paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt / Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Smart Parts Ion Firebolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Firebolt

Paintball Ion Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This is a new bolt made by Smart Parts for the Smart Parts Ion marker. It is lighter, quiter, has better efficiency, has less kick, and is very inexpensive. The Firebolt weighs 16 grams, and has an milled center, much like the TechT L6 bolt.
Features
- Weighs 16 grams
- Allows Ion to cycle faster
- Quiter
- Better efficiency
- Less kick
- Very inexpensive
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Firebolt is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
cceboys Monday, January 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, only stock ion bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
S.P. Q-lock
360 QEV
S.P. S-rail
S.P. On/Off Dovetail
72/4500 Pure Energy Peanut tank
Halo B
Blue cp sling blade
Smart Parts Freak Jr. kit
S.P. Ion Firebolt
Strengths: Omg, light! shiny, less kick, lower dwell, lower input pressure
Weaknesses: None so far, will put any on if i find
Review: I got the fire bolt for Christmas this year. I decided to go ahead and put in in because i didn't really have anything else to do. I disassembled my gun and took out the stock bolt and i never really realized how heavy the stock bolt is until then. I guess it isn't really that heavy, rather than it's pretty heavy and the fire bolt is really light. In my hands just by guessing, the fire bolt feels like it's about 1/3 or 1/4 the weight of the stock bolt it is amazing. So anyway, I lowered my dwell to 15 (not extremely low but I didn't have enough air to see how low I could get my dwell) and I lowered my input pressure to around 160 ish. I put a hopper full in my halo and went into my bedroom. It was raining so i just opened my window and shot from inside of my house. Anyway, I fired a few shots and I have to say I was very impressed. It has no kick. I can't say I have tested any other after market bolt but it have almost no kick what so ever. So i had it on semi and it was almost time to leave to go to my family reunion so I let her rip. And even at the highest rates of fire I was hitting-probably guessing around 15 bps-it was rock steady and never moved. I love it so far. The only thing that I can't say that I can tell you is how efficient it is. I had around 500-550 PSI left in my tank and I shot the hopper then just dry fired the air I had left. But from what I've seen so far in it I am very pleased.
Conclusion: This is a very good product that is well made and from a good company in my opinion, Smart Parts, and I would recommend it. It is the best deal out there for the money. It may not be quite as good as the L6 of L7 according to some, but i believe that due to the price, you can't really find a better deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 14th, 2008 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

renovatio Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: SP Ion
SP 360 Qev
PE On/off
SP Firebolt
SP q-lock feedneck
187 Coctract killer grips
Freak Jr.
Strengths: Light
Reduces the kick
Don't void the warranty!!
Cheap
Better efficiency
Quiter

Weaknesses: None
Review: Very light bolt that give you the opportunity to reduce your dwell and input pressure.
It eliminates the markers kick.
I am using mine for about 6 months and nothing had happened to it!
It is cheap!Using it you will see a better air efficience and u will notice that your marker is a little quiter thank with the stock!
I recomment it to everyone!
Conclusion: it Worths its money!Buy it!I give it a 9 cause i don't have experience on how other bolts working!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball48 Sunday, April 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt for ion
Marker Setup: Ion
Fire bolt
Virtue quv
All american barrel
Empire b2
Pure energy 48ci 3000 psi
Strengths: Saves air
Acuacy
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: The smartparts fire bolt is one of the best upgrades you can get for your ion.It improves accuracy and saves a lot of air and its not to much to aford its only 40$ if you have the money and want some upgrades get it you will like it a lot.
Conclusion: This is the best upgrade you can get so get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hako_Asian_Tako Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder XTRA is all stock. Ion has a blackheart blackheart, firebolt, QEV, CBQ roller, CBQ feedneck, dye grip. a bunch of other stuff.
Strengths: No recoil
Quieter than stock
lighter than stock
Weaknesses: Not much so far. I have only tested it.
Review: So i just received the firebolt in the mail and i was really excited because i was waiting a week for it. I was anxious to shoot it so i lubed it up and installed it. I first shot it and first thing i realized was that it was pretty quiet. Then i also saw there was no kick at all i was shooting without my ion moving.
Conclusion: Don't want to sound weird but buy it. You probably won;t reret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ebonclaw Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None unless you count the stock bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, 45/4500 Air America High Output HPA, HALO-B, SP 360 QEV, NDZ Roller trigger, Trinity Slim Body blue/black fade, CP Razor drop and CP on/off ASA, Blackheart Board, Firebolt, Dye Sticky 3s
Strengths: Kick reduction, greater efficiency, good choice of materials.
Weaknesses: There are lighter bolts out there but.....
Review: Picked this up for $40 because I didn't have anything else to spend $40 on. Wanted to see what a difference it made.
I specifically sought out the Firebolt even though I was aware there were lighter bolts out there, but I have heard several instances of these bolts snapping or breaking . I figured Smart Parts is not going to sacrifice reliability to shave a few grams off, and a few grams won't make a huge difference anyway. I'd rather have the reliability as I've never heard of a firebolt breaking. It was a good choice. I noticed an immediate kick reduction, which is exactly what I was expecting out of any new bolt. It's sooo much lighter than the stock. The gun shoots smooth as butter now with no muzzle rise or jumping around. I was also able to drop my dwell as a result of to bolt being a much lighter weight. The anno does rub off slightly, but to not expect anno to rub off during cycling is silly. Doesn't affect performance any of course.
Conclusion: Would strongly reccomend. If you want a new bolt, but are concerned with the bolt's reliability and can't make up your mind, this is the bolt for you. 9/10 since there are lighter bolts out there, but again, this is a tradeoff to reliability, and how much of a practical difference a few grams makes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jmoney07 Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Smart Parts Ion bolt
Stock Tippmann A-5 bolt
Stock Tippmann 98 Custom bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes
Virtue QEV
Redz Bolt
Q-Lock feed
Halo B w/ Victory Board
freak barrel
max flo system
48ci/4500psi carbon fiber tank
Strengths: More air efficiency
Decrease dwell tremendously if used with a QEV
Less "kick"
Weaknesses: None
Review: This bolt is amazing. It gives you a much better air efficiency, if used with a QEV, makes it possible to decrease dwell to ridiculously low levels. I've also found that I don't have to lube up my bolt as often, which is great, cause taking apart my Ion is easy, but very time consuming. It's also very, very tiny. Like 1/4 the size of my Ion's stock bolt tiny.
Conclusion: With no weaknesses, and a relatively cheap price, what is not to love?!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 8th, 2006 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Garp Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt
Orange bolt
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
- Q-lock
-custom shell and black shell
-Firebolt
-Eclipse qev
-ndz trigger
-cp reg
-blackheart
-hybrid grips
-cp rail w/ dye on/off
Evolution 2 w/ z board
88 ci/4500 psi pmi tank
Empire barrel kit
Strengths: Very light
Less Kick
Better efficiency
Noise Reduction
Weaknesses: 1 Tail o-ring
Review: Well I was at my proshop pickin up stuff for my ion, and while I wanted a techt l6 bolt, all they had was this so I just got it. I'm not gonna lie, I wasn't expecting very much, but I was quite impressed with this.

Oh and I've been using this bolt for about 2 months.

Pros-
Weighs I think less than half of the stock bolt, a heck of a lot lighter.

Less Kick- With the reduced weight comes less input pressure, thus less kick.

Better efficiency- I'm not sure how many shots I got before this, but with this and a qev installed, off a 88/4500 I get about 2200, though that is just an estimate.

Noise reduction- Makes your ion alot quieter, I figured it would help a little but it surprised me quite a bit.

Weakness
Well pretty much the only one is the 1 tail o-ring, I think a bolt of this quality should have 2, but I suppose I can live with it.
Conclusion: All in all for the price I would recommend this, though the l6 is better, this bolt is second to that one only, so thats not bad.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sledhead_brc Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: ION
Linear Barrel
Firebolt
cp drop forwards
smart parts dovetail asa
Strengths: Much quieter
faster rate of fire
cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Firebolt is an awesome upgrade for a little $$$$, it will up your shots per tank by almost doubling it, my ion shoots faster because its lighter, i broke one ball out of 2000 shots that covered the eyes. the gun is much quieter which is great for any course when people don't know where you are shooting from. also another barrel ported better and longer will jack up your accuracy and make it even quieter. make sure when you are installing it you use a lot of grease while installing to prevent leaks and less ware and tear (watch wear your stock bolt is greased and copy it) then re-grease after shooting about 500 balls through your gun.
Conclusion: Overall very recommended cheap upgrade plus if you have an upgraded board your stock bolt being heavier it will begin tearing up o-rings and metal shavings will wear off this new bolt will help that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bossiegk Thursday, August 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: MARKERS
-Diablo Sabotage [vertical feed] [Black] RETIRED
-2006 Smart parts Ion [Black]
UPGRADES
-Smart Parts (SP) 360 QEV
-SP Firebolt
-SP Q-Lock Lo-Rise feedneck [Black]
-New Designz S-Treme Trigger [Black Composite]


BARRELS
-All American Front 18" [Black]
-All American Back [Spyder Thread] [Black]
-All American Back [Impulse Thread] [Dust Black]

HOPPERS
-Ricochet 2K AK [Black]
-Viewloader Quantum [Clear]
-Stock Gravity Hopper [Black]

AIR
-48 ci 3000 psi Aluminum Pure Energy Tank
-16oz. and 12 oz. CO2 tanks
-Pure Energy High Pressure Remote Line

MASK
-V-Force Armor [Black]
-V-Force Profiler [Green/Black]

OTHER
-Gen-X Global 4+1 Harness [Black]
-Empire bottle cover [Black]
Strengths: -See Review-
Weaknesses: -See Review-
Review: STRENGTHS
-It lowered the pressure by 15+ psi
-It made my gun sound one heck of a lot quieter than it already was
-Reduced the kick by a noticeable amount

WEAKNESSES
-None as far as I can see

People complain about the colour wearing off, but it hasn't happened to me yet (I am, however, sure it will eventually). Personally I assumed that would be a good thing because it shaves some weight form it. It's not like you see it in there anyways. It reduced kick, made my Ion cycle faster and a lot quieter. Reducing the pressure means a lot more efficient too. For $40 you can have it pay for itself and more over time in the gas you will be saving. I play more woodsball than I do speedball, and this bolt makes my gun so quiet. I have had several people comment on it and say how they can't really tell where I am by trying to hear me.
Conclusion: Overall I would say if you are going to mod your Ion, this should be top priority. It will help performance, and it will, over time, pay for itself. I have yet to have a problem with it, and I only see good things from it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_4_life Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolts
Marker Setup: -ION
-NDZ Pro-Lock
-NDZ On/Off
-Firebolt
-360 QEV
-14" Teardrop
-PE 48/30
-Eggy II
Strengths: Light!
Kick
Consistency
Efficency
Cheap
Weaknesses: I've heard the anno rubs off
Review: This bolt makes a huge difference, it noticeably reduces kick, makes your ION more cosistent I'm around +/-2fps with this bolt, the stock reg and a 360. Also it improves your efficiency, I wasn't watching my tank guage much but I did get AT LEAST another hopper from this bolt. Is it ever light! I noticed the difference after I put this bolt in my gun, it was actually a really simple thing to do. All Smart parts did really was mill out the centre and slap on some flashy red anno.
Conclusion: This is yet another inexpensive bang for buck upgrade for the ION, pick one up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media