paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod / TechT A-5 Vortex Mod

TechT A-5 Vortex Mod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount TechT

Buy TechT A-5 Vortex Mod

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


TechT A-5 Vortex Mod
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $35

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Vortex Mod is for those looking to have the fastest and most reliable cyclone feed available. Initially we were looking to make parts that were just more durable than the stock plastic internals. However, through our testing we started to realize that we could, and should, actually make the design of the parts better. The result was awesome!!!

We found that we were able to make the loader work at much lower pressures. During testing we ran the A5 until we ran out of air. The result was that the loader continued to load balls all the way down to 100-150 psi. At that point the gun stopped re-cocking.

Typically the stock parts stop loading balls at about 350-400 lbs. That's enough pressure to still shoot about 200fps, but you are forced to manually feed each ball by hand. With the Vortex Mod, that will never happen again.

It makes sense that if the parts make it so the loader takes less air to work, that they also could make the loader work faster. We are not making any promises just yet, but this week we are working on seeing how much faster we can make the loader go. This week we will be testing the parts and maxing out stock parts vs. our parts. We'll have a video to show you.

So, if you are sick of buying replacement internals for your Cyclone Feed, and you want the most durable, efficient, and fastest parts available, these little beauties are for you.

Kit includes all pins and screws you will need, however you will need the stock springs for the ratchet.
Product Availability 
The TechT A-5 Vortex Mod is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
punisher9233 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A5, flatline, 3A 5000, palmer reg, lp kit, egrip w rampage board, various custom mods, palmer qev, ape ramapge board and rampage trigger
ion, sp qev, sp progressive 16", quantam VL, 3A tank and accessories
Strengths: Does what it says
Its metal not plastic
Weaknesses: None found unless you dont put lithium grease like it warns
Review: With the Rampage board and rail mode cranking 20 plus bps a second I couldnt help but replacing the cyclone plastic internals every other month-granted tippmann never charged me but its still a pain in the rear.just filling space now blah blah blah i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i

UPDATE
the spring is critical. With my speed I chooped alot of paint till I found a spring that was neither too loos or too tight. Took alot of time and paint but if I ve got it right itll never need replacing till the springs wear out-I hope this thing isnt hard on springs. It would cycle and then kick back-its not the popcorn effect that people are having but spring issues.
Conclusion: Metal beats plastic any day
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 at 6:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunny1970 Friday, January 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock and replacement ratchets
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Polished internals
TechT zero kick hammer
TechT fang trigger
TechT Squishy Paddles
TechT Vortex mod
TechT QEPH
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Metadyne MP5 Magwell Gas-Through Clip
MP5 Collapsing - Sliding Stock
custom cocking rod
Red Hot power tube
Howitzer bolt
Hammer Head Barrell
Strengths: No more broken ratchets
Weaknesses: Periodically needs to be greased up
Review: Got weary of breaking and replacing stock ratchets,albeit Tippmann would always send me out a few at a time free of charge but during a firefight you do not want to break a ratchet especially when you have a great position.Now that I have this it's one less thing I need to worry about and the less you have to worry about the more Fun you have!!
Absolutley love this product! for Tippmann cyclone users a definate must have!!
Conclusion: Absolutley love this product! for Tippmann cyclone users a definate must have!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannGuy2010 Friday, January 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock and replacement ratchets
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Polished Internals
HammerHead Barrel
Tippmann E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
JCS Red Hot Power Tube
TechT Zero KIck Hammer
TechT Fang trigger
TechT Vortex
TechT Lightening Rod
TechT QEPH
TechT Squishy Paddles
CP Regulator
Ricochet R-5 Hopper
CP 68/4500 HPA
NXe Tank Cover
Strengths: No more breaking ratchets - eliminates the key weakness of the A5
Weaknesses: Need to grease periodically
Review: I was tried of replacing ratchets on my A5. At least once every 2 cases of paint I was breaking ratchets. I would call Tippmann and they would always ship replacements at no charge. I finally had enough and bought a Vortex and have NEVER had to worry about that ever again. The VORTEX would be worth every cent at triple the price. If you have an A5 – buy one TODAY
Conclusion: I was tried of replacing ratchets on my A5. At least once every 2 cases of paint I was breaking ratchets. I would call Tippmann and they would always ship replacements at no charge. I finally had enough and bought a Vortex and have NEVER had to worry about that ever again. The VORTEX would be worth every cent at triple the price. If you have an A5 – buy one TODAY
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firemanjim Friday, December 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
TechT vortex mod on two other A-5's,now installed one in my X-7
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7,E-grip,Apex barrell,HPA 68/4500 w remote,polished internals
Strengths: Will not break or fail if lubed, shoots faster and requires less air to cycle
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have waited to write a review on this product one part simply because I for got I installed them,The TechT vortx mod just plain works,it is a piece of your gun you no longer have to worry about failing,no more lost fights from a failed stock rachet,faster speeds (I shoot at 20bps with my X-7)no more losing the cyclone at low tank pressures.It is a must have.
Do not be discouraged about installation,If you are mechanically inclined you CAN install within a short period of time.I also like the fact that the pins are a tight fit rather than loose,chances are they won't fall out .read the directions/watch the video and step into a new level of reliability for your cyclone
Conclusion: it is a must have,Tech T all the way,dont get fooled by copycats,techt has super fast shipping and great comunication
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tom_D Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ratchet and push rod.
Marker Setup: X-7-E, 16" Stiffi, vortex mod, lightning rod.
Strengths: Stronger, Lasts longer, works at lower PSI
Weaknesses: Needs to be whistle clean, not to mention, lubed after playing.
Review: I got my X-7 with a responce trigger. Had no problems. Then I went to the E-grip, and as soon as I did, I started going through ratchets. My first ratchet broke after 6 cases of paint. The second after three cases. The third after four cases.

So I got the vortex and the lightning rod and installed them as per the directions. No problems since. I have shot three cases of paint so far with no problems what-so-ever. In fact, thier claim that the cyclone works at lower pressures seems to be true.

Before, I wouldn't even notice a decrease in velocity before my cyclone would quit. It would just quit, and I'd have to play pump. (by manualy pumping the push rod) Now....there is a noticable decrease in velocity before my cyclone quits. It gives you quite a bit of warning to get out of the game and go get your tanks filled. So I know my cyclone is working at a lower pressure than before.

And I would just like to say.... Shame on Tippmann for puting X-7s on the market without testing these cheap new plastic ratchets. Why switch from the plastic used in the A-5 ratchet? I know people with over fifty cases of paint out of thier stock cyclones on thier A-5s. If it's not broke.......Don't fix it!!!

I will update this review a little ways in to next season. For the price of this thing, it better work this good for a long long time to earn it's keep.
Conclusion: If you like to shoot fast and are sick of having your ratchet break in the middle of a game, buy the vortex and the lightning rod. Works better. Lasts longer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G36C Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock cyclone parts/ vortex is much smoother, and works well
Marker Setup: tippmann A5, ops gear g36c kit, ops gear m4 barrel (16 inch), bt bipod, bt bipod barrel adapter, tiberius laser site, tiberius tactical flashlight, techt vortex mod, techt cyclone feed lightning rod, jt tactical sling, tiberius vertical fore grip, beoranged howitzer bolt, rap4 hopper offset, pure energy remote line, pure energy 20oz co2 tank.
Strengths: Strong
Long lasting
Smoother
Higher feed rate
Weaknesses: Tough to install by yourself
Review: go online for the techt instructions @ techtpaintball.com
the parts are made to last longer then the stock parts so you wont have to worry about replacing them anytime soon. the cyclone feeds smoother with the vortex in it, feeds more bps. it works as advertised. works better with the lightning rod. make sure to grease the ratchet and axle!!! it will not last long unlubricated! also oil the piston rod ( lightning rod if you have one ) do not grease it, it will not work properly. greasing it causes it to chop balls. Just follow the instructions on the website and you will have it firing like crazy in no time.
Conclusion: Works as advertised! Worth buying becase you will only install it once and wont have to worry about it anymore.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 13th, 2007 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Corrupted355 Friday, April 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ratchet
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J S2 Ceramic / DYE Xcel / BT Apex
WAS E-grip
Vortex mod
Palmer's QEV
BT combat stock
CMI micro-coil remote
Strengths: Durable metal construction
Low drag
Clicks until you're out of air
Weaknesses: Installation, but only if you don't read the instructions
Needs to be lubed
Review: We'll start out with the not-so-great. It's not too much fun trying to install this thing if you just try to throw all the parts together without reading the instructions. You're guaranteed to loose some little spring or pop a pin in the wrong place. However, unless you're an ape, you shouldn't have this problem. Mine came with a website that had extensive instructions and pictures on the box. Also, the Vortex needs to be lubricated to work properly. I used automotive grade silicone based grease, but it seemed a little thick, so I added some white lithium to the mix. This concoction has served me wonderfully for thousands of clicks.

Now for the good. This thing does exactly what it says it will. It's stronger than the stock piece. It's smoother than the stock piece. If you manage to break this ratchet, you should stop using your marker as a pry bar. Also, it allows the Cyclone to keep clicking right down to the last shot before the tank runs out, which is nice. I love it, and I'll have one in every marker that's got a Cyclone.
Conclusion: Every Cyclone should have one of these. Anyone who's ever broken a ratchet or been annoyed that the Cyclone stops clicking when you still have dozens of shots left will find relief with the Vortex
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaake42 Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the stock ratchet
Marker Setup: A-5 w/egrip(ape rampage), Smart Parts All American 12" & Lapco 8" big shot, Palmers male stabilizer, Shock-tech drop foward, Dead on Pro power tube, Tech-T cyclone mod, Palmer Qev kit, GTA double trigger, polished internals, pen spring mod
Strengths: Its metel, smoother action, increase rate of fire
Weaknesses: price! Installation (its not that bad, just annoying).
Review: I love this product. Mainly b/c of the piece of mind knowing that my gun isn't going to break at a crucial moment. Secondly b/c of the increased bps. I was running at 20 bps with just the qev. Now I can max out my rampage (25 bps) with no skips or breaks.
Conclusion: Solid product. Would recommend to any one!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 11th, 2006 at 9:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grey88smokin Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard Tippmann cyclone
Marker Setup: tippy A-5, Palmers QEV, Flatline barrell, E-grip with A.P.E. Rampage board.
Strengths: Quality, they just flat out work great. Operation is much more precice
Weaknesses: Well if no longer breaking balls is one, then it has a weakness.
Review: Install of the Vortex mod was not too dificult, just a little time consuming and making sure it was all set up just right. I probably spent 45 minutes installing the vortex mod. After the install I noticed that using the manual advance lever the movement of the cyclone was very precice, the vortex advanced one ball and no other movement. The cyclone did not jiggle or bounce at all.

After 2000 balls yesterday, out of atleast 3 other A-5's on the field, I was the only one with the this mod and the only one that did not break any balls, I am trying to be critical but I am just in love with this. I had the rampage board set to 15 balls per second, I have yet to try more than that so I can not just yet say how it performs with more BPS but at 15 it worked flawlessly.
Conclusion: If you like choped paint stay way from this, but in my opinion this is just a no brainer, you need it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gravesend Wednesday, May 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock rachet set up for the cyclone feed system
Marker Setup: A-5, Rufus Dawg Venturi front bolt and power tube, Maddman spring kit (Red), Palmer's male stabilizer with gauge, Flatline, Lapco Big Shot 14" and 8" barrels, Lapco sight rails, E-grip (set at full auto at 20BPS), Shocktech drop forward, Pure energy 68ci 3000psi HPA tank, Pure energy remote with check slide, QEV, Lapco bead blasted forward grip,
Strengths: Easy install, strong product, performs as advertised
Weaknesses: Should come with a new spring for the rachet
Review: Now let me start out by saying that along with my Vortex mod, I have the Palmer's QEV installed as well. This mod is easier than I thought to install and I was able to install in about 15 minutes taking my time. So it was definitely a plus for me. You have to lube the heck out of it during and after your install so that it doesn't bind anywhere. Only downside to this Vortex package is that I feel it should've included the rachet spring for the $35 that they charge. Because the spring has to be cut about a full turn, if I wanted to go back to the stock setup for any reason I would have to get myself another spring to make the stock setting work.
Now for the backyard test. I loaded 200 rounds into my hopper and used a HPA tank with remote. I set the ROF at 20 BPS (didn't want an overkill) and fired full auto non stop until my hopper was empty. I used some cheap paint (SCORCH) I found at Walmart and the weather was sunny at about 85F.
I was both surprised and pleased to find that not one ball broke at the rate I have set. Although I did notice a skip or two during the test firing I thought it performed as advertised. And one more to mention is that I used my Lapco barrel instead of my flatline since I was using cheap paint.
After the test firing, I checked the inside of my cyclone and found no paint residue thus no chops.
Conclusion: I am very please with this product and I would recommend it to all my paintball buddies. Only thing that I have not made clear is whether the QEV played a role in this excellent performance. I should've tested the Vortex with the stock air line for the cyclone but I was more concerned about making it perform flawlessly. But just to be 100% sure I would recommend this mod with a QEV. I think this is a great product not only in its performance but also in its durability.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media