paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask / Proto Switch FS Mask

Proto Switch FS Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Switch FS Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Switch FS Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Proto Switch paintball goggle boasts an innovative 1/4-turn snap lock system. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop a new one in, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn the tabs back again to lock it in. Self-in venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.

FEATURES

* Silicone-woven rubber goggle strap
* Tiger tooth strap buckles
* Multi-ported ear piece
* 1/4-turn buckle
* Uni-directional venting
* Tirodial lens
Product Availability 
The Proto Switch FS Mask is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
schecter81 Thursday, September 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision
Proto Switch
JT Headshield (Garbage)
Marker Setup: Ion with ANS 90 Degree Frame and Razr Body
UFD S-Roller Trigger,
Trinity Q-Lock feedneck,
Shocktech Superfy Bolt,
SP 360 QEV,
Smart Parts Grips,
Evil Detonator Regulator,
Dye Mini Drop/Smart Parts On/Off
All American 14" Barrel

Proto Switch FS
47/3000 HPA
Strengths: Comfort
No Fog
Easy Change Lense
Weaknesses: Price of replacement lenses.
That is it.
Review: I have had the Proto Switch for about 2 years now and I have been extremely happy with them. They look good, are very comfortable, and have fantastic facial coverage. The Invision(my wife has one) tends to have a little less chin coverage and neck coverage. The Proto is a great mask for anyone. It is light and effective.

The only downfall is the price of the replacement lenses $35 cdn.
If you are replacing them at all often it really begins to add up.
The Profiler has lenses for $20 cdn
The E-Vents lenses are only $25 cdn

Just something to think about before making a final decision.
Conclusion: Great mask as a competitive price. Just make sure this is the mask you want.
Would have given it a perfect ten but the cost of the lenses is ridiculous.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

firecracker91 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
profilers
jt flex 7
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro Sf
evo 2
48 3000 n2
kaner barrel set
wgp clamp feedneck
Strengths: Very comfy
Nice lookin
Flex bottom
Easy lenses removal
Comes wit mask bag
A proto!!!
Weaknesses: Bit heavy
Nothin else
Review: I jsut got this mask and i loved it right out of the box. it was soooooo comfortable compared to my nooob beginner mask. the flexy bottom was a great add on and the lense removal is very easy and fast. it also looks sweet. i just thought it was a little to heavy and im a small guy so weight matters mucho. btw it was only 35 bucks on pbgear.com.(best site ever!!!)
Conclusion: I'd say go for it!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moose70 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Java Crap Mask
Dye Invision
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro E with ACT
W.A.S. Board
Rufus Dawg Stick Trigger
'06 Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Ricochet 2k
Strengths: Very Comfortable
Doesn't Fog
Good Ventilation
flexible jaw
Weaknesses: Not as pretty as the others EDIT-the lense is kind of easy to scratch.
Review: I picked this up off of action village for like 68.00us or something like that. It is a huge step up from the crappy java mask that came with my first gun. I was amazed at how I didn't get any fog; we were playing on about 16 acres so the games were long enoght to make other masks fog but apparently not this one. It doesn't look as good as the invision, but I thinks its more comfortable and bigger. It also has a flexible jaw so if you're lucky enough to get hit there it might bounce off. EDIT-The lense scratched after the third time I used it. Maybe I was just being too rough with it; i have land covered with low mesquite trees, so it could've scratched any masks.
Conclusion: Great mask, get it especially if you have a big head like me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 7:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vbg17 Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Custom 98
Strengths: Its very comfortable, and its very fog resistant.
Vary simple to change lenses.



Weaknesses: Can fog in extreme circumstances.
Its a little too big for my tastes.
Review: I have been wearing this mask for about a year now and I have never had a problem. When I first started with the rented mask I swore that I would never own a mask that wasnt thermal. And for the price you really cant beat it. It is very comfortable. Its big too, completly covering my jaw. This is a big deal for some people but for those that want an "agg" mask it is a simple mod to trim the mask down a little. And breaking down the mask to clean or switch lenses is very simple.
Conclusion: I would suggest this mask to anyone. It is comfy and it will treat you well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmz boy Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invision(slightly better)
Vantage(way worse)
Rental masks(lol)
Marker Setup: PILOT ACS 05'(RED TO BLACK FADE)
SMART PARTS 14 INCH PROGRESSIVE BARREL
HALO B WITH VICTORY
TRINITY Q LOCK FEEDNECK
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK(FIBRE WRAPPED) WITH DYE RHINO COVER(RED AND BLACK)
DYE STICKY 3'S(BLACK)
Strengths: Comfy
Looks pretty sweet
Quality
Weaknesses: Lens change(review)
There are cooler masks
Jaw slap
Review: Well might as well tell you this will be a very balanced review and it is basically a comparison to my invisions. I'll let you know that i've worn these several times and the same with the invisions.

PROTO'S STRENGHT'S

COMFY: Foam is comfy and draws sweat away from you face
LOOKS: Alot of people really like the look of these personally im in the middle, not truly impressed or disappointed by the looks
QUALITY:Proto is a very knowledgeable and dedicated company, there googles are very safe and will last you a long time without scratches

PROTO'S WEAKNESS'S

LENS REMOVAL: Well I think the lens change is very easy to get out however getting it back in, that's a different story, I got everything out in a few second but I couldn't get the lens back in for about 15 minutes. Maybe there's a trick to it but from what i experienced i wasn't impressed.
LOOKS: Nicer looking masks but three's nothing wrong with the look
JAW SLAP: Ok well i wanted to test the bounce of the mask so i put it on and had my friends shoot where the plastic is soft, Yea well I writing this with a fat lip. Granted the ball did not break.

Comfort+4
Looks+2
Quality+5
Lens changing-1
Looks compared to other masks neutral point
Jaw slap-3

11-4=7 I would say that's a pretty fare rating for this product maybe a 7.5

INVISION STRENGTH"S

COMFY: Dye's have the same foam however a slightly more comfortable ear foam insert(molds around ear more)
LOOKS: Sick look honestly with or without the visor(Personally I think the invisions are the most attractive mask ive come upon except for the grilz)
QUALITY: Again Dye is a very trusted well known company, there googles are very safe and will last you for years.

INVISIONS WEAKNESS'S

LENS CHANGE: Rarg, honestly i don't know how to change the lens yet. Im honestly afraid i'm gonna break something because it looks so complex.
JAW BONE SLAP: Well I did the same test with the protos. Note i had him shot me with the invisions first, The ball bounced and I barely felt that I was hit. Also note this test was conducted with the shooter being placed around 14 meters away with a tippmann A-5

Comfort+4
Looks+3
quality+5
Lens changing-3

12-3=9 Also I believe to be a fair rating

Finally I just wanted to address the price difference. I payed $100 for the invsions, my friend payed $80 for his Proto's. Basically I encourage you to save another 20 bucks and buy the Invisions however if your into the Protos get em. Just a final note I wasn't being in any way unfair to the protos because in the end you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: Good mask, if you like it get it, if you don't grab some invisions. 7.5 is my rating.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nightmare122489 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive tryed just about every mask I know 3 different store owners.
Marker Setup: Sp Ion with everything except grip frame
Strengths: Comfy
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Protos are good masks and they are very comfy but they are really heavy. When I wear these the weight makes me hotter and that makes more sweat then the weight makes the mask fall off my face because its too heavy and the sweat is preventing it from staying.
Conclusion: If you dont care about weight than this is a great mask.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chipolteranch Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well its a mask so i guess a lot.
Marker Setup: Sp8 stock, acog replica, apache ricochet hopper, HPA 68/45
Invert Mini, Empire Loader B2
Strengths: Visibility, Ventilation
Weaknesses: None to note
Review: I have gone through 2 of these mask because i was dumb enough not to account for all my gear and left it at the field. So continuing on with the review.

The mask is pretty well made. The assembly kinda sucks when messing with your lenses but at the same time when you get home the way it comes apart make it easy to thoroughly clean. You can remove the back strap by twisting the proto symbols on the sides in an upward fashion. Then you remove the lense and frame as one and then the lense comes out of the frame.

Actual field you is nice with the humidity crazy in florida fogging up is common. With this mask i have experienced no fogging up. I can hear very well with the mask on which is crutial in any paintball game from hearing teammates to listening for people in the woods. Protection is nice but if you get hit on the edge near the soft areas it stings. Because of that its not perfect
Conclusion: All in All Good Mask. Fits its purpose good visibility, able to hear very well and be heard are awesome. Though if you take a shot to the edge it hurts.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brando2569 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
cheap JT goggles, V-force Profiler
Marker Setup: set up 1- ICD Lasoya promaster black/Grey fade, black CP low pressure regulator, black CP razor drop forward, black CP on off asa, Black CCM adjustable no-rise feedneck, Black Smart parts Freak jr. barrel with .689 insert, Black Halo B hopper with rip drive, 50ci 3000psi tank (upgrading to 68/45 DXS tank soon), Proto Switch FS goggles with yellow/smoke faded lenses.

set up 2- Spyder Fenix, 14 inch j&j ceramic barrel, dye sticky grips. Ricochet apache loader, 50ci 3000psi tank.
Strengths: Field of vision, looks, comfort, easy to take apart.
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Review: These are great goggles i have used mine for two years now, I have replaced my stock lens with a yellow/smoke fade lens which make them look really cool, the field of vision is great, they are VERY comfortable, and they are easy to take apart and clean which is a great feature. when I bought mine 2 years ago i paid 70 dollars for them and now I see them as low as 45 dollars NEW which is a great price for such a great product. the only hindrance with these goggles is their weight which isnt THAT bad, but their still heavier than other goggles such as the profilers.
Conclusion: Overall these are great goggles for the price especially now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media