paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
drifter m Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Basic BT-4 Combat
A-5 14 in Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel extension of some kind
apex barrel (but you need good paint)
Strengths: Gas usage is minimal
Durable
Price!!!
Easy to clean
Adjustable front grip
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Lack of current upgrades outside of 98c parts
Review: This is the second gun i have owned and i couldn't be happier with its performance.
The first game out was a little sketchy with the basic barrel since the accuracy is cut short but i borrowed a 14in A-5 barrel from a friend and all the accuracy problems went away. the marker works great in woods ball and can handle the abuse of being out and in some harsh conditions (like dropped in a river). this marker is one of the few that could be considered almost indestructible.
Conclusion: This is the perfect first gun for any new player or back up for any experienced player.
The only thing that is a must is a barrel extension.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slangove Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
View Loader Orion (not as good)

Marker Setup: Ben Tippmann BT-4 Combat with 14" smart parts linear, BT expansion chamber (havn't tried expansion chamber yet), 20oz Co2,regular grav loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for sure, the Linear has worked great for me and it was only $40 Canadian (even looks cool)

Expansion Chamber, without it marker uses a lot of gas and experiences velocity spikes and drops.
Strengths: Accurate, Nice feel, good stock sights, Accepts many tippmann upgrades, durable, looks great
Weaknesses: Gas hog, doesn't accept tippmann response trigger, balls sometimes roll out of the barrel.
Review: First I'll say that this marker is the first that I have owned. So far I am very happy with the performance of the BT-4 with only two major complaints. First, this gun likes the Co2, big clouds shoot out of the barrel often, I hope this will be easily fixed with the expansion chamber . My second complaint is that sometimes when moving around I notice balls dropping out of the barrel. I assume this is a problem with the ball detent but I havn't really figured it out yet. With the longer smart parts linear barrel this marker is really quite accurate, and gets good distance, generally if I can see my enemies I can hit them. The rate of fire isn't too quick but I hope that BT will come out with their own version or the RT trigger or an electronic trigger frame. Once I have added the expansion chamber, a powered loader and a new trigger I expect that this will be an excellent bushball/rec-ball gun. The BT-4's internal functions are essentially identical to the custom 98 but I prefer the feel and look of the BT-4. If you are looking for an upgradable, reliable, accurate, durable and great looking marker for bush or rec play I recommend this product. Also for those who want a platform to build a scenario/military style marker on this would be an excellent choice.
Conclusion: This is a good, durable and accurate marker ideal for bush/rec ball. The BT-4 is reasonably priced and will be easily upgraded. This is definitely a good option that will compete well with the competition from spyder and tippmann.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hitmanic Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Raised Sight Rail
Semi Auto
Normal Trigger
8.5" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Red Dot Scope
Strengths: Very Accurate
Cheap
Not Choppy
Weaknesses: not much...
8.5" barrel stock
Weighs a bit
Review: I Love this gun, its so good! This gun could smoke lots of other guns out there
besides the fact that it rules, the look is also very stunning. This gun is basically the Tippmann A-5 And 98 Custom put together but without the cyclone feed. I purchased this gun for $160 + tax so it came up to $184.. which I think is pretty good for a good gun like this!!!! It can also shoot from 150 ft+ away and is pretty good on Co2.
Conclusion: This gun is so far my favourite gun and is a good gun STOCK!! THe BT-4 Combat is a must get for all people who like guns like A-5's
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DylanRobles Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 - I prefer the Tippmann.
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Sport
AVI N2 48ci Tank
Extreme Rage Overdrive dB Hopper (Sound Activated)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm not sure.
Strengths: Durable.
Fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Sprays CO2 smoke BAD.
Review: I used this gun once while my gun was in the shop. My friend has one, and I don't like them. At all. I mean, I don't like woodsball guns at all anyways. But I think its a copy of the tippmann 98. And I like the 98 way better. But nonetheless, this gone is pretty durable. I just don't like it at all. Get a tippmann if you're considering this gun.
Conclusion: I'd recommend a tippmann before this gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

williamkablitz Friday, September 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c stock
tippmann pro carbine stock
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c teardrop barrel, and stock barrel, 32 degree remote line, flat olive paint job.

bt-4 combat 32 degree remote line, j&J ceramic barrel, a-5 flatline barrel, raised sight scope, car stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
very possibly an expansion chamber but I havn't tried yet so don't quote me on that.
barrel upgrade wouldn't hurt
Strengths: Sliding hopper elbow
Not too pricey
Looks good
Easy tear down
Weaknesses: Uses a lot of C02
Speed and accuracy
Upgrades (see review)
Sights
Review: First off I'll tell you that this marker accepts A-5 and 98 parts. (A-5 barrels 98 stocks and internals which can get confusing and the internals from a 98 don't even fit right, I tried) Whats up with that? I know BT is Ben Tippmann but, it is a different company and marker. There arn't too many BT-4 specific upgrades yet.

I bought this marker between 6 months and a year ago after playing woods ball with some friends.

The first time I played I used a rental tippmann pro-carbine and had a great time. The pro shot straight and fast and only used a 20 oz. tank to about 1200 balls, played all day on one tank. Needless to say I was hooked and decided to buy a marker. Not wanting to be like every body else (tippmann 98's - A-5's) I bought the BT-4.

First time I played with this marker I just couldn't seem to hit squat, and the speed felt slow even after many adjustments. By the end of the day I had gone though about 3 20 oz. tanks of C02 to 2000 balls. Wasn't happy at all.

Feeling maybe it was just high expectations, I bought a J&J 14" ceramic barrel and a 32 degree remote line hopping to improve the accuracy and C02 usage for the next month of play. Didn't work!!

Decided to buy a flatline barrel after the second game to see if it would help. Nope!!

I'm Sorry, but I just don't like this gun. Its pretty sorry when I could be happier with a used rental pro-carbine than a brand new marker. Needless to say I became like the rest and bought a used 98c off of eBay for $80 that seems to be better stock with the 8.5" barrel than the BT-4 with a remote and flatline or J&J.
Conclusion: I don't recommend this gun to anybody new or experienced. Do yourself a favor and buy a used 98, pro-lite or pro-carbine off eBay. Save yourself a $100 (not including upgrades) and get a tippmann, you'll be Glad you did.

If BT comes out with some good upgrades to the internals of this gun I might buy them in hopes of it helping with the C02 and speed but I'm not counting on it. And I've already tried to use 98c internals in this gun and they fit to tight and didn't help at all.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tyurtddr Monday, November 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Tippmann X-7
Marker Setup: BT 14 inc M16 barrel
collapsible stock
expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
compressed air
Strengths: Cheap
Simple
Durable
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Efficiency
Weight
Review: the BT-4 was my first marker, I've had it now for roughly 4 years, although its been replaced by a TM-15. the BT-4 is an excellent entry level marker for a beginner and its strengths are suited to that role.

the marker itself is indestructible. and very simple to maintain. while taking apart the upper an lower receiver apart may take more time then with a spyder, its still very easy to maintain and beginner friendly. while i recommend cleaning any marker after use, unless you have a bad chop the BT-4 is rugged enough that this isn't necessary. in four years experience nothing on this gun has broken and I've only lost 1 o-ring.

in terms of performance you get what you pay for with the BT-4. the stock barrel is mediocre. any cheap barrel like a smart parts 14 inch will improve your accuracy remarkably. running on CO2 it is not the most efficient or consistent. an expansion chamber helps, but for the same price a compressed air tank will do the same thing.
all in all the BT-4 performs well. in Canada the velocity will go +/- 10fps every shot on CO2 in the summer. with a 14 inch barrel you will be able to hit anything in range reliably.

one of the greatest strength of the BT-4 is your ability to customize it. fake magazines, any custom 98 stock, any A5 barrel and anything you can put on a picatinny will fit this marker. some stocks get in the way with using the sights, an offset rail with a red-dot would fix this though.


Conclusion: the BT-4 is designed as an enrty level marker and excells at that purpose. its durable, and easy to upgrade, while the performance is good for the price.

if your think of going out and buying a ton of upgrades and barrel kits and dumping a lot of money into this marker, you might want to fork out he extra money and just go straight to an X-7 phenom or TM-15. these markers run on better systems and you'll get better performance with them then ever possible on an BT-4

all in all excellent marker for the price, will never break down, and performs reliably.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UMP45_Sniper Saturday, October 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom( Rental)
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Heavy
Comfortable
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was my first gun and i love it. Its heavy,i like it like that. The weight balances it out perfectly with a HPA tank. Its extremely accurate and custom friendly. Also very comfortable to hold and it looks awesome.

This was my first gun and i love it. Its heavy,i like it like that. The weight balances it out perfectly with a HPA tank. Its extremely accurate and custom friendly. Also very comfortable to hold and it looks awesome.
Conclusion: It probaly is the best marker out there for beginers or veterans and it is fairly cheap. I got it on sale for 144. Great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrteeth Sunday, October 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only rental guns(Tippman 98)
Marker Setup: I have the bt4 combat with the bt apex barrel and extreme rage overdrive loader and a 20 oz co2 tank.(This came in a bundle)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend upgrading the stock barrel as other barrels are much more accurate then it. It is only 8 inch barrel therefore upgrading the barrel has a lot of advantages.(eg accuracy range) Other than that there arent many other available upgrades... Although the stock barrel is a lot better than you might think.
Strengths: Fast(For the price)
Accurate
Good price
Easy to upgrade
Doesnt chop
Good with air
Weaknesses: Hard to clean(Rarely gets dirty)
Review: This is a great marker for the price. Escpecially for begginers. If you are looking for a good reliable gun that you wont have to do maintanince on often or clean, than this is perfect for you. I have gone paintballing 4 times since i got the gun, it has never jammed, chopped or have any kind of mishap. The only minor thing i have noticed is that sometimes the bolts at the base of the grip will loosen a bit, but that will be easily dealt with. It is relativly light compared to some other guns.(Eg Tippman 98) It performs well in rain and cold weather. It is very durable and easy to use and put together. But it is time consuming.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for begginers i would reccomend this to anyone looking to start paintballing. I love this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nb2paintball Tuesday, July 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR 4
spyder mr 1
stryker cybrid
jt STEALTH
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat with smarts parts 14" barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. 14" or 16"
Strengths: Powerful.
Accurate.
mil sim look
upgradeable like a 98.
Weaknesses: 5 Different sized Allen Keys
Review: I tested this gun in my backyard. the targets were about 75 to 100 feet away. I unloaded about 15 balls in like ten seconds and it just ripped the target in half and it hit in the same area. Without the velocity set to its max. Also in my opinion it shot very smoothly.
Conclusion: EXcellent gun stock barrel allows a good range but get a longer barrel it will increase the range to 200 feet shot accurately. overall i think it is a great gun and is worth $110.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Will_I_Am87 Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Tippman 98c
- Bravo one
- Tippmann X7
- BT Delta (Only difference is the appearance and the feedneck is different)
- Tacamo AK-47
- Milsig K series
Marker Setup: Not much setup except maybe a 14 inch barrel, because I bought a BT4 combat for my cousin.
Recommended
Upgrades:
depends on what type of player you are, if your a back player, take a longer barrel(16 inch and above), if your assault(14 inch) or CQB (less than 14 inch) take a shorter one.
for accuracy wise, probably a red dot sight would help.
Strengths: - Durability, Ease for maintenance, Upgradable, good for its price, reliable (no chop and no jams)
Weaknesses: - accuracy, not very consistent but good enough (no regulator), Front sight
Review: as for my own opinion, there is not much to complain about for this marker since I got it for under 90$ Canadian from my supplier brand new. It performs pretty much like a Tippmann 98 and when I tested it for its accuracy, this is where the weaknesses sets in, with the iron sight the paintball does not goes where I want it to be and I am getting a hard time getting a 1 shot 1 kill on a water bottle with the iron sight on a distance of 50-60 yards away. Since I realized that the front sight is only a piece of plastic sticking out, I noticed that the front and the back sight isint well lined up as it suppose to. The front sight is just lower than the back sight which I consider it as a manifacturers default. Also, when I tested it for consistency on a truck on a distance for 50-60 yards, it was acceptable but more than that, I would assume that it would be innaccurate on a distance. As for the Strengths of this gun, I saw my cousin falling from the stairs and landed on the gun and he picked it up and fired it again. despize that it was filled with sand, it still fires without chop adn jams. As for the maintenance of the gun, when I was about to clean out the sand inside his gun, I took it apart (about 1 minute), rinse the barrel and some parts(about 2-3 minutes), oiled it(2 minutes) and put them all back together(1 minute), I consider easier to maintain than other markers in the market. Also it is very upgradable, it accepts most of the A5 treads, 98 stocks and ect ect. and Finally, the price is pretty good, it goes about 80-150$ canadian, depending who you buy it from.
Conclusion: In general, it is a pretty good gun for its price, you can never go wrong buying this product if your looking for something that you can relie on. But I would recommend using this gun on the indoor field if there is no upgrades on it, because hey.. why would you need accuracy when you can shoot people up from up close with a shorter barrel ;P? Also, it is a very good marker if you are a starter, because sometimes, you would want to look different from the crowd and start playing barbie with your gun and the BT4 combat allows you to do that perfectly, unlike the Tippmann 98, you don't have any rails and you are required to buy them, and buying them cost more money. Overall, comapring the 98 to the BT4 Combat, there is a slight difference, if you are looking for dressing up your gun, get a BT4 Combat, if you just want a gun that has a slightly better performance, get the tippmann 98. All in all, the accuracy and the consistency is okay, just aim with your barrel or chage the the front sight with something else on your BT4 Combat. Probably a red dot will help. As for the professionals, if you are playing on a regular basis, you would want a gun that is easy to maintain, if professionals complain that this gun is not as good as other high end markers, then you should not consider yourself a professional. In general, its the skills of a player that makes the player, not the gun. All in All, I would give a 9 on 10. Great for newcomers for this sport and good as a backup weapon for experienced players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media