paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat / BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat
[ View Photos (34) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $160

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT-4 Combat is the choice of demanding players who are looking for a solid and cost effective base to build up with custom parts with the ability to use military spec features. The combat comes with BT reliability and battle tested durability
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design BT-4 Combat is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
bt4maniac Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-tippmann 98
-tippmann a-5
-tippmann X-7
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat
e-grip
98 car stock
-16' J&J ceramic barrel
-Tapco red dot sight
-bt Rip Clip
-pure energy romote line/slide check
Recommended
Upgrades:
-longer barrel (14 to 16)
-new sights (red dot)
Strengths: -Very accurate with a good barrel
-Light and durable
-Price!!
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Paint finish on the gun scratches easily
Review: i purchased my BT-4 from the local JTs military shop for about 180$ i was set on getting the A-5 when i saw the BT-4 for the first time i liked the way it looked and i did my research on both . eventually i picked the bt-4 because of the price of course and one of my friends had an A-5 and i really didnt like the way it preformed on the field.

i have been using it for about a year now, with the exception of one or two things i cant find anything else as a weakness. i love this gun it way out preforms the competion and even though it is a awsome starter gun you can costomize it to practically anything. Some things that really stood out to me was that when you are on the field oyu have a certain sence of security knowing that the gun is durable and somwhat light at the same time.
Conclusion: as for the BT-4 combat it is a great all around gun that every level of paintballer can enjoy and rely on espessially for the newbies(they can't decide what they want so buy a bt-4 combat and costomize it to what you want)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robotman Saturday, March 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5
Marker Setup: tippmann a5 w/e-grip
apex barrel system
smart parts progressive barrel
bt4 combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip
new barrel
stock
Strengths: Reliable
Well balanced
Same barrel threads as a5.
lots of rails.
Same stock as 98c.
Weaknesses: Sort of heavy.
Chops like a blender with an egrip.
Review: Its a pretty good gun over all.
I think the strengths and weaknesses pretty much describe it.
I do have to say that after a while i started to want some thing more (Thats my opinion)
It just seemed to stock after playing whit it for a while.
Definetly a good first gun for any new player!
Conclusion: Very nice reliable woods ball gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robobart Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98c, pro-carbine
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Dependability, customer-support, and balance.
Weaknesses: Accuracy and to a lesser extent quality control.
Review: The BT-4 is a very good gun. It is basically the same as a 98c, but it has a few nice extra features:

1) Slide-away feedport
2) The balance is better than the 98c, the 98c seems front heavy, while the BT-4 seems just right.
3) The picatinny rails are nice
4) The field strip is easier than the 98c, the trigger/handle comes off in one piece like in the A-5.

There are at least two production runs of this gun. The older production run has a ball-bearing detent, while the newer one has a reversible rubber detent. I got the older one. It looks like BT will support both types. Their customer support seems to be outstanding. The hex wrenches that came with my gun didn't really fit. Oddly enough they fit my friends Spyder MR-1 great.


Also it came missing one of the less essential O-rings. I called BT and they put one in the mail for me right away!

UPDATE: Got the O-ring in the mail today. They gave me a whole new set. What great customer support!!!
Conclusion: It has worked fantastic. When buying a gun I was choosing between a 98c and this one. If you are going for something that is tried and true and stood the test of time, then probably go with the 98. If you want something that is different, and seems like a slightly improved design, I'd go with the BT-4. I'll give it a 9 for now (wrenches/O-ring), and re-review it after more play.

UPDATE: After the good experience with customer support, I've up-ed the score to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 7:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SkyNet2x Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom- sturdier
Tippmann A5- its an A5. Nuff' said.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
F.E. Collapsible CAR stock
LAPCO Bigshot 14" Barrel
Pure Energy deluxe remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
remote kit
upgraded barrel
Strengths: - Upgradeable
- can grow with you
- 98c endcap, A5 barrels
- removable front grip
- Cheap
Weaknesses: - poor design on screws
- Tedious disassembly
- impossible to field strip
- Gas PIG
-sucks without upgrades
Review: When I first bought the BT-4, I was looking for a Tippmann-style gun that was expandable but cheaper than the 98 custom. The BT fits both these requirements to a "T."

The BT-4 is designed by Ben Tippmann, one of the Tippmann brothers who broke away from the parent company to form his own. It makes sense then that the BT-4 is essentially a clone of the 98 Custom. The BT has a 98c endcap for recieving stocks, and an A5 barrel adapter that allows it to receive barrels designed for the A5. The front grip is removable and completely vertical - unlike the 98 Custom - which is really handy. The BT is cheap, only around $140 (in Canada, anyways) which is always nice becuase you're not paying for the Tippmann brand name.

Maybe I'm rough. Maybe I'm an idiot. What I do know for sure, however, is that after ONLY 4 DAYS OF USE, and maybe 6 times being disassembled and reassembled, this gun has been experiencing some issues. The chassis/ main body is made of an extremely soft white metal, maybe aluminum, that is really easy to disfigure. While screwing the two halves of the gun back together again one day, I noticed that the nut I was trying to screw into was no longer there! Instead, it had ripped THROUGH the chassis under the minimal force of tightening the screw.

There are also 2 Chicago screws that attach the pistol grip to the rest of the frame. The receiving side of the screw has a hexagonal head that is sunk into the material of the grip. However, the grip is made of a composite plastic, and the hexagonal heads sometimes spin in their little hole, stripping the material until it has been rounded. You can now no longer attach the grip to your gun, because the screws cannot be tightened.

A couple minor things: This gun is a major gas pig. Not really a big issue for most, but if you're playing in the back field with some buddies on the weekend, it can be a pain. The other thing is that the coating scratches really easy. After only 1 day of play, my gun looked like it had been used for a whole season. After 1 scenario, my friend's BT-4
Conclusion: This gun is a good one for beginners, mostly because it can grow with you. You can expand it with any stock designed for the Tippmann 98 Custom, or any barrel designed for the Tippmann A5. Unfortunately it has some minor design flaws that MAY be an issue, but many people don't find it so.

I WOULD STILL BUY THIS GUN if you are not uber-hardcore, or if you are looking for a cheap but reliable backup marker. However, if you can afford the dough for an A5, its worth the extra cash.

I give it an 8 because: The BT-4 is good for beginners, being cheap and simple. It is really upgradeable, not quite to the extent of the A5 but the next thing to it. Thats the bonus: It can grow with you. I don't intent to get rid of mine or replace it anytime soon, and I would not be ashamed to be a veteran player with a beefed-up BT-4.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 3rd, 2007 at 3:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danthemanwhocan Thursday, November 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: bt-4 combat
tactical car stock
apex barrel
m4 sight rail
halo led frontman
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (apex)
Strengths: Accurate with apex barrel
Good range
Very strong gun(never broke down)
Very modifiable
Weaknesses: Bit heavy
Gas hog (700 shots to 16oz co2 can)
Review: when i 1st started using this gun i was amazed by the quality for the little money it costs.All my friends and i go recballin and they loved it too so we all ended up with bt-4s. The gun has lots of upgrades and things to do with it eg double triggers barrels and stocks etc. Its pretty much a tippman a5 but cheaper and slower.
Conclusion: Buy this gun its great for beginers and awesome for recreation paint ballers. I love it !!!

the only reason i give it a 9 is because of the gas usage and weight when modified..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kae9 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: -Stock BT-4 with 20in A-5 barel, 20oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
-double trigger
-barel(14-20 in)
-A-5 cyclone hopper
Strengths: -Durable, strong, fast, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: -Weight
-Some stock parts
-BT-4 is an "air-hog"
Review: I have been using this gun for just over 6 months now and have never had a jam or crack. Its a solid, dependable tactical marker with only a few defaults. It is not very air efficiant and it is quite heavy(for a marker). Not recommended for beginners. Strongly recommended for the players who love intense S.W.A.T-like markers. The acuracy is satisfying as well as the speed. Could be a little faster(double trigger).
Conclusion: Greate gun for woodsball and casual scenario. Not at all recommended for speed ball or fast paced games. I do recommend the BT-4 to all real players!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bear68 Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98c
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
Smart parts Linear 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durability
No Chops
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Fire rate. But if your accurate it doesn't matter much.
Review: For woods ball, IT'S A Ben "TIPPMANN" it takes the beating and keeps on kicking. It has never chopped on me. With the aftermarket barrel you can issue nothing but punishment. I only had one issue, a valve failure but BT was prompt in its repair and I have not had another problem sense. I recommend this marker to anyone especielly beginners for it price. I purchased it in a player pack for $150 with a mask, tank and hopper. It really in conclusion, except for the cyclonic feed feels like the best of a 98 and an A-5.
Conclusion: It is a quality gun at a good price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lmneozoo Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Strengths: -Price
-Rarely Breaks Balls
-slide away feed port
-Durable
Weaknesses: -The sights on the gun are cheap
Review: I have had this gun for 6 months and shot about 2 cases of paint through it. I only broke 2 balls out of approximatly 4000. I broke them the first day i use this gun. This is a good gun for begginers... I suck at writting reveiws, But what i said is true. While playing paintball this winter i was walking back o my friends house i sliped on the ice and fell on my gun and it still shoots accurate as the day i bought it.
Conclusion: If you are a begginer and are looking for a durable low end mechanical gun get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

USArmyMike08 Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
11" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Drop Forward
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Sturdy
Accuracy
upgradeable
Weaknesses: weight
Short Stock Barrel!!!
Review: Overall i think thiss is a really good gun especially for its price i got is for $140 i really like how this gun handles really well. i like it better than the custom and after the upgrades i bought its like a custom pro now. one of the things i like most bout this gun is that you can make it look like a military assult rifle. it may be heavier than most others but its aldo durable. i have no ball breaks and with my ceramic barrel its highly accurate...we pointer that thing at the top of a tree and wacked a brancg right in the mid that was at least 100' away or more greats woodball gun i love it!
Conclusion: Good reliable gun at a great price highly durable and accurate
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeidaTheMenace Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Empire Reloader II
BT E-Grip
12 Oz Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, hopper, trigger if u wanna shoot higher than 6 bps
Strengths: Durable.
Reasonably Accurate.
Weaknesses: Stock parts aren't very good.
Review: This was the first marker I ever got, and I think it's a pretty good marker. With the right ugrades, like mine, it can become a pretty good woodsball marker. The BT E-Grip, although nowhere near the E-grip on my A-5, allows you to ramp up to 11 bps. It isn't an amazing gun, but it will never let you down, is priced pretty cheap, and was a great first gun for me.
Conclusion: Well, this is a pretty good, solid marker for woodsball, and definitely for anyone getting into paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media