paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Smart Parts Ion Firebolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a new bolt made by Smart Parts for the Smart Parts Ion marker. It is lighter, quiter, has better efficiency, has less kick, and is very inexpensive. The Firebolt weighs 16 grams, and has an milled center, much like the TechT L6 bolt.
Features
- Weighs 16 grams
- Allows Ion to cycle faster
- Quiter
- Better efficiency
- Less kick
- Very inexpensive
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Firebolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
noclue119 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years20 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
L6
Stock bolt

*edit* 8/7/2007 L7
Marker Setup: Ion with just about everything.
Strengths: Read the review body below for more information.
Weaknesses: Read the review body below for more information.
Review: Pro:
This bolt by itself turn the gun into something else much much more expensive. After shooting it, it feels more on the lines of the Timmy and Ego that I've shot.

Con:
I personally thinks that the bolt should of came the color of raw metal because anodi is weight. Once intalled no one ever sees the color of the bolts. I mean its like toyota having a pink colored pistons in Camary. Who cares what color it is.

L6 vs Firebolt
I had the chance to use a L6+QEV and a Firebolt+QEV in my gun.
Everything feels the same on both guns.
Firebolt used 110 psi and 8 dwell. L6 used 110psi and 8 dwell.
The only difference is: $ Firebot is $40 the L6 is $55.


*Edit* 8/7/2007
I now had the chance to use the L7 and Firebolt. And the conclusion is that unless you have to switch to an L7 I would still get the firebolt. The difference is noticable, but not $ 10 noticble. I had to switch to L7 because I got a Stage 5.1.
Conclusion: Best $40 I've ever spent on my Ion. One of the first mods an Ion owner should do for sure.

*Edit* 8/7/2007
After using the L7, yes the L7 is better but the difference is not that noticable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 7th, 2007 at 11:47 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

yougotowned Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month17 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion bolt
Marker Setup: Ion
VP Scythe
CCM No-rise Feedneck
NDZ COcker threaded breech
NDZ Spring Detents
Empire 16" 4pc Barrel kit
SP Firebolt
Strengths: No kick
Better efficiency
No more concave face
Quiter
(SEE REVIEW)
Weaknesses: Anno wears off
1 tail oring
(SEE REVIEW)
Review: So I got my Smart Parts Firebolt in the mail. It was amazing. It was so damn nice and light. Another PBN thread for the Firebolt said the bolt weighed a simple 16g, 0.5g less than the L6. I used 2 different scales, and both came out to roughly 16g.


So I slapped a good amount of Hater Sauce onto the bolt. I fine tuned my gun to 45 dwell, running at 160psi, and 280-290fps. I didnít have any problem with drop off, or anything like that. What amazed me was how I adjusted the Firebolt to 20 dwell clicks from the bottom, and it still cycled. I donít think it would of done me any good, because I could see paintballs descending quite early, so I just stopped, but Im sure I could of adjusted farther down.

Some say this is a poor manís bolt, but I wouldnít say that.

PROS:
-Kick reduction. I had a terrible batch of stingers, and the kick increased the needed accuracy, along with the barrel of course
-Efficiency. I saw 1500 shots to a 4000psi fill. Good for no qev. I didnít expect this, but I guess I wasted money getting all day air. I filled my tank right as I got to my 4th bag. Expect 1600+ with a Stage 2 and 360 QEV.
-The weight reduction. Amazing. Itís feather-light. Its as light as the L6
-Looks. I love it. Looking into the breech when it fires is awesome. You just see this red flash, and I think it looks cool
-Noise change? My Ion sounded different, I cant explain it, get one for yourself.
-If you havenít already voided your warranty, the Firebolt will add on to it.
-No more concave face! I had a major problem with small paintballs rolling back to fit the face, allowing another ball to be force fed by my halo halfway in, causing ball breaks.
-GREAT PRICE. $40!

CONS:
-Iíve seen some pics, and even mine had this. Around the ribs, there was some anno scratches around the edge of the ribs. No problem. Just cosmetics, and you wont be seeing the bolt often.
- 1 tail oring. This means for all you people without stage 2's, you will not get as great of efficiency compared to the L6 with 2 tail orings. But this bolt still gets good effiency, so its good. The 2 tail oring wont make a dramatic difference.
-Anno wears off. I had the lube previously for pics for a review on pbnation. Missed a big spot, so I gently wiped it off(didnt press hard and wipe). A bunch of anno just came right off. Now my bolt front is a lighter red and has wear near the edges of the face. I only had used it once, and shot 2500 using it, lubing it at 1500 paintballs(I had time since some people were playing woods, and the teams just were sitting an resting). Maybe it's the same aluminum as the shocker's? Because my stock never wore....
-No performance flaws though.

I can easily compare it to a L6. I had mixed feelings about this bolt, being that it was sooooo cheap. It's worth the money, its not a poor man's bolt. Although the anno wear on my firebolt makes me sort of unhappy. Yes, I lubed it too, so dont bother mentioning it wears because I didnt lube it.

P.S. Donít think that Smart Parts only paid for manufacturing costs. They hire real professional engineers, that work very hard on this. This costs a lot. So donít be talking bad about them.


IF YOU WANT TO SEE PICS, refer to this thread, it has an L6, Nano, and Firebolt review in one big post.
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1505998
Conclusion: Its good. I see better efficiency, and less kick, which means accuracy, but the anno wear on mine makes me sort of disappointed, although I'll be able to cope with it. If you cant afford an L6, just get this, you'll get about the same results. It gets a 9 due to cosmetics.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 26th, 2006 at 10:54 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

frogy Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt- the stock is much worse, no, really!
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion #080212 (registered)
Max-Flo Micro 6800
14'' Teardrop Barrel
SP Q-Lock Lo-Rise
Halo B
SP 360 QEV
SP FireBolt
Kila Magnetic Detents
Strengths: Efficient
Light
Quieter
No Kick
Cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great bolt for the Ion... This bolt makes your Ion greatly more efficient and takes away tons of the kick, Compared to the stock bolt you can easily tell the difference in the feel of the cycling.

The Ion cycles much smoother with this bolt, it also is noticably quieter.

For $40, you must buy this bolt
Conclusion: Again, For $40 you much buy this bolt... It improves the Ion too much to not get it...

4 thumbs up, 20, get this now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tbuz Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black ION, 68/45 Centerflag Tank, Tear Drop, Halo B, Q-Lock No-rise, New Designz Detents
Strengths: 1. Light
2. Did I say light
3. Almost eliminates kick
4. Cheap
Weaknesses: None so far. If/when I encounter any I will revise this review.
Review: Got this bolt yesterday and put in my marker. I didn't mess with my dwell or pressure but just test fired in my back yard. I bought this because I wanted to reduce the kick of my ION and didn't quite want to lay out the money for a Orange Nano, or L6 bolt. Well it really, really reduced the kick. I would estimate more than half. So far I am happy with it and based on my limited observation I would recommend it. Don't know what it may or may not do for my efficiency but it was worth $39.
Conclusion: Great bolt. Great price. Almost eliminates kick (not that a Stock ION has all that much).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Wenier1 Thursday, August 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt and Shocktech Superfly. The shocktech has worked fine and have not had any issues with this bolt as of yet.
Marker Setup: Kingman Fasta Loader
Shocktech Bolt out back Bodykit
Core on/off ASA
Shocktech drop forward
J&J Barrel Kit
Virtue Eyes, Board, QEV, Membrane Switch
Strengths: This bolt was very light weight and worked very well.
Weaknesses: The design and making it so light.
Review: I was very pleased with the product at first, found it to be extremely light and work very well. But when i had just got mine someone else at the same field as me had theirs break in exactly the same way this one had. I hoped it was just their one that had some problem but that turned out to be incorrect.

So overall the design to make it so light is actually a bad thing and has brought out a major weakness in the bolt.

Check out the photos at the start of all the reviews to see my one. Should be pic 6.
Conclusion: So in conclusion i will not be recommending this bolt to anyone after 2 have broken identically.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jitters93 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt n bolts
Marker Setup: -Trilogy competition
14" kaner
overdrive loader
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
halo backman
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
14" dye ultralite
halo frontman
---------------------------
-'96 Black Magic
16" dye ultralite
halo backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
halo frontman
Strengths: Less kick
Efficiency
16 grams
Weaknesses: Occasionaly chops even with eyes on
One bak o-ring
Review: Before i got this bolt and when i had a small tank with my ion i would get around 580+ shots. Now after getting this bolt i had more shots perfill i went from 580 to around 680 shots and with my 48ci 3k psi tank i got around 500+ shots. The bolt is light and wieghs 16 grams, it looks kool too. I have had some problems with it chopping paint but only occasionaly, and dosent effect accuracy or anything else.
Conclusion: Kool, efficient, and somewhat cheap bolt
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

INERTIA Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock,firebolt,new dezings skele *dual ring*, supafly bolt.

all better besides stock but also heavier well skele isnt.
Marker Setup: ION 07, blue body kit from sp, blue dye grip, silk cp sling trigger, virtue board, multiple bolts, freak back, 16 inch AA front, sp clamping feedneck, halo b with victory, rip drive, contract killer back, virtue E-Z on,360 QEV.
Strengths: -Cheap
-Light
-Infrequent leaks
Weaknesses: -infrequent but still it leaks
-CHOPS LIKE A M0-F0


Review: Its a good starter bolt but if your upgrading your boards and bolts more than once you might as well buy a new gun.

i wouldn't really reccomend this bolt but i mean its served me well enough so im giving it a 7 because i thought a 6 was a little harsh so id probabally say 6.5 but i cant so im giving it some slack.
Conclusion: Dont buy this bolt spend 10$ more and get a double ring skeleton bolt by new dezigns
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Surgetek77 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion bolt
Marker Setup: Ion
QEV
CP Rake Trigger
SP on/off
SP grips
Freak Jr barrel
Halo Loader
Q-lock clamp
Strengths: Little to no kick
Weaknesses: None thus far
Review: I went out looking for a bolt for my Ion. I had my mind set on an L6 or L7. I went to my local shop (Boston Paintball) and talked to them. they don't stock TTech so I had a choice between the SP Firebolt and the Shocktech.

I asked the guy for his opinion. He said that both were good, but if he had an Ion and was choosing he would go with the bolt from the company that made the gun. Seems logical, so I got it.

Installation is a no brainer.

First thing I noticed when I fired it was that there was little to no kick, not there was a huge kick with the stock bolt but it is a little noticeable.

It doesn't affect the weight of your gun. If you have the firebolt in one hand and the stock in another, there is a difference in weight.

I can't say much about the air efficiency, because I didn't sit there and count balls i was firing. Put it this way, before I would play a game with my hopper and 2 pods, and I would have a little air left, not enough for a whole game but maybe a hopper worth. when I used the Firebolt I used 3 pods and a hopper and had enough air for 1/2-3/4 of another game.

I would say, in estimation that I went from 550 balls to a tank to about 650 to a tank. I am sure there are people that get much more and some that get less but this is just an estimate.

Conclusion: I highly reccomend the Firebolt. for $40 you can't go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hawkeye1050 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: ion, q lock, unimount 2 on off, 14 inch all american, ricochet apache, 68/4500 pure energy, 360 QEV, firebolt
Strengths: Light=no kick
Very efficient
Higher cycle speeds
Lower operating pressure
Weaknesses: one tail o-ring, its not as efficent as the L6, but still very good
Review: so, i got the bolt along with a 360 qev from my pro shop. Installed the qev, lubed the bolt, and reassembled it. I set my dwell, and dry fired some with it. I found that for some reason it changes the sound of ur ion very slightly, but that doesnt matter. On my first day of play with it, i found i set my dwell too low, so i had bad consistancy. I turned it to 14, and got decent consistancy (i havent lubed my reg every since i had my ion, i need a 9/16 deep well socket), about +7/-7. Anyway, i had almost no kick to my ion, allowing me to fire fast and accurate ropes. Also, the bolt combined with the QEV and my dwell setting allow me to get about 1500 shots out of my 68/4500 tank.
Conclusion: I recommend it along with a QEV, they both increase efficiency, cycle rate, and lower operating pressure. It is nice that it nearly eliminates kick too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wallify Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Marker Setup: Black ION
Red Q-lock
Firebolt
360 QEV
J&J ceramic
12V Revvy w/ X Board
68/3000 Crossfire Tank
Red CP Drop
Black CP on/off ASA
Red CP Roller Trigger
Strengths: Much lighter than the stock bolt. Reduced dwell and kick after instalation.
Weaknesses: None found, but personally I think it should just come stock.
Review: I got this bolt a little more than 2 months ago and have ran a few cases of paint though it. After lowering my dwell a bit and airing up I noticed how much less it kicked with paint. Great purchass after the QEV if your looking for performance gains.
Conclusion: If you got the 40 bucks go for it. Ive had no problems and only good things to day about it since I got it.
It lost a point since nothing is a 10 and another since I think it should come stock in the first place. I give it a solid 8, maybe 8.5
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media