paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO
[ View Photos (58) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Body – New 06 ETek Body. Def Tek offset feed tube, No Frame Tag slot, No Frame Tag, Body-Ported Barb Fittings for Rammer Inlets. Dual ETek Rubberised jewels, ‘Cocker Threads
• Feed Tube – Standard Clamping Feed Tube the same shape, size and fitting method as Ego 5 and 6
• Barrel – New 13” Length, reduced porting, reduced external machining, new formed stick-in rubber badge. ‘Cocker threaded.
• Bolt – New Shape. Much shorter version of Ego 5 Bolt. Same Ramped Top, ramped ball detent grooves, open bolt face, Drilled single hole inlet, plain shape at rear. Interchangeable with all Ego 05 and 06 bolts.
• New Valve Chamber and Valve – Enlarged Valve chamber offers operating pressures of 250-280 psi
• Rammer Housing – New ETek Rammer and Rammer Housing. No QEVs, but direct Fore and Aft Porting to Rammer. Does not accept any Ego 05 or 06 stock OR aftermarket rammers or rammer housings.
• Bolt Pin – New Shape. Plain Turned Pin. Larger diameter to allow easier grip and removal
• Ball Detents – Same as Ego 6
• Eye Covers – Same as ’05 Ego and Ego 6
• LPR – Adjustable LPR. Remodelled cap. Large Valve chamber for low pressure operation.
• FRM – New Shape and Mounting system.
• Inline Reg – New Shape for ‘06 ETek, same internals as and Ego 5 and 6, Swivel Inlet
• Frame – New Shape, larger trigger guard, single push-button, 3 x True-color LEDs, Rubberised aesthetic semi-transparent control console with EGO logo and viewing windows for LEDs, 4 x tapped bottom-line mounting holes. Spring trigger return, micro switch operation. Integrated slide rail/dove-tail
• Trigger – New for ‘06 ETek. Blade profile, radius edges, thinner section, centrally mounted trigger prong for enhanced PCB contamination protection.
• Parameters – Firing Mode, Eye Off ROF, Capped Modes ROF (Semi 1 is Uncapped), Valve Dwell, Debounce, Ball-in-Place
• PCB – New for ‘06 ETek featuring a micro-switch trigger, 3 x True-color LED, Single external push button, single set-up button, all tourney modes: Semi, Capped Semi. Capped Ramping (NPPL, PSP, Millennium compatible), and a locking facility to make tournament legal.
• On/Off/Purge System – same as system found on SL66
• Break-Beam Eyes – High efficiency break-beam eyes and advanced eye logic. Auto-off default.
• Grips – ‘05 Ego and Ego 6 Style mounting. Current grip is same as the existing Ego 6 grip. Soft rubber wrap-around with metal jewel Logo.

Weight: 1.12 kg / 2.47 lb with Barrel, On/Off/Purge, Regulators, Fittings and Battery Length: 508mm / 20.0” with 13” Barrel
Width: 28mm / 1.1” with Eye Covers
Height: 225mm / 8.8” Including Feed Tube and On/Off/Purge Assembly
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
maggot515 Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm6, egos, dms
Marker Setup: ion
halo b
j&j 2 piece barrel kit
88/4500 nirto duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i know of only tested
Strengths: Cost
Can perform like other high end markers
Accurate
Air efficient
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: None...only tested
Review: i went to my local paintball store to test one out cause i have been hereing alot about them and just wanted to try one out for my self.

my first impression was how light it was and how comfortable it was to hold. i didn't see much of a weight difference between the e-tek and the ego 06. i did find it to be alot lighter than the g7. i aired it up and fired about a case through it. it was ball on ball accurate and i was using those crappy monster balls from walmart. after about a case i still had alot of air left, i was amazed at how air efficient it was. the board with the LED feature is extremely easy to use and i dont see why not having an LCD screen is that big of a deal since most people upgrade their boards anyways, and most upgraded boards use LED

i have also heard from alot of people that the e-tek is the same as an ion only for an ego.
THERE IS NO COMPARISON BETWEEN AN ION AND THE E-TEK, this is coming from someone who owns an ion and the e-tek is a much better marker. the trigger pull is extremely short and extremely light, i couldnt find much of a difference between the trigger of the e-tek and the ego, they seemed about the same, and i have used an ego before. it is much faster and there should be no comparing between the ion and e-tek
Conclusion: Overall i think this is a great marker. its accurate, light, fast, and easy to work. I believe for the price of this marker compared to the price of an ego this is a better buy and I would buy this and save my money to buy a couple upgardes like a new board or barrel. i give this gun a 10, but i did only test it so i did not have any problems at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ash22 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego 5
ego 6
sl66 xsv ego
sl66 bushwackers ego
nexus ego
etek ego
Marker Setup: sl66 xsv ego
stako air bottle
vlocity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
2 piece barrel
Strengths: Price
Speed
Weaknesses: One piece barrel
Review: Well, it is a decent marker and comes at a kind of decent price. The main problem with the ETEK is the 1 piece barrel. I used one and i had loads of barrel breaks. If you get a different barrel then it should be great. Also, you need to use high quality paint, i was using some rubbish paint that cost me like £20 for a box, and it didn't do much good for the gun. Anyway, to the good points. It is light, as long as you have a half decent bottle and by half decent i mean not a steel bottle. It looks good, looks like any other ego, but on the back of the grip frame it says ego and it lights up when you turn it on/off which is pretty cool. Easy to maintain, most of the problems with an ego is the bolt. Its a good job that they don't have an enclosed bolt otherwise you would be in a bit of a pickle. As the same with every ego, they are easy to upgrade, you can get different colour CCU kits and much more.
Conclusion: would buy this anyday.
Would reccomend it to anyone who wants an ego but doesnt want to get into debt
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bamboi128 Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 05 Speed
Angel One
Dark Shocker
DM5
DM6
03 Trauma Matrix
Marker Setup: Ion, trinity on/off, freak w/ all american back, centerflag reg, CP roller trigger, Trinity t-lock, black macroline, blue and black body kit, blue Dye stickies, blackheart board, Shocktech reg, L6 bolt... SOLD for $400

NOW:
E-Tek Ego, Hybrid Lady Grips, CP Barrel, Hybrid Push-button, Virtue Board, DART Bolt, NDZ Bolt Pin, XSV Clamp Feed, Pure Energy 45/45 Tank, EVLution 2 w/ Z-Board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grips, Bolt Pin, Bolt.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Light, Fast, Modes, Looks, No Kick.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: This gun is a BEAST! It rips straight from the box, and it looks like a dream. It has no kick, you can whip it around like an extension of your arm, its absolutely crazy. Occasionally it will start to leak out of the solenoid if the screws are too tight, and if its dirty, but thats all. I have never had a problem that took more than 5 minutes to fix. And if you ever have a serious problem, just send it in with the warranty.
Conclusion: This gun is crazy! Its the best gun that I have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Vlegel76 Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed '05
Russian Legion intimidator
Marker Setup: * Planet Eclipse Jungle E-Tek
* Stako bottle
* Guerrilla Air Ambush 4500 psi LP
* V-locity hopper
* Pepperstickz barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
* Stock barrel is fine, but can use upgrade.
Strengths: * Fast!!!
* Light
* Fast!!!
* Design
* Low profile
* Fast!!!
* Use it straight out of the box.
Weaknesses: * None
Review: When my old marker refused to work, a friend handed over his E-Tek so I could continue playing. I had in my hands and it felt so good! Slim body, low profile, very light and f*** fast.
I fell in love. I needed to have one as well.
It is a nice and easy gun to handle. Easy and fast to clean. Design is nice and functional. Settings are done in a couple of seconds and had no problems with the gun till so far.
It is an affordable gun and won't let you down against Angels, Timmy's etc.
Conclusion: For an affordable price you have a nice fast gun. Easy to maintain and lightweight.
It for sure won't let you down. I used mine straight out of the box and did not need to make any adjustments or what so ever. It immediately is ready for some good paintball action..
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 19th, 2006 at 1:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pimpc81 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs
ion
spyder T-XL
none of these compare..not even close
Marker Setup: Night Etek
13"stiffe carbon barrel
Reloader b with rip drive
68/45 pe carbon fiber tank
Virtue Etek board
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt like a hardshell or the new cure bolt and a new barrel will do really good.
Strengths: Crazy fast
Light
Looks really sexy
Accurate
Weaknesses: None at all
Review: Ok if you know ego you should know that they dont play when it comes to making a great marker. This has to be one of the best markers i have ever owned and played with EVER. After having a spyder pilot acs and done every thing you can think of to it to get it as fast as you can shoot it was time to get a new marker. I first saw the Etek at Dropzone paintball store in my town and i had to put a down payment on it before i ever saw it but when they opened that box and i saw the case it was in i Knew i was going to get it. I put that thing in my hand and felt how light it was and how sexy it looked i new this marker was for me. After not paying my bills that week i went and got it and some paint and went right to my house and let it rip. I went back to the store and had my friend try it out he messed with the trigger and lpr i was at 275, 280 +/- right were i need to be and i mean we went through a case and a half in like 20 min. I took it to Dropzone paintball park were i play and everyone was like "is that the new etek" and when i got on the field for a little speedball and was taking everyone out left and right. This guy with a ion with every upgrade known to man was like "what the hell is that, that thing is crazy fast".( I know this review may not be helpful at all but i just wanted to let people know how i felt about my new etek.)
Conclusion: If you like crazy fast great looks and a really really great marker get this get this get this you will not be mad at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 at 6:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JustVic326 Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 prostock w/ ANS hinge trigger, Shocktech front, cp barrel, torpedo drop--Its not electronic so no comparison on speed.
Marker Setup: Urban E-tek, Empore Reloader B, 68/4500 crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel--I'm gunnna get myself the freak kit or the shaft. Other than that nothing, unless you want to look at cosmetic stuff.
Strengths: Speed/efficiency/price/
Weaknesses: Barrel is sub par i guess.
Review: Overall I give it a 9.5/10, but since its not available I'll round up b/c of the custyomer service. Its fast, accurate, efficient, and affordable. It does have kick and it is loud, but thats to be expected from this type of marker, you want quiet go proto. I like the kick and noise, makes me feel like I'm actually doing something. When I got it, there was a defect in the board--wouldn't turn on until battery was taken out and put in, real wierd. I contacted the people at PE and they got me a new board in no time. They were really friendly and willing to awnser any questions I had.
Conclusion: You won't regret gettin this gun. Quality/Price is unbeatable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

poleclimber Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Karnivore
Marker Setup: Etek Ego
Egg
68/4500 pure energy
peppersticks
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel is a nice upgrade, but not necessary
Strengths: Maintenance
Set up easy (ie firing modes etc.)
Accurate
Manual big help
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: I got my jewel Saturday 09/09/06 and right out of the box stuck air to it to chrono. A very consistant 312,318,315 after turning the reg down 283,287,288 she dialed in for the day. I really have to say I didn't keep track of the air to paint. I do know I had a full hopper and one bag of paint left before topping off my tank.. So I'm guessing around
1200 shots and knowing my tank sat all week at home only had 4000 left in it not bad.
plus taking into account not every paintball finds its way to my hopper...I know being still very new to paintball some may overlook this review, but don't overlook the Etek.. Planet Eclipse has made an awesome marker for those of us on a budget. You won't regret buying this marker...
Conclusion: If you are in the market for an awesome marker and can't tie up that much money on a high $$$ ego. The little brother is just as nice and so simple to maintain. I give it 10...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daicacharco Wednesday, September 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
XSV Ego - friends
Marker Setup: 04 Shocker SFT
Stock Vision Board
SP HE Bolt
SP HE Firing Can
Dark Bolt Guide
CP Roller Trigger
NDZ Ball Detents
AA back, Freak Front
CCM No Rise
Reloader B
Cross Fire LP 68/4400
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing ?
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Great Effiency
Weaknesses: Ego's are meant to be loud.
Review: This gun is great ! You DO NOT need to upgrade anything in my opinion. Towards me diving and slamming to the dirt putting the guns into work is what i do to my guns. Took this gun out for a day so i can see how it performs ! i was amazed! barely any differences between the other ego's. The stock barrel is accurate, was very suprised because of it didnt even really need nothing but a fast hopper and a tank that has fast recharge rates. to tell you the truth this gun is right for you if you play hard and use your gun hard also at the same time baby your gun =].
Conclusion: Sorry about the whack review. all i have to say you wont regret buying this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LHUDSON05 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've used other egos they are simualr except they have lcd screens i prefer the led lights on the etek.
Marker Setup: etek ego, bulldogs 45/45, halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
none are really necessary
Strengths: Its really light.
Weaknesses: None that i have found so far.
Review: I just got this gun today. The first thing that caught my eye is the case the etek comes in. Its a metal gun case and is very nice. The only downside is it doesn't have a handle not that that really matters. I bought the urban etek ego. It looks great. Awesome milling and the i love the color. I read the manual which was well planned out and took you through every step. I aired it up and shot some paint through it. It shot great. I shot it in my backyard so i didn't have a chrono. Some people wish that it has a lcd screen but by using a led lights it uses less battery power and keeps the price down. Beside many other great guns dont use lcd screens for example the pm6 and the dm6. I've heard some people complain about how loud egos are but this was not loud at all. It comes with semi and ramping.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun for the price and i would definatly reccomend it because of all its features are great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ClickyPen Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various spyders, tippmann, ion, wrath, shocker, ego, pm6
Marker Setup: Planet Eclipse Etek Ego
STOCK
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend nothing but if you want.
Barrel, Bolt(i'm thinking of getting the nexus), CCU, Trigger, and Board
But to me I need nothing else
Strengths: Compact
Light
Effecient
Fast
Accurate
Easy to maintain
Easy to program plus very programable
Quality
Weaknesses: People looking for the same performance as the high end ego won't get it.
Review: When First recieved the gun I took notice to the great packaging it came in. A nice aluminum case with dense fowm on the outer edges and corners and soft padding inside. There is room for the gun, the stock barrel, two peice barrel, batteries and allen wrenchs. What is comes with is the marker itself, one 13in barrel, a set of allen wrenchs and some o-rings and screws, a barrel condom, and a great manual with colour pictures.

I turned the marker on and was greeted by awesome flashing lights. when on there is a light to tell you how the battery is, a light to tell you if the is a ball in the brech and a light to tell you eyes on/off and to tell if you have a blockage. adjusting the trigger was a snap with a pre and post travel adjustment and spring tension adjustment.

I took it out to the field yesterday and gased her up and to her to the chrono. not very consistant considering its brand new and the reg isn't broken in yet. but i'm pretty sure that it'll get better with time. then I opened her up and got around 13bps without even trying. now that doesn't sound like much but when you get bunkered it doesnt matter if it's one ball or 20 balls you still got hit.

PLaying with it proved EXTREMLY easy as it fet like i had the gun forever. snap shooting, crawling and on the move all felt really natural.

anyone thinking about geting a pm6 seriously consider this marker too. I got to use one the other day and wasn't really impressed. The trigger felt sloppy, the gun felt cheap and imo its ugly as sin. But what i can say on its behalf is its lite as hell. But you gotta look at the trade off. same performance, same price, pm6=more maintaince etek= user friendly (and sexy)

Conclusion: Easy to use, shoot, and win. But you decide on why you want this. e-mail if you have any questions
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media