paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ycfan456 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Profiler
Marker Setup: - Tippmann A-5
- Hammerhead BattleStixx 5 fin kit
- SpecOps Dogleg Stock
- 32 Degrees coiled remote w/ slide check
- Crossfire 92/4500 HPA tank
Strengths: - Very, very comfortable
- Flex on bottom half
- Easy lense change, no tools
Weaknesses: Nothing really...
Review: This is the most comfortable mask I have ever worn. The foam is not quite as soft as my Profiler, but it is plenty soft enough. There is extra padding by your ears so the plastic doesn't rub against them. The mask really forms to your face well. It stays on very well too. Most other masks I have to use a hat or something to keep them on. It's price is fairly good. ($70) I think the Profiler is like $80 and the Invision is like $90 or something. I haven't tried the Invision but the Switch FS is soooooo comfortable.

The lense change:
1. Take the strap out of the little cover things (5 sec)
2. Twist up the two locks (5-10 sec)
3. Pull the locks out (3-5 sec)
5. Take the lens frame out (2 sec)
6. Swap the lenses (2 sec)
7. Do the opposite in reverse order (25 sec)

Total: 45-50 sec

Pretty darn good.
Conclusion: This mask is the best value on the market. It is comfortable, flexible, makes for easy lense changes, and is relatively cheap for masks in it's class. Great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cjlowry Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Hybrid Fusion (the gun really doesnt need any upgrades), Halo B, Crossfire 92 4500 LP

backup: red ion, locking feedneck, j&j ceramic barrel
Strengths: Price, comfort
Weaknesses: Plain looking, average visibility
Review: My sister bought this for me a few years ago for a christmas present and i LOVE it. this mask is very comfortable and has lasted pretty long. it came with one of the thermal lenses (which actually is two lenses). thermal lenses last only about 1 year, but by taking extra good care of it, mine lasted three years before serious fogging occured. you can hear really well in this. this mask is more comfortable than an average mask, and i have had a lot of bounces off of the soft rubber parts. it has average visibility (better than cheap masks, but its no profiler!) i dont usually play with the chin strap, but its there if you want it. also, it is pretty plain looking. this is a decent mask for speedball. i wouldnt use less than this though. for woodsball this is really nice. if you are one of the players who drape themselves in camo, this is a good mask for you. you can get it in olive green, and the plastic parts are green and the rubber is black. more than anything about masks though is comfort. when your ready to buy, just go into your local store and ask to try on masks. most will let you, and you just need to find one you like most. myself and most others i know are actually more attached to our mask than even our guns. i would say a good feeling mask than a good marker, and many will agree with me. gloves are just gloves, but you mask needs to have a good feel and you need to see well.
Conclusion: Good players dont choose their masks, they let the masks choose them. just find what feels best and dont worry about what others think or say. my only advice is whatever mask you get, make sure it has a thermal lense and not just a fog risistant one. you'll thank me in a month once the fog resistance has worn off and you cant see anything.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iskymeow Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i own:
Empire e-Vents
Proto Switch FS

i have tried/tested:
Proto Switch EL (rental)
JT Flex8
VForce Vantage
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline / 16" J&J Ceramic
Low Pressure Kit & Tippy Reg
WAS Equalizer e-Grip
JCS Dual Trigger
Maddman Springs
JCS Rear Velocity Adjuster
CP On/Off ASA
Ricochet R5
Internal Polish
Strengths: + Comfortable
+ Easy to dismantle/clean
+ Good visibility
+ Good aural clarity
+ Comes with bag
Weaknesses: - Shortage of replacement lenses
- Thermal lens prone to splitting
- Very short chin strap
Review: I got my Proto FSes earlier this year and have been speed- and rec-/woods-balling with them ever since. (I have my e-vents now but won't use them till next month.)

The comfort, in my opinion, is top-notch: for me it really doesn't get in the way of my playing. I feel secure enough wearing them out on the field - the fit is great on my head and doesn't feel like it's going to slip off anytime soon. The foam around the eye/nose area and in the earpieces are to my liking. However, the chin strap is something I really hate, as even on it's maximum length and with the comfort pad removed, I can't get it to fit me. You may want to disregard this however if you don't even use the strap, but it's just one of the little niggles that bugs me.

The coverage definitely can't match the comprehensive cover from a mask like the Pro Vantage, for example, but it is certainly more than the Empire e-Vents or the Profiler can provide. That is all probably up to personal preference, though - I have a squarish facial structure so masks like the Profiler leave quite a lot of skin exposed for me.

Where the FS really excels is how easy it is to remove the lens for cleaning or replacement. The system really does work to offer quick removal. You just have to be careful when cleaning the lens itself - getting water in the foam separating the two layers will result in them splitting apart, thus letting moisture and air get inbetween. One con of the lens, though, is that not cleaning them with proper materials - for instance, wiping off splatter dots with, say, a glove - will leave nasty smears on the front layer of the lens. Then again this might happen with any other mask, but maybe not as badly as it happens with the FS.

Visually though, the lens is an OK piece of work. Visibility and optical clarity are good enough for any level and type of paintballer. Unfortunately, when it comes time to replacing them, you may have to look around a bit harder than you should have to. I still can't seem to find a replacement dual-layer anywhere.

Ventilation on the FS is nothing to shout about. Hot breath will get all over the cheek and mouth area unless you exhale with your lips pursed downwards. It works fine for shouting out and listening to commands on the field however. This lack of proper ventilation probably leads to the fogging that occurs on most FSes. However this does not come into play unless you are playing for long durations, or in extreme weather conditions.

As a side note, the FS comes with a mask bag too.
Conclusion: Personally, I find it to be a comfortable mask. The rubber jaw and mouth protection supposedly helps with paint bounces, but I personally have not been hit in those areas so I can't attest to that.

Overall, I think it's a fine product for the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 1st, 2007 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

behmer Tuesday, September 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Basic Dye Mask
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical w/ E Grip
Remote Line
PCS Vest
Strengths: Comfortable
Great Vision
Looks
Easy Lense Change
Weaknesses: Chin Strap
Fogging
Review: First the good:

The mask is very comfortable, this is coming from somebody who used a $15 mask prior to proto switch FS. Great padding, I really like the ear pads. The vision is amazing, peripheral vision is unbeatable, however looking up can be a problem (sometimes). Cleaning this mask is beyond easy, I'm amazed at some of the people who complain about removing the lense, it literally takes 10 seconds. I love the camo color, and love the soft portions of the mask. Makes it easy to look down the barrel of the marker.

The Bad:

The first day I wore the mask it fogged within 1 minute of putting it on. This was in the middle of the woods, probably 80 degrees, however it went away within 5 minutes and didn't fog the rest of the day. After we were done playing I cleaned the lense with warm water and went back out the next day. Same scenario, maybe 5 degrees hotter, this time however the masked fogged for the entire game. Maybe it was the way I was wearing it (is there a proper way?), maybe because it was pushing 90 in the woods, but those who say this mask never fogs are wrong. I am going to try the proto fan, but that doesn't get good reviews so this should be interesting.
Conclusion: Great mask except for my fog probably.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT thermal Spectra, JT Flex 7, JT Elite, PMI X ray
Marker Setup: AGD ULE Minimag, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, Dye double trigger frame, On/off drop, Old school one piece 12in AA barrel
Strengths: Cleaning the mask and lens is sooo easy. Comfortable, good thick lens
Weaknesses: None that I can see
Review: I love this mask for the simple reason of maintanence. It quick to break down and clean the mask 100% in minutes. It has a nice flexible jaw for bouncing paint. The lens is nice and thick with 260 degrees of vision. Because it is an FS it also comes with a thermal lens which makes a world of diffence with fogging. The f an also slides into place and has one clip that is easy to remove for maintance on the mask. The cost isnt too bad for what you get. I got mine on ebay used for $30 with the fan. My brother got his new on ebay with the fan for $70.
Conclusion: This is one of the best masks on the market. If you get shot a lot in the lens from playing peek a boo then this is the mask for you. Simple to clean and looks great. Price isnt bad for what you get because you pay for what you get!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Peveland Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra
Java Face Mask
Proto Switch EL Mask
Dye I3
Marker Setup: NXT Shocker
NDZ Short Feed Neck
CP Drop Forward
CP Reg
CP ASA On/Off
Smartparts All-American 14"
Proto One-Piece 14"
Evil Pipe Kit with Multiple tips
VL Vlosity
Crossfire 68/4500 Fiber Wrapped
Strengths: Visibility
No Fogging
Fast Lens Change
Price
Weaknesses: None worth noting
Review: Having got back into the sport a little more than a year ago, I ordered a new lens for my old JT mask (I bought it way back in 94'). That was fine for awhile but changing the lens was always a pain. I read some reviews for the Proto Switch system and decided to try them out. I started with the EL but then got the FS with the thermal lens and was very impressed. Not only was changing the lens fast but it was also very sturdy when locked into place. It did not fog (in warm or cold weather) and the visibility was great. What more can you ask for. I will probably be upgrading to the Axis soon. Proto makes a very good line of products.
Conclusion: Buy it and you shouldn't be dissapointed (unless you are very picky)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paint Saint Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PCS 20/20 w/ Fan
VL Armor
Many others I don't know the name of
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Pilot '05 w/ ACS
Empire ReLoader II
Pure Energy 3000 PSI 72 cu. in.
Stock everything
Strengths: Price
Camo
Lens
Availability
Coverage
Comfortability
Cleans Great
Grill
Strap
Weaknesses: Lens Removal
Foam
Face Size
Chin Strap
Too comfortable
Nose pressing
Review: I've tried many masks. None are as good as this. The lens is, as a fact, un-foggable. I bought this for myself after trying others' masks. I can't believe I got such a good product. Here go's the review.

Pros:
Price. As you'll see, this is an amazing mask. I'd pay even more for this mask than what I paid, but I'm glad I got it for such a low price. I got it online for $35. It's less expensive than many other masks.
Camo. It's got great camo, resembling that of which you would wear when waterfowl hunting. It's the best for the terrain I play airsoft in (sand; yellow, wild grass, lots of dead items). It also has a good hint of green in it, which works great for places that are more green.
Lens. I can breathe on it tons after holding in my breath in for a while, and it won't show the slightest sign of fog. I wore it to an eight-hour woodsball game. It was rather humid, and it was wet in some places. It never fogged. I never have used any anti-fog creme on it, though I do clean it with Plexus regularly. The lens also doesn't allow stuff to cling on it. The only obscuration I had when playing all day was it blurring - blurring, not fogging. I sprinted 1/3 mile with a flag, so I was sweating rather insanely. Just as I had reached my base it started pouring down the sweat out of the foam.
Availability. As far as I know, it's fairly popular among online stores. I haven't seen it in stores but I haven't looked. I like this mask so much I never have looked for anything else.
Coverage. It seems just about 1/8 inch to short near the chin, but I found it to be fine. Wraps well around the side of your head. I got my friend a more expensive mask for his birthday, and I can't stand it. This mask is exceptional if your head is a bit long.
Comfortability. There is a piece of foam just behind where your ear is on each side. I received three or four hits to the mask, all of them breaking. That may be a problem for you, but not for me. Anyways, I didn't know I had been fit until later I had removed my mask to possibly clean it. But, even then it was hard to tell. All three colors (orange, yellow, and neon green) blended in well, so the ref must not have noticed.
Cleans Great. The lens is extremely easy to clean once removed. It's a bit difficult to remove, but more of that later. It cleans easily even without being removed.
Grill. I got hit right next to over where my mouth is, and I didn't get any paint. Otherwise, it could possibly use some coating to make liquids from heaving breathing fall off. But, I don't really care.
Strap. It's nice. Doesn't move at all and is soft. Yet, it's still strong enough to hold well.

Cons.
Lens removal. It's easy enough to turn two nobs and pull off the lens, but it's harder to put back on. I guess I should say it's lens replacement. You can easily put back one knob, but the other (whichever side) is harder.
Foam. It's a bit more than wanted, but once you wear it for a while, it's fine. It gets soft easily (which is good- I'm talking about it being rough out of the package). Also, it could somehow dissipate sweat better.
Face size. The nose piece sticks out a bit from my face, but that may be just me. I just put the strap up higher.
Chin strap. It's kinda short, but I don't care. I never where it anyways. I have found no reason to. But, if you don't have it strapped, the padding (which is nice if you do use it) slips off slowly.
Too comfortable. If you are monitored closely, you may be called out for mask hits. I didn't feel anything the three or four times I was hit on the mask, so that may be a problem.
Nose pressing. If it does fit, it kinda squeezes your nose. Your nose needs to be very clear to wear it.
Conclusion: I love it. Buy it. Don't look for anything else. All the con's don't add up to the pro's. I won't need to look for anything else for any estimated three years to come. I highly recommend it to anyone, even if you sweat insanely.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbponcho Sunday, February 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bunch of high end masks
Marker Setup: Invert Mini and a karnivor
68/45 ACI tank with a Empire Feul reg
VLocity with a camo widemouth shell
Strengths: Comfortable
good Vision
quick lense change
Some think its an Invision (is that good?)
Weaknesses: Its not the smallest mask
Chin straps a little short
Review: This mask is the most comfortable mask ive worn and the lenses allow for a great view. The lenses change pretty fast allowing you to carry a couple (i prefer to have a mirror and yellow with me). the only problems ive found with it are that it may be a little big for some players(not realy a problem for me) and again isonly a problem for some people was the chinstap which when i wear it it is pretty tight on my neck. Inve noticed that a lot of people think its a dye invision so i guess that might be good if you want one but dont wanna pay extra.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a good mask. Im probly gonna replace it at some point with a newer smaller mask but it is definately comfortable and stays in place even if you dont wear the chinstrap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballjerk Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce profiler se in red+much smaller and more comfortable than the switch FS, i think the profiler blows the proto out of the water.
Marker Setup: ion, red dusted cp rake trigger,red dusted cp rail and on/off asa, dye ultralite-black dusted back and red dusted tip, redz cam lock, halo b with rip drive, and 5000psi evil tank
Strengths: Large range of vision, protects head well
Weaknesses: TOO BIG, neck strap is annoying and small, and no cool color varieties
Review: I got the proto switch Fs when i really got into paintball, it was good and i liked it for a while. However, it was too big for me, a teenager and it had a really small neck strap that itched and felt wierd if you didnt wear it. the proto rarely got bounces on it and the color varieties were just boring. This is probably a good woodsball mask, but i am a tournament airball player, not woods. I think this mask holds up well, however. It never got old and scratched up. GET THIS MASK IF YOU ARE VERY BIG AND LIKE TO PLAY WOODSBALL BUT NOT IF YOU LIKE AIR AND SPEEDBALL AND ARE SMALLER.
Conclusion: Good 4 woods, NOT FOR SPEED!!!!!!!! not the best mask on the market.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

maxxch05 Friday, October 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Skul Mask
JT Spectra
V force V Shield
Marker Setup: Autococker Trilogy
00' Shocker S/F
00' autococker
05' Racegun HB
Strengths: Great look
Great protection
Weaknesses: Bad visability
Bad condensation
Review: I was excited to use the goggles because they looked awsome. In colder or more humid climates condensation builds up on the inside of the mask. I believe this is due to breath not venting away from the inside. It was also very dificult to clean the mask off between rounds. It would leave a haze the caused bad glare. I have used other masks that you could wipe with your sleeve and clean easier than that mask could be cleaned with a rag and windex.
Conclusion: Great look, bad lenses, bad venting. since being able to see clearly is atleast a 3rd of the total function for a goggle system it should loose that much of a score.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media