paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
bvdave Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna, Rapter, Triton, Avenger
Marker Setup: All stock co2 powered
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Expansion chamber (expecially if you play in winter)
Strengths: Accuracy
reliability
comfort
rate of fire
tippmann
ACT
Weaknesses: Gas hog
fieldstrip
Review: First Glances
When I first got my Tippmann Custom Pro the first thing I did was play with the feed neck. I absolutely loved it; it came off easily with the push of a button and popped back on just as easy. I have heard it leaves a bit of a wobble when on and this is true. I cut a small strip of paintball tape (hockey tape) about a third thickness and placed two layers over the bottom of the clip and it holds nicely in place now. Perfect. I love this Feed neck for a few reasons. First, the fact that it comes off so easy was great! I can take it off in the middle of a game if there is a break or shop and squeegee out my barrel without even taking it off. (I can take the hopper off in about .25 of a second which really beats unscrewing the barrel itself) also if a barrel chops inside the gun I can take the hopper off, stick in my finger and clean it out enough to get back shooting in about a second. And I needed to do this my very first game. Next thing I like about it is unlike on the BT-4 it is very tough and compact and stays mostly on the side of the marker. On one of my BT-4ís I had one snap right off, that and I find the BT-4 have trouble coming off and back on easily. And the thing is so much bigger and weaker then on the 98. Absolutely love this feature.

Barrel; I find the stock barrel on the Custom Pro is great for a stock barrel. I would still recommend an upgrade to a good Winforce Barrel or a Smart Parts Linear. I have not yet had a chance to test the progressive. With the stock Werks barrel the marker had great accuracy right out of the box. When I put on my Winforce barrel accuracy goes way up. Big difference and worth the upgrade! But since the Werks isnít bad you donít need to upgrade right away as with 99% of stock barrels on paintball guns. If you donít have the custom pro I would recommend a barrel upgrade as soon as you can get one. Its worth it!.

Performance: I found the performance to be great. Marker shoots beautifully and has enough kick to let you know itís in your hands but not so much as to spoil your shots. This marker can defiantly take a beating and still go strong. Iíve put mine through quite a bit now and it still fires like day one. Itís not the most efficient marker as far as gas goes but an expansion chamber will help thatÖ I havenít bothered with one yet. I fond this marker can take whatever I can give it. I cant do a quick fieldstrip in the middle of a game but with the removable feed neck I can get out whatever will be stopping me much faster then any quick strip Spyder style marker (besides who actually takes out all the internals in a game anyways?)

Maintenance: First time I took apart this marker I fell in love. Itís so simple and easy to maintain. No wonder these things never break down, thereís nothing to go wrong! However beware springs! There are a few springs near the trigger that will fly out if your not careful. They can be replaced with a pen spring if you need to (meaning you lost one) but I have not yet had that problem.


**update* act failed on me in my last game once making a HUGE mess, i figured it was a barrel break so i tried to shoot through and gummed everything up bad. luckily there was the quickrelease for the elbow so i took it off and scooped what seemed like a gallon of paint out with my finger took out the shells and was back in business before i was shot. Due to he hopper feedneck being so easily removable i was able to clean this mess very quick with only my finger and a squeegee for the barrel, after the marker worked perfectly, I LOVE this feedneck. (I also dont hold this against the marker because at the time I was using seconds which were flatter then footballs.

also after the second time taking it apart 2 allan keys stripped beyond repair :(


*edit* changing to a 9 as I am dissapointed on how easily it scratches and how bad it looks once scrated, also the Custom pro tinfoil label fell off and has glue under it that cant be cleaned.... gun is very ugly now.. still works good tho :)*
Conclusion: Love it! a great gun and i reccomend it to anyone newbie or vet! great gun even stock its great and if you want more it has more upgrades then you can shake a hopper at!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 at 12:16 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rogue_trooper99 Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom ,98 custom pro, bt4, us5
Marker Setup: -a-5 camo
-bt 47 apex barrel
-car stock
-warsensor remote
-trinity ak 47 exp. chamber kit
-68/4500 psi air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels: Any j&j ciramic, flatline, apex, pmi progresive 16-20inch sniper barrel, bt16
stocks:folding stock, colapsible car stock, solide stock
others: sight, scops, sight rails, mag kits, triger kits and drops
Strengths: Durable, affortable, good performance and customizable
Weaknesses: The act sometimes messes up the gun depending on the upgrades(stocks)
Review: Well i would have to say that tippmann did a good upgrade of the basic 98. the new model is a advance of the 98 custom. they newly added more great features to enhance the performance of the old 98c.these are the basic pieces that make this gun better performing than the 98c. it has all the great looks and durability of the 98c and more:
-a better stock barrel: this barrel is longer and better than the old 98c stock barrel, not to much of a difference in the performance butt looks cooler.
-a well design drop foward: its there with the gun and makes it look good and gives u the same quality than any other drops.
-bobble trigger installed
-the fully installed ACT (an-tie chop technologie): basically gives the custom pro a good advantage, this is what makes the gun really good, it makes it so if a ball loads in to fast the act will make it so that the paintball dosen't pop and comes out on the next shoot not broken.
so basically this custom pro has a good advantaged over loots of the other markers out there, its a good gun i enjoyed playing with it and it didn't show me much weakness.
Conclusion: If u want a good gun that is already upgreated to a good lvl at a good price buy this gun. this gun is great i liked it and it didnt break on me. this is one of the beast speed ball gun tippmann has comme up with, i no its more of a woods ball gun but i see it as one of the tippmann speed ball gun i would use.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 6:34 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

triggapull Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with
flatline barrel and stock
viewloader quantum
daisy red dot sight
12 and 20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
R/T
Cyclone feed or a electronic hopper
Regulator
Expansion chamber
New barrel
New internal parts
Trigger
Grip
Low pressure Kit
Bi-pod
Strengths: Accuracy, reliability, durability
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great. It is more of a woods-ball gun than a speed-ball gun. The feel to it is very comfortable(even better with a new grip). On the inside the parts are strong but you will eventually need new parts, the ACT improves your gun with less cleaning.
Tippmann is known for ther reliable products, and this does not change at all. It is just as reliable as the other products. You can leave it on your porch and it will still work good.
Conclusion: This is durable, it can take one hell of a beating so why are you waiting
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stormfyre Tuesday, September 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Primary Marker
98 Custom Pro Platinum Series
Pen Spring Mod
Cyclone Feed
TechT Squishy Paddles, Vortex Mod, QEPH, and Lightning Rod
APE Rampage Board

Secondary Marker (should the world end and a Tippman actually stop working)
06 Spyder Sonix
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends what position you play in Woodsball, but in general I suggest a new barrel, a stock, and an expansion chamber.
Strengths: Durability
Reliability
User-friendly
Easily upgraded
Weaknesses: A little heavy
The stock barrel could be better
The cocking slot is wide open
Review: I have only been playing paintball for a few years now, and only two games have been played while using this marker. But in those two games, I have come to see how the Tippmann markers have become so widely known and loved. If the 98 Custom Pro was an assault rifle, it would most definitely be the AK-47, as just like the 47, this stupid marker probably wouldn't stop shooting even if you ran it over with a tank and then hammered it back into shape. It just doesn't know when to stop, and I've seen many times where it kept up and even out-performed those thousand-dollar tourny markers. It is the perfect marker for almost anyone, as no matter what position you play there is almost guaranteed to be an upgrade or two(or three) to make the marker suited to that position. As for the weaknesses I typed above, they are not really major things and easily dealt with. Compared to other markers, it is a little heavy, but it shouldn't be a problem unless you are a twig. As for the barrel, I'm going to be completely honest, I have yet to read about a low-end or even a mid-range marker that didn't need a new barrel because the stock one was perfect. The cocking slot problem is easily fixed, as there is the Rocket Cock, which goes over that slot very easily and basically negates the problem.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone. A novice will have trouble breaking it, and in the hands of an experienced player this thing becomes a real beast.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 1st, 2009 at 6:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fivestarchief Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Custom 98, A-5.
Marker Setup: Revolution 12v hopper, 48/3000 tank, flat line barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitrogen tank, electric hopper(always good) flat line barrel.
Strengths: Shoots very hard, accurate.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Ok I love this gun. Its the best the woods ball gun i have ever played with. But if you get a flat line barrel, this gun will be a terrible gun for speed ball. If you play both like i do and you already have another gun for speed ball, i strongly recommend a flat line barrel. I hooked mine up to a completely full tank, and tested the speed. It said that it shot 600fps. It was not accurate at all that high so i turned it down.
Conclusion: If your looking for a great woods ball gun, this is a great choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

makevelli38 Saturday, January 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha GTI w/ Rampage board
Stock Spyder Sonix
Crap Icon
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT w/ e-grip
Pure Energy 62/3000 w/ remote line(woodsball)
20 oz CO2 (speedball)
J&J Ceramic barrel 14"
Stock Barrel sometimes...(its 11 inches and does its job)
Cyclone Feeder w/ offset
Red Dot Sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is just opinion but you can get a sight/scope and stock (collaspable) for woods play.
A sling might help too because it gets cumbersome between games.
Strengths: Tough takes a beating, looks sleek, low maintainance,e-grip firing modes.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy.Gas hog.Long 23 inches all stock.
Review: This marker is pretty reliable. It hasn't failed me yet. Firing it tends to get addictive as I once shot off 500 rounds testing it in like 3 minutes. It doesn't ever chop balls and therefore doesn't need thorough cleaning like other markers. Just oil it once in a while to keep it at maximum performance.
When I got this marker I at once went out and bought a new barrel. Not a big mistake but the stock marker is made of the same material as a J&J. Its also about 11 inches and is relatively accurate. ( I don't really think barrels make a really significant difference in range or accuracy).I also got a cyclone feeder because a gravity fed hopper can't really keep up with the e-trigger full auto setting.
The marker fires true most of the time. Its accurate to a 6 inch spread with both barrels for about 100 feet. The manual says about 150 but it depends on wind and the type of air you use.

Now here is the comparison between similar markers. Its highly upgradeable, takes rough treatment and fires like what you'd expect from a trusty marker. You'd never get like 250 feet from it because lets be reasonable its a marker not an .9mm.The problem I had with it was the weight and the front grip being too far away from the back. That creates a probelm with keeping a low profile as now your arm sticks out like 4 extra inches and its harder to tuck tight to the body. Aiming and trying to stay in cover is compromised as its better to aim the marker down when in cover than tuck and aim. i rectify this by using a remote line in speedball mostly. This sacrifices counterbalancing the marker with your tank so the front end tends to droop forward a little. Its also a bit loud but I find that scares people more than give away your position. Like most Markers it'll siphon co2 on a cold day. None of the negativity takes away from this beast as its mostly little things that most people overlook that get to me. Overall its a great marker for anyone.
Conclusion: Get this marker for any game type. You'll see how realiable and trusty it is. I just wont recommend it for front speedball players though. But it might be the very thing you were looking for to play front. People say nothing's perfect but thats wrong. Its might be perfect for you. I give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

everest46 Friday, November 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom- the gun that made me buy this one. The ACT is worth the extra money
Spyder MR1- also a good milsim low-end mechanical marker, more complete and less expensive out of the box
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT:
14"J&J Ceramic Barrel
BT Collapsable Stock
Lapco sight rail
wal-mart red dot sight
Viewloader Revolution hopper
Remote line
3-point tactical sling

Recommended
Upgrades:
aftermarket barrel, collapsable stock, remote line. sight rail
Strengths: Very consistent, ACT works well, great beginner marker, can take a beating
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, no field strip feature, loud
Review: Thisi was my fourth marker. After owning a viewloader Orion, Talon Ghost pump, and a Spyder MR2, I decided to give the base 98 custom pro w/ ACT a try after trying my friend's 98 Custom. After a few games, I was hooked. In my opinion, this marker has the potential to go head to head with any milsim marker out there. After having severe problems with my electric-triggered MR2, I am a firm believer in the simplicity and reliablity of mechanical markers. The ACT feature has caught potential chops several times when I outshot my hopper. In the year since I have owned it, it has had two barrel breaks and no chops. It comes with an upgraded barrel compared with the regular 98 custom, but it should still be replaced as soon as possible in favor of a more accurate barrel. Accuracy is fairly decent, but as of yet I have not tested the grouping of the shots. I do know, however, that I can get a mask shot from across a speedball field with relative ease. The double trigger is a nice feature, allowing you to grip the trigger with two fingers when firing rapidly, or using only one finger to grip the trigger when crawling. The marker does not come with a field strip feature, which would be convenient, but is not really necessary, since mine has never chopped. It is more expensive than the reliable MR1, and comes less set up out of the box than its rival. But i firmly believe that with a few upgrades the Custom Pro ACT eclipses the Spyder. Overall, the marker is a solid performer that has yet to let me down. Are there better markers out there? Yes of course there are. But for a relatively low cost started gun, it would be hard to go wrong.
Conclusion: To someone who is willing to spend a little extra money after the initial purchase, this is an awesome marker. It is a dependable, consistent marker straight off the shelf, but definately benefits from upgrades. Overall, it is a good beginner gun but can be very rewarding for more advanced players. Giving a 9 out of 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolf16731 Saturday, August 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Afterburner
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Most of the Spyders
A few JT Guns
Recommended
Upgrades:
Custom Drop Forward
Custom M16 Sight Rail
BSA Red Dot
BT M16 barrel with Apex tip
M4 Stock
Strengths: Durable
Doesn't break any paint
Customizable to compete in anything
Cheap,
Its a Tippmann
Weaknesses: Somewhat a pain to disassemble
Stock accuracy
Review: This gun is a beast. I have never even heard of this gun breaking down in the field from any player I know. The durability is a beast. Since this gun has the Anti Chop Technowledgy, it rarely breaks (as if the original ever did). I personally never had a chop ever. When I first bought this gun, I ordered it with a J&J Ceramic 14'' Barrel and it was great. It was much better than the stock barrel. That barrel only cost an extra $30 so its a great buy for a tight budget. I'm a milsim type though and I like my guns to look the part, so I later ordered a BT M16 w/ Apex after I started to get paid by the Air Force. And I had also made custom parts in metal shops for this gun to get the full look of an M16. The main point here is in its customizability (if thats a word at all). I could also have gone with an AK47 look as well very easily if I wanted to, its all in the buyers taste really. Later on, you could also drop a board in or the RT Trigger and perhaps a Cyclone Feed System and you could really tear up the field. This gun is just that great.
The one gripe I have with this gun is maintenance is a pain. You have to unbolt the entire side off to get to the pieces. But you can cut the left side in half to make it easier and since this gun requires next to no maintenance, its not really that much of a pain.
Conclusion: The only other gun I would consider buying is an A5 and thats just because it has the Cylclone on it. Other than that, they are really the same thing, other than the fact that the A5 is much easier to clean. I have had no problems with this gun and I'm gonna give Tippmann a 10 of 10 since they have used one of the Air Force core values in this gun, "Excellence in all we do."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xTUPACx Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro with A.C.T(This Gun)
11" Barrel(Comes With Gun)
Cyclone Feed System
E-Trigger
20 oz. C02 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Feed System
E-Trigger
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Double Finger Trigger
11" Barrel
Dependibility
Easy To Clean
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: The Tippmann 98 Custom Pro Platinum paintball marker is used by many paintball fields for rental markers, which tells you a little about it. It is a very dependable paintball gun that is a good starting gun for beginners and experts alike. With the multiple accessories that can be used or added on to it, the Tippmann 98 is one of the most customizable markers out there. It is very easy to clean, one reason being that it can be stripped down into two halves very quickly, with the use of the provided allen wrenches. The offset hopper is also a positive thing if you're looking to add a red-dot sight or scope to it. You will be very happy with this gun, and won't regret the investment you have made in this wonderful piece of paintball mastery.
Conclusion: If you're a beginner looking for your first gun, or an expert just looking to find another gun to add to your collection, buy this gun, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 28th, 2008 at 5:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patejl Thursday, June 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, Spyder MR-1, A-5
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5, Hammerhead Dominator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is a must
Strengths: Reliable at the beginning
Weaknesses: Design
Cracks between parts
Review: I bought this one while required marker with which I could aim through sights. Knowing Spyder MR-1 where you actually cannot do this due to bolt handle, I chose T98 - good reviews, cheap for a brand (some 1,5 year ago) and also in Pro ACT discount that time, plus barrell looked better than other 98s. I did not like the design much but that was my last criteria. When I opened the box I got somehow disappointed - the plastics body of the marker looked very cheap. Also, a HUGE cracks between parts - fe atop between lets and right part of the body you could see bolts inside. However, I assembled it and overall it didnt look that.
After firts play another problem - bolt handle is placed on the left side and THERE IS NO COVER preventing things getting inside the marker. Just a long hole so that bolt handle can move, so if hanlde in back position, you see spring and bolt, if in front, bolt covers it. So, you have to be extra careful, namely playing outside, nothing gets in or you can disassemble marker after each day playing.
Front grip - it is too small and somehow strange placed - you will never hold it like you shuold while shooting.
Barrel - proved to be the worst stock I ever used, Spyder Victor II had comparable or better accuracy, got rid off it after first play.
Anyway - all the half year I used this marker, it in fact never let me down. But after last play I noted, doing "routine bolt handle hole check" there is a O-ring on the spring loosely in fornt of rear bolt which seemed not right at all. Marker still shoot, but I did not wanted to risk braekdown and also disassembly looked uneasy. Used to Spyder "no maintenance needed for years" standard I got rid of the marker fast.
Conclusion: The marker never let me down in fact, but poor quality never conviced me I can rely on it next time. Year ago or so it was a possible choice for a price, these days there are variety of other markers in the category. And if you buy it, be ready to invest some more money into better barrel.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media