paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 / Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006

Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Indian Creek FS8 - The All new FreeStyle 8 - 2.2 pounds - Predator code board - New Slider bolt system (1250 - 1300 off 68/45) - Cocker Threads - Clamping Feed Neck - Recessed Illuminated Toggle on/off switch - Paintball Detection System (PDS) - Clamshell Grip Frame - Dual Regulated - 4-way adjustable trigger - Barrel, Rail and On/Off ASA included.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs FS-8 2006 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
dark_shooter Tuesday, September 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AB FS, NDFS', FS Gen 1 - 2, V7
Marker Setup: Silver w/Black Accents
Pred Lite Board
Palmers LPR
CP Reg
CP Rail & ASA
Custom Plexi-Trigger
Custom Magnetic Detents
4 Piece Empire Barrel KIt 16"
Empire Clamping Feed Neck
Powered by a Halo b and 68/45 PE HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, LPR, board no so much cause the board alone is more then enough in my opinion, and the ASA
Strengths: Milling, Weight, Accuracy, PRICE, No Kick, Easy Maintanence, quiet and well balanced
Weaknesses: Nothing that any other marker runs into
Review: ever since i started playing the sport, from my first ICD marker till now, ICD as a company has been under-rated in so many levels, each marker i have owned has always been ICD, aside from my Tippmann =P, from my Thunder Cat (yes a thunder cat, i'm not old it was just handed down to me), to my BKO, then my B2K, then my long series of Freestyles to my current FS8, in the years i've been with ICD their progression in the sport has grown to this beatiful beast i own today.

now to the FS8, an amazing marker for the price, spend $1000+ on an ego or DM? forget that i get everything i want in my Freestyle, few starting issues which people run into in almost any new marker is breaking it in, yes not everything you buy in this sport comes broken in for you, and YES it takes time to hone your beast. the Pred Board first of is more then enough to satisfy my hunger, i dont need to get too complicated in making my marker mow faces. very quiet, and little to no kick

some beginning issues i ran into was fsdo (First Shot Drop Off), but once i started ripping it it would be no problem, however after a bit the shoots would lose consistancy. but i threw on a palmers LPR and BAM! consistancy was +/- 2 ever since. With any of my markers i never kept my stock Regulator, i got my CP reg on it but dont get me wrong the stock HPR is still a rock

the stock ASA i would suggest switching out

my setup now i spent maybe $250 atop of the $700 i spent on the marker giving me a grand total of $950 tax and everything, it preforms just as or even better then most "high end" markers out there today, dont let Price or Label drive you away this marker is a beast once you get to know how to use it.
Conclusion: amazing marker for the price, in my opinion the only things you will have to up is LPR, ASA and barrel and thats it

this marker is very under rated and for its price i know why people look down on it, its more then you think it is, buy it! you won't be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DannyB Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5, First time ICD buyer
Marker Setup: Silver FS8
68/4500 HPA
New Designs ultralight ASA (on/off)
Egg w/ Z-board
updated FS8 piston & cylinder
10 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Air
Fast loader
Updated FS8 bolt kit

Strengths: Fast
no kick
easy maintenance
simple effective design
light as a feather
clamping feed neck
Weaknesses: Stock bolt locks up (2nd run of production only)
trigger could be less sloppy
Review: First let me say, great job ICD, you did some great work on this one...it's about time. So, here we go.

The Good:
This marker is light, easy to maintain, and a blast to shoot, fast fast fast. There is no kick at all. You get a lot of shots out of 1 9V battery. The efficiency is great to considering it's a blow forward pseudo spool.

The Bad:
The trigger is a wee bit electro-bouncy, can be debounced though, no mech bounce at all. The on/off ASA (which is hard to screw in to turn the gas on)has a tendency to screw out too much in order to bleed the lines, causing you to lose it at your field as you're putting your gear away.

The Ugly:
ICD ended up really impressing me on this one. On the first day of play, my bolt locked. I fixed it but the problem persisted off and on erratically. lots of fun in the middle of fast paced play let me tell you. I was worried about ICD's poor service reputation, but i had to email them. Got a message back the next day (better than I'd heard already) telling me to call and talk to a tech. The tech told me that the 1st run was rock solid, but the FS8 took off and the second run was heavily mass produced and somthing in the machine shop was slightly off because of prolonged production. What happens is the piston that moves during the forward throw slips and locks on the lip of it's housing so it jams and can't complete the return cycle. Anyway, He took my info and sent me their updated bolt kit (drop in) saying that they machined a guide into the cylinder the piston drives and a nub to fit into this guide on the piston in response to this issue. Shoots like a dream now, have had no problems. The best part is ICD mailed me the new parts free of charge with free UPS express delivery (to Edmonton, Canada!!). It only took 5 days from the date it shipped. Great job ICD
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product hands down. It shoots comparable to any non-poppet electro on the market in my opinion (and others too). Just make sure to call up ICD and get the updated bolt kit if you don't have it already. Nothing's perfect, but I can't use decimals...I'd rate it about 9.5, so I'm rounding up
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NeverSummer5000 Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really, I've tested a friends Spyder Imagine and have an A-5 sitting around if that counts for anything.
Marker Setup: all stock for now, Halo B, Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg, Barrel, ASA (in that order)
Strengths: -FAST (sweet trigger)
-Accurate
-No kick
-Light
-Very few people know what it is
Weaknesses: -Very few people know what it is
-LPR hard to balance (at first)

Review: -Light, Fast, No Kick, Accurate
These four words basically sum up the FS-8. I personally love the trigger on this thing - 4-way fully adjustable accomodates to virtually every player and their preference, making the gun fast like nobody's business. On top of that, it is also light - the gun itself is less than 2 pounds, so you can imagine what it'll be like with the hopper and tank attached. Finally, lack of kick combined with its accuracy allows players to shoot ropes very, very easily.
(PS I've shot about a box of paint through this gun, and still have had no ball breaks)

-Very few people know what it is / have heard of it
This is both a weakness and a strength. It's a strength cus it attracts a lot of attention on the field. The first time I took it out, a lot of people were asking what kinda of gun it was and were testing firing it to see how fast it was (all were impressed). There was even a guy that had an ego that was impressed with this gun's weight and speed. But this is also its weak point because not a lot of pro-shop carry parts/accessories for the gun, and therefore must be specially ordered - VERY time consuming.

-Reg problems???
This might just be me, since no one else seem to have a problem with the sotck reg, but when I first took it to the chrono, the velocity was ridiculously inconsistent, it was jumping from 190 to 250. But it got better the second time around, so it might just be my FS-8.

Just on a final note, I had a hard time adjusting the lower pressure regulator at first cus the instructional CD that came with it was kind of confusing, but once you understand how the FS-8's pressure system works, it's actually very simple.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth the money, especially for advanced players looking for a reliable, top-end marker. Comparable to other, more expensive, high-end markers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB007 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revenge V2 LE
Marker Setup: Black w/Blue accents, Dye Ultralight, Dye Airport ASA, Shocktech Long Drop, Crossfire 68/45, eVolution II with Z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New: barrel, feedneck, grips, asa, and a drop.
Strengths: Fastest marker out there, extraordinarily: consistent, light, quiet, easy cleaning, and easy to program/adjust.
Weaknesses: Slight side-to-side motion in trigger, grips suck, feedneck to big for an Egg
Review: All in all this is a great marker. It is the best value for a tournament electronic marker. To field strip this thing requires pulling out one screw, sliding out the bolt/valve assembly, put the assembly back in, tighten the screw and that's it. This kind of consistency and efficiency cannot be touched unless you pay much more. Brand new I was +/- 3 fps all day and putting one paintball on top of the other even in ramping.
Conclusion: You can't beat the price, I got mine for $610 brand new. You will not find this kind of performance for less than $900-$1000. If you are looking for a new high-performance marker, don't look anywhere else because you won't find a better value.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guncleaninnfool Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion , ego , promaster , fsp
Marker Setup: Current tourny gun is a vert cocker, AIM body, WGP tickler lpr, ergo reg, ANS quickfire bolt, an assortment of air bottles, WGP flame drop with on/off asa, and a wide range of barrells depending on the paint de jour.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, regulator
Strengths: Fast Efficient Accurate Light Small
Weaknesses: Not many techs around. Not many stores stock parts for it.
Review: This is ICD's best gun yet. A friend of mine bought one and let me test it. It shot great and was really fast. I played a couple games with it and I noticed that it was lightweight, accurate, fast and efficient. The only real weakness to it was that if a part does break on it, there is noone in my area that knows how to tech them and you can't just walk into a store and pick up the part. You have to order it and I don't like that.
Conclusion: I thought that this was a great gun but I don't really like it because there are not many stores that would randomly stock a whole freestyle part section. You know that somethings gooing to break someday and what if your in a tourney the next day?
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

RuffnexBonzai Friday, July 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
05/06 Egos,DM5,PM6,Alias Intimidator,Dark Intimidator,Sypder Fenix,DM6.
Marker Setup: 06 Ego, 45/45 Crossfire reg w/ SCI bottle, VLocity.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not sure. I never got to the point of upgrading it.
Strengths: Short, fast & trigger is nice.
Weaknesses: Always having to balance the regs and air efficiency
Review: At the time of release there wasn't much competition for this gun in it's price range, but now there are Alien Interceptors, PM6s and ETek Egos which I feel are all much better built markers. I had 3 FS8s because I was buying and selling them... never was really impressed.
Conclusion: They easily shoot ropes, but if you want a gun that shoots ropes AND has quality. I'd get a PM6,Alien Interceptor or ETek Ego over this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

paint007 Saturday, August 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers, timmys, ions, egos, promaster, protos, etc.
Marker Setup: Dusted Red/black Freestyle 8, CP reg, CP two piece 14" barrel, nox board, Halo B, Crossfire 68x45 psi carbon fiber tank

Red ION, cross fire 68ci 4500psi, CP 14'' barrel, Halo B hopper , CP red flame drop foward, ccm feed neck, Ndz wave roller trigger, virtue board,

Recommended
Upgrades:
mmmm reg, barrel, Nox board if you fully want to get rid of bounce
Strengths: RIPS!
Accurate!
Constant air flow!
Light!
Looks sexy!
good balence!
Small profile!

Weaknesses: Bounce (read review)
Leaks (read review)
Trig is a pain in the ass (review)
Review: So our team got a sponsor from ICD and we get FS-8 for $365 straight from the factory, it was a deal just could not let go! Well when I first got it, i had some issues with three things Bounce, Leaks, and the pro trgg that came with the fs-8. Well, The bounce was kinda not a big issue once you know how to completly adjust everything, but it will bounce now and there so you can proly get the NOX board and a CP or Sidewinder reg and it will get rid of the bounce for good and will give you a ton of modes, but the stock board will still rip with the gun. I also had some leaking problems but thats just because they came straight from IL and were shipped to AZ in th middle of the summer which is not good cause its a major weather change for the orings, from nice and cool IL to dry and hot AZ which dryed out the bolt and solenoid orings and had to be lubed badly, once you lubed those orings and fired the gun couple of times you should be good to go, so really it was just an lubing issue, NOW the next thing is the trigger, the trigger is really unforgiving, but once you adjust it to the majic spot, this trgger rips, yeah but thats it! All of these probs were really just really minor things that will probably freak you out first time playing with it, but once its solved out, this gun RIPS!!!!!!!!!! Its once of the best stocks i have shot compared to the 1000 dollar markers out there!
Conclusion: Really small issue in the begining that can be fixed, but what marker doesnt? OVERall....
Really Nice marker this gun just RIPS!!! shoots really constantly, good air flow, hardly or no drop off, accaurate, light! (1.8lbs), nice solid internals, gun looks sexy!!!!! A really nice tournament Marker compared to the 1000 dollar markers out there, Its sexy like a Dye, and Rips like an EGO! Recommend to any tournament player out there.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 12th, 2007 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluelite Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5- taller, less efficient, slightly more kick
PM6- very close between two but more kick with PM6
Marker Setup: FS8, Empire Reloader B, guerrilla air 68/45, xsv duckbill, sidewinder and jds regs, gregicd snatchgrip mod, nox board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new lpr-either palmers or jds
new barrel, new on/off
Strengths: Very smooth shot, very consistent, easy to pointshoot.
Weaknesses: Stock on/off is poor, stock board is limited, stock grips are poor
Review: When I went looking for another marker last summer I looked at a lot of different markers and played with them as well and when I shot the fs8 I was won over by how easy it was to shoot fast and how smooth it shot. It was also the most accurate marker I have ever shot. I know that accuracy is dependent on a lot of different things but of my three markers I currently own and all the ones I've owned before I have shot them all the same way and the fs8 is hands down the most accurate I shoot. It pointshoots like a dream. I see it, I shoot it. That simple. I am also not the most tech minded person so I thought the maintenance would be a bugger. Pull the bolt, oil the bolt, put the bolt back. So easy I can do it. Balancing the regs took about five minutes to get used to.
Conclusion: For the money, they can be had for under 500 new right now, I don't know that you can find a smoother shooting gun. I pull this out of the bag ahead of my Nox'd 06 cyborg and my GAT. I got rid of my Ego, my matrixes, but kept this gem. All of those markers are very good markers, but they are worth more trading and selling and the fs8 gets it done on the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 17th, 2007 at 2:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

$PromasteR$ Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
icd promaster, pm6, pmr, shocker, minion
Marker Setup: FS-8 with freak barrel kit, hybrid grips, cp reg, cp roller trigger,std jds lpr

soon to come new asa and feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator and lpr, and trigger. These are not necessary but will help
Strengths: Fast, cheap, light, small profile, pretty quiet, accurate, easy to clean,
Weaknesses: Stock lpr and hpr are'nt great, trigger is wobbly but is useable
Review: This gun is fast, cheap, light, pretty quiet, accurate, easy to cleana and has a small profile. It will surprise alot of people because ICD is a relativley unknown and untrusted brand, but my fs-8 keeps up with the pm6 or minion or watever and even out preforms them sometimes. This is a great gun and i strongly suggest getting it, i use it for speedball and woodsball and scenario and rec and it does amazing in all of them. It can be cleaned in a minute and is easy to figure out, no complicated internals or anything., There is also lots of info on websites about them and how to use and clean them and on pbnation forums about any problems or concerns
Conclusion: Definatley get this gun, for the cheap price you can get it for you can afford to get a new trigger and regs if desired but it is still a really good gun without all of that. For a cheap price it will serve you well for intense speedball or for some fun in the woods or some scenario game, it works whenever wherever in any weather(rain or shine) and it preforms amazing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 11th, 2007 at 6:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjimster Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
Marker Setup: FS-8 (blue)
Fuction on/off ASA
Freak KIt
68/30 Crossfire
Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and grips
Strengths: Gun that you can rely on.
Weaknesses: Some bounce but that can be fixed.
Review: the gun is a real good high end marker. it gives you what you want in a marker. a very reliable marker.t o turn the gun on is really easy, easy to clean, whole blot assembly comes out with one screw, mode, dwell, and ROF is really easy to change. its just a sexy gun and the milling looks awesome on it. at first have some bounce but that can be fixed. recommended for buying
Conclusion: Love it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media