paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
SUICIDAL TJT Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Tippman a-5
Marker Setup: marker-bt4 combat
hopper-vz force
c02 tank- pmi 20 oz
Apex barrel system :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recommend a new barrel and a low end electro hopper i love my vz force perfect for this gun GET APEX IT IS AMAZING
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Price
Speed
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This marker is my first one i am very pleased with it is great for scenario game si love this gun i like it becuase some may say it is heavy but i like to have more than a 2 pound plastic gun in my hand i am really impressed by the bps i can shoot around 15 bps with it the price is very good as well i recommend this gun to everyone also has not chopped paint on me once

my video review link below
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfC9LCNgexQ
Conclusion: This gun is a steal for the price buy it you wont regret
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 25th, 2008 at 6:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AzianDragonz Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Remote/Quick disconnect
Extra set of Allen Wrenches
HPA/N2 (only if you want to spend the extra money on a big tank otherwise you're better off with the CO2 otherwise you might end up refilling every game.)
Strengths: Durability
Ease of use
Easily Upgradeable
Good on CO2
Simple Design
Price
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Balance of gun w/o remote
Stock Sights
Review: For my first time playing paintball in my life ever, I decided to buy the BT-4 Combat as my first marker.Even though I have not had any experience with other markers (or paintball for that matter) I can say I was pleased with the performance of this gun. I have used it only for a day, put half a case of paint through it, and have not had any problems with it at all.

First it was easy for me to assemble and also easy to take apart. Field stripping consisted on removing 2 screws for the trigger assembly and then 4 more screws and a rubber cap to open the main assembly. For never having used a paintball gun before it was easy to setup, adjust, and use.

During my time with this gun all I've had to do is put it together, use it, clean it, and put it away. The conditions for the day that we played were low 40's high 30's with rain. Throughout the course of the day the gun got wet, dropped, and shot at. I even dived behind some muddy bunkers and the gun got dirty but worked without any complications. I didn't chop a single ball. When I got home, I disassembled it, sprayed the mud off, oiled it (lightly) and it was as good as new.

The group I went with had a few people with some higher end markers, and even though we were shooting the exact same paint, everytime I looked over they were either cleaning their guns, getting refills, tuning it cause it wasn't firing right, or changing batteries.

The simplicity of this gun is what makes it a good one. However there were some drawbacks to the stock setup. With the stock barrel it is inaccurate. I would have to rain down a slew of balls before I would hit my intended target. I would say this is due to the inconsistent properties of CO2 as a propellant as well as the shorter stock barrel. This is easily solved by getting a longer barrel. I also played with the CO2 hooked up to the gun w/o a remote. This setup can make the gun heavy and off balanced. This is solved by simply attaching a remote, too bad mine didn't work. Another drawback of this marker is that the stock sights are absolutely crap. I tried aiming with them and decided it was just better to take my chances raining paint and adjusting my aim accordingly.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good solid marker then this is the one for you. Good for beginners because it is relatively easy to use, and since its not a technological wonder like some other markers out there, there are less things to go wrong that you have to spend time fixing instead of playing. I rate it a 9 because as close as it is to being the perfect entry level marker, however there is some room for improvement.

I would suggest for new players to get it as part of a package that comes with at least 1. A hopper, 2. 20 oz. CO2 Tank, and C. Goggles. This will be cheaper than buying everything individually. I got mine in a package with all the above plus a remote, a 6+1 harness, 6 pods, a squeegee, a carry case for the gun, and gun oil all for just under $190 including shipping.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 15th, 2008 at 1:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmudgeTippmann Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custum 98
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat Marker.
Stock Barrel.
Rage Against Gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-16 inch Barrel.
-Not really needed but double trgger.
Strengths: Light.
Accuracy.
Speed.
Weaknesses: When the c02 tank is low the accuracy is horrible(Only when c02 gets low.)
Review: This gun is an excellent marker.
It is very cheap.
fast and accurate.
Light what more do you need in a gun?

Weakness :
As mentioned when C02 is low the gun is so inaccurate.

UPGRADES:
16 inch barrel
Possibly scope

Overall opinion:
Great feel ,Very well priced and it is a very popular gun.
You can upgrade this gun ALOT! Like everything on the gun is upgradable.
Conclusion: I would buy this product.Because it is pretty cheap and good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.K Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Elite (my first marker)
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
Flatline barrel
Tapco T6 stock
Pro Caps remote line with slide check
Lapco Spyder to A-5 barrel adapter

Kingman Spyder Elite (circa 1999):
Smart Parts Linear 14" barrel
Shockteck Striker Springs

BT-4 Combat (Rental):
Smart Parts Progressive 12" barrel
Custom camouflage paint

Tippmann 98 Custom:
PMI Razzor 14" barrel
Custom camouflage paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
As is the case with most stock markers, replace the barrel.
Strengths: Well-balanced, fairly accurate out of the box, mil-sim upgrades.
Weaknesses: Plastic, spring-operated feed elbow assembly latch. Field stripping.
Review: Bought a BT-4 Rental from a former paintball field operator getting out of the business. I paid $65 (he included a V-Force mask, Extreme Rage dual pod carrier, and a 20 oz CO2 tank.)

I got to try it and played a few games before I shelled out the cash. I was impressed with how balanced the BT-4 was and it's accuracy and distance for being completely stock.

The marker was well maintained for being a former rental. The inside and internal parts were clean and lubed.

As far as upgrades go, I took my BT-4 Rental apart and custom painted it camo (since I primarily play woods ball.) I bought a Smart Parts 12" Progressive barrel online, which I should be receiving at the beginning of next week. I would have bought a 14" barrel, but with the distance I was shooting with the stock 8.5", I figured 12" would be sufficient.

Take down and cleaning is a cinch.

My only complaints are field stripping the marker...forget about it -- there are too many screws to lose and too many allen wrenches to juggle -- and the means the plastic feed elbow assembly is secured to the BT-4.

It was a poor design decision by BT Paintball Designs to use a plastic, spring operated latch to secure the feed elbow assembly to the picatinny rail.

The other day, while attempting to reload and close the lid on my hopper, I knocked the feed elbow assembly completely off, spilling my paintballs onto the deck.

I had to order a completely new feed elbow for $7.50, which included shipping, because the latch was worn down and it would not stay secure, in place.

Losing my hopper and feed elbow because BT chose to use plastic rather than a screw has forced me to lower my rating.

Conclusion: All in all this is a great marker. The positives outweigh the negatives. It shoots straight, is well balanced, and fairly durable. It is a good choice for us woods ballers and scenario types. The stock barrel is fine for CQB. I also like the mil-sim upgrades, though they are a bit expensive.

BT Paintball Designs customer service/support is excellent and responsive.

The BT-4 is a nice, quality, cheaper alternative to more expensive markers with the same performance.

Though I bought mine dirt cheap and with the few issues that I've encountered, I still wouldn't hesitate to buy one brand new (less than $130.)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 3:00 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

krandall570 Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 w/ flatline
Marker Setup: bt 4 combat
apex barrel
co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock but thats just my preference
i got the apex but the stock barrel is plenty accurate
maybe x-chamber if equipped w/ e-grip
Strengths: its SOLID!! I love the durability and the accuracy even with stock 8 in barrel

Weaknesses: Honestly in my opinion absolutely none.
Review: Although i havent used guns like ions or angels i think this is the best marker ive used. Ive played with an autococker, tippmann 98, vl orion, and spyder mr1 and this is my favorite
i cant stand any speed ball gun most i feel like they will easily break and are too light
people complain about how this gun is a whole pound or two more like its so hard to carry around a 10 pound gun! shoots nice and straight. seems powerfulful out of the box , nice accuracy and i havent chopped a ball yet! THE MAJOR THING I LIKE ABOUT THIS MARKER MORE THAN THE SIMILAR 98 CUSTOM IS THE STRIPPING OF THE MARKER. I HAVE STRIPPED BOTH AND THEY ARE VERY SIMILAR EXCEPT FOR THE TRIGGER. ON THE 98 CUSTOM THE MARKERS SPLITS ALL THE WAY DOWN EVEN THE TRIGGER. SO WHEN I DID IT ALL THE PINS AND SPRINGS IN THE TRIGGER ASSEMBLY CAME OUT. ON THE BT 4 THE TRIGGER COMES OFF AS A SEPARATE COMPONENT MUCH LIKE A SPYDER WOULD. the bt is also JUST as easy to upgrade aside from the trigger most 98 custom mods fit the bt4 but it has A5 barrel threads. and all of those parts are very common
Conclusion: If you play woodsball/scenario especially then this is an excellent choice. one of the easiest to upgrade especially due to the picatinny rails
for me it has been the best performing and best looking scenario marker yet (for the under $150 price
Mine was $105 at a local shop
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Headshuter Monday, March 1st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Red Dot Tasco, 14 inch Barrel, M4 stock and Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, Stock.
Strengths: Reliable, Accurate, User Friendly, Does not chop, Durable, very costomizable, Easy to field strip, price
Weaknesses: Too many upgrades, Sights ( No one uses them anyways ) , Price adds up with upgrades
Review: This gun is exactly the same as a custom 98, the eternals are completely interchangable. To me it's like a better version of a custom 98, first it's way easyer to field strip, looks better ( more mil sim ). But the 98 is still a great gun. Also there are so many upgrades it's not even funny. Also it is very reliable, it has never failed on me and never choped a ball ( shoot about 3000 paints throught it ) even if i was shooting fast with a normal hopper ( 6bps ). The gun functions very smoothly and never misfired.
Conclusion: I think that this gun is the best bigginer gun because it is reliable and easy to maintain. Also you can grow with it because there's a tone of upgrades. I think that it is probobly one of the best starter gun ( along with the 98 ). I would recommend this gun to anyone who is starting in paintball or wants a good reliable marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alwaysonpoint Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Custom 98, Autococker, Couple of Old School Markers
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat, CP Barrel, CP Drop Forward, CP on/off (reverse mount), Egg HPA 68/4500, Halo feeder
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Feeder & Barrel are a must (as with most markers)
Drop forward, on-off & HPA optional
Strengths: Price, Realistic & Adjustable Foregrip
Same genes as A-5 & Custom 98
Weaknesses: Gravity feed is just too slow, chops paint.
Little Heavy, plastic internals subject to breakage
Review: **(UPDATE)**With several thousand balls and about 3 play dates under my belt since this review was written, my velocity tube cracked on the gun. It is a plastic piece inside, and cannot be fixed in the field. I was sidelined about an hour into an all-day scenario game. No idea why it broke, calling the durability of this gun into question. I will update based upon my experience with BT's customer service.

If you are reading this, you are interested in an affordable entry-level mechanical paintball gun for woods or recreational paintball. You're in this sport for fun only, and you're probably just making the jump to buying your own equipment. That was my scenario a little over a year ago when I started researching my options. My buddies had just dragged me off to a scenario event, and I came home with the PB disease. I borrowed and rented my equipment until I was sure that this was a sport that I was going to stick with. The problem with renting gear is that youre dumping more cash into each day that you play, and the guns that you get (while generally good stuff) are all short-barrelled and slow firing. Once I decided to put rental fee's behind me for good, I set a realistic budget for myself in the hopes that if my wife ever found out, she wouldn't go nuts on me.

If you don't know already, you need to know that unless your goals change, you will forever be happy with either this gun ($129), the Custom 98 ($160) or the A-5 ($250). They are all solid, reliable, accurate and modestly priced. They will all last for years, with little maintenance, and give you few problems along the way. You can bring any of these three up to match the others in most shooting specs, and if you find yourself staring down the barrel of someone else on the rec or woods field, you can rest assured that you've got what you need to take them out. You can also mod any of them to look like one bad-ass assault rifle. I'm not badmouthing any other gun maker out there, I know there are some other great guns too, I just can't speak to them. My friends have all shot Tippmans for years.

For price and stock performance, it really is a toss up between the Custom 98 and the BT-4. Some will tell you that there are more upgrades for the Custom, but a good painballer can install just about anything made for the A5 and somethings made for the 98 into the BT-4. **The A5 response trigger does work in the BT-4, and they are now comming out with an e-grip (and more) tailor made to fit the BT-4** The barrels are also interchangable between the three. The cyclone feeder is the A-5's main advantage over the 98 and BT-4. It is definately a nice feature, but a decent electrofeeder will bring you right up to speed if you don't mind having to change batteries every once & a while. (You can either waste batteries with an electric feeder, or waste gas with the cyclone, again it's a toss up...so long as you don't mind the extra weight and occassional expense of the AA's) One thing that you should also consider is that when the cyclone on the A-5 malfunctions, as they occassionally can, you're out of play. If your standard or electrohopper fails, you can just plug a new one in and keep playing.

The A-5 is a little over $100 more than the BT-4, but again, you WILL have to add an electrofeeder onto the BT-4, so that cuts into your savings. The 98 will work fine as a semi-auto with a stock gravity feed, but for some reason, the BT-4 just cannot drop balls fast enough to keep up with even your standard trigger semi-auto action. It's fine for your backyard, but often when you are on the field, you will want to have a couple balls in the air at a time. The BT-4's stock hopper has trouble with this, you WILL chop paint annoyingly -even stock trigger. I've seen it on mine and several other BT versions. A decent electrofeeder will completely solve this problem though. ($70 later)

So why didn't I just go with the A-5? Well first, no-one told me about the hopper thing, but I'd still be shooting the BT-4 anyway. I'm in law enforcement and have a lot of experience shooting assault style weaponry. The stock BT-4 feels very nice, and very real, in your hands. It's heavy (maybe a bad thing) but well balanced. The foregrip on the BT-4 is long AND adjustable, whereas the A-5 is short and fixed. If you know nothing else, this may not matter to you, but if you've got any experience with real stuff, this is significant. You can only fit half a hand on the A-5's foregrip, and it is very tight to the trigger housing. That bugged the heck out of me. Plus the BT-4 has piccatinny rails. I'll probably never use them, but nice to have the option. Nothing like it for the 98 or A-5.

As with any marker, you will also need a better barrel. $50 bucks later and you'll be right up there with anyone but those shooting the flatline or apex (hey if they wanna spend the money...) I added a drop forward ($30), and reverse mounted an on/off ($30), so my tank now sits under the gun, pointing towards the front. I did this so I can quick peek just my gun and half of my mask around the bunker, rather than exposing my whole shoulder or upper body as is required with the standard rear-mount set-up. Thanks to the balance of the gun, and hefty foregrip, the set-up feels great, and gets a lot of second looks on the field. After getting tired of spraying ice out the tube in warm weather, I finally went with HPA. I did notice a bit more consistency in my groups. My next, and probably last add-on will be the e-grip that is due to be released by Tippman. The gun will then be nothing like the thing I once bought for just $129 at my local shop, but it's one heck of a recreational marker, and it all started as a stock BT-4.



Conclusion: If you've got the money to blow, and don't mind the way the A-5 feels in your hands, I'ld have to recommend the A-5. I think most guys would back me on this. If you go with the 98, you'll probably make it an A-5, via Tippman upgrades within the first year anyway-and will have spent enough to have bought the A-5 originally. If you've got military or law enforcement background though, I highly recommend the BT-4. You'll recognize why as soon as you pick the thing up. Put your new feeder and barrel on the thing and you're way ahead of any stock A-5, for a few bucks cheaper. Also, if you're just not sure where you're headed with PB and wanna get something nice & cheap for now-- that you can upgrade as needed over the next several years...go with either the BT-4 or Custom 98. If you choose the BT-4, save yourself the frustration and get the electrohopper up front. You won't need one right away with the 98, but then again, you'll end up getting one eventually for either.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pbpaulo Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5. Basically the same as the BT4 Combat, just feeds faster and costs about 120 bucks more.

Ego 09. Doesn't compare. The Ego cost me $950 used and the Combat costs 150 new. Get real. My current marker.

Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series. I wouldn't be caught dead with this gun. It is simply a waste of money. The barrel is tiny, the trigger feels terrible when you shoot, and it chops like every second ball.

BT4 Combat. Great gun. it was actually my first gun, and it proved to be the best $150 i ever spent. My only complaint is the stock barrel, but we'll get to that later.
Marker Setup: Primary gun: Ego 09 out of the box. Best marker I ever laid eyes on.
Secondary gun: BT4 Combat. My upgrades include:
TIppmann Straight Line Barrel
E-trigger
Collapsable stock



Recommended
Upgrades:
For the BT4 Combat I would definately recommend a new barrel, an e-trigger, and a stock.
Strengths: Sounds good
Nice trigger feel
Price
Well balanced
Great Overall.
Weaknesses: Rough trigger
Looks fake
Too much plastic
Feedneck
Review: One day, a friend of mine came over to my house to show me his new Autococker. Yeah, it had all the fancy stuff, trigger, barrel and all, and i took out my new BT4 Combat (it had never been tested since I had bought it the same day he came over) and we went round back and gassed up. Our target was about 100 feet away, and was a five square inch plank of wood. I was using red paint and he was using yellow so we could see who shot where. Now, i had heard alot about these Autocockers as it was the beginning of my paintball career, but i wanted to see one and i had great expectations. So we started shooting and stopped when we had fired 10 bullets each. I looked up at the plank of wood and I saw yellow painted scattered all over it, and red paint stains in a big blob in the middle. I was thinking how can I only have hit the target one time and why is the stain so big. So we went up close, and i saw some red ball shells on the floor and some paint right and left. I had hit the target 7/10 times consecutively DEAD CENTER! I cant stress this more, DEAD CENTER!!! My friend looked down and couldn't beleive his eyes, he had hit the plank every time too, just that the paint was scattered around.

Now for the actual review. This gun could use an electric trigger, but if you're like me and like to know you're shooting a gun when you're shooting one, you're not gonna want a 2mm pull trigger. The problem with this one though is when you shed alot of paint, like after 2000 balls, you're finger starts getting sore.

A new barrel is a definate must. This should be your first upgrade. I would reccomend a Straight Line Tippmann barrel for Rec/hyper ball players like me, and a Flatline or an Apex for the woods.

The rear sights are practically useless. The rear sight is below the front one, so they serve no purpose whatsoever. I you use your sights alot, invest in a BT4 M16 carry handle and an M16 barrel for the best accuracy.

The gun is pretty loud, and i like that in a gun since in hyperball the loudness doesn't matter. It also scares off newbs which makes shooting at them twice more fun!

That's as far as the gun goes, now i'm going to give you the criticism of this gun from a rec/hyper player.

Now, I play in a speedball team and we're in the top 5 in Greece, and I use my Ego 9 there of course, but when i play rec ball and hyper ball i use my combat so that nothing happens to my Ego. I started off with hyper ball and rec ball too. So, the Combat is excellent at these rec and hyper distances, and is a real dog too, moving from one obstacle to another, I will occasionally roll on the ground over my Combat and it still keeps shooting like a dream. I have had no need to invest in a better gun since I am no rec or hyper ball enthusiast, and especially as my gun shoots and works beautifully.

I was between an A-5 and a Combat when I went out shopping for a marker. I tested out both, looked on the web, did my homework and since I was on a tight budget of $300 and didn't really want to spend all of it, I bought the Combat and bought the barrel and stock for it for less money than a stock A-5.

Edit: One thing I forgot to mention is that the gun does jam alot. This happens because the cocking spring moves up a little and then you can't pull the trigger back. Dont worry if the gun jams. 95% of the time it is the weak spring. If you jimmy the spring and pull it back and it still doesn't work, it still cant won't be a big problem unless something in the triggering mechanism broke or chipped.

Conclusion: If you're thinking of buying a BT4 Combat, just make the next step and buy it. It is for begginers/intermediates more on the beginner's side, and also makes for a great first gun. I think this gun is amazing and the only reason I'm giving it a 9 and not a ten is because there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 10th, 2009 at 5:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBGolfR32 Thursday, August 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c
A-5
Alpha
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat, all stock (apex and rip clip in the future)
20 oz Pure Energy Co2 (camo sleeve cover)
Basic 200 round hopper for now. Looking to get a rip clip in the future.

Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd recommend a new barrel, but the stock barrel on the combat is excellent and does the trick.
Strengths: Appearance
Accuracy
Feel
Weight
Customization (a-5 barrels, 98 stocks and internals)
Powerful
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Me and my buddies decided to paintball randomly after playing some Modern Warfare.. no joke lol and anyways they ended up getting all Tippmanns (two a-5's and an alpha), so when it was time for me to shop around I stumbled across the BT-4 Combat. In the glass case it looked a lot like a Tippmann product and insanely close to the A-5 so I thought that I'd try it out. When I first picked up the marker and took aim, it felt great. It's weight was perfect (I prefer a more heavy marker then a lighter marker) and it just felt right in my hands. I decided to buy the marker for $149.99 which wasn't really too bad because most places on the net are selling it for $169.99. After doing some researching I couldn't believe that the BT stood for Ben Tippmann. It made me happy knowing that I was getting a Tippmann quality product for a really good price. Also the marker had no problem keeping up with the a-5s in accuracy tests etc.

The packaging on the other hand isn't the greatest as it doesn't include a starter squeegee, hopper or mask, which I was hoping it would include. There is no stock included in the package as well but really who cares.
Conclusion: For the right price this gun is perfect. You're getting a Tippmann quality marker without paying too much for it. The upgrades available for this gun match that of the upgrades for the 98 and a5. If you're a starter paintballer like me and is looking to make your first purchase on a marker, look no further, this marker is the right choice and the right price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 22nd, 2009 at 6:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethercist Friday, January 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
07 piranha(nearly the same)
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: BT M16 barrel kit
Liberty 98c collapsible stock (3 position)
Sight rail(m16)
Standard 200 round Xtreme rage hopper
M16 Magazine(storage)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
stock
remote
expansion chamber
Air tank

Magazine(replaces fore-grip)
Strengths: Good beginner gun
Loads of upgrades
easy to replace parts(internal)
Weaknesses: Slow field stripping
some key parts are expensive
doesn't fire too fast either.....
Review: This is my first paintball gun and the best about the BT-4 combat is all the parts that you can upgrade it with. The other part with this gun is it's really good for both woodsball and indoor so it's pretty much all you need to startup. The final part is the price it's a good mechanical gun, lot's of upgrades, fun to look at, what more could you ask for?
Conclusion: I totally recommend this product to first time paintballers and long time professionals
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 29th, 2008 at 8:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media