paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator / PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator

PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $280

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Includes Evil Detonator Regulator! Handles 100 to 500 PSI outgoing pressure
# Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye
# Powered by CO2 or N2
# Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting
# Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts
# Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver
# Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye
# Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery
# Custom vertical bottle adapter, micro gauge
# 17+ shots per second capability
# Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty
Product Availability 
The PMI EVO Special Edition with Detonator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
spike_ball999 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT 6.0 Exellerator, Tippman 98, Raptor, and various other blowbacks
Marker Setup: Automag Classic
ULE vert feed body
Intelliframe with blade trigger
Level 10
RT on/off
PMI Gas thru
Function direct mount ASA
14" Proto one piece barrel


Pirahna Evo SE (with Evil Detonator Reg)
Evil Driver Barrel
Evil on/off ASA
AC Derlin bolt
CCM Mid-rise
12v VL Revy
47/3k PMI
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt and barrel are a must. Feedneck and trigger recomended. Valve and Hammer if you want LP and/or less kick
Strengths: Upgradeable (if you know where to get parts)
Affordable
Looks good
Weaknesses: Slightly heavy
Loud
Not as upgradeable as Spyder
Kick
Review: I had taken a long break from paintball. After looking around for a while, I decided to get the Evo SE just for the fact that it already had one main upgrade on it; the Evil Detonator Reg.

Out of the box this looks and feels really nice. About the same height and just about weight of an Impulse. Definitly heavier than a Spyder.

Using it stock isn't bad. The barrel is very similar to a Razzor. Has a pretty big kick to it so it's not great on accuracy, but it's ok. The stock feedneck is small. I couldn't even fit a heavily sanded VL200 on it unless I really pushed. It ran fine at about 400 psi doing long strings and quick shots. Trigger feels a little squishy. There's no return spring. It just uses the microswitch to push it back. It does make for a light trigger pull.

Some upgrades that are a definite must for this are a new bolt and barrel. Both will help with accuracy a little.
A feedneck and trigger are recomended. As I mentioned, the stock feedneck is very tight so get yourself a clamping neck and save the sanding. It does take quite a bit of force to get the stock neck off. Triggers aren't too hard to find, but they're uncommon. Boss, FBM, and Extreme Rage all make triggers for the Evo. Although, I'm pretty sure that they won't be making the Extreme Rage anymore.
The last couple of upgrades are a high flow valve and lighter hammer. Piranha hammers are probably some of the biggest I've seen in a blowback, so you can see why this thing has kick. The Evo uses Spyder valves. Just like the triggers, there aren't too many options for Piranha hammers. They are out there though.

After most of these upgrades and breaking in the reg a little bit more, I got it running at about 375psi with just a new bolt for internal upgrades. It was still loud, but not as much as it was.

Oh, and if you're looking for a loader, just get a Revy or Egg. My revy plus the eyes made sure that there was no chopping. Plus, you're probably not going to be doing much more than 12 to 15 bps on this anyway due to the kick and trigger.
Conclusion: The Evo is a great entry to mid level marker. It's upgradeable and affordable. Accuracy isn't bad, but could be better. Performance is pretty good but again has room for improvement. It's probably one of the better new blowbacks out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joshwhoshoots Saturday, November 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5---it's O.K
Spyeder Victor II---Eh, its a blowback, what can I say?
Marker Setup: Efoce Evo Special Edition
Ricochet Apache LED
Dye Mini Gauge
XSV feedneck
20oz CO2
Fireball Mountain Trigger
T-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger- The stock trigger is a really funny feeling
Hopper- You can easily outshoot a gravity feed
Air- You would probably want air, just to be more consistent
Strengths: It has eyes
non-blowback
E-trigger
Regulator
Gauge
Weaknesses: Bad stock trigger
Review: O.K once I got it, I reallized that it needed a new trigger. So I bought a fireball Mountain Trigger (original.) That greatly improved my ROF, then I reallized that I would need a new board. So I got the T-board. Once I had both of these I was on fire! The only thing that I probably should do now is get N2.
Conclusion: If you are still a begginer, getting into better paintball, go ahead and get this gun, you will be the envy of your neighborhood. I give it a 9 because I can't find new grips for the darn thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

SlavaROKZ Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon x - Semi doesnt compare
JT marker - semi doesnt compare
Pilot - More E settings and better trigger, but no eyes and looks bad
Marker Setup: Icon X
Pure energy 20 ounce
Extreme rage hopper
New spring kit

Piranha Evo SE With Detenator reg
Trinity Impulse Thread Feedneck
EVLution 3
Pure Energy 72ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck-(Most hoppers dont fit into the current one, impulse threads)
Trigger- The stock one is ok, but i'd upgrade
Strengths: Flush Cocking
Good looking
Pretty accurate for stock
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy
Eyes sometimes chop but very rare
Review: I HAVE NOT PLAYED WITH THIS MARKER YET. I tested it in my friends back yard and i lost my mind. The thing was very accurate from about 20 feet. The speed was very nice and the gun itself is very comfortable. I had to buy a feedneck because my Eggy wouldnt fit in the stock feedneck. Impulse threads work with this gun. The eyes worked well but i chopped once with them on (I might have forgotten to turn my egg on). The gun is very comfortable and i enjoy shooting with it in my back yard.
Conclusion: If you have a spare 100 bucks go on ebay and buy it. For a gun with eyes, and flush cocking this is an awesome deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goatload5 Wednesday, April 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder's, Automag, Shocker, WGP's, ect...
Marker Setup: -PMI EVO w/ Evil Detonator
-14" Evil Driver
-Clamping Feed Neck
-Dead on Pro Drop
-Macro Line
-Empire Reloader 2
- 47in Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-Board with all the goodies
All the Above
Strengths: Fire Rate, this marker can really throw paint for a "low end electro"
Weaknesses: This thing is an air hog!
Review: I've used this gun for a little over a year now, and haven't hade any problems at all with it. Unlike some of the other markers I've used recently. This marker Doesn't have a lot of upgrade options like some of the spyders, or the ion, but I think its a Solid Performer for the price. Just to give you an Idea I've got a new Spyder Pilot with all the goods and I'd rather play with the EVO. Plus the EVO is just way sexier!
Conclusion: Great Marker, Great Value, Good Potential, Low Maintainence, Excellent Price! Especially considering you can pick one up for around $120-130 now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wood wrath Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra ( a little better)
Spyder Imagine (worse)
Viewloader Maxis EG (a lot worse)
Many Pirhanas( Evo se is the best)
Marker Setup: EVO, egg, 20 oz , evil denonator, ER trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
barrel
fast hopper (evolution II, revolution, empire, halo frontman)
Strengths: fast
cheap- BEST GUN UNDER 150$
Accurate
Looks
Regulator
Weaknesses: Regulator takes time to figure out
Feedneck- to small
Review: This gun is crazy!
This is by far the best gun under 150 and if you get a new tigger this thing will rip. this is my first gun and it has worked well. It is a great beginner speedball gun (don't expect to use it in a novice league and tough in rookie depending on where you play) and a good woodsball. The feedneck is bad, no hopper will fit in it.
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 2:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

afroninja Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a spyder TL-R which is nothing compared to this
I've also used a piranha E-force VF which is again nothing compared to this.
Marker Setup: viewloader revolution 2 hopper
smart parts linear barrel

everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
barrel
Strengths: Shoots very fast
Durable
Accurate with stock barrel
Uses c02 or n2
Weaknesses: Weird sized feedneck
Review: I first got this gun about a month ago. I got it because my old gun (piranha E-force vf)
kept breaking down on me. When i first opened up the box and saw the gun...WOW! It first off looks INCREDIBLE. It has excellent finish on it . I put in a battery and gassed it up with my ANTI SIPHON c02 tank (you definitely need one) and started shooting...wtf? it isn't shooting! ohhh....I didn't realize you had to hold the on button for so long. Now it worked and i started ripping on the trigger. boomboomboomboombooomboomboomboomboom!
The gun was shooting at about 16 bps and that was with no experience with this trigger type. This was with no paintballs. I tried hooking up my viewloader revolution 2 hopper and it wouldn't fit! That problem was easily fixed with a hopper neck thing.
Now i shot it with painballs with the same results as before. I was shooting fairly quickly and the paintballs were shooting in perfect ropes.

overall:
the only problem with this gun is the feedneck. It really can shoot about 20 bps and has minimal kick to it.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to anyone who wants power and accuracy but doesn't want to spend $250 on a gun.
i give it a 9. It'd have a 10 if the feedneck was normal sized but oh well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jbwin Saturday, October 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, Icon Z, Eforce, Jt Protium, Ion w/ blackheart, PM6
Marker Setup: Evo with Detonator
16" All American
48/3000 N2
Egg II
Blade Original style trigger
Cp feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, barrel, drop forward, feed neck,
Strengths: FAST!
Reliable
Eyes
Cheap
FAST!
Weaknesses: Det. Reg. can be a little tricky to get working right
Review: This gun is really good for the money. The regulator can give you some problems like when you're shooting then the bolt with collapse and you'll have to cock again but if you experiment adjusting it they you can find the right setting and you won't have to cock. It is really fast with its original trigger but it can really make a difference with the PMI blade trigger from fbmfactory.com it doesn't chop so that is a plus. So all you'll need is a hopper to keep up with it. I maxed out at 25bps and my friend's evo capped at 29. I'm not sure how accurate that is b/c that was on a crono. This is a good gun buy it!

Edit:
The Evo is an extremely underrated gun. I just won a tournament Saturday and two of us on the team were using evos. I was using an ion but we still whooped up with the evos. I think that the only difference between the evo and the ion is the ion is lighter and smaller, and is more customizable. Other than that, A stock Evo rivals a Stock ion.
I am now using an ion because with blackheart and a sling trigger it absolutely rips.
Changing rating cause these guns rock!
Conclusion: Great gun, fast, cheap, eyes. Buy this gun and rival anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 11th, 2006 at 2:48 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

bigplaya0211 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: PMI EVO
Evil Detonator
Apache hopper
smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
hopper
Strengths: Anti chop eyes
fast
accurate
Evil Detonator
field timer
gage
really easy to repair
Weaknesses: No fully auto
no burst
but don't really need them
no others
Review: This gun is really nice for the buck$ shoots really fast never breaks balls vere accurate can hit telephone poll from 50 yards 9 out of 10 times shot 18 balls per second out of box! You don't have to take a part the gun when take out and putting back bolt.
Conclusion: I say buy it its a really nice gun easy to fix and upgrade fight with the best of them
awesome gun to have
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EVO25 Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha R6
Marker Setup: Black evo detonator, 16 oz. co2,overdrive hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothin
Strengths: I like everything on this gun .
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I bought this gun about 2 years ago and i just found this website so i thought id write a review so here it is.This is an excellent gun and i got it at a very cheap price off of ebay brand new in the box took it out and shot it .Shoots about 15 bps,very fast.The eyes are excellent haven't chopped a ball yet .
Conclusion: This is a very good and awsome,and fast gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ihaveanA-5 Saturday, February 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: A-5
e grip w/ was board(just ordered it)
shocktech bolt and performance tube
14" proto 1 pc. barrel
double trigger
20 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, decent hopper, new trigger frame all that jazz
Strengths: Fast
Inexpensive
Looks
Very Short Trigger Pull
Electronic
Weaknesses: Small Leak Out Of Ram Air, Only Decent Stock Barrel
Review: this is my friends gun, he got it about three months ago for $130 and has loved it since it came out of the box. once it came out we started to tinker a little, but it was just taking things apart and putting them together again. once we got CO2 in our tanks, we went out and shot, but he noticed that he could hear CO2 coming out f somewhere. so we went back to my house and teflon taped the ram air, that helped control it, but it didnt cure it. after that we shot it a couple of times and it worked great, real fast, and beside the leaking, it was really efficient.
Conclusion: I Would Recommend This Product To Anyone Who Wants A Really Good Gun At An Inexpensive Price. I Give This Product A 9 Because Of The Bad Stock Barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media