paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
tipp-see-mann Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Many Tippmanns, an Ion, Spyder Rodeo.
Marker Setup: stock custom pro ( A.C.T. version), Quick Thread Flatline or 16" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
X-chamber
hopper
Strengths: Upgradeability
Anti-chop technology
Very sturdy design
Weaknesses: It is mostly a right-handed gun, because the hopper sits on the right side
Review: I've had this gun for about 3 years now and it still works like the day I got it. I haven't really done much to the actual workings of the gun but to be honest, as a woodsballer I really don't see many things that need changing.

For my style of play, not a whole lot matters more than accuracy and range, which both my barrels are excellent for. Once you have a good barrel and are using HPA instead of C02 you might run out of things to buy for your gun, which isn't a bad thing.

The only problem I had with this gun was the firing speed. At first the trigger is quite unresponsive and you can maybe only get to 8bps if you work at it. After getting the crap beaten out of me in close range battles (16" barrel not helping there :P ) I decided to do the infamous Pen Spring Mod, which i HIGHLY recommend. With this mod, I'm able to get up to 12bps consistently with all stock internals, which tends to amaze the fellow players :)

So what more could you want? I have only chopped a ball or two out of probably 8 cases of cheap rec paint, I've gotten many many many headshots with my barrels, and while it does tend to use a LOT of air, I get free refills so it doesn't matter.

For the stock gun, The barrel is quite adequate, improving drastically with higher quality paint and the powder coat finish is a better finish than any other I've seen for a tippmann.

When I first wrote my review, It was at a time when the Pro had just been released, and there were no stocks made for it yet. Anymore you can get any kind of upgrade you can imagine for the 98 Pro ACT. so PLEASE DISREGARD THE DISPUTE!!!
Conclusion: If you're just getting into paintball and want something that's gonna last for years, or if you've already been playing for a while and want a project gun I'd advise you to buy this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 19th, 2009 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

shatteredhalo Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
pro lite, black maxx, zero point
Marker Setup: Custom Pro ACT w/e-trigger
Empire Reloader II
14" CP
Remote or drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Trigger (anything that will lighten the trigger pull)
Strengths: Reliability
Doesn't chop*
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is a joke (for my purposes anyways)
Few upgrades, those available are expensive
Review: I haven't had this gun very long, only put about 1000 paintballs through it, but I will update the review after I've had it for a bit.

PROS

Reliability:
I've fallen on this gun and dropped it multiple times, crawled through the dirt, bumped into trees with it... and it's still going strong. You'd just about have to pour sand in the bolt to make it stop working... and yet.. I'm almost tempted to test that out. : )

Doesn't Chop:
Out of the 1000 or so paintballs I've put through it, I haven't chopped once, and my e-trigger can EASILY outshoot my hopper, so I'll assume the ACT is doing it's job. I starred it because I haven't used it a whole lot, but I'll update later.

Easy Maintenance:
I've never OWNED my own paintball gun before so this is the first gun I've really gotten the chance to learn about markers on. I took it out of the box and immediately dissassembled it and then put it back together without even looking at the directions. I haven't really seen the internals of many other markers but to me it seemed really natural and easy to open, clean, and put back together. I would also guess that it's fairly simple design has a lot to do with it's reliability.

CONS

Stock barrel:
This barrel may be more than enough for you if you're an aggresive, up-front type of player who doesn't need a lot of accuracy, but as I like to have a mix of aggression and caution, I'm usually not in your face when I tag you. I shot a full hopper and watched in disgust as after about 30 feet the balls would veer off in random directions at 45 degree angles. I'd say 1 out of 6 balls might have hit in the general vicinity of the target I was aiming at some 50 feet away. It's also quite loud, if thats an issue for you. I upgraded it to a Custom Products 14" one piece barrel bored for .689 and immediately noticed an increase in not only range but accuracy. The balls no longer curved off after 40 feet but 5 of 6 balls hit what I was aiming at.

Few upgrades:
There don't seem too many upgrades when compared to other markers, and the ones available are pretty expensive.
Conclusion: My first impression of the gun was that I loved it out of the box, except I almost cried when I realized how horrible the stock barrel was. Its not too heavy and with a remote its just right in my opinion, well balanced and not once have I been hindered by the weight. The foregrip is very ergonomic and provides good support especially when crawling (I play woodsball by the way). As far as reliability I have yet to ever chop any paint, either in the barrel or the gun.

All in all I'd say it's a great marker out of the box that anyone can pick up and easily play with. It's intuitive and very durable. It's probably more ideal for the woodsball player than anything else, because many of the upgrades seem to be focused more on the tactical/scenario player. A good beginner's gun.

I give it an 8 because it's a good deal for the money, but I'm not completely blown away by it either.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

acer1413 Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: - Custom pro
- expansion chamber
- Tapco car stock
- E grip
- Halo v35
- 14'' barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
new barrel
faster loader
Strengths: -strong
-anti chop system
-cheap
-made in USA
-great for beginers or pros
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel
-Heavy with lots of upgrades
Review: This marker is great i woul recomend it to anyone it is great for woods ball tactical or any kind of paintball you play. Its priced great and comes with a few upgrades compared to the 98 custom. I would recomend upgrading it with a better barrel and loader. If you play with a stock there is many kinds you can put on it.
Conclusion: I would recoment it for anyone because of its strenghts and capabilaty
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular 98c w/ RT, Spyder Fenix, and JT 3.5e.
Marker Setup: Since my other 98c's got stolen, I've gotten a newer version. as of the moment, I have a 98c pro with a Bossman m-16 mag kit & t6 m4 stock & m-16 carry handle. i'm running a 72/ 3000 tank & eggy 2 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything, but the internals.
Strengths: It's very upgradable and it does have alot of affordable parts.
Weaknesses: The barrel is about the only weakness.
Review: I was reading that some people think that upgrading your tippy pro is a costly thing, but to tell the truth it isn't. There are alot of items that you can get on ebay and other places. You just have to do a search for them. Since this is the newer ACT model, there are upgrades for it and they are not that pricey. I have bought only 3 upgrades and I spent just over $100 on them.

As for the marker itself........well it's a very reliable marker and its very well built. This marker goes for about $149.99 to $159.99 for the stock one. I got mine new for $129.99 plus shipping. Its great when you order from a good company. But if you want one cheap, order a refurbished one from tippmannparts.com like i did and they alomst for sure don't have them in stock. So, they WILL upgrade you to a new one at no extra charge.
Conclusion: It's a great marker for anyone from a noob to a seasoned vet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hellfighter890 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Rodeo - not as accurate, more comparable to the 98 Custom
Marker Setup: M98 Custom PRO ACT camo-finish
Tasco 1x30mm 1/4 MOA Red Dot sight (low visibility/ night sight)
BSA 4x15 1/4 MOA Rimfire rifle scope w/ weaver mount (day sight)
11" Werks Barrel (stock)
Dual Trigger and Drop-forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on purpose
Strengths: Stong Diecast steel construction
11" barrel more accurate
Drop-forward increases balance
ACT eliminates chopping
Weaknesses: None
Review: I use my custom pro in woodsball as my team's "marksman," and am quite pleased with its out of the package accuracy. Any Tippmann you buy is a quality marker, but if you are looking for a marker for speedball, this is not youre best choice, for the CP is only semiautomatic with stock parts. It is perfect for what i use it for becuase i am not looking for wrought firepower, but single, accurate shots. The 11" barrel is lacking at times, so im soon buying either an after-market 16 - 20" barrel or a Flatline. The ACT system is awesome, not one break in 12,000 rounds using Nelson Precision paintballs. The CP is also very easy to field strip or disassemble for cleaning. Great marker for all, both newbies and veterans.
Conclusion: All and all, it is a great marker, great price for its quality. I recommend it to both newbs and Vets alike. It can take one hell of a beating and fight on and never chops. Keep it properly maintenenced, and you'll have it to enjoy for years to come.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nu cidd Tuesday, March 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, eXT
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
20oz. CO2
J&J Ceramic 12 in.
NXE 3 Pod Harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel though the stock ones alright, e-grip (personal preference), electronic hopper.
Strengths: Resonably light, good solid gun, drop forward, ACT (Anti-Chop Technology), its a Tippmann!
Weaknesses: Connot field strip, double trigger is pretty much useless with out an e-grip.
Review: The Tippmann Custom Pro is a great beginners gun, if you don't want to worry about taking care of it that much. The strengths of this marker are that ist pretty much set up for speed ball, and all you need to do to make it a decent speed ball gun, is to throw in a e-grip, and put on an electronic hopper, and your golden. Also this is one of the best woods ball guns out there, and its built like a tank. Its a really durable gun that can withstand you hitting it off of a tree (though not recommended). Also there is allot of upgrades that you can put on it to make it perform, and look like your dream gun. The best part is that it has ACT (Anti Chop Technology) which prevents ball breakage, which means faster shooting, and more accuracy. The only thing I don't like is that its impossible to field strip, because you have to take the gun completely apart to clean the bolt.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun for beginners and pros alike. Its a good solid gun, and it wont let you down, period. I'll give it a 10, because its such a good gun for the price, even though you cant field strip it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 5th, 2007 at 7:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann pb Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
98 custom
paradox whatever
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
14" silver faded EVIL driver
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: -Never chops
-Reliable
-Fast
-Respected
Weaknesses: -Bad barrel
-Nothing else
Review: This thing never chops paint. I have shot over 1000 paintballs and i havent had any problem with broken paint. Its reliable and shoots fast. You can customize this marker with anything you want, because there are sooooooooo many accesories for it. blah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blahblah blah blah
Conclusion: BUY IT! its a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dukedude4evr Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom - Older version gun, slower, harder to shoot I thought, umm this gun has a dual trigger and a drop forward. Better stock barrel too.
Smartparts Ion - ok, so i shot it like 3 times, (paintballs) and it was smooth, but i bit jerky. Can't tell why, but to me it was.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT - Camo
Cyclone Feed System
TechT Vortex Mod
QEV
14" CP Classic Green
APE Rampage Board
Proto Switch Goggles - Blue
Jersey and HPA size will come sooner or later..
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Grip and Electro Upgrade kit from internet. Cyclone feed system w/ TechT Vortex Mod and QEV or Rufus Dawg Centerfeed system and Empire Reloader B. Either or. New Trigger, that would help, maybe. And last but not least, a LPK from Tippmann (not the rear cocking system, the one on the LPK is btter than the rear cocking system.) and of course a barrel LAST (this stock one is pretty accurate.
Strengths: Accurate, reliable, easy to operate, quick, doesn't chop at all. Easily Upgraded, and sexy.
Weaknesses: Nothing, besides the feedneck/system needs to be removed for a cyclone feed system.
Review: Ok, all of you paintball players listen up. This is the most unbiased, correct review ever, and I have used all guns and paint and upgrades on this gun and other guns. SOOOO, lets go. First off the bat, this gun is very nice. Nice body, nice frame, perfect size, every thing is nice. This is NOT just a beginner gun. It is easily a pro gun/novice/amateur, whatever u wanna call it. But yes, nice gun overall. I have to say, it is very accurate stock, and quick too, i was hitting 5-10 bps all day, no doubt. YOU HAVE TO GET A QUICK HOPPER! Cyclone or a Evo2 will be fine for the stock gun, but as u upgrade to egrip, u mite need a TechT Vortex Mod and a QEV for the cyclone or a Rufus Dawg Centerfeed and a Empire Reloader B to keep up with this lovely gun. Now, to say from my experience, get 4 pods for this gun to back it up. As a mid on a sooon to be (probably) team, I promise it will shoot enough to get 600 balls of in one game. I did that PLENTY of times. Get near maybe 300-1000 balls per game for you. Its great.

EDIT!!!!! OK, lemme tell you this, you NEED a new hopper for this. Gravity hoppers dont work well. Get an egg 2 or 3 and BOOM. GET A CENTERFEED AND THEN REMEMBER TO LUBE UR GUN!!!!



LUBE IT WELL!!!!!!
Conclusion: GREAT, all i can say. Get it no matter what level of playing you are.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 12th, 2006 at 11:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Schultz Monday, November 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98, A5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
BT16 M16 barrel kit
Bt16 sight rail
Tapco six-position stock
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you want!
Strengths: Strength, durability, anti-chop-technology!
Weaknesses: What's a weakness again? (You forget when you use Tippmann markers!)
Review: I got this gun for a replacement to "old faithful" (My first 98), and I have been very happy with it. The anti-chop is great! I use a regular stock hopper, and I have never chopped a paintball with it yet! I like that you can get the tippmann egrips for the custom pro, so that is nice. This gun is like a custom 98 on steroids! Buy it!
Conclusion: Buy buy buy buy buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painting turtle Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The regular 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann - custom pro
Evil - driver barrel
Tippmann - SSL-200
Tippmann - expansion chamber
Lapco - direct feed
DOP - rocket cock 2
DOP - custom 98 pro seal
Shocktech - superfly bolt
Tasco - red dot
Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber or reg
Strengths: Tippmann
A.C.T.
Comes with drop forward and double trigger stock
Weaknesses: Drop forward fell off
Review: This is my first marker and I have been living off rentals and friends markers until seven months ago. I have put about 7 cases of paint threw this gun and it has not chopped one. The A.C.T. works perfectly.

It is also very rugged. It just fells tough and it's made by tippmann so it is tough. I love the feed neck. If you get a barrel break, just flip the hopper down run a squeegee trough it, slap the hopper back into position and your ready to rock.

The stock barrel is very good. Everybody made it look like stock barrels suck and that's what I thought. It is an excellent barrel. Don't give me crap about this because I agree that basically any after market barrel is better, but it is WAY better than expected.

The drop forward falling off I think was my fault and I didn't properly tighten it when I put it back together. So remember to keep those bolts tight.
Conclusion: Great marker, It is amazing stock. If you don't want to spend a lot of money on a marker or upgrades, get this one. I give it a nine because it's not the best, but it is pretty dang close(for the price).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 at 3:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media