paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
King_Of_God Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: BT-4
A-5 Flatline
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!!!!!!!
remote cable if you dont like the weight
Strengths: accurte
nice feel to it
A-5 barrels
takes 98 parts
Millitary weave
Weaknesses: HEAVY
5 allen keys
time consuming feild strip
sights dont help unless flat line
Review: ok first lets get one thing out of the way. i love this gun! in my opion it takes the best out of the 98 and then throws the barrel threads of the A-5 so its kind of a mish mash of the tippman products (even though BT means Ben Tippman) the selling point for me was that this gun was very cheap around 80 on ebay the moving fore grip is like a god send beacuase you can exchange the stock front grip for a acctaul millitary grip/parts...vury nice! another big plus is that this is a very accurte gun even with the stock barrel its still deadly out of the box but i would still recomend you get a differnet barrel to get the full potentiol out of this bad boy. now for the bad this is a very heavy beast ussauly with a full co2 and hopper mine weighs about 7 pounds also the feild strip is extremely long because you have take off the grip frame to get to all the guts. another very minor thing is that the sights dont help because they are 1/2 a inch below so unless you flatline it it will not help you at all (but who uses the sights any ways?)
Conclusion: great gun good buy and the good outways the bad A LOT with this the fact that you also get to put on real millitary parts is a very good idea instead of shelling out 30 dollers for a complete rip off of a paintball version
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sharpshooter-88 Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom (my friend's)
BT-4 Rentals (hence the 3 months of use)
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat (drool)
JT Spectra Thermal Mask (sweet)
Pure Energy 20 oz Co2 (cool cool)
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly Stocks and Mag kits for that mil-sim feel
new barrel (but stock isn't that bad)
Strengths: Strong!!
Accurate
Consistent
Highly Customizable
Comfortable
Fuel Efficient as hell!!
Weaknesses: Ironsight... if you really look at it closely, so none actually
Review: Upon the morning of Operation Halo 2 in Ontario, Canada, I finally purchased the marker I had been looking for....the BT-4 Combat.

The BT-4 Combat is one of the most reliable, durable and just plain SWWEEET markers I've ever used. It has a long pictany rail for sights, lasers, tac lights and also has a removable/adjustable fore grip. Also, it has an enormous amount of possible upgrades such as stocks,mag kits, barrels, shrouds and other mil-sim upgrades. IMHO, this marker is better for upgrades then the 98 Custom.

When I fired my first 100 rounds, I was suprised at the accuracy of the marker (for a stock barrel). My shots never tapered off and always went where I wanted them to go. About 40% of the time, my shots landed on top of each other or landed 3-6 inches away. (This was at 180 feet) Even after I had shot 800 rounds, the accuracy was still going strong! To top it off, I never chopped a ball!

When holding the BT-4 Combat, it sits perfectly in your hands. The handle and foregrip are both made of a hard composite that is smooth and comfortable. If you find that the foregrip is too far away, simply unscrew the bottom and slide back the grip where ever you want. Also, this gun is light and nicely balanced with a full hopper and a full 20 oz co2 tank. Oh, and the whole marker is a METAL chasis and has METAL parts....no internal plastic parts!! (YAY! No Internal breakages!) Also, the feedneck slides off the pictany rail when you press the bottom button hard... a much better system then the 98 Custom flip-away feedneck (even though thats a good thing too)

Only one drawback... this isn't a good gun for speedball, it's designed specifically for woodsball, but I think anybody could have figured that out just by looking at it.

EDIT: Sorry for the dumbness of my accuracy test, but this was at 60 feet...lol, I have no depth perception.
Conclusion: Bravo, Ben Tippmann, Bravo! What will BT Products create next??!!?!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 24th, 2006 at 7:28 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Verin Friday, November 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat; 14 inch Nightstick Twisted Barrel; 3000 HPA, Rip Clip Hopper; Adjustable Shoulder Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a longer barrel and HPA. I also like the Rip-Clip Hopper because it uses a halo system.
Strengths: Durable, Accurate, and Stable.
Weaknesses: Too many bolts to take apart.
Review: This is a great marker. First and foremost is has a nice weight to it. I really like the Rip-Clip hopper because it is off set and I can aim down the barrel. I choose to add a shoulder stock which I found wasn't difficult but Tippman seems to have a affinity for putting excessive amounts of bolts on his guns. The bolt thing aside it really is a good marker. I only play woodsball and scenario only. Which it is modifiable to look like an AK 47 or M16 I however have refrained. I would recommend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone just understand that to break it down and clean it will be slightly time consuming. Otherwise I don't think you will get a better marker for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c1rca57 Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat
stock barrel
20 oz co2 tank
200 round gravity feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Look
Price
Movable feeder

Weaknesses: None
Review: The first time i bought this gun it was missing a screw and i couldn't believe it. i had to take it back and get a new on. it shoots great and looks nice. i haven't found any weaknesses yet but i might find one soon. i thought it was cheap i mean it was only 15 for the gun and was the cheapest from everywhere else.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you dont got that much cash it only cost me 250 and is great quailty but what else can you expect from a tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fin_T Sunday, May 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder MR1.
Marker Setup: At the moment a completely stock BT-4 Combat but I am getting an Apex barrel and Rip Clip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (Stock barrel is alright but it could be better)

Rip Clip if you want to shoot faster.
Strengths: -Durable
-Cheap
- Accurate
-Looks
Weaknesses: Everything has room for improvement.
Review: I've gone paintballing with the BT-4 a few times now and it hasn't disappointed. Just today i took it to the Phoenix Project 20 Columbian Connection. My marker was dropped a couple of times, sand got in it and was shot a few times as well but it still performed great. This is just proving that this is a reliable gun for it's price range.

If you're looking at this review then you are on the verge of buying a paintball marker. If you are new to the game then you should think of this gun as one of your top choices.
It is reliable, customizable as you get better, pretty cheap and a great gun for its price

Conclusion: I recommend this gun to new and regular paintball players.

Out of 10 I'm going to give it a 8.5/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

outoftowner Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-zap ZXS 400 (piece of junk compared to this)
-icon z (ok but still not as good)
-a pirannah, forget witch one (about the same as the icon z)
-BT-4 assault (just took a couple of shots with it, just as good as the combat)
Marker Setup: -BT-4 combat
-red lazer cross hair sight
-flashlight on lower rail (just to show it off i usually take it off before games)
-9 oz CO2
-standard 200 rd hopper
-zap rec series paintballs (check review body for how they worked)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-a longer barrel (stock it is only 8 inches)
-stock (not neccessary but it makes the gun look more at home)
-double trigger kit (the stock pull is a little hard)
Strengths: -TOUGH
-sweet looking
-highly upgradeable
-doesent chop
Weaknesses: -Alot of parts to take apart
-A little bit of weight
Review: THE GUN
Well first of all this gun is quality, it is all aluminum or metal consruction and feels like a pickup could drive over it and nothing would happen. The barrel is an aluminum barrel and is 8 inches long, it is ok but could have some inprovement like a 12 or 14 inch, the body does have some weight to it but the sliding foregrip compensates for most of it. A couple of extras the gun gives you is a sliding foregrip that slides i think 4-6 inches i forget, and a removable feed neck that is just convenient. Also the picatinny rails are great for mounting things like my lazer crosshair scope and flashlight.

THE PERFORMANCE
First things first, this gun does not chop paint, i was using the worst balls out there on it, they were greasy varied in sizes and just were junk, and this gun didnt chop one of them. On CO2 this gun was average, but from what ive herd from the forums is that after a little polishing of the internals it will work way better.
Conclusion: I would recommed this gun to everybody from a beginner to a well seasoned professional, it is durable, easy to work and also works in any conditions, will never break or have lack of service and is so upgradeable that you can have any variant of looks or performance to it, best gun ive ever owned.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Argelmcgee Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Response Trigger
Polished Internals
Palmer 12 inch Brass Barrel
Lapco Snapshot Barrel .687
Pure Energy 68cu 4500 psi Compressed Air
Palmer's Stabilizer
SpecOps A-5A2 Stock
Kingman Java Remote Coil
TechT Vortex Mod
JCS Redhot Powertube/ Hexadecagonal bolt

Backup:
BT-4 Combat
Any barrel I scrounge off my A-5
Polished internals
New trigger spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, polished internals, new trigger spring or electronic trigger
Strengths: Durable, reliable, simple, easy to use, upgradeable, inexpensive
Weaknesses: Relatively inefficient, relatively hard to take apart.
Review: Ok, I actually won my BT-4 at one of the West Point scenario games. My team (E-Jam Red Raiders) won MVT, and I had the right ticket for the last BT-4 they were giving out. I got home, polished it up, and replaced the horribly stiff stock trigger spring with a cut-down clicky pen spring.

Gun is a basic blowback semi, relatively inefficient, and needs at least a new barrel to get to normal accuracy, but it will last for EVER. There's not much else you can say. The trigger mechanism and handle seemed more durable than that of my A-5, which was cool, but I dislike the inability to quick-strip it, which just translates to more difficulty taking it apart.
Conclusion: Reliable gun, well worth the $160.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

=M4= Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha R6 with rocket pack with 14" PMI Razzor barrel
Marker Setup: Currently stock with 12oz CO2 tank (UPDATE) Now with 14" 32 Degrees Night Stick (check my review)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Flatline maybe)
Maybe the Assault M4 barrel, stock, and Handel
Drop forward or Remote if you are going to make a rifle (M4 or AK-47)
HPA
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Built in weaver rails
"doesn't feel cheap"
Heavy hitter
Side feed loader
Weaknesses: Little heavy
Not as accurate when the CO2 gets low
Review: Ok I first started off with a PMI R6 with a 14" Razzor Barrel upgrade.... But where I'm a new at this I blew the ASA Slug o ring, from not taking off the CO2 tank right (turn it one full turn and shoot the left over gas out of the marker). So I got a new marker one with one "tube" design, instead like R6 with two. I got the BT4 combat.

So I went to a scenario game, where I'm from there was 5 feet of snow on the ground. I bought a case of PMI paint and I broke some about three and not having a squeegee on the field, quickly learned that the marker still can shoot fairly good (I still have to clean the internals though). I should have used compressed air instead of CO2 the tank was freezing up. I was in a snow bunker and got snow in the barrel and quick shake and it was fine. I found that my tanks were half full and the distance and accuracy dropped. But when I got the tank full it shot straight and hard.

Looks/Feel - 10/10 for a $199.99 Canadian marker it looks cool and more "realistic". It's a little heavy compared to the R6 (UPDATE) With Hopper full, tank and 14"Barrel this marker is well balanced

Durable - 10/10 better that R6, weather don't seem to bother the marker. (UPDATE) knock on wood, with barrel upgrade and PMI paint I never broke paint yet, with 3 month and 1 scenario game usage. I only use HPA when gaming now, it is very efficient and if I'm not trigger happy can last three elimination rounds @ 2500 PSI

Accuracy - 8/10 it's good out of the box, but when the tank gets low the ball drops at a long distance (UPDATE) Again with the 14" Night Stick I save on gas and rarely drop paint

Distance - 8/10 where it hogs the gas the distance drops quickly (UPDATE) That review is for stock setup
Conclusion: It's a great marker, I choose Durability over accuracy but that's nothing a new barrel can't fix. I highly recommend this marker if you are looking for one that will not breakdown on the field. The BT4 Combat is a great woods ball marker because nothing will get in the way, like a long barrel. But if you want more realism, get the BT4 Assault. And get a 12OZ plus size tank and use High Pressure Air in cold weather. (UPDATE) Just get HPA, its more efficient, and quites to gun down ALLOT!!! (UPDATE) GET ONE NOW, if you are starting off, like me, you'll be very satisfied, and I checked it out you can get the RT for the BT-4 (it's the same for the Tippmann A5)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 10th, 2006 at 7:37 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

hotdog-mahony Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha EXT Pro
Tippmann Custom pro
Marker Setup: 14 inch Tiller barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Price
Takes any attachment for the Tippmann A-5
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: If your looking to buy a Tippmann Custom 98 just get this gun, its just as good or better for less money. Stock barrel dose blow. This gun dose take any attachment and barrel for the Tippmann A-5. Since BT dose makes parts for Custom 98 and A-5.This gun is just like those two.
Conclusion: If your looking to buy a Tippmann Custom 98 just get this gun, its just as good or better for less money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

humanbeersponge Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Hired markers
Ion
Marker Setup: BT 4 Combat.
E Grip
MG20 Magazine Carrier and SA80 Magazine.
Evo 2 Hopper
Cut down JJ Ceramic and Apex Tip
88cu 4000psi Pure Energy Air Bottle
Remote Coil - Ops Gear with Slide Check
Ops Gear G36 Folding Sto
M4 Carry Handle
Rap4 Tac Ten Vest
JCS 98C Powertube.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel.
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliable
Cheap
Easy to maintain (Idiot Proof)
Weaknesses: None Really
Review: Bought a package to get me started, got sick of hired guns chopping balls. Got a package of Marker, JT Elite Mask, 20oz Tank for ?130 dont know what that would be in dollars.

Used the marker for the first time on Sunday the 20th August. Worked really well, not a single ball chopped after approx 1000 balls used.

With my experiance only being the BT 4 and hired markers then my new BT is a huge improvement. Time will tell how reliable the marker is long term.

Update 06/09/2006. Just upgraded the barrel to a 16" smart parts progressive, and a remote coil. Will be using these next weekend and give a report.

Update 07/06/2006. trialed the Smart Parts against the stock barrel, firing from about 60` at a brick wall ,the stock barrel was giving a grouping approx 10" diameter. Changed to the Smart Parts and this improved to approx 6" grouping. Noticed that when the balls were impacting on the wall the ones fired from the stock barrel were leaving shell debris in about a 8` diameter when using the Smart parts this seemed to increase. iI had to clean the upstairs windows which is about 20` from the impact point. This was using cheap Spank paint.

Update 17/9/06 - Played for a full day using the BT 4. Shot over 1100 balls and not a single chop. This is a good solid marker. If you are looking at starting out then this does the job. Its solid and reliable and thats what first timer want. You dont need to go down the line of must upgrade ASAP. Buy this enjoy yourself and then with more experience you can decide what upgrades will best suit you.

Update 17/2/07 - Having put many thousand of paintballs of varied quality through my marker I can say reliablilty has been superb. The BT has not let me down once. I have changed the powertube for a JCS Powertube which seems to be better than the stock powertube. The marker is rugged and takes abuse with no complaint. The E-Grip is a nice peice of kit but make sure your hopper can keep up or you will end up spraying liquid paint. I cannot understand low scoring reviews, this is a great marker and highly upgradable. Dont believe idiots saying no upgrades. This simply is not true. Also BT`s customer services are second to none. One guy I know called them and spoke to Ben Tippmann to get a issue resolved. You cant get better than that.
Conclusion: Worked well for me and gave me ad advantage in accuracy, fire rate and range over the people using hired markers.
Good first marker if you want reliabilty with little maintenace, try the BT 4.

Played major scenario game using over 3000 paint and no problems what so ever.

Hugely reliable marker.

Used BT at local walkon and performed very well, chopped ball at 13BPS due to Revvy not keeping up with E Grip, changed to Apache loader no more chopping.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media