paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Nephrak Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98(completely stock)
Marker Setup: BT-4 combat with
BT rip clip
x7 low profile hopper
NCstar red dot sight
*EDIT*
14' smart parts linear barrel
e-grip

Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel, i just got my gun so i will my edit review and talk about the accuracy when I purchase the barrel. an e-grip for some diversity in firing modes
*Edit*
better barrel is a good idea, the stock barrel constricts the markers potential by a bit
rip clip if you plan to buy an e-grip
a red dot sight ( just get a cheap one) to replace the iron (plastic?) sights
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Key Strengths:
very durable and reliable.
very upgradable
accuracy is decent out of the box(even better when upgraded)
doesn't chop paint
doesn't hurt your wallet
Looks greats

Key Weakness:
Heavy
stock parts are okay but I would recommend upgrades
can be bulky when a large barrel is used with a stock



My friends and I all have a bt product of some kind an assault or combat but i have seen many a-5s and X7s and i must say that Ben Tippmann does seem to be able to compete with Tippmanns no problem. I must say I am not disappointed. Bt-4s are a great guns for the price and probably the best deal you can get for a low end blow back marker.
tippmann a-5s and ACT 98s are great guns too but bt-4s are able to compete without any problems. I see no reason to purchase a 98 or a-5 for more money unless you really have problems with chops(ACT) and desperately need a cyclone hopper( which can be a gaz guzzler might i add) X-7s are another story. I would say it is the equivalent of buying designer jeans . You pay more money for the same thing except there might be a rip in it as many people have claimed they received lemons.
This was my first gun i received( my 15th bday) Great gun for a starting player and yet there are so many options for an expert or for me to continue with it. Though tippmann claims that the x-7, a-5s are the most customizable that might be true from a pencil and paper perspective but remember that bt-4s are A-5 threaded and that all tippmann 98 stocks. Also the picatinny rails used to cover the top and bottom of the gun are extremely useful, allowing you to put any attachment that fits on picatinny rails ( Theres alot of them!) and even crazy scenario stuff like grenade launchers or miltary standard acog scopes. Bt-4s have so many choices available that i would (in my opinion of course) say to you...

If any of the things i have brought up appeal to you, save yourself the $,

Buy a Bt-4
Conclusion: If you want a good ,reliable starting gun you can upgrade and customize to your needs. Get a bt-4. You can't go wrong!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 28th, 2008 at 3:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jap197 Thursday, August 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmans
Marker Setup: Tippman 10 in. m-16 barrel with a riser , bsa red dot, ricochet 2k hopper, bossman mag kit, 98 custom stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend a better barrel and a sling for your gun if you get tactical.
Strengths: Accuracy
Rate of fire
runs on co2 or compressed air
doesn't chop
very durable
Weaknesses: The stock barrel.
Review: I was looking for a good woods ball gun and i stumbled apon the BT4 combat. And i was amazed by how cheap it was and how great the reviews were. So i bought it and got some upgrades for it and now its working perfectly giving me the accuracy i need to get the job done.
Conclusion: Its good for new players and experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 10th, 2007 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

han_daddy Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
J&J Ceramic 12" barrel
everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a good barrel
Strengths: Picatinny rails
Good on gas
Easy strip (but not onfield)
"No" chops
Weaknesses: Alan wrenches are wrong size
Power tube is plastic
Field stripping out of the question
Review: I have actually played before (i.e. more than 3 months) but that was so long ago and I was never that serious about paintball then that I don't think it really counts. In the recent months, I've used Tippmann 98 Customs (rentals) and thought they were OK. Since all the rentals use stock parts, there's not much to say about them. I bought the BT-4 based on a friend's recommendation and a lot of reading-up on my own. It seemed like a good middle-road between the 98C and A-5 both in price and in performance (based on the literature, anyway).

This gun is VERY customizable. Cosmetically speaking, it can take any real gun part that adheres to the picatinny standard. It also takes 98C stocks, and the stock barrel threads are compatible with A-5 barrels. There are adaptors, though, should you want more exotic barrels. BT is also coming out with the equivalent of the cyclone feed, called the rip clip, for those who want to shoot faster without chopping. So it is also customizable if you are looking for performance upgrades. There's also a forum by BT users (bt.warrior-online.com) for all the BT markers.

I played this past weekend (April 28, 2007) with really nice weather, and the marker performed very well. I didn't get any chops (about 1,000 shots); and I was shooting about 4-5 bps. However, there were a few barrel breaks due to low-quality paint. (You can tell they were barrel breaks because paint seeped out of the bore-holes on the barrel whereas the area near the feed elbow/detent was practically clean). We had some old paint that I decided to use 'cause it seemed like a waste otherwise -- bad idea. I just fired a few more shots and cleared my barrel (the J&J ceramic barrel really is nice) without even using a squeegee (spell?). I used a 20oz CO2 tank that was filled up from my last trip (didn't do much that time with the tank other than chrono and fire test shots) and it lasted for first quite a few games (more so than the rentals using the same gas setup). Only closer toward the end of the day did I finally refill (though the tank still had gas) out of fear that I'd run out mid-game. The marker was chrono'd at about 285. So I'd say it was pretty good on gas.

Even with the 20oz tank screwed onto the marker, I didn't even notice the total weight during my games. The marker feels solid when you hold it. It's fairly easy to strip, though not as easy to field strip as, say, an MR-1.
Conclusion: This is a solid marker if you are into woodsball. I bought mine new for $105. Definitely buy a decent barrel. Though the stock barrel is OK, it's nothing to write home about and you get much better accuracy and range with a decent 12" to 16" barrel. (This goes for any marker, though.)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 12:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goftoid93 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Bt-4 combat marker,
16 inch barrel,
200 ball hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel.
Strengths: Well accurate
very reliable
nice weight
Weaknesses: barrel
when Co2 is low guns accuracy can be off
Review: Even though I am pretty rookie in the paintball marketing stuff i still fell that i can give a good opinion for those thinking about buying this marker.

The price for this gun is amazing compared to the tippman A-5 and the Tippman 98. You are pretty much paying less for an equal or better gun.

The accuracy of this gun is pretty good with the stock barrel but an upgraded barrel would work you wonders. Another thing is to buy at least a 20 oz tank because when it is low, the accuracy is well off.

The look of this gun is totally military... especially if u get it in camo. Along with most of Ben Tippman's markers. I also like the weight of this gun because it feels like you are holding a gun, and not a toy.
Conclusion: I feel that this is a good marker for people that feel like going to a paintball field once or twice a month, having some fun, and shooting some balls.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Spyder Rodeo
SP Shocker
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip Drive
68/5000 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-trigger
HPA
Strengths: Reliabilty
Weaknesses: Speed
Field stripping
Review: The BT-4 is in the same league as the Tippman 98c, and well it performs much like the same in my opinion. Ther marker has a tough shell, but because of this it is heavy. I really doubt you could break it however. Stock the marker in incredibly slow, and not overly accurate, but not horrible either. The marker is a good woodsball gun if your looking for something other than an A-5 or 98c, but its practically the same thing. My biggest gripe would have to be cleaning. Stripping, there is not field strip to begin with, and I find it annoying to clean paint out of the picatanny rail. It has an offset hopper, which allows for aiming down the barrel, which is nice for beginners but absolutly unnecassary for experienced players. An E-trigger and E-hopper would be a great upgrade for this marker to competetive. Also a longer, new barrel. If your getting into speedball just dont even bother though, its simply not worth it. Woodsball, its a decent gun, and has worked flawlessly everytime I have used it, even under demanding conditions. HPA would help its consistency a lot as well, but runs fine on CO2 no problems.
Conclusion: Its a tough reliable marker. Not recommended for speedball, would use for woodsball however, some ups make it a great marker. Decent marker stock as well.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrcanada77 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Friends guns, this is my first.

~Tippmann 98 Custom
~Spyder Pilot ACS
~Obrian (No idea what brand, it is wicked screwed up)
~And this wierd pistol gun
Marker Setup: Marker ~ BT-4 Combat
Barrel ~ 8 in.
Gas ~ 20 oz co2

standard BT-4 combat gun
Recommended
Upgrades:
~Double Trigger
~New Handle Grip
~Barrel (or different
~Sight Rail
~Compressed Air instead of co2 (Recommended for any gun that allows compressed air)
Strengths: ~Good accuracy
~Good Begginers Gun
~Very Upgradable
~Great Price
Weaknesses: ~When gas is low, not as acurate
~Little bit heavy
Review: Got this gun as a birthday present a week ago, shot off 500 paintballs first time using it and it shot great. I had a 1 on 1 war with my friend 2 days later, and had a great shot on him from across the field, and his gun (Spyder Pilot ACS) couldnt even reach me.

This is a great beginners gun and is very durable. I think it is much better than Tippmann 98 Custom and A-5, but i am just not very fond of Tippmanns.

This gun is much much better with a double trigger upgrade and sight rail. The double trigger helps you shoot faster and to me is much more comfortable. The sight rail has a better sight than the regular sight that came mounted on the gun, but you can take off the mounted sight very easily with an alan wrench.

This gun also is very easy to take apart. Only a few screws take the gun apart which lets you easily clean out and fix your gun.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i think anyone new to paintballing should but this gun. Yes it has its weaknesses, but it is just a beginners gun. Obviously, some one who wants to upgrade to a new gun altogether shouldnt buy this gun. I would recomend a BT Ironhorse, Banshee, or Assault if you want to stick with the BT brand.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bandit200 Friday, June 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix (old),M98
Marker Setup: BT-4
12oz co2
(all stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Upgradable
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Hard to field strip, Stock barrel, Gas Hog
Review: Strengths: Its got a good weight to it u know its there and its a little harder to leave behind.

Its very durable, I have dropped it, banged it around and it will keep fireing.

Very upgradeable, The weaver sight is a nice thing. u can put any standard sights on it (real gun sights) that can be more durable than the paintball ones out there so u know they can take a beating. Barrel adaptors are out there for it so if u want to swap over to spyder threads u can do so.

good product support, there are stocks, bi-pods, barrels, sights u can get for this gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to someone who wants a gun that can grow with them.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 1st, 2006 at 3:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordkirby45 Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Sypder Victor
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" M16 APEX barrel
48/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Small Bore Barrel
Strengths: Loud
Accurate when it DOES feed
Weaknesses: Rarely feeds (major problem)
Trigger pull (minor)
Front grip if flimsy
Feed Neck is awkward
Review: I'm not one to complain, but this isn't a very good marker.

PROS:
-Loud (scares the crap out of people)
-Its accurate when it DOES feed (more on this later)
-Sturdy and durable

CONS:
-RARELY FEEDS. I don't know why, but for whatever reason, only about HALF of the time you pull the trigger will it actually fire. My guess it that it has something to do with the awkward feed neck.
-Trigger pull. It's a little harder to pull than other triggers (takes for force) but this isn't anything major
-Flimsy front grip. Because of the design, the front grip, no matter how tight it is, will be loose (side to side). Once again, nothing major. I'm just a little bit picky.
-FEED NECK IS AWKWARD. (I don't have a better way to explain it). You can slide it on and off instead of it clicking in place like a Tippmann. My guess is that this causes the hopper to stop feeding balls to the marker.
-BT customer service is terrible. I was on the phone "waiting for a representative" for about 30-45 minutes before I gave up and hung up the phone.
Conclusion: Anyone thinking about getting this marker should try a Tippman 98 Custom instead.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

irobotnic Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A-5
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, 48/3000 Pure Energy HPA tank,Empire 14" Barrel, Gravity feed hopper,everything else stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of course
E-grip because it has a bit slow of a rate of fire
Strengths: Durable
Nicely Priced

Weaknesses: A bit heavy
Trigger pull a bit heavy
Not to many upgrades
Short stock barrel
Review: Well this gun is not bad. I remember when I rented them before I got my 98 Custom. They are a bit cheaper than the 98 Custom bit still good. They are very durable and can take some wear and tear. It is pretty good as soon as you get it. It is a great gun for begginners like me, and it works very well with C02, as in another case some guns don't work as well with it.
Conclusion: This gun is pretty good. I recomend it. it, I rented one since then, and i realized it's not so diffrent from my 98 Custom, They are like cousins. This gun works very well, is consistant, and will keep up with you for years to come.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 22nd, 2007 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

GMoney00013 Monday, April 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans
Marker Setup: Currently nothing
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades?...Not even worth buying
Strengths: Not much
Weaknesses: BT-4 itself, nuff-said
Review: My friend bought this gun at our local shop for around 150$. By far the biggest waste of money i've ever seen spent on paintball, and on anything for that matter. This gun is terriblye unaccurate. You're better off shooting forty yards to the left of the guy and you'd end up hitting other players. Honestly, im supprised my friend lasted the whole game, but at the end, he was bunkered because of the rate of fire given by his gun, about 4 bps. next game, he shot a bolt out of his barrel and the feedneck cracked cuz of the blow back from the c02. The c02 effiency....damn...wastes sooooo much on terrible shots..my friend got 300 shots out of a 20oz. after my expeirence with this gun, if u buy it, you have a thing for throwing money out of the window.
Conclusion: See above
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media