paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
jl100ct Friday, October 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No "Similar Products" - rent guns just don't compare
Marker Setup: BT-4 COMBAT
DEATHSTIX 16" SINISTER BLACK
REMOTE HOSE
GUERRILLA AIR 68 / 4500
RIP - CLIP
E - GRIP
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel - Despite the Stock barrel being satisfactory, ideally a new barrel is needed, if your short of money don't worry, but try to save up
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Easily upgradable
Universal rails
Weight Distribution
Adjustable front grip
Customisable
Easily stripped
SNM
Weaknesses: Rear sight inappropriately placed
uneven shooting - even with the Rip - Clip
The Trigger is stiff
Review: I bought this from the helpful people at Mayhem Paint-ball in England. At first my mind was set on the A-5 because of its unique Cyclone feed Technology(At the time). The boys at mayhem told me to wait another year so that I would be able to purchase BT's Rip - Clip. They told me that the A-5's Cyclone Feed System was air powered and so the A-5 was an Air Hog. The Rip - Clip is powered by batteries and 4 Duracell batteries can last 6000 shots! So sold by how genuine they are( if they were money grabbing they would have allowed me to purchase the A-5 which is an extra £30-£40)I bought the BT combat and Rip Clip along with other accessories.
I used this gun at a scenario day and almost instantly fell in love with it! It is so much more accurate than the rent guns at the field I went to. I realised that the barrel would need changing so invested in a deathstix 16" sinister black barrel. I'm so happy that I chose this gun as I could not ask for anything better for the price asked. I'm not saying that thy're are not flaws which need to be addressed because their is.
for example:
The uneven firing gets on your nerves when it does happen, normally in a crucial tactical advance.
The Rear Sight is inappropriately placed - it is not accurate with a remote hose, and is deemed useless with the Gas Tank sitting on your shoulder .
The trigger is stiff, and after a full on day of paintballing your fingers feel sore.
The BT-4 Combat's are Incomparable to guns of similar prices and I am thrilled with the choice both I and the Team at Mayhem made!
Conclusion: Despite Flaws which need to be tended to, these guns are exceptional value for money and a great asset to any keen players "Armoury". It is perfect for beginners and intermediate players alike and, with a new barrel, can eliminate the opponent effortlessly on maps like woodsball. This gun, with a little money spent, can be easily compared with high end semi - auto guns like the X7. I'm giving this gun 9/10 because because nothing is perfect and the flaws need to be fixed. Then I would definitely consider giving this gun 10/10!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jsigovich Friday, March 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
M98C, M98C-Platinum ACT, A-5 (M98C's are NOT as good as this, seriously. However, they ARE similar. Like someone said on here, this marker is what the M98C SHOULD have been. The A-5 is slightly better out of the box due to the cyclone feed, but in terms of accuracy it is on the same level)
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat, CAR Stock, Dye Boomstick 16''
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (that goes with any marker), perhaps a stock if you're into that sort of thing, HPA if you're a serious player who intends to do play during the harsh winter months.
Strengths: Accuracy, Simplicity.
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrades available.
Review: I just received this marker in the mail yesterday, to replace an M98C-Platinum ACT which broke while I was installing an Expansion Chamber. (Side Note: I LOVE M98's, but the new design on the Platinum series is no good. The way the gas line connects to the valve is horrible. Case in point: while I was installing the Expansion chamber, a huge chunk on the receiver halves literally snapped off, causing a terminal air leak. The gas line does not "screw in" to the valve at all, it simply rides up into it, with no real physical connection via threads to keep it in place. This caused air to leak slowly until I tightened the line further, which caused the receiever pieces around the line to shatter. Please don't buy the M98C Platinum ACT until Tippmann has a chance to work out the kinks.) I play every weekend, and since my dearly beloved (M98C Platinum ACT) broke apart in an unsuspected and, frankly, unacceptable way, I had to order something cheap since payday is NEXT friday. So the decision was between this and the MR1. Another guy on my squad has an MR2 so I figured I'd get the BT-4 if only to be different. Plus, due to my love of the M98C, and this marker being very, VERY similar (if not identical) on the inside, I ordered away. So I got the marker and took it out of the box, and my first impression was "OK, an M98C clone, fine." But then upon picking it up, I realized that this marker is NOT very heavy, as many have been quick to claim on this site. For comparison, this marker with the setup listed above weighs considerably less than a Tippmann M98C with a flatline quick thread and a CAR stock of the same make. First thing I had to do was dis-assemble to install the CAR stock. Yes, the reviews are true, this thing does take a little while to field strip. But being accustomed to the same deal with M98C's, I wasn't bothered in the slightest. And really, people, you only need one allen key to remove all of the necessary bolts to field strip. So don't worry about the whole "Oh NO! It needs FIVE allen keys!!!" complaint. Internally, it is almost exactly the same as the M98C, if not identical. I didn't have time after work to compare side by side so I don't want to lead anyone astray here. However, from what I've heard, this thing does accept most M98C internals. So I installed all necessary components (Boomer and CAR stock) and hooked up my quick change adaptor for 12g CO2's so I could check it out in my backyard. This was in approximately 45 degree weather, with a slight drizzle. I simply put a VL200 gravity feed on it with about a dozen paintballs and let her rip. It is accurate. It didn't chop. I fired as fast as I could pull the trigger and it was totally fine. Its the same firing speed, stock, as an M98C. I don't get the people on here who say it shoots about 2 or 3 bps, that's just wrong. I didn't even put my Halo B on it, or my 48/3000 HPA and it was performing WAY past my expectations. I thought I was going to be at a major disadvantage this weekend because everyone on my squad and all of the regulars at the field we frequent have more expensive markers, with more upgrades. Now I'm confident that victory will be mine. Oh, and the front verticle foregrip is removable (beats the M98C) and the rear "iron sight" (AKA plastic sight) is adjustable along the length of the picatinny rail on top. Also there is a picatinny on the bottom where the foregrip used to be, allowing for flashlights or lasers or whatever if you're crazy into Mil-Sim stuff.
Conclusion: In the Anarchist's Cookbook, under the "Firearms" section, it is said that the more effective weapons have the least moving parts. This marker adheres to that maxim to a "T." I love this marker. It truly is what the M98C should have been. If you're looking into buying your own marker and you're considering the M98C, please get the BT-4 Combat instead. I've used M98C's for about 4 years, and this one is just better. But just so I don't lead anyone down the wrong path on here (most of the reviews on this site are heavily biased and not to be trusted), I will most certainly and happily update this review after Saturday, when this fine marker will have been "Battle Tested." Thank you for reading.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guger Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
SP 1
Others
Marker Setup: Digi Camo Combat
Bt-47 Apex( painted)
E-Grip
Air tank( Coil)
Vest
Red Dot Sight(Can't mount properly)
Halo Hopper
Stock(painted)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex Barrel
Air Tank
E-Grip
With updated Board
Strengths: Very Durable and highly upgradeable, What the tippmann should have been
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks, Heavier than tournament guns, only can shoot 13 bps(should be fine)
Review: A great gun for any beginner, but if your are more experienced your should plane on upgrading it or getting a pre-upgraded bt. The adjustable fore grip is a nice feater so you are not stuck holding it in an uncomfortable position. For scenario games is helps to have it camo, but if you plane on upgrading it you should get a banshee in camo, because you can't get the attachments camo besides the e-grip. the first thing you should get is a new barrel so that you can play with the people using other barrels. Don't plan on getting the cheapest balls you van get your hands on because it will chop them.
Conclusion: Everything the tippmann should have been.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wildchild7912 Sunday, March 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
Marker Setup: 98 custom,20"J&J Ceramic,Maddman springs,Ben Tippmann Sealed Bolt System,Psycho ballistics star fire bolt,Dye Stickies 3,DOP aluminum power tube,Cyclone feed,darkHorizon Titanium lite Hammer,Palmer Pursuit Regulator,Special Ops Fixed stock,Bob Long mini gauge,Pro-Team Tac Cap,Lapco Mock suppresor,BossMan Mag kit
BT-4 combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber or NO2,After Market barell
Strengths: Cheap price,upgradeablitity,easy handeling,quick breakdown,NO TINY PARTS TO GET LOST
Weaknesses: Heavy trigger pull
Review: I bought this after my Custom 98 went down at the local field I was at they let me use it as a loaner(thanks Brett and Brent).I liked the feel it had and lack of recoil when fired,so naturally I decided to give the BT-4 a shot over the A-5 and let me tell you I am an avid fan of the Custom 98,but BT Design has impressed me(not something thats done easily).I thought this was going to be a Custom 98 knock off and man was I ever wrong.for you guys who say it is you have no idea of what you are talking about,But enough of this time for my review.For those who read this I will be camparing it to the Custom 98 to be fair and equal.First of the thing that caught my attention was the A-5 style trigger housing(not exactly like an A-5 but close)reamove two hex head bolts and the grip is free of the marker making any battery change quick and easy,the Custom 98 you have to tear down the whole marker in the field,any custom 98 owner knows it is impractical to do so therefore the BT-4 wins there.I also like the fact that the fore grip is adjustable unlike the Custom 98 and also can be replaced with a mag expansion kit where as the Custom 98 does not any mag kit expansion chamber for the Custom 98 has to mount to the nub of the foregrip which IMO kills the Mil-Sim look again BT-4 wins.
Now for the big one ease of breakdown is well over the Custom 98 no little pins to get lost or front sight spring that flicks out and gets lost or haveing you spend hours crawling around the carpet searching for that elusive but critical piece.Now for the price I bought my BT-4 for $118 with S&H where as the Custom 98 retails for $119 (this is in USD) overall the BT-4 has great amount of potiential and is a good marriage between the Custom 98 and A-5,no wrongs just rights.Overall a great marker and I expect nothing great out of it .
Conclusion: Great beginner to advance marker,well woth its price custom 98's are great markers but BT fixed the hassles of the 98.In a word they took a good idea and made it great.By no means do I hate custo 98's I still own mine and its still a great marker but BT has made several improvements on this idea making it a better choice.its simple and easy to maintain very simple design makes it affordable and easy to upgrade.I don't believe in giving 10's but BT has earned this one with very carefull consideration to the design,like I said no wrongs just rights .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SabbathFan Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested an A-5, and an 98 used/owned some of the viewloader series
Marker Setup: BT-4
16in Barrel
Remote Line
48ci 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
A Good Size HPA (air)
Co2 users get a expansion chamber if you dont want to use HPA
Strengths: Looks Awesome
Detent has lasted over 10,000 shots,
Durable
Good weight
Feel of Gun
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Upgrades x 10(explanation in body)
Trigger pull
Tearing Down


Review: NEW~!~!~NEW!~!~!~NEW~!~!~! 9/14/2007

well, the bt has started to fail, after 30 thousand paintballs the powertube finaly cracked, i called bt to get a new one and they sent me a new one right away, and what do you know that cracked to..... so i called again and they are sending me a new one.....
so for this annoying incovienence i have to drop the rating from an 8 to 7.5 but i can to ill round up

to start off:

I absolutely love this gun even though it has some weaknesses.

I bought this gun at a bike shop that specializes in bikes, rc cars, and well paintball. i got it for a good price of $99 (they broke up a package deal and i don't think they were paying attention). I got home and immediately opened it, and obviously it was the coolest looking thing to come out of a box. I was eager to use it after what my friends have told me about it, and when using it playing them in the woods. My first time putting it to a serious test was at Matt's Outback which is an amazing field and also reviewed on pbreview. the gun fit right in with all the other woods ball players that were playing that day. the gun preformed amazing, first crono was a roughly 280ish so i made no adjustments. The gun held up in the games through out the day and i roughly put 2500 paintballs through it that day and i went through 3 20oz co2 tanks. About 4 trips later i had some fun with extra money i had and i purchased a 16 inch barrel, and a remote line, also that day i rented and HPA tank a wow did the barrel and HPA really increase the accuracy of the gun (no idea who made the barrel it was something brother and it was $14 they just wanted to get rid of them). but sadly that was my last time at the field due to my focus on flight lesson instead of paintball.

Issues with the upgrades

The one thing i truly hate about this gun is the lack of upgrades, on all the websites i look at its always referring to the A-5 or 98 correct me if im wrong but i believe the BT-4 has a5 threads (i know that) and 98 internals (correct me their). I also have no idea if a stock for a 98 will fit on a bt, and that is what i want my next purchase to be, along with a HPA tank, the upgrades for the BT are extremely confusing (in my opinion) and wish sites could realize that tippmann is the only upgradeable modestly priced woodsball markers on the market.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun for any level of play with the right upgrades (if you can find any) you can have a extremely kick butt woods ball marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 14th, 2007 at 7:29 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Hanee Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4
14" JJ Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New Sight Rail (Stock one does not line up right)
Strengths: VERY Durable
Adjustible hand grip
Weaknesses: Uses alot of CO2
Heavy
Inaccurate (Stock)
Review: Well after playing paintball for a year with my friends I decided it was time to get my own gun. After some searching I found this gun. It looked nice and with a price tag that was less than a 98 Custom. So after some debate with me financial situation I decided to get this gun and all my friends went with a 98 Custom or just got a 50$ gun and have MR1ís now.
So I ordered it online and it came in after a few weeks and out of the box it shot nice. I went to our paintball course and shot a bit but when I got to shoot my friends 98 Custom I immediately saw the difference. The 98 Customs accuracy was great so I got my JJ barrel. After I got that the accuracy was much better than the stock 98 Custom.
As for weight, hour long paintball games I donít mind but when I played a 8 hour scenario game I felt the weight BAD. But if you go remote that takes a lot of weight off.
As for using a lot of CO2 I just have three 20 oz tanks so itís not much trouble for me. I have dropped this gun many times and it still keeps going.
Conclusion: If your new to the sport and dont have alot of $$$ then this gun is a good choice. It gets an 8 because it could be more accurate stock, take less CO2 to run, and didn't weigh a ton for the long games
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hammhead Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder special edition
tippmann pro carbine (back up gun only)
Marker Setup: BT4 combat
bt designs egrip
14inch freak jr w/.689 insert
JT 50ci 3000psi HPA
Empire realoader (clear)
custom pro style drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
drop forward
Strengths: Very Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is only 8 inches.
Review: I got my BT for my birthday. The gun has been very reliable even with the E-Grip. The stock barrel is kind of loud but a longer barrel will make all the difference. The E-Grip is capable of around 15bps whcich is fast for a Tippmann. The gun is very acurate with the 14ich freak jr and the .689 insert. I use Origin Frontline or Orgin Signature Series.
Conclusion: For the price of the gun you cant get a better deal. also the reliability is incredible.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom pro
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
barrel
Strengths: Very durable
Accurate
Tough
Low mantinance
Movable front grip
Weaknesses: Feedneck, easy to break hard to replace.. not as good as 98
Review: I am very impressed with the job BT did with this marker. It is very simular to the 98 but with some differences.

LIkes: I love the foregrip, you can take it right off or move or closer or further away, makes for a better fit no matter how long or short your arms might be. I also love the body. The body will look much better with scenario upgrades such as stocks or barrel kits then any 98 will. I also prefer the finish and paintjob. my 98 scratches like nuts and they look terrible due to the type of coating. this is a more sleek and durable finish that even if scratched will not stand out nearly as much.

I found when I took this marker apart it was one of the simplist markers I have ever worked on. I absolutly loved it. no springs poping out at me like on the 98. everything is extremily straight forward and easy to figure out. if you get a chance and havent seen it yet, take one of these apart! i was very impressed at how simple it was. meaning less parts to loose and less things to break.

I find it also feels more durable in general. I find the stock barrel to be pretty accurate however it is something I would recommend upgrading in the future anyways for better accuracy (like every paintball markers stock barrel)

I found it to be amazing on co2 compared to what I was expecting. my first use I got close to 1000 shots on a 12 oz tank (chronoed under 275) which is part of the reason but its still great. in fact I have 2 of these and was using them both that day which was relativly warm and each marker got about 1000 shots from the 12oz tanks they were using. i was expecting 500 so i was impressed to say the least. when I put it up to 285 however I expect this to drop.


Perfect marker for woodsball, if speedballs your thing I suggest you dont buy this, but if you wanna play some real paintball buy it and get into the woods!
Conclusion: if you want a extremily durable marker this is for you! its also great because everyone owns tippmanns so you dont need to be a sheep... if you like scenario this is also perfect as BT seems focoused mainly on super tough scenario stuff and there are many great upgrades for this marker. and super easy to clean and strip no small springs and stuff to loose like on 98.

Recommended!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 8th, 2007 at 4:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr..Clean Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" J&J Ceramic S2
VL200 Gravity Feed Hopper
12 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Pretty good stock
Durable
A5 Threads
Mounting Rail
Weaknesses: Little heavy
Loud bolt
Review: I got the Bt-4 combat in February and have been quite pleased with it. It's good stock so you don't have to upgrade it right away if you don't want to. Its durable so its not going to break on you in the heat of "combat." It has A5 threads so you could put an A5 flatline on it if you felt like it (I wouldn't) It has adjustable fore grip so you can have the most comfortable balance that you choose. The mounting rail can put military sights and stuff on it which is pretty cool. The only real problems i have with it are that when me and my friends go to some random island in his boat. My marker makes alot of noise because of the bolt. And of course its a little heavy.
Conclusion: I would reccomend to anyone who wants a nice durable marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Localmotion3668 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-grip
BT Apex Barrel
JCS Duel Trigger
A-5 Camo Graphics Kit
Gas Thru T Stock
Ricochet R5
Palmer In-line Stabilizer
32* Remote Line
Custom Modified Shotgun Sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever floats your boat
Strengths: Very adaptable, lots of rails, looks, simplicity, reliability
Weaknesses: None come to mind
Review: I won this marker at a scenario last weekend. So, for what I payed for it ($0), this gun is perfect. I'll let my brother use it and do whatever he wants to it. It uses A-5 barrel threads, so my old barrel works perfectly on it. The marker looks good and is pretty accurate with the stock barrel. I look at this gun as a 98 Custom with a few key A-5 features, as well as some unique features of it's own.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anybody who is starting out in the sport. It may leave something to be desired for experienced players, but it's easily adaptable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media