paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO
[ View Photos (58) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Body – New 06 ETek Body. Def Tek offset feed tube, No Frame Tag slot, No Frame Tag, Body-Ported Barb Fittings for Rammer Inlets. Dual ETek Rubberised jewels, ‘Cocker Threads
• Feed Tube – Standard Clamping Feed Tube the same shape, size and fitting method as Ego 5 and 6
• Barrel – New 13” Length, reduced porting, reduced external machining, new formed stick-in rubber badge. ‘Cocker threaded.
• Bolt – New Shape. Much shorter version of Ego 5 Bolt. Same Ramped Top, ramped ball detent grooves, open bolt face, Drilled single hole inlet, plain shape at rear. Interchangeable with all Ego 05 and 06 bolts.
• New Valve Chamber and Valve – Enlarged Valve chamber offers operating pressures of 250-280 psi
• Rammer Housing – New ETek Rammer and Rammer Housing. No QEVs, but direct Fore and Aft Porting to Rammer. Does not accept any Ego 05 or 06 stock OR aftermarket rammers or rammer housings.
• Bolt Pin – New Shape. Plain Turned Pin. Larger diameter to allow easier grip and removal
• Ball Detents – Same as Ego 6
• Eye Covers – Same as ’05 Ego and Ego 6
• LPR – Adjustable LPR. Remodelled cap. Large Valve chamber for low pressure operation.
• FRM – New Shape and Mounting system.
• Inline Reg – New Shape for ‘06 ETek, same internals as and Ego 5 and 6, Swivel Inlet
• Frame – New Shape, larger trigger guard, single push-button, 3 x True-color LEDs, Rubberised aesthetic semi-transparent control console with EGO logo and viewing windows for LEDs, 4 x tapped bottom-line mounting holes. Spring trigger return, micro switch operation. Integrated slide rail/dove-tail
• Trigger – New for ‘06 ETek. Blade profile, radius edges, thinner section, centrally mounted trigger prong for enhanced PCB contamination protection.
• Parameters – Firing Mode, Eye Off ROF, Capped Modes ROF (Semi 1 is Uncapped), Valve Dwell, Debounce, Ball-in-Place
• PCB – New for ‘06 ETek featuring a micro-switch trigger, 3 x True-color LED, Single external push button, single set-up button, all tourney modes: Semi, Capped Semi. Capped Ramping (NPPL, PSP, Millennium compatible), and a locking facility to make tournament legal.
• On/Off/Purge System – same as system found on SL66
• Break-Beam Eyes – High efficiency break-beam eyes and advanced eye logic. Auto-off default.
• Grips – ‘05 Ego and Ego 6 Style mounting. Current grip is same as the existing Ego 6 grip. Soft rubber wrap-around with metal jewel Logo.

Weight: 1.12 kg / 2.47 lb with Barrel, On/Off/Purge, Regulators, Fittings and Battery Length: 508mm / 20.0” with 13” Barrel
Width: 28mm / 1.1” with Eye Covers
Height: 225mm / 8.8” Including Feed Tube and On/Off/Purge Assembly
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
LittleNicky252 Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, DM5, DM6, DM7, Ego 06, Ego 07, Fusion, PM6, PMR
Marker Setup: Etek Ego
68/45
Halo B w/ Rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cure Bolt- not neccesary, i think stock is fine
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Little Loud
Changing Modes
Review: Ok, so i got it used like 3 times from my friend for 120, ain't bad but i traded my PMR for it. So i got it and realized it was pretty light, not bad. So it didn't come with manual so i had to go on YouTube and google to figure out how to change modes and realized it was a pain at least for me. You have to get used to it so you can change modes fast. So i took it out had to lube it and crap. Took out the grips and the inside was nice and cleanm like the battery was separate from everything which was good and no clip ons. I had recent problems with clip on, in my PMR w/ Virtue. So nice and easy inside grips. So i changed it to Semi 1 and it was fast, unlike anything i have shot. I have shot the DM's and crap but this was like them just a different trigger and trigger pull. So ncie and fast. It was nightime but i could still see all paintballs going towards one motion. It was very loud however and i felt bad for my neighbors. But moving on, nice and light and gas efficient. 2 full pods lowered it by 400psi, not bad. Hopefully my dwell was at 7 - 9 at least between there. I gotta figure out how to check it. But so far, no problems. I'm taking it out in 3 days. One problem though is when i aired it there was a small leak in my regulator, but one or two shots will stop that.
Conclusion: Overall, decent for 120. I give 9/10 because of loudness, not to change modes. So 3 days and my update will come.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dynasty_fan14 Saturday, February 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto matrix rail, smart parts ion Max'd
Marker Setup: e-tek with a wave trigger, viewloader velocity, 14in all american barrel, pmi 68ci 4500psi tank, empire tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
wave trigger and a longer barrel. Recommend the viewloader velocity (you will need the speed the hopper has for the gun trust me)
Strengths: Small, thin, and light.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this gun after I sold my pmr and believe me it made a difference. First off the gun its self was smaller and thinner than the pmr which made a big difference. Cleanning the gun was a whole lot easier because you did not have to take half the gun apart to clean. Quiet but not as quiet as the ion but still was fairly quiet than most other guns.
Conclusion: This gun is perfect for people that want speed, little weight, and size for the price. But this is not for the beginner player. But as I said earlier you should get the velocity or at least the velocity jr for the e-tek
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 26th, 2008 at 4:46 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PMR PAINTBALLA Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmr
slg
spyders
pm6
Marker Setup: etek ego
68/45
halo b
proto switch el mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
none needed but.......
a star frame, zick kit, and cure 2 bolt will make it like a true ego
Strengths: accurate
FAST
poppit=reliability
looks secks
quality
Weaknesses: Heavy?
rammer housing wiggles around. heard it isn't normal. still works great
Review: I got this on july 7th and i used it for the first time at a big 3-man tourny. All I can say is WOW. out of the box even with not so good paint to barrel match i was getting +-4!
On semi, the etek didn't skip a beat and i could reach 16-17 easily.
The build quality is great. its better than some of proto's flagship guns and this is pe's lowest end gun.
And not 1 chop the whole day !
Conclusion: Buy this gun nao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 6th, 2008 at 9:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lam Saturday, October 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: PRIMARY:
Etek Ego (everything stock except for ASA)
NDZ on/off ASA
Red CCU kit
Empire B2

SECONDARY:
Proto Matrix Rail (stock board)
Dye Ultralite Trigger Frame
12" 2-piece Proto Barrel
CP (non-dovetail) on/off ASA
Dye minidrop
Trinity feedneck clamp
Aluminum backcap
Virtue Break-Beam Eyes (Red)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cure (2) bolt
Zick kit
Star Frame/Grips-Trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Ease of maintenance
Weaknesses: Kick?
Chopping?
Review: I bought this gun off of someone on Craigslist for about $380, used. This is probably one of the best guns i've ever used/tested. Not only is the gun accurate, maintenance is almost something that you would want to do as an everyday chore.

As always, let's start off with the Weakness(es):
One Weakness (if can even be called that) is the Kick. Like i said i bought my gun used, so it was obviously already broken into. I can see how people can say that it has alot of Kick, i'll admit that it's not the quietest marker on the market, however i think that the volume of the Kick is often over exaggerated.

The only other Weakness that i've experienced is minor Chopping. I found that when i chrono-ed my gun i was shootin at least 285 FPS and was suffering from maybe 1-3 breaks per every 100-150 balls shot. Once i re-chrono-ed my gun and adjusted it to 265 FPS i haven't experienced a break since.

Strengths:
This is probably one of the most accurate guns i've shot, and it's manufacturer certainly does add some credibility (having produced the Ego series, etc.). When i dropped my FPS from 285 to 265, i saw little difference in drop off and distance. Of course i've only had this gun for a couple months and am still experimenting with certain aspects of it. But nonetheless, this marker has exceeded my expectations.

This marker is by far the easiest marker to maintain as far as Poppet markers go. Take out the bolt, run a squeegee through, unscrew the backcap, clean/lube the rammer and you're set. Nuff' said.

For this marker i'd recommend first of all getting a Cure (2) bolt to prevent/assist in getting rid of any excess chopping.

Next a Zick Kit for those that like to complain about the Kick that is oh so annoying.....

And finally, if you decide to not go the route of getting a Star Frame, i'd suggest at least getting another grip. The main reason being that the stock grips are way to bulky. Also, it's not really necessary, but a new trigger wouldn't hurt either. If you do decide to go the Star Frame route, then you won't really need either Grips or a Trigger because the Star Frame has both, including a LCD screen.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this product to anyone in the intermediate level of paintballing. The main reason why is because of the trigger sensitivity and the grips. Overall, this is a great marker with minimal upgrades needed and great performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carolina impact Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other egos.
Marker Setup: '07 Etek Ego
Halo B
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Sounds good
Accurate
Weaknesses: Nothing.
Review: I recieved my ego and went to play the next day. it was a big step up from my ion. i was thinking they looked kinda big in the pictures but boy was i wrong it shot like a charm and is tiny! I say the only thing i do not like is if you chop one ball your accuracy is 0% but no biggy just clean it and its ready to kick more but (chops rarely happen with this gun also).
Conclusion: Buy it. great gun i would recomend it over most high end guns because the price it shoots just like any other ego, they may be a little lighter but who cares. the ramping is capped at 15 but noone can shoot over that in tournys anyway.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deezl Tuesday, November 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
intimidator
pmr
Marker Setup: 07 ONE OF A KIND Ego Etek
signed by Oliver Lang & Nicky Cuba
Custom yellow/black anno
Virtue Board
Kila v2 bolt
Redz feedneck
Custom grips
TI Rammer
Stiffi barrel
Critical trigger
kila detents
Recommended
Upgrades:
well since i bought it practically loaded with everything you can possibly buy i couldnt tell you.
Strengths: light
extremely fast
easy to maintain
reliable
durable
sleek
SEXY
Weaknesses: Couldnt tell ya havent had the chance to put any paint through it yet
Review: ok let me just start off saying that i have not been able to put any paint through my ego yet, so being able to tell how it fires will be a little hard.

LOOKS: lets just say beautiful. its a very simple milling job but PE was able to turn simplicity into sleek. I also couldnt comprehend on how light it was too. I originally wanted to get the urban camo but i held off and got a true 1 of a kind, has a custom anno job along with oliver langs & nicky cubas autograph. Im working on a custom airbrush to finish it all off, but if you want to check it out i have it posted it should be pic #42.

MAINTENCE: if your someone like myself who comes from an intimidator background this gun is practically the same set up so it will be easy take a part as youll see a familar set up. but for any whom are not familar it comes with a very detailed and colorful manual to guide you through with no problems.

PERFORMANCE: well since i have a leak in the solenoid i havent been able to put any paint through the barrel. but after seeing others reviews with the stock boards performance i can only imagine how much better itll be with the virtue.
Conclusion: I would most def recommend this gun to any player who is sick of paying big bux for over priced guns. with a few additional dollars you can make this gun or any gun under 600$ or less work just as well as a $1000+ gun . believe me i have the money to buy a matrix, angel, marq7 or any other gun but i went with the etek and havent looked back.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pballer2786 Wednesday, September 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ego- With the 07 ego, High ROF is achieved with more ease
06 ego- Pretty similar to the etek, but the 06 ego comes with QEVs and an LCD

Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 06 cobalt dust, 14" ultralite barrel, virtue board, hybrid lady grips, hybrid bolt guide

06 Ego gunmetal grey w/ platinum accents, hybrid CK grips, TI Rammer , !4" Ultralite,
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL Barrel (or any other after market barrel/Kit of your preference)
Cure Bolt (when shooting brittle paint)
TI Rammer
Virtue Board (if you need additional modes, or uncapped ramp)
Strengths: -Ease of operation
-Ease of maintenance
-Accurate
-Light
-Fast for the price
-VERY EFFICIENT
Weaknesses: -No major weaknesses
-Bit loud if compared to DMs/Shockers
Review: OK so here's the deal

My two primary guns got stolen in an online scam, and as to date, even the authorities have been unable to retrace them. So being in college, and playing alot of PSP and some 7-man, I needed an affordable, but reliable gun to play out the season till I got the money to get an 07 ego.
We picked up a couple of sponsorships, which included a deal with a local store to use their apparel and "eclipse" products. So I went out and all I could afford was an Etek ego, so i grabbed the hurricanes edition Etek (which looked sweet).
I put a UL barrel on it right off the bat, and played around with it on a couple of practices. What I noticed was that the marker performed flawlessly everytime, and was fast,light and pretty accurate. My friend installed a cure bolt and TI rammer in it, and I played all day with only a couple of chops, in about 55 degrees. I admit that I was a little apprehensive about the etek when I got it, as it was cheaper than the usual High end stuff, but it simply blew my mind. It is just an all-round awesome marker, and with a couple of ups it keeps up with anything on the field.
Conclusion: To conclude the review, let me finish off by saying that I highly recommend this marker to anyone looking for a cost effective, yet high-end and reliable marker. It is light, fast, accurate, and last but not the least, very efficient (can get ~1400 rounds using the right settings,good paint/bore size, and a 68/45).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

suntzu_baller Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Multiple timmys
Imps
Cockers
Angels
Marker Setup: Adrenalin Imp w/ blackheart
-14in AA-freak,
-extreme rage feedneck,
-strange bolt
-empire rail & on/off
-68/4500 aci
-evo II w/z-board

Agel IR3
-fbm trigger
-fbm hooker feedneck
-14 in. ultralite
-revy w/ impeller
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only thing so far that I find you might want to get would be a new barrel (though the stock one is better than most stock).
Strengths: Cheaper than other egos
Modes
Light
Weaknesses: What weaknesses?
Review: After all the hype surrounding the egos I decided to check out the only one I'd consider buying and I wasn't disappointed-

First of all the E-tek is WAY cheaper than other egos and comes with more than most other guns in its price range. Numerous people have told me they want the sl-66 but it's 1900 freakin dollars! Talk about excessive! You could have two of these babies for only 1500. Also I know many are crazy about the pm's and the minions but let's face it: They only come in semi. The ego has all the modes you need.

Another thing is the internal setup: At first I was worried that it would be tough to work on (never used an ego before). However upon examination I found that it is much like the timmys, and anyone can work on a timmy.

The trigger you have to work with because at first it's kinda stiff. However even a lawn gnome can whip this thing around and send a tight rope down the tape. It is very compact and lite.
Conclusion: I would go for it because it cost the same as other high end markers yet comes with all the modes plus some good stock features: feedneck, bottomline, etc.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 at 5:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hippihero Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm6 / ego06
Marker Setup: reloader b / dye 70/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt / maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Rips out of box
Fast
Easy cleaning
Light
Bigger trigger guard
Size
Price
Air efficient
Weaknesses: Nothing unless u want a quiet gun but its not that loud
Review: Did a lot of research/reading b4 buying
Bought mine at NPPL Boston
Rips pretty much wit any e~loader
Used the reloader b = no chops / no breaks
Not too loud when LPR's adjusted
The gun is easy to take apart and clean
setting the etek up is really easy to get used to a lot of modes to choose from
the bigger trigger guard really helps when u wear gloves and still wanna walk the gun, keeps your hands safe and lets u shoot fast lol
Conclusion: If u have the money and looking towards pm6 or an etek pretty much either one works but if u want a lighter marker get the etek
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dover Saturday, January 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4
Proto Minion 07
SP Ion, Ion XE
Angel LED, Angel A1
AutoMags and AutoCockers
Invert Mini

The Etek Ego is an extremely well-made and reliable tournament paintball marker.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, seventeen (17) markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Laser Eyes, Barrel Kit, Zick Kit, Kila Magnetic Detents, Cure Bolt.
Tadao board if you like a lighter trigger pull.
Strengths: Very Reliable.
Weaknesses: Perceived as the Ego's retarded baby brother.
Review: The Etek Ego is an excellent paintball marker value. Like Uziel Gal from the Planet Eclipse discussion on PbNation.com states, it is a totally different marker than the Ego.

The Etek may well be based on the '06 Ego, but rather than just "downgrading" an '06 Ego to make it cheaper, Planet went back to the drawing board and designed a completely new, Ego style marker, that could be made cheaper. The end result of this is that a lot of the parts of the Ego and Etek aren't actually interchangeable. There is much more of a difference between the Etek and '06 Ego then simplified milling, a lack of QEVs and a cheaper board...

Other changes are basically just down to milling, such as the external look of the front reg mount, the LPR cap and the HPR. All pretty much the same as the '06 Ego parts, but with a plainer, simpler look to them to reduce milling costs and production time
Conclusion: Because you can find the Etek for very cheap used, it is a terrific buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media