paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
hitsmichael1 Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98- it only has one trigger and the barrel is shorter.
spyder MR1- stock barrel is more accuate than the tippmann but tippmann is a better gun
Marker Setup: I use the Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T. with 20 in. sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-hopper- barrel- E-trigger-compreesed air kit
Strengths: powerful- extremely durable- double trigger- easy disessembly- A.C.T
Weaknesses: Stock barrel bites.
Review: I'v been playing paintball for over 9 months. This is by far the best gun I'v owned.I'v had it for 2 mounths and I'v already shot 3000 balls through it. I haven't chopped a single ball, even when i used crappy paint. I recommend a new barrel because the stock barrel bites,it's horrible. A new hopper would also be good. On nov. 5 im having a big paintball game with my friends so i will tell you what happens when i get back.
Conclusion: Although the price is high you should get it. The reason I give this a 9 is because the barrel sucks and the price is high.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 19th, 2006 at 10:03 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

C-Tipp Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo,
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
No trigger spring
Polished internals
4X scope
Custom mounted red dot sight
Dye sticky grips
PMI razzor 14" barell
Custom drop forward
20 oz brass eagle tank
Trigger wobble fix
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARELL
Strengths: Never chops
Fun to use
Respected
Weaknesses: trigger pull, trigger wobble, Stock barell.
Review: This is a great gun. the A.C.T. works wonders. I've had the cheapest paint in the world in my gun and it still shoots them like an other ball. For me alot of modding had to be done and it can all easily be done. Just go to www.model98.org. There's really nothing wrong with this gun I love it. If you going to buy this gun definetly look into a new barell.
Conclusion: Great gun fun to use, easy to maintain, I recommend it for sure.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

minx Friday, October 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 stock and with ups
Ion stock and ups
Marker Setup: ion, q lock, reloader b, minidrop, compressed air (4500/68)
Back-up Tippmann 98 custom pro, compressed air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit.
compressed air, (personal preference) 3000/48
battery powered loader, not cyclone feed.
Strengths: When the other markers are on the proshop bench, you will be on the feild.
Weaknesses: Rate of fire.
Feeder Elbow design. Hopper will wiggle, maybe spill.
Size of marker
Review: I like this marker. I owned an a5, ion, and this 98. I sold my a5 because this one just worked better. This marker was the most consistant. It never chops. And if you do need to clean paint from the barrel, it is easy with a pull through squeegee. The feeder elbow has a spring release; this design will give you some wiggle in the hopper. I have had the hopper flop down during play, a big frustration. This maybe possible to fix, but I have not taken the time to mod, this issue.

The question for most beginners... Buy a 98 or an ion? I would suggest, get the 98 first. It is very forgiving, hard to break, and just a fun marker. You shoot halve as much paint as a Ion, and you learn to use cover because your rate of fire will scare no one. Your skill at snap shooting, and accuracy will develope quicker with this marker than an ion, because you will not be a "spray and pray" type player.

The greatest weekness is the rate of fire. I have used the responce trigger. It helps. E - trigger makes your rate of fire equal to the ion. But here is where you need to consider which type of player you want to become. After all these upgrades the Ion becomes the better choice. It is lighter, smaller, less recoil. Price upgrading both markers is about the same.
Conclusion: A great marker. Fun, forgiving, good bang for the buck. Welcome to paintball, everyone wants to upgrade after the marker is 2 weeks old, my guess you will 2. :)
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 20th, 2006 at 10:46 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

White Rook II Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only used rentals before
Marker Setup: Custom Pro w/ ACT
PMI 20 oz CO2
PMI 48/3000 HPA
Coiled remote

Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far. I may get a stock. I will have to try someone elses barrel to see if I need an upgrade; this one seems fine.
Strengths: Accuracy,
Reliability,
Durability
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is my first marker. I think it is great right out of the box. I had no trouble hitting who I was aiming at with the stock barrel. I only play woodsball and I think this marker is perfect for my style of play. I have fired over two thousands rounds without a break.
Conclusion: This product is just what I thought it would be. I would recommend it for anyone who plays in the woods.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

odwalla_bar Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion, Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Stock 98 Pro ACT
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
response trigger
Strengths: durable! Easy to maintain and understand.
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: Pros

Very durable. There is a lot of hype about how tough tippmanns are and in my experience, it is true. jumped from a tree and landed on the gun. thought the open-bolt trigger would be screwed up because it was face down, but it seemed just fine. just cocked the gun and continued to play.

Easy to understand and maintain. Took it apart the first day and was able to understand piece's role. After polishing the internals, the next day my brother took and played with it. He didn't seem to notice that the gun wasn't oiled. got it back, oiled it. still works like nothing happened.

nothing else really outstanding about the gun

Cons

Although the Custom Pro comes with a double trigger. It is nearly impossible to consistently walk the trigger for a sustained duration. Trigger pull is heavy. Lot of people do pen spring mods to counter this.

A bit on the heavy side.



Conclusion: I got the Pro ACT because its durable!, because i know it'll last me my whole lifetime, and because it's easy to maintain for a beginner like me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kboy Thursday, June 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, 98custom, a-5.
Marker Setup: Flatline, vl revalution, co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, nitrus tank, a-5 cyclone loader.
Strengths: It shoots very hard, its accurate.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart to clean.
Review: I have had this gun for 1 year and i love it so much its not funny. Its never broke on me so i only use it for woods because its shoots to far with the flatline barrel i allways over shoot. this probably the best tippmann on the market. Its act(anti chop tech.) so it never chops so u can shoot as fast as u want and NEVER EVER chop. this gun is so tuff u could drop[ it from a 2 story window onto concrete and it would just scratch up.
Conclusion: If you play woodsball a lot this the gun for u.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 8:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdrpaintball Monday, April 23rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Triumph XT, A-5 stealth, Karnivor, 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann 98custom pro ACT, extreme rage 9v hopper, 16 inch smart parts linear barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Hopper, possibly a stock
Strengths: ACT
Accuracy with ok barrel
Very durable and reliable
Tippmann
Posistion of Hopper
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel, not to bad
Of course stock hopper, always just stops feeding
little heavy
Review: GREAT gun, my first gun and it will stay that way until it breaks (knowing the durability of a Tippmann that won't be until a while). After ordering it I regreted it because I saw all of the other cool looking guns. I realized soon I soon after it's arrival it was worth every penny i used to pay for it. The hopper is placed aside for better aim which, in my opinion, helps a lot. This gun hasn't failed me yet. THOUGH I REALLY ADVISE YOU TO READ WHAT I AM ABOUT TO SAY. If you get a 20 ounce tank the stock dropfoward will get really loose so that when you play the dropfoward with the tank attached will wiggle around which is pretty annoying so you will to tighten it after maybe after a half day and definetly after a full day, though tightening is a piece of cake. If you like to snipe get a get barrel, not a thirty two degrees barrel, but a smart parts. That last statement was my opinion and if you feel comfortable with getting a thirty-two degrees barrel get it, it has just been known to break easily to me. Pretty low price, easily located at stores, usually in stock at lots of places. I got mine at Actionvillage.com along with many other products. I recommend that website. Be careful if you take it apart, there are a lot of little pieces that could get lost. Oh yeah and I go to Friendly Fire in Upton Ma. which is really sick.
Conclusion: Overall good gun. Hasn't failed me on the spot in the woods. Pretty low price so I would say get it. Pro or not this is great for woodsball. BUY THIS!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

XSVFAN890 Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T.
TechT Fang Trigger
Response Trigger
Tippmann 16" Sniper Barrel
Getting a Vertical Expansion Chamber and
Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann barrel or Dye Boomstick(if you have the $$$)
New trigger
Strengths: Can be shot fast with no upgrades
Not too expensive
Very upgradable
Great for woodsball
Weaknesses: Weight(not a problem though)
Stock barrel is SUCKS!!!
Little noisy...not a problem though
Review: I got this gun a while ago for $160 and it is great. Great price, very upgradeable, and fast(if your good). It is great for woodsball. The camo is even better for it. I just can't stress it enough, DON'T KEEP THE STOCK BARREL!!! That may be the only flaw. If your a beginner or a vet, this is a great gun.
Conclusion: This gun is a great gun for the price. I would give it a 9 for for the out-of-box rating with the stock barrel, but who can leave it stock with all the upgrades? I give it a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 10th, 2007 at 12:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black_Shadow Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Triology Autococker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT
14" J&J Ceramic
12oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
X-Chamber or Palmer's Stabilizer
Strengths: Reliable - See Review
Upgradability
Easy Mantainence
Weaknesses: Act
Review: This gun is rock solid reliable. however i wish i had bought one without ACT.

There is a huge aftermarket for parts and upgrades for this gun, it truly is a custom. I don't think theres a part of this gun that hasnt been modified by someone.

This gun is also incredibly easy to disassemble and clean. I took it apart and put it back together about 5 times to figure out how everything works, and unless you start screwing with the powertube and CVX valve you cant mess it up...

Cleaning and oiling this thing is a breeze, if you break any paint a little washcloth and warm water will fix it up in about 10 minutes. and you dont even has to take it apart to oil like most guns. just put a few drops on the hammer and drive spring a couple in the asa and shoot about 10 times.

Now the only bad part with this gun.

the ACT is great idea and it work really well. i'm not sure what caused it, but jouring a game my entire ACT spring assembly exploded and shot out the cocking slot of my gun. the only part i found what the longer spring of the two and it was bent in two places and jammed between the hammer and cocking slot.

Mind you tippmann has awesome customer service and fixed it in a week.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is sick. I highly recommend it to anyone in the new to intermediate catagory. Theres so many this you can do to it, and you Tippmann will warranty your gun at stages of modification WAY beyond what other companies will.

There's no doubt. Just go buy one. I give it a 9, would be a 10, but i couldn't play with it for a week cause of the ACT.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xmrichx6151 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Rental gun- Tippmann 98 custom
The Tippmann 98 custom Act Pro is a huge improve over the regular Tippmann 98 custom. It is faster, more accurate, and it doesn't chop.
Marker Setup: I only have the stock equipment, though I am going to buy a new barrel called the Smart Parts "20 inch" tactical barrel which I have heard good reveiws from.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
Strengths: ACT
Weight
Length
Grip
Double Fingered Trigger
Weaknesses: The only thing I could thinks of was the barrel, which isn't that bad.
Review: I bought it off Actionvillage.com. Tippmann is always a good and reliable choice. You can't go wrong with Tippmann unless you buy one from some place that doesn't even give you the real gun. DO NOT GO TO Paintball Online. My brother bought a gun from there and it was plastic, the cyclone feeder was broken, and the response trigger did not work! Make sure if you buy a gun it is off a reliable website. I highly recommend ActionVillage.com. Please listen to me and do not go to Paintball Online. Trust me you will thank me. So the Tippmann 98 custom act pro is a choice that you can't go wrong with. It is a great gun for any type of paint-ballers.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anybody Begginer or Pro. It is sure a pro choice. It is good for little kids because it is easy to cary and run with. I recommend that you buy it off Actionvillage.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media