paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
EMPaint Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Enforcer
Strengths: - Very comfortable
- Good vision
- Good value
- Quick lens changes
- Fits well
Weaknesses: - The chin strap is kind of annoying
- Kind of large
Review: Before this, I used a JT Enforcer, which wasn't bad, but it sure wasn't great. This Proto is about $70, and gives excellent comfort and protection. I really only had two beefs with it, one being that I found the chin strap to be kind of annoying. I think it would work well for younger children, but for me, it was just something that rubbed me the wrong way, literally. Basic solution to this is just not to use it, and all is well, simple fix. My other beef is that it is kind of large, compared to things like the JT Proflex, or Dye Invision but, this is only a minor set back which is only barely worth mentioning.
Conclusion: For its price, it is probably the best thing you can get on the market. 9 out of 10 only because he chin strap annoyed me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 12:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheFuzz7532 Monday, February 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Regular Mask
Java Masks
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S
Evil Detonator
Evil Pipe Kit
Alamo Paintball Delrin Bolt
Scenario Dreams T-Board w/ Ultra Chip
Lightened Spring
Lightened Micro Switch and trigger
48/3000 Pure Energy Comp. Air

Viewloader Egg 2 w/ Z board
Strengths: Lens Change
Fit
Quality
Fog resistant
Flex Bottom
Weaknesses: Top part of mask doesn't seem to deflect paint that well.
Review: Well, I bought this mask a few months ago, I decided to get it on a few things. For one, its made by Proto, so you know you're getting a good product. I also decided to get a fog resistant mask that I could easily change lenses and take out to clean. This mask is great. It fits my face perfectly, and its comfortable too.

The chin strap is a nice touch too, I haven't found the mask out of place. I know some people said that they were pretty heavy, and that the mask would slide down. I can say it hasn't happened for me, then again, I'm a bigger guy so that might be helping.

The lens is top notch, I haven't had the mask fog up on me at all during a game. You CAN get it to fog if you're really trying and blowing hot air on it...but...usually you don't whip the mask off and do that in the middle of a match. The only thing it did do was to get a moisture build up. It was about 95 degrees out when it did, and it got it at the very top of the lens, and didn't really hurt my vision at all. As for changing the lens in the mask...well, let me count here and I'll do it right now to get the exact time it takes me. Well, it took me about a minute and a half, to take it apart and put it back in, taking my time and not being an idiot and ripping at it.

The bottom flex is very nice, I had ball bounce right off of it. The top though, doesn't seem to be as flexible, and I had a ball bread right at the side when I put my head out to check my situation. Bummer, but, that doesn't make it a horrible mask, it actually makes it a very safe and reliable feeling mask.

And don't forget, if you MUST have the fan or timer, they can also be purchased for this mask.
Conclusion: Okay, I'm not a seller, I'm not trying to get people to buy this, I'm simply reviewing with my feelings about it. This is all up to you. I love this mask, its slick, reliable, and definitely worth the money I spent on it. It's another quality product from Proto. Nothing is perfect and theres always room for improvement, so I can't give it a ten, but a 9 is definitely acceptable for this great item.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patfa38 Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nvader
Marker Setup: 98 custom, 16inch jj, 20 oz w/ on off, vl revvy, expansion chamber, rocket cock
Strengths: Doesnt fog, very soft foam, comfortable
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: I got the blue fs. i love it, the best mask ive ever owned.. i started off with just the plain old clear lense, then i scratched it in the woods so i went out to my local shop and got the smoke to clear fade, it looks great and helps with the sun in the winter. i havent been shot yet in it so i cant really say how good the rubber is with bounces but it should be alright. the chinstrap is a little tight so i dont really wear it. it does not fog at all it never has, my glasses will fog up before the lense
Conclusion: The fs is a good mask, not so bad on the wallet, i got mine for 60. and best of all it doesnt fog. buy one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB Professor Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force
JT
Scott
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Strengths: Light
Flexible
Comfortable
No-Fog
Affordable
Easy Cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: For a beginner to medium level paintballer, the Proto FS mask is absolutely perfect. It has a thermal cured lens that in 70 degree weather, never fogs. I am not sure about colder climates, but it is otherwise great. It is very light, and sits on the face very securely. I never took it off the whole day on the paintball field, because I forgot it was there. The mask is very flexible, meaning it forms to your face, and allows for many paintballs to bounce off. The only place paintballs will always break is on the lens. The "Switch" lives up to its name in terms of lens changing. It is very easy to change, takes less than 30 seconds.
Conclusion: For the $40 I got it for, it is a wonderful mask. I would rather buy a case of Proto Paint than spend the extra money on a newer Dye mask. However, the serious paintballer may not want this mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lampost411 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye invision, proto el
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Dye 72ci 4500psi tank
Empire B
dye hybrid pant, c5 jersey
dye attack pack (c7)
Strengths: Looks, comfort, visibility, bounces! replaceable lenses
Weaknesses: None yet!
Review: I bought this mask In June 2006 and played at pevs for a weekend, i was shot up in the face a lot. it was really easy to clean the lens it took 15 minutes to clean and dry! The goggles look amazing not as good as Invision or Axis but for $35 its amazing!
Conclusion: Good price, Great Quality, Great looks, why haven't you bought one yet???
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 at 1:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daytripper Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt enforcers
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro E powered by W.A.S, 14 inch J and J ceramic, expansion chamber, cyclone feed system with Palmers Qev, Rocket cock 2, no trigger spring, 20 oz. c02, trigger stop
Strengths: Easiest lens dispense
Look cool
Don't fog
Weaknesses: Kinda big but not enough for you to notice
Review: Got it for $50 and lets just say it was the best deal i ever got. great mask. The view is perfect, its well coushinedd and it protects your face. The best thing about the mask though, is how easy it is to take the lense out. You unscrew the sides, take the strap out, lean it foward and POP its out. makes it much easier to clean
Conclusion: Get it you wont be disapointed. ranks up there with the top Masks out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

I'm_Addicted Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye I3
Profilers
Events
Invisions
Proteus
Flex7
Flex8
Marker Setup: Vision Shocker
Smart Parts TurboCharger bolt
Q-Lock Feedneck
Eclipse Rail
NDZ EZ turn on/off
Virtue board
NDZ Rip trigger
Hybrid 06 CK grips
Strengths: Easy change lense
Weaknesses: Size
Review: I bought this off a friend, It was already Legacy Cut, and I put soft ears on it. The lense is great. I love the 1/4 turn to get it off. At first you notice that compared to a filer or an invision it is a small amount heavier. I mostly see woodsballers using these but they are used a fair amount in speedball aswell. I reccomend these to anyone because they are very nice and are also pretty cheap.
Conclusion: Great mask get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caustic Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used vforce armor and a pmi mask
Marker Setup: vs2
egg 3
45/3000 psi nitro
Strengths: Very comfortable
Good lens
Decently priced
Lens does not fog
Weaknesses: Kinda bulky
Pricey, but alot of masks are
Rubber bounce areas are too soft
Review: This was the first mask Ihad since my vforce armor and I love it. The rubber bounce part is great, albeit soft, and the lens is very clear. I first played on a rainy day, and it was about 80 degrees and sprinkling. The lens would not fog, even when I breathed on it. My friend was using an invision and had all sorts of problems, but it was kinda old so I don't know what was up. The mask if very comfortable, it rides nicely on the head, and the foam is very soft, but firm enough for nasal support. I don't wear glasses so I don't know if fits glasses well. The only gripe was it is kinda bulky, especially around the lower jaw, but the bounce rubber is there. I caught a few balls in the mouth because the rubber bent and the balls slipped by. I screamed. I know the rubber is supposed to be soft but that seems too soft. For what it is, I think it is pricey, but like I said alot of masks are.
Conclusion: This is a great mask that I would recommend to anyone who needs a nice mask. It has a few issues but everything does
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 16th, 2007 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

achab Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Pro Vantage
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Strengths: Wide field of view
Weaknesses: A real fiddle to get lens back in
Fogging every game
Review: I bought these goggles on-line after reading reviews on this site. They seemed to fit the bill for me, but I've been disappointed.

I wanted to avoid misting up more than anything, so I decided it was worth the money to buy thermal goggles.

They fit well and look good, so I was looking forward to trying them out, but they have misted up on me every single game. I live in the UK which admittedly is damp and wet. I play in the woods and admittedly I run around like a loon and sweat a lot. But we're talking about fogging so badly I haven't been able to see to walk and eventually had droplets running down the insides of the lens - The sort of thing you want to see on the outside of your beer glass not inside your mask. I wondered if my breath was getting into the lens space but the foam is pretty tight onto my face.

They are heavier than the V-Force Pro Vantage I initially bought, but the field of view is much better. Sadly I've given up and gone back to the cheaper V-Force. I could fork out for a fan but I can't decide if it's worth forking out for something that may or may not work and could just be an additional pain
Conclusion: Goggles are fairly personal in what suits who. These were utterly useless for me but others like them. Moral of the story: Probably best to try before you buy if you can when it comes to goggles. I've given a four for looks fit comfort and field of view, or you could say taken off six points for the monsoon that occurs behind my lens.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NS RecPaintball Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
- JT Radar
- Proto Axis (Only tested)
- JT Spectra
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
CP Inline Regulator
CP 2k5 On/Off
Strengths: -Lense
-Looks
-Padding
-Price
Weaknesses: -Maybe a little heavy
Review: I ordered this goggle system 2 weeks ago, a little skeptical, because I had tried the Proto Axis, which I loved, but it was pretty expensive. I pulled the FS out of the box, and immediately knew I had bought a quality product. Lets start with the lens.

--LENS--
Very nice thermal lens, which is switchable in less than 10 seconds (note: Proto SWITCH). The lens gives you at least 180dgrs of sight, so you can look left instead of moving your whole head left to see someone.

--PADDING--
The padding on this mask is very soft. You get excellent support around the eyes, and a little bit padding that sits just on top of your ears. This mask is very comfy! You could wear it for at least an hour and not complain.

--LOOKS/PRICE--
This mask looks simply awesome in any color. I got mine in Smoke, which isn't black, but isn't grey either. Somewhere in between. I believe it comes in Red, Blue, Smoke, Black, and Olive. In price, these things are going for CHEAP these days (30$ at actionvillage or something like that).

Conclusion: If you want a new mask and don't want to empty your wallet, pick one of these things up! Comfy, durable, and price all make this mask great.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 8:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media