paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
LuckyRicochet Saturday, December 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom=Similar, but cheaper
Tippman X7
Marker Setup: Normal 20oz co2 tank
Regular 140 round hopper
Stock Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a better barrel
Stock
Strengths: Durable
Pretty accurate
Not heavy
Good sight
Cheap!!$$$
Weaknesses: Gets unaccurate when low on Co2
Review: The gun is a basic starter gun. It is durable, medium weight, and and all around okay gun.

If you are a beginner, this is a good choice for a starting gun. The sight is an improvement over the Tippman 98 customs sight. It feels good to shoot and is quite accurate. It will decrease in accuracy and then range when you get lower on co2.
Conclusion: Beginners should try this gun out. It's easy to use, and the price is very acceptable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

minuteman360 Sunday, November 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98C Spyder-MR1
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat RipClip Egrip A5-Flatline SmartParts linear barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip RipClip Hammerhead barrel or other 14-16 inch barrel
Strengths: Durable good-finish ease-of-use Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Kickback Difficult-field-strip Heavy
Review: I ventured into my local paintball store (TC Paintball)- I inquired about a good start-up gun and the store pro recommended the BT series of markers. They offered a BT4 Combat kit for $160 (The BT4 Combat normally costs about $110-$140 US Dollars. The marker itself is rather heavy compared to most other guns. The combat with the standard barrel shoots with the same distance and consistency as the 98C, not surprising that it shares the same heavy kickback known to all Tippman guns (BT is the initials of Ben Tippman the founder and previous owner of Tippman). By itself, this marker is unremarkable, but offers allot of upgradability, and that is were it really shines. Buy the stand alone marker as a beginner marker only or if you plan on upgrading it latter.
Conclusion: Buy if your just getting into paintball or if you plan on upgrading
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball-VC- Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5 and C98, Spyder MR1. The A5 is "better" but you get what you pay for, right? More features, to some, means a better gun. The C98 is basically the SAME gun as the BT4 Combat, internally. The BT4 is nicer looking in every way though. MR1 is a love it or hate it gun, from MY experience. I've seen many problems with MR1's that I've never seen happen to a BT4 but I've never owned one so...
Marker Setup: BT4 Combat, A5 Flatline, Halo Loader, Rear Velocity Adjuster, Upgraded Spring, Remote Line and a Tactical Flashlight / Foregrip combo straight outta Hong Kong!
The BT-4 Communist!
I also rock an all black Proto Matrix Rail with Halo, On/Off ASA, UL Trigger, Trinity clamping feedneck, 14" JJ barrel- soon to be a 14" or 16" Freak and maybe a drop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You must get a new barrel, like any paintball gun. Depending on the barrel you choose you might have to buy the spring kit because the stock spring is pretty soft. It's probably good for most barrels unless you do something dramatic like put a Flatline or an 18" barrel (I don't recommend a barrel that long though).
Strengths: Extremely Simple
Cleaning it and oiling it can be done in 5 minutes
Reliable
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Feedneck is a little wobbley with heavy hoppers
The ASA is pretty ugly... ;)
Review: I bought this gun for MilSim purposes and it does the job, very well. Honestly, I didn't come here to review the BT4 Combat specifically because there are many reviews here that I agree with and I think do the job. Mostly, I wanted to settle the A5 Flatline + BT4 debate I was reading so much about because I liked the concept of flat trajectory shots.

Well, I got a BT4 and put the Flatline on it right away, I never shot the stock barrel, no point. So, first of all, anyone who says they don't work well together didn't bother to make the right adjustments. The Flatline is VERY temperamental and it has a Sweet Spot, which happens to be right around 300 FPS- AKA legal limit. Like I said earlier, I had to change the spring. I bought the MEDIUM / Grey spring off a friend for $2 and the BT4 gained 60 FPS. Since I was already shooting in the 280s it was more than enough to give the Flatline the speed it needs to put the backspin on the ball and shoot a "flat" shot. By "flat" I mean that you have to remember you're shooting paintballs. They are NEVER perfectly round and will not go perfectly straight- at least not every shot. No amount of backspin or barrel length will change that so, yes, even a Flatline barrel has some variation in it's groupings. But it does deliver on the flat trajectory once you've tuned your gun properly and that makes using your "iron sights" really nice.

I can only really think of one negative thing that comes from putting a Flatline on a BT4 Combat. The barrel shroud extends to the top of the gun and so to take it apart you have to remove the 2 screws that hold the bolt in place just to remove the feedneck off the back of the gun. It's not major but it's an inconvenience to me ;) other than that, I can think of no reason why someone shouldn't try this combo.
Conclusion: I think that if you are buying or bought a BT4 Combat and WANT a A5 Flatline because it looks super bad*ss but aren't sure it will perform than have no fear. It works just as well on a BT4 as on an A5 and maybe even better... because the barrel does come up so high on the gun body, the iron-sights actually line up with the ball's trajectory almost perfectly. Also, I feel that the Flatline doesn't like long bursts or full-auto; it looses a lot of accuracy after the first shot. So, in my opinion, don't bother getting an E-Grip for that reason and they are finnicky and unreliable. All in all, I think BT4 Combat is a good gun for the little money it costs and for a little more money you can make it a great gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulletproofcpt Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts vibe (speedball gun)
sp ion
BT 16
Marker Setup: Bt4 combat
Bt rip clip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Accurate,extremely reliable,cheap,customizeable,not an air hog
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun is great it is very reliable I dropped this thing in to mud puddles and dropped i dont know how many times and it works perfect uses little air and is very accurate and the upgrades are limit less u can make it look like any thing an ak an m16 even a saw


EDIT: i have used this gun for 2 years now and it is still working like a champ ive lost 2 screws to it a trigger screw and this guns been to hell and back and still works a truly great woodsball gun
Conclusion: Yes i would reccomend it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2011 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thrashmetalz666 Sunday, May 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Custom Pro
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
BT Assault Rail
BT CAR Stock
BT Apex AK47 Barrel
NcStar 2-6x28 M16 Scope/Mount
NcStar Handguard BiPod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex Barrel, Stock
Strengths: Light
Picatinny rails
removable front grip
Easy to dis-assemble
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have used this marker for the past 5 years as a main gun. It has a very reliable air system, never had a leak. The body itself is very durable and easy to clean. The body has picatinny rails on the bottom and the top of the marker, which the 98 lacks. Very easy to repace the bolt with a stock, takes about 10 minutes, just take the trigger and casing of, take the cap off, and pullout the spring, put it back together with the stock in place. The threads can easily be moved around without changing any body kits.

The only weakness that i could find was that the trigger handle is plastic.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anybody. Very reliable and cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Froz3n Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C: Pretty much the same thing, just a different feel.
Marker Setup: Physcoballistics Lightning - Converted to pump with a .689 Hero 14" barrel.
Smartparts Vibe - .689 14" Barrel, eggy 3 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is a must (stock is loud and not too accurate)
Maybe a stock & remote line if you like the feel.
Strengths: Indestructible
Consistant
(relatively) Cheap
Comes ready to play
Weaknesses: Unremarkable
Large
Can be "heavy"
Review: I bought this as my first marker, and i don't regret it. If you have this marker in hand, and pull the trigger, it WILL fire. However, that said, this marker is really quiet unremarkable. It's accuracy is decent, but nothing special. It's rate of fire is decent, but nothing special. It's a good starting marker, or good for those who play only once in a while, but i won't give it any recommendation outside of that. if you're just getting into paintball, i would recommend this over a 98 or A-5. however, if you're looking for a next-step marker i'd suggest looking somewhere else.
Conclusion: This marker is solid, dependable and all in all a repectable marker. While it leaves several things to be desired, they are things you can't rightfully expect out of a begginer marker. I'll give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 9th, 2009 at 8:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foxrider3 Wednesday, January 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom and model 98
Marker Setup: *Tippmann 98 custom
*14 inch carbon fiber barrel
* A view loder hopper
* Tactical stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
e trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Fast with etrigger
Easy to use
Easy to upgrade
Durible and relieble
Weaknesses: A slight curve
No complaints
Review: Very good gun for a newb like me and great for woodsball. I like this gun and i tested it while playing at my friends house. You will be able to win due to the accuracy and durability. Also good for a veteran that polays with friends alot and just for fun. I wouldn't play with this in a woodsball competition but you could if your good.
Conclusion: It is relieble and a fun gun to play with. pretty accurate with a 12-14 barrel. All in all great gun and is very good for a woodsball competitor. I will give it an 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmiboyz Friday, January 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
bt- elite
Marker Setup: spyder electra
Pronto Barrel
Pure Energy 3000psi
Evo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
the only upgrades are the different kits that can make it look like other guns like M16 and AK47 M4 ect.
Strengths: Durable
Quiet
Weaknesses: Low bps
No chops
Review: this is my fields rental gun so you know it durable. when i used it because my gun broke it was better than i expected. It had no chops. The only problem was the low bps. It has a hard trigger so it is almost impossible to walk and it is only a single trigger. If you play woods ball these wont bother you. it is also quiet good for woods ball. Its is relatively a cheap gun. There are no esential upgrades. No need for a electronic hopper. If you want your gun to look cool I recommend a M16 upgrade.
Conclusion: If you are a speed ball player don't get this gun. If you are a new player who doesnt want a lot of maintnence buy this gun. the only reason I give this a nine is because of the BPS otherwise its flawless it should really be a 9 and 2/3
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slippy Monday, December 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
Pro/Carbine
A5
BT-16
Marker Setup: Bt-4, with SAW stock, RAP4 Recon 8in barrel with APEX tip or hammerhead sharktooth, Picatinny raised rail with Bushnell HOLOsight Gen II on top. E-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rip-Clip
E-grip, but get the APE board
Better barrel, either Hammerhead or Apex
Strengths: Durability
Dependability
Upgradability
Easy Maintenance
Weaknesses: Yeah Right
Review: Best marker I will ever use hands down. The Holo Sight is not necessary I just bought to put on this until I get my AR15 in the future. Anyways, this gun is very dependable. Everytime I go out there it works I had one little hitch one time. It would not cycle for some reason. I later found out that Parts Washer still require the marker to be broken down afterwards. (I'm the DumbA$$)

A stock was the first upgrade that feels mandatory for me. I shoot a lot and it don't feel right without the stock.

The rip-clip came next. Very fast and easy to maintain and the batteries last forever.

Next the E-grip, However instead of having a selector type button or switch they have this switch on the board which require the breakdown of the grip everytime you want to switch rates of fire. (I can't afford to shoot full auto all the time)

Barrel is the only real mandatory upgrade, I hate that stock barrel. I upgraded to the RAP4 recon barrel with an Apex tip on it. I figured the BT Apex was just the stock barrel with an Apex. However the hammer head is the better upgrade. Rifling gives you greater stability thus better range. A5/X7 threads so there are about a million barrels for it.

At the end of my spending spree I had a marker on the heavier side about 5 lbs. Which is still much lighter than any rifle. So Adapt and overcome

In the end it was the Maintenance that was the best. I didn't have that stupid Hopper tension spring like the 98 (If you own one and have ever taken it apart you know what I'm talking about) You need one allen wrench to take it apart. Bolt assembly is the same as a 98 or Pro/carbine. very nice.

Finally Upgrades are the nicest. With Picatinny rails coming with it there are zillions of them. I see a flashlight in my future for it.
Conclusion: I bought this as a gun to loan to friends and now its my primary. Get this All Tippmann fans will be Ben Tippmann fans. Especially now that tippmann has gone to the Plastic marker dark side.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98 or BT-4 Thursday, September 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (Rental)
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Aimpoint Red Dot Sight
Foregrip/ Bipod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any barrel will do fine
Possibly a stock of you are into woodsball/ mil-sim
Expansion Chamber if you insist on using CO2
Rip Clip
Strengths: Reliable
Sturdy
Picatinny Rail x2
Weaknesses: Loose Tank Adaptor Bolts
Review: After researching ALL the entry level markers out there (Spyder MR1, Tippmann 98, BT-4, Brass Eagle [LOL], RAP4 T68...), I narrowed down my choice of markers to either Tippmann 98 or BT-4. BT-4 beat Tippmann 98 only because it has two picatinny rails instead of Tippmann 98's one. I am happy to say that I have not regret my purchase and feel quite confident in the field with this marker.

Upgrade wise, this marker is extremely flexible. Any picatinny rail accessories can be mounted onto your BT-4. Unfortunately, you can really use only the back halves of your top picatinny rail because the hopper will get in the way. You can remove the foregrip to mount lights and stuff on your bottom picatinny rail, but why? I'll therefore suggest you prospective BT-4 owners to get maybe some Picatinny Rail extensions. Also, remember two key things, that BT-4 accepts only A-5 Barrels and Tippmann 98 Stocks. You mix them up, expect to pay a second visit to your pro-shop.
Conclusion: It is a good entry level marker. Keep it clean, perform routine maintence, and it should last you a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 18th, 2008 at 6:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media