paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT / Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Tippmann Custom Pro ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
ACT (Anti-Chop Technology) is a patent-pending design that helps eliminate ball chopping and ensure consistent performance. Using a new technology that has the front and rear bolts working independently of each other, ACT virtually eliminates chopping and improves accuracy with less barrel cleaning. And unlike other anti chop systems, this system maintains ball velocity shot after shot and does not have to be re-cocked if the anti chop technology had to be engaged.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
LD17 Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, Piranha (field rental)
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro a.c.t.
20oz C02
Polished internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Palmer regulator if running C02
Cyclone feed
r/t or e-grip for high rates of fire
Strengths: Reliable
Durable
A.C.T.
Many up-grades
Weaknesses: Weight - maybe
Barrel - there's always better
Loud
Can't field strip quickly.
Review: I've used this marker for one year now. I'm happy with the gun. I've shot many different types of paint through it, and not many breaks. The accuracy of the barrel is ok, but a nice aftermarket barrel will probably improve it. I play woodsball, and the gun can take a beating. That's why they built it. That's why I bought it! I guess that's were the weight issue can come into play. I'm sure part of the guns strength comes from the aluminum die cast receivers. This is what makes the gun so strong. For that I can look past the weight issue. Like many I read a lot of reviews before I bought this gun. I like that it came with an improved barrel over a custom 98, it also comes with a drop forward to reposition the tank and distribute the weight better. Has a double trigger which gives it a good feel. Comes with A.C.T. (anti chop technology) helps stop paintball chops. These upgrades are probably what your going to buy anyway. So I decided to get it right off the hop. If money is an issue then go with a custom 98 and save a few bucks. You'll eventually buy this stuff anyway. The gun can be a bit tricky taking apart, but once you get the hang of it it's not an issue. In the end after one year of play with this gun iv'e had no problems, and has not let me down in the heat of battle.
Conclusion: This is a good marker for anyone looking for quality and reliablity. If your looking for a no fuss no muss gun, and like to play woodsball this is it. You'll have many years of fun palying with this gun with low maintenance. It has tons of upgrades and do it yourself mods that will allow you to personalize your gun, and won't break your wallet. I give it a 9 nothing is perfect.....oh except GOD!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 14th, 2008 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MokZoul Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman model 98 (dad's)
tippmann A5 (mine)
tippmann X7 (friends)

Spyder Imgine (mine)
Spyder MR1 (mine)
Smart Parts Ion Redz (mine)
Lots more guns, i buy and sell constantly
Marker Setup: 14'' CP Barrel
12 oz tank
VL Elec. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
elec. hopper
Strengths: Durable,
Accurate
Fairly quiet
UPGRADES =)
Weaknesses: Maitnenece is a pain
Review: Baiscally, its a great starter gun. its pull is to stiff to double trigger, but it is short enough where that dosesn't matter. The main problem is how long it takes to clean thourghly. If you are coming from a spyder or similar marker, this is a big change.

That being said, i love this gun. i'm not going to sell it even though i now have an A5. It has only broken down once and that was my fault. The factory barrel is pretty good as far as they go, the sights or great, and the whole thing is very balanced weight wise.

The one and only upgrade I would strongly suggest is a electric hopper. Since the trigger pull is so short, you can really pump out the paint.
Conclusion: The only reason i'm not giving this gun a 9 or 10 is the one maitnence prob. But I've lived with it for 3 years and never regretted it. Oh, and i got mine for 120$
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 23rd, 2008 at 4:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InvertBaller08 Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar Products In Price Range:

Tippmann 98 Custom (not as good as custom pro)
Tippmann A-5 (A-5 is better)
Tippmann Model 98 (not nearly as good as custom pro)
Tippmann X-7 (X-7 is better)
Spyders (Custom Pro is way better)
Ion (depends,both are worth price and equal evenly)

Other Markers
Invert mini (custom pro doesnt even compare)
Dye DM4 (custom pro doesnt compare)
Smart Parts Epiphany (about the same epiphany is a little better)
Smart Parts Shocker NXT (nxt rules!!)
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Pure Energy 68/4500
Halo B

Tippmann A-5
Pure Energy 48/3000
X7 Low Profile
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric loader (this is an upped 98 custom with great accessories stock)
Strengths: Durable, fast, good on air ,easy to use, cheap, upgradeable, flexible
Weaknesses: A little heavy but ok im the kid with the mini lol
Review: the tippmann custom pro is a great gun for its price. i started paintball 6 years ago and got a pmi piranha r6. then, i really got interested in playing competitive paintball and got a spyder imagine. the imagine broke in 2 days (dont buy stuff at walmart) so i bought a custom pro at mcsports for $165? i think. $140-$180 are what they run. last year, i sold it to my buddy and its still being used. its the perfect starter gun in that its better than a 98 custom because it has upgrades so if you first start playing, get this and you will be good for woodsball and an e-grip for speedball at your LOCAL field.
Conclusion: Great gun rated 8 of 10 for the price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

custompro98 Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion - Way outdoes the CustomPro in everything EXCEPT durability. With the Ion you need to be gentle with the electronic parts.
Spyder Sonix - Stands no chance against the CustomPro
Tippmann A-5 - Very, VERY good gun. Outdoes the CustomPro
Tippmann Custom98 - This is the original version of the CustomPro, enough said.
Marker Setup: I use the CustomPro and the only upgrade I have on it is the Empire Barrel Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the Empire Barrel Kit. This barrel gives it outstanding accuracy and range for woodsball games and even unofficial speedball games.
Strengths: Durability, Performance, and Mechanics.
Weaknesses: Slow fire rate.
Review: Good gun, not many mechanical problems. Only mechanics problems would be the bolt. My bolt will sometimes close when firing. This is probably only a CO2 problem or a need for oiling, but otherwise this gun works nicely. When using this gun be sure to remember that it is a low-end mechanical marker and therefore won't be effective as an electronic marker (i.e. Ion, EOS, etc.).
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for beginners or even experienced players that want to challenge themselves with a low-end mechanical gun. The gun is inexpensive and that is one of the two reasons I bought this gun, the other being that I love Tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

anthony890 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R doesn't even compare
Marker Setup: New set-up
tippmann 98 custom pro
revy with x-board
smart parts linear barrle 16'' on the way
Old set-up
like 5th hand spyder tl-r
no ups the gun was on its last leg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
electronic hopper
could use a stock if you feel the nessesity
Strengths: The strengths of this gun is it is durable, looks awsome, double trigger, easily upgradable
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: I have only had this gun not even a month and i have put about 1600 paintball though it. So far this is a very good gun as said above could use a barrel upgrade but if you don't have the money for one the stock one is fine. even though it is a hog on air its not really a big deal to me and of course it was winter when i first got it and was shooting it so the co2 contracts and freezes up. The ACT is awsome haven't chopped a ball from the 1600 i shot.
Conclusion: If you don't mind a gun that is a hog on air then you will be fine it is a good gun its a strong durable gun and has a ton of upgrades available for it. So far i love mine and can't wait for my barrle to come in so i can really test the gun out with accuracy. the reason i gave it a 9 is because it is a hog on air and i am not really a fan of buying air everytime i go out to play.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

James J Saturday, December 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (rental)
(this is my first paintball marker)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro with ACT
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
X-chamber (if your using CO2)
Stock
Sight
Strengths: Doesn't chop at all
All the strengths of the 98
Weaknesses: Accuracy (Barrel could be better)
Review: Having recieved my custom pro for christmas, you can imagine i was itching to go and have a go. So a few days later, i rang round some buddies and headed down to my local field. When we finally got onto the field, i found this gun plenty accurate for the range we were at (about 20ft). I am more of an up-close and personal type player, so the accuracy didn't bother me much. However, as the day went on, i was picked as 'sniper' (in inverted commas, for obvious reasons). I was put in a tower and was relied on to pick off a few enemies. This was where the accuracy (or lack of it) started getting to me. After about 25 ft the balls started to curl off in random directions. I plan on adding an x-chamber and a new barrel when i next get a chance. By the end of the day i had put around 650 rounds through it and it had not chopped a single one!! I was astonished at this, seeing as the rental markers around were chopping faster than a high lumberjack.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i was very pleased with this marker, but the accuracy was an issue for me. Perfect for people just getting into the sport but it will require a few mods before i could give it ten.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 30th, 2007 at 9:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann_dude** Tuesday, December 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann Custom Pro with Response Trigger, Viewloader eVLution II, '16 CP barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.

2. Spyder Pilot, Viewloader eVLuition ll, '12 "X" barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. HPA
2. R/T
3. Barrel
4. Hopper
Strengths: 1. Durable
2. Fast
3. Easy to Clean
Weaknesses: None So-far.
Review: I got this for my birthday and i immediatley fell in love with it. I got to use it at the field a few weeks later. I found i could easily outshoot my vl200, so i went to the van, and got out my evo2 i originally had for my spyder. Great! Problem fixed. well anyway, a few months later, i bought a R/T for it, along with a 16inch C.P. Barrel. Now, not to brag, but i thought i could pawn ollie lang right then and there. with the right uprades, i found it can be just as good as some high-end tourny guns which is the reason i prefer airball over woods anyday, but im not going to go into that right now. A big bonus is that since i slide, and dive alot, i need a durable gun. WOW! This lives up to, and exceeds my needs.
Conclusion: If your a new player, or into mil-slim, buy it, you cant go wrong!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 25th, 2007 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

allamericanman Wednesday, July 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann model 98, 98 custom, Spyder markers (worse)
Marker Setup: Setup A.Tippmann 98 custom, response trigger, progressive barrel, double trigger.
Setup B.Tippmann 98 custom, response trigger, J@J Ceramic barrel, realtree camo.
Setup C.Tippmann 98 custom, double trigger, all american barrel, tactical stock.
Setup D.Tippmann Custom Pro ACT, Bt16 apex barrel, tactical stock.
Setup E.Tippmann A5, Response trigger, All american barrel.
Setup F.Brass eagle eradicator, all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip, apex barrel, tactical stock.
Strengths: Durability, it's a tippmann, anti-chop, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Yeah right.
Review: I got this marker a few days ago and I am VERY impressed with it. It is very accurate, VERY durable, it won't get scratches because of Tippmann's new type of coating, and it NEVER chops. I shot very fast using VERY brittle paint, and it didn't chop one.




Conclusion: Another great Tippmann, BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xxbillybobxx Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tried PMR the pmr is for experienced players
98 Custom the custom and the custom pro are pretty much the same thing but i like the custom pro more
Marker Setup: 20oz C02
gravity feed
Redz Pepperstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
there is a lot of choices for upgrades
a better barrel would be help out a lot but the stock barrel is good
a better hopper (maybe a revy, or always the popular halo)
Strengths: A.C.T. (anti chop technology)
great accuracy
easy maitnence
many upgrades
Weaknesses: None really except the barrel and the hopper could be upgraded.
Review: We have a birdhouse and i was using my stock barrel and from 50yrds away we could hit the hole or by the hole of the birdhouse every time. It is a great gun for beginners and woodsballers. Cheap and will not lit you down not matter what happens. My gun needed to be taken in because i did not oil it enough.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to every beginner and even pros because it won't let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blwisianboy8969 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranah GTI - Mechanical Marker (NEVER BUY ONE OF THESE - SEE MY REVIEW FOR IT)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Stock 11" Werks Barrel (NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger-Increases the rate of fire to about 15 balls per second without batteries
Cyclone Feed-it really increases your rate of fire and keeps up even with the response trigger!
New Barrel-I don't know what that all goes to preference but you definitely need something that shoots farther. The stock barrell is fairly accurate but lacks distance.
Strengths: Consistant and fast ROF
Doesn't Chop ... EVER
Durable and Reliable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Barrell lacks performance in longer distance shots
Review: I would definitely buy a Tippmann Custom Pro. All the things I said in the other parts of the review explain why. The gun is fine just the way it is but if you feel like you need more out of it, it is the most upgradable gun on the market. The gun can be used for the recreational player or the best of the best. BUY A TIPPMANN CUSTOM PRO! You won't regret it.
Conclusion: BUY A TIPPMANN CUSTOM PRO! You won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media