paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
chpsuey4u Tuesday, September 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Armor
Tippmann Mask (unsure of model number)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1 w/ Blackheart
Double Trigger
Invert Reloader 2
PMI 72/3000 HPA Tank
Proto 12" Barrel
Strengths: Comfort
Looks
Breathability
Quality
Weaknesses: Chin strap is annoying, but it's not a big deal.
Review: This is for the record, I love this mask. I used to use a Tippmann mask, but the lenses scratched too bad to see out of it. I really didn't like the mask that much, so I opted to buy a new one. I did my research and I was looked into the FS. I purchased it for $50 at Academy. I got the Digi-Cam colored; at first I was disappointed becase I wanted black. The color grew on me and I really like the Digi-Cam. The mask is comfortable, it breathes well, and I am able to hear people better. Also the mask is a easy to clean. The first day I got the mask the lens got cracked due to someone shooting me less than 10 ft away. It wasn't a manufacturers problem it was the idiot who didn't follow the rules' fault. I replaced it with a thermal lens and it is much better.
Conclusion: I recommend this mask to everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

808nemesis Sunday, July 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Events
Strengths: Comfort-Really comfortable
Price-Under $80 brand new
Protection-protects face/jaw line and forehead
Weaknesses: Fogging-Lens fogs after a few games -faster on hotter days;anti fog a must
Review: This mask is very comforatable and the price is pretty good.It protects alot of the forehead and almost majority of your face.There is many lens replacements available in different tints.Only gripe is the lens.It tends to for up pretty fast so you must use an anit fogging solution.
Conclusion: Great mask for the price.Highly recommended as long as you use a anti fog
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JordanBmx Friday, May 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
GXG Stealth
Marker Setup: Tippmann Bravo One Tactical
GXG 200 Hopper
12oz CO2
Strengths: Comfort
Durability
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Only used the mask twice but was shot in the side of it, ball bounced straight off. Extremely comfortable and looks cool (i bought the camo version). Thermal lense didnt fog up even after full day of playing. The price is abit more than some masks but its a great investment.
Conclusion: Best mask for the price but i reccomend thermal lense.

BUY IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 1st, 2009 at 11:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EMT/Firefighter Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nVader
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP Autococker
68/4500 HPA
Evolution III (eggy) hopper
Strengths: VERY easy to clean!!!! Comfortable!!!!!!
Weaknesses: A little pricey but that's it!
Review: This mask is by far the best I have used! I started with a JT nVader and then went to the Dye invision. What a difference! Then I sold all my gear thinking I was done with the sport...oops...So I got the Proto...WOW! I am very impressed with this mask. It is VERY easy to clean! It only takes about a min. to take it out clean it and put it back in! Talk about comfort...the only reason I know I'm wearing it is because I know I'm playing the sport. I usually forget to take it off in the safe zone or on brakes because it doesn't bother me at all. GREAT MASK!!!!!
Conclusion: BUY IT!!!! You will LOVE it!!!!! 100 should be on the scale for this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slowerpig81 Wednesday, February 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none that I can remember well enough (field rentals)
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
APE Rampage Board
Cyclone feed system
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA Tank
-or-
SC Black CCI Phantom
14" stock barrel
Rear Bucket changer
Stock class stick feed
Custom ghost ring

Secondary:
Tiberius T-8
2 mags, SpecOps holster, 4 8-rd tubes
Strengths: Looks
Comfort
Anti-Fog
Good Protection
Quick Change Lenses
Weaknesses: Not much, small gap between goggle and lens frame (see review)
Review: First off, I have not tried other masks, so I cannot compare this mask to others.

This mask is, like everyone else says, very comfy. The foam is very soft and thick. Occasionally, at the end of games I feel like I want to take it off, but I might just wear it a little tight because I tend to run hard and fall sometimes, and I like to be safe just in case.

Even with the single lens, it has good fog protection. It only fogged on me once with the single lens, and never fogged with the thermal lens. I live in St. Louis and it is usually pretty humid here (70%+).

Personally, I like the look of this mask. You may not, but you can obviously see from pictures. It comes in a good variety of popular colors, and you could always paint it!

It has a flexible plastic bottom, where there is black. It also comes with a removable visor.

Cleaning is easy, the mask comes apart in pieces:
Lens, lens frame, visor, strap, goggle frame (part with foam), and main goggle body (all the rest).

Lens changing is pretty easy. It can take a little finicking with the twist locks to get them to pop out, but it is no big problem.

Lens choices are many, I had a problem with a thermal I bought, the inner lens was separated from the main one, look out for this when you get a lens.

The mask has one design flaw: In the cheekbone area (on the outside of the mask), there is a small gap in between the lens frame and the main goggle frame.
I was playing in a building with a window, I looked out and a player that was not thinking shot me where I described (not on the lens, on the main part). This caused the main part of the mask to deflect while the lens frame stayed where it was, widening the gap between the two. Paint splatter shot up into my eye, and my eye got paint in it. Nothing major, just rinse my eye (which it was doing with tears, profusely) and the inside of the mask. I think that there should be some interlocking part that goes there to stop the gap, but this incident was rare and shouldn't have happened (player mistake). I am not saying you should stay away from this mask, it is still quite safe, just that was annoying.
Conclusion: This is a great mask, I recommend it. The small gap was a nuisance that one time (see review), though.

It gets a 9 because of the gap.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 13th, 2008 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

escort91 Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Profiler
Vforce Vantage
JT elite/radar
Extreme rage 2020
Dye invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
scope
saw stock
16 jj full tilt 2 pc
mp5 shroud
stovepipe
Strengths: Comfortable
Looks great
Rare
15 second lens removal
Weaknesses: Snug on my nose
Fog (both personal problems)
Review: Proto Switch FS -- mines the green one

Strengths

This mask fits very well, the foam is very soft and comfortable. Padding everywhere

The mask looks amazing in my opinion, and not everyone you see has one, which makes you unique, unlike everyone on a field that has either a JT cheapo or a Vforce Profiler.

Function..

This mask has one of thee fastest/easiest lens removal systems available, it falls just short of a vforce vantage.. but is much better than the Dye invision lens removal.

The mask has a rubberized bottom part, rather than solid plastic, which enables bounces not breaks. That part is a good size, so you won't be getting shot in the chin, unlike the Dye invision.

This mask has full 180 degree visibility thru the lens, so you can see everything, vforce fits a tad better, but you see lots of lens frame,
slightly better fit, vs. slightly better vision, it's up to you.


Weaknesses

The foam on these masks is great, but if your face is anything like mine, the foam over your nose will 'pinch' a bit, and slightly restrict breathing through your nose. (personal problem I assume, i havent read any other reviews that mention this)

FOG the most evil word known to paintballers. This mask fogs, for me, as does every mask ever made. Every mask I have ever used has fogged. Therefore it is another personal problem, Im sure some of you are the same way.
(im around 5'8" 155 lbs, heavy breathing, and I sweat like there is no tomorrow).
Conclusion: Minus my personal problems, im really not sure there is a better mask out there,... maybe a vforce, for the fit, but you sacrifice your visibility..

Very similar to the Dye invision, but the Proto is better, and alot cheaper, so the decision is easy.

They say theres always room for improvement, and I believe that..

so overall, the Proto Switch FS deserves a....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 4th, 2008 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuctphuc Sunday, August 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Scott, Vents
Marker Setup: Blue/Silver Epi
Clamping feed neck
360 QEV
TechT L7 Bolt
Halo
91/4500
Strengths: The quick lens change.
Weaknesses: Second lens would be nice.
Review: This is all around a good mask. Takes maybe a 5 minute job for clean up and the looks of the mask arent bad either. Having a spare lens would make this way faster. You can also buy the fan for this too. The bottom half is nice and soft and flexible. Thermal lens also works nice.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like the ease of changing lenses.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heinous Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental VForce
Marker Setup: 2006 MacDev Cyborg
MacDev long rail
MacDev on/off ASA
Vlocity with Speed Feed
Dye Throttle 45/4500
Strengths: Convenient lens removal
Nice view.
Standard anti-fog lens.
Nice foam.
Rubbery jaw bounces balls.
Weaknesses: Mask stays in place, until pushed by something even a little bit.
Tiny chin strap.
Review: The mask is nice. I've gotten quite a few jaw bounces thanks to the rubbery material there. Default anti-fog lens is a plus. Horizontal field of view is wonderful, but for me I really had to turn up my head to see anything tall while I'm crawling, even with the visor off: the lens is wide enough but could be made a little taller, even half an inch taller would be good enough.

The foams are real soft and gets their job done.

The back strap has good quality and keeps the mask in place, but for some reason the masks easily moves out of place when it gets pushed around. I never tried double-strapping like others have though.

The lens system is fast and easy, albeit sometimes needs a little oomph to get things to fit. I suppose better make things fit tightly than to have your lens fall of during a game.

The chin strap is kind of hard to clip on while wearing the mask, especially with gloves on. I wouldn't mind it being one size larger.

The chin strap keeps the mask from flipping over your head, but there is nothing to keep the mask from slipping down toward your neck.

Those are, of course, little pet peeves. Overall I would recommend this mask.
Conclusion: This is a good quality mask with modest looks. It is for those of us who want a quality mask without the showoff styles of the fancy ones.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
JT Elite Nvader
JT Spectra
Marker Setup: Double pistols as primaries.
Core ZX gear was sold and replaced by dual Tiberius Arms Tac8's.
2 Camo holsters
Strengths: Oh so comfortable! Easy lens removal.
Weaknesses: Chin strap annoying if you don't like it.
Review: LENS REMOVAL:
When I heard the lens was easy to remove, I was thinking "So what? Who cares?" After getting this mask and removing it, it's really incredible how easy it is to remove. All other masks I've used take forever to take apart. With the Proto Switch FS, taking it apart takes a whole 15 seconds and all your fingers are intact afterwards. Lens removal is important for cleaning b/c otherwise grease and oils from the paintball field get stuck and breaks it down and gets all nasty.

I recently took the whole thing apart in 5 different pieces. It's again, super easy to disassemble and reassemble. It can't get any better for cleaning. I'd give it an 11 out of 10 for ease of removing parts.

COMFORT:
Wow, it's comfortable. It doesn't have Dye's softears, but it does have padding on the ears. It's the most comfortable mask I have.

VISIBILITY:
It has more than decent peripheral vision which is perfect for playing on the field. You don't want to have narrow vision on the field. The Switch FS is perfect.

LOOKS:
I think it's much better than the EL simply b/c it looks cooler with the two tone color scheme. If you want to save some cash, either by the FS used like I did from pbnation.com or buy the EL. It's basically the same mask. I don't know of any difference other than looks.

EXTRAS:
Not all masks on the market come with chin straps. This one does! I use it and kinda like it. It feels like it fits on my face better and it's not going anywhere. Some people find it annoying.

SHAPE:
I like this mask better than the other ones I've used b/c it is wider than most masks. It covers my face more for protection.

MATERIAL:
The bttom part of the mask is very soft and can allow paintballs to sometimes bounce. It also just feels a lot nicer than those nasty hard plastic ones you see for rent on pb fields.
Conclusion: Proto quality is identical to Dye, but just has the cheaper price tag. Go for the EL to save more money. Lens removal is super easy! Someone did their homework and designed the mask very well for lens removal. It's insane how easy it is. You'll love it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 7:29 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lenny17 Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
rental masks
Marker Setup: PCS US-5 (stock) w/ 48/3k air tank
Strengths: Comfort, field of vision, doesn't fog
Weaknesses: lens cleaning, I guess
Review: After renting and suffering through the garbage masks they give you, I made a point of buying a good thermal lensed mask. I wear glasses, so I tried on a handful of masks before purchasing these.

I am extremely pleased with how well this mask fits. It sits comfortably over my glasses, but is not at risk of coming loose or off. The foam is very comfortable, and I didn't find myself needing to tear of my mask as soon as I was off the field. Even during 6 hours of scenario play, I never had any fog on my lens, even when others I was playing with would.

The field of vision is excellent, I don't lose any peripheral vision at all.

Changing the lens is also very easy. Just twist the two locks a bit, and the front frame pops out allowing you to get to your lens. Reassembly is just as easy.

Communication seemed unimpaired as well. The venting around the mouth and ears didn't seem to affect my heaing or speaking. Only issue might be that when yelling, your jaw does drop below the lower edge of the mask a little. I haven't been shot in the jaw yet, but I suppose it is a possiblity.

Cleaning the lens was a bit annoying. I found that only using water and a lens cloth, I would still sometimes have an oily residue on my lens that would require a little more cleaning. Not terrible, but just kind of annoying.

Other: the mask did include a chin strap, which is a very tight fit. I guess this is to keep it secure, but I find it annoying and don't use it. I've found that the mask stays in place just fine without it. The mask also includes a visor, which I do use. It doesn't obstruct your vision at all, and has deflected a few shots for me. It also came with a mask bag.

*EDIT* THESE GOGGLES ARE NOT THERMAL. The guy that sold them to me said that they were, and in my lack of experience I believed it. They have been good goggles to me, but are a little overpriced considering they don't come with a thermal lens. For that I knock the rating down to 8. You can buy thermal replacement lenses, but the ones that come with the mask are not.
Conclusion: Definitely worth the money. To have a crystal clear, non-fogging full field of vision in a comfortable mask is worth it. Nothing makes your game quite like being able to see. I hate giving 10s for ratings, because not much is perfect, but this mask is darn close
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 10:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media