ship. when the new part came in i put it in my gun and guess what it leaked i was so pissed. so then i had the idea that it was non the poppet it was he reg.
the reg was puttin out 800 psi with the adgustment screw backed all the way out. the i grabbed the reg off of my dm4 and put it on there it shot beautful but it chopped p8nt.
agin i was pissed because i had a tourney the next weekend. so i took the eyes out and looked @ them the wire was not soddred on correct so i had 2 fix that also. so i got the problems worked out just in time 4 the tourney. when i got there aired it up and the poppet oring had come off agin [the bob long tecks ssaid it happens sometimes] so i threw it in the truck and brought out old relible [my 05 alais] and we won first place but becide that.

Conclusion: I think the2006 is a great gun so i give it a 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

fernan2006 Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, Pm6, Dmc, Shocker and others
Marker Setup: Empire 06, Empire hopper, redz pepper stick kit, 68/4500 lp, CP ON/OFF ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only barrel
Strengths: Weight
Incredibly Fast
Consistent
Effiecient
Easy to Clean
Small
Weaknesses: Nothing that I have found yet.
Review: This is by far the best gun i have ever owned shot and won't be selling it for a while great effiecientcy vary Consistent and Incredibly Fast. A person who really wants a fast gun that is worth the money, they should definatley look into this gun if you want the best of thre best
Conclusion: One of the best markers out there, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Najica Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Impulse
Shocker 2003
Ion
Marker Setup: Empire Intimidator 2006
CP Regulator
CP Direct Mount ASA
68 4500 Carleton
Virtue Board
Halo w/ Victory Board
CP Barrel
Critical Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board
Halo w/ Victory Board or equivalent hopper
New Barrel
New Regulator
Strengths: Very light and small for easy maneuvering
Very, very fast
Accurate
Aesthetically pleasing
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Hard to keep up with
Review: Recently bought this gun and I'm very pleased with its performance. I was getting tired of my impulse not being able to keep up with me, so I thought it was time for an upgrade and I definitely made the right decision. Some people don't like the empire milling and say some parts of it are too sharp, but that's all personal preference and I'm more than happy with the default milling. Rips out of the box, but I strongly reccomend the upgrades posted above.
Conclusion: One of the best markers out there to date. Super accurate at 150 feet and still decent past that. If you're looking to buy an intimidator, this is the one to get.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bl2k6empire666 Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias intimidator
shocker
06 ego
DMC with a DM6 trigger frame
ION, wich really isnt similar.....
Marker Setup: 06 empire intimadator
16 inch stiffi barrel
stiletto drop
empire reloader b
crossfire 68/4500 hp tank
check it on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop
barrel
fast hopper
Strengths: Really fast, light, accurate, efficeint, compact, quieter than an ego
Weaknesses: Sharp milling, but it looks really cool, so its no big deal
Review: this gun so far, has been really good. I havent had anything go wrong woth it yet, but i had to buy a faster loader, to keep up with it. The stock barrel is accurate, but you deffinatley should look into a new one, I just bought a Stiffi barrel for mine, and it made it so quite, and more accurate, and I also tried my dads ultra lite on my gun, and it was also really good. This gun is fast, and the trigger is really nice, so far i have shot 17 bps on semi, over just 15 with the trigger that came on my alias. This gun is sweet.
Conclusion: A person who really wants a fast gun that is worth the money, they should definatley look into this gun.... it is a good investment.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 11:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

godofwar1983 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel speed - not even close
ans- gxe - closer but my gun still ripp's them up !
Marker Setup: 2006 Empire Timmy
14" freak barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock barrel is alright but the freak barrel kit is just insane its so accurate , and prossible the pottet if have have problems with it leaking down the barrel
Strengths: Speed - its no doubt one of the fastest guns out there

Weaknesses: None
Review: When i bought this gun like 2 months ago i took my 2 best friends that have been into it as long as i have i i tried out every single gun they had the angel g7 fly , the ego's , the shockers,the new dm6 all the sickest guns ....... and when i got too the timmy i was like this is the one i want it was by far in my opinion the best looking the best feeling the fastest shooting gun it was the best all around gun !
Conclusion: I give this product a 10 out of 10 this is the best gun i have ever shot and when i go too the field everyone else seems too think so 2 ! anyone looking for a real monster i suggest look into one !
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bowser45 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
RL Timmy, Alias, A-Bomb, Lasoya, ECX
Marker Setup: Haven't Purchased This Marker Yet

Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: High ROF
Light
Great Stock Parts
Great Ball-On-Ball Accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: I had the pleasure of testing this gun 1 week ago and I must say that this gun is a perfect match for me. I am currently trying to trade one of my markers for this gun. Once I pulled the trigger of this gun once, I fell in love with it. It has great stock parts and it has great ball-on-ball accuracy. If I had to choose between this gun and any other marker, I would choose the 2006 Intimidator.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a marker, look no further than this Intimidator.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media