paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO
[ View Photos (58) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Body – New 06 ETek Body. Def Tek offset feed tube, No Frame Tag slot, No Frame Tag, Body-Ported Barb Fittings for Rammer Inlets. Dual ETek Rubberised jewels, ‘Cocker Threads
• Feed Tube – Standard Clamping Feed Tube the same shape, size and fitting method as Ego 5 and 6
• Barrel – New 13” Length, reduced porting, reduced external machining, new formed stick-in rubber badge. ‘Cocker threaded.
• Bolt – New Shape. Much shorter version of Ego 5 Bolt. Same Ramped Top, ramped ball detent grooves, open bolt face, Drilled single hole inlet, plain shape at rear. Interchangeable with all Ego 05 and 06 bolts.
• New Valve Chamber and Valve – Enlarged Valve chamber offers operating pressures of 250-280 psi
• Rammer Housing – New ETek Rammer and Rammer Housing. No QEVs, but direct Fore and Aft Porting to Rammer. Does not accept any Ego 05 or 06 stock OR aftermarket rammers or rammer housings.
• Bolt Pin – New Shape. Plain Turned Pin. Larger diameter to allow easier grip and removal
• Ball Detents – Same as Ego 6
• Eye Covers – Same as ’05 Ego and Ego 6
• LPR – Adjustable LPR. Remodelled cap. Large Valve chamber for low pressure operation.
• FRM – New Shape and Mounting system.
• Inline Reg – New Shape for ‘06 ETek, same internals as and Ego 5 and 6, Swivel Inlet
• Frame – New Shape, larger trigger guard, single push-button, 3 x True-color LEDs, Rubberised aesthetic semi-transparent control console with EGO logo and viewing windows for LEDs, 4 x tapped bottom-line mounting holes. Spring trigger return, micro switch operation. Integrated slide rail/dove-tail
• Trigger – New for ‘06 ETek. Blade profile, radius edges, thinner section, centrally mounted trigger prong for enhanced PCB contamination protection.
• Parameters – Firing Mode, Eye Off ROF, Capped Modes ROF (Semi 1 is Uncapped), Valve Dwell, Debounce, Ball-in-Place
• PCB – New for ‘06 ETek featuring a micro-switch trigger, 3 x True-color LED, Single external push button, single set-up button, all tourney modes: Semi, Capped Semi. Capped Ramping (NPPL, PSP, Millennium compatible), and a locking facility to make tournament legal.
• On/Off/Purge System – same as system found on SL66
• Break-Beam Eyes – High efficiency break-beam eyes and advanced eye logic. Auto-off default.
• Grips – ‘05 Ego and Ego 6 Style mounting. Current grip is same as the existing Ego 6 grip. Soft rubber wrap-around with metal jewel Logo.

Weight: 1.12 kg / 2.47 lb with Barrel, On/Off/Purge, Regulators, Fittings and Battery Length: 508mm / 20.0” with 13” Barrel
Width: 28mm / 1.1” with Eye Covers
Height: 225mm / 8.8” Including Feed Tube and On/Off/Purge Assembly
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
lucky 1 Thursday, December 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 & 06 ego
DM5
shocker
they all were a little better but not much
Marker Setup: gold Etek ego new nexus bolt 14'' CP barrell new grips new eyes and eye cover and new trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger
new bolt
new barrel
Strengths: Small
Light
Cheep
Weaknesses: Not accurate with stock barrell
Not that fast
Review: This gun is the lightest of all the egos but it does not shoot like the rest of the egos. The good thing is that they are making new boards so that will take care of the speed a little. But if you are young and starting to play paintball it is a good gun and if you just want a back up gun it is good.
Conclusion: This gun is nothing special but it is just what i think
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
18 Comments - Add Comment

chinito123 Thursday, October 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've owned and used 07 and 06 Ego, 07 and 06 Cyborg, Upp'd Ion, Quest, Electra, Pilot ACS, but the Etek is one of my favorites for the reasons listed below.
Marker Setup: 07 Ego / zick kit / Deadly Wind CF barrel / MacDev Legionaire 68/45 / Halo B Rip V35
07 Cyborg / Snakeskin bolt / NOX board / Matchstik Barrel Kit / MacDev Legionaire 68/45 / Halo B V35
Etek Ego / cure bolt / Virtue Board / Viewloader Vlocity / Crossfire 68/30
FEP Quest / Lucky board / CP Reg / Halo B
Dangerous Power F8 / Vlocity Jr / Crossfire 68/30
Recommended
Upgrades:
You don't really need any but these make for a nicer PB experience
Aftermarket Board
Clamping feedneck
barrel kit
Strengths: Good Price $500 on ebay
fast
reliable
easy to maintain
Excellent performance
Weaknesses: Ramping mode set to 15bps?
a bit loud
Review: In my opinion the Etek for the price is a great marker. I originally bought it as a back up but I must say that it gets as much playing time as my other high end markers (Ego and Cyborg). It's a solid gun that rips and I enjoy playing with this marker. Shoots extremely smooth and very little dropoff with long strings of paintballs. It isn't as light as my other markers but it's light enough and perhaps the little extra weight compared to the 07 Ego makes is feel a bit more solid when I hold and shoot it. The grips are comfortable and it is a joy to shoot this marker.

Maintenance is a breeze and the instructions are nice to work with. Out of all the different PB companies out there, Planet Eclipse makes one of the nicest manuals. Full color with detailed step by step pictures is something you don't find in all manuals.

For those that use 2 fingers, the stock trigger might be a bit heavy. The nicest trigger I've found stock is the Quest. I only use 1 finger so the stock trigger suits me just fine.

Clamping feedneck would be nice - I already lost one of the screws and had to get a replacement one.

Stock barrel is very good, but if you have extra cash, get a barrel kit. Etek is autococker threaded so if you buy a barrel kit it'll be useful on any other high end marker you have

Maybe the only thing I'd like to change is the loudness of the gun. It's not a huge factor but sometimes it might give away my position too easily since I play front.
Conclusion: I certainly recommend this marker to anyone looking for a moderately priced tournament level marker. If you have more money your possibilities open up drastically but in this price range this is my favorite marker and it's performance does not leave much to be desired. It is an awesome piece of equipment!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 25th, 2007 at 8:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scubapro187 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion doesnt even come close
Marker Setup: -ETEK
-halo b w/ rip
-16" freak kit
-Voodoo trigger
-cure bolt
-Crossfire hp 68 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
most won't agree and it isn't necessary but i'd get a new barrel.
Strengths: Efficient
very reliable
easy to clean
accurate
Weaknesses: Too loud for some
Review: I bought this gun as a step up from my ion. My ion wasn't bad don't get me wrong but this gun is absolutley awesome. It's efficient lightweight and very nicely priced. I picked up the cure bolt just because I'm going to be shooting some brittle paint here soon but it is not needed. This thing is so reliable and easy to clean. I do a ton of superman dives and even though this thing lands in the dirst sometimes its still holding up like a champ. I've never even had a leak with it. I have broke a few balls but that was really old terrible paint and the stock bolt.
Conclusion: It's a sick gun for the money I would totally recmmend it especially over a shocker. Shockers are really finicky and they are gas hogs. I'm giving this one a 9/10 just because it's not a full blown ego.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 11th, 2007 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego baller 11 Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: planet eclipse E*tek ego
Dye UL barrel
Ti ram
gloss purple CCU kit
CP 48/45
empire B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel is ok but if you want a more accurate shot go with the Ultralite.
Strengths: LIGHT!!
nice feel
It's an Ego
shoots ropes.
Weaknesses: Loudness.
kick.
Review: I got this gun about 3 months ago and boy does this thing rip. The first thing i realized when i picked it up is its weight.It was atleast a pound less then my old unreliable cocker and alot smoother. The only downsides to this marker is the "kick" and the noise but those are gone now that i have my UL and Ti ram.

One problem that most people are having is it shooting at a very low velocity with the TI ram (this happened to me).Just Lube the LPR and HPR after every use and you will be fine.
Conclusion: Im going to have to give the E*tek a 9/10 because nothings perfect but the etek is pretty damn close
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AdrianJoshua Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
NxN PM6
PM5
DM4
DM5
DM6
Every shocker out there
Timmys
Almost every high end marker
Marker Setup: Etek, Halo B, Dye 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel (UL 16")
-Tag Sportz Board
Strengths: -Light
-Not complicated manteinance
-User friendly
Weaknesses: -Just kicks a little
Review: I got this gun out of an sponsorship, the day I got it was the day of an important tournament, I took it out of the box and started shooting. It was shooting 280-287 (very good), I started playing and never had a problem with it. I still dont have a problem with it, go buy one, right now!
Conclusion: Very nice gun, is worth what you pay
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 9:52 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbplayer321 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,spyder imagine
Marker Setup: stock black etek ego, halo b, 68/45 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Speed, Feel, Light, consistency, accuracy, efficiency, easy to clean, price
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I received this marker for my birthday. The case it comes in is very impressive.I had about 2000 psi left in my tank and i just bought some xball bronze balls. I had it ini semi. I put up a target and took a few test shots them started rippin. It was amazing. Soooooooo accurate and fast. The trigger was perfect after a little adjustment. The next weekend i took it to the field and the consistency was excellent. I used wl-mart pain, Impact. No chops. It performed great. IT felt perfect with 68/45. NO shootdown of course. ITs a perfect gun.
Conclusion: This gun is all around great. I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a better gun and want to improve their game. Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

asianpaintballa Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion shocker nxt-ion-spyder electra-tippman-spyder aggreser
Marker Setup: dye ultralite-pmi pure energy tank-dye rhino cover-Hlao with rip drive-red color kit-D.A.R.T bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
ego pro clamping feedneck-Critical Paintball Critical Trigger-a new bolt (D.A.R.T, cure bolt, or hardshell ego bolt)
Strengths: Light
Very fast
Accurate
Low to no kick
Easy to clean
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Loud
The screw holes in the handle
Review: The e-tek ego is one of the best paint ball guns on the market and it is half the price of some paint ball guns that offer the same performance. when i first picked up the gun i noticed that it was very light to start with. i put on my PMI tank and evolution hopper and went to test fire it. the stock trigger well make u more than happy as u need to put very little effort on it yet u can get countless ropes of paint. if u feel closely u can feel there is a little kick but when u play in the field u don't even notice it. the eyes are also one of the best, i never chopped a ball or had a barrel break the entire day, but if u want to ensure the quality of the eyes u need to clean it very carefully with a q-tip. the gun is very easy to maintain and if u hav to clean the bolt (which u probably wont because its very hard to chop or break a ball) u can take it out very easily just by pulling a knob. the biggest issue with the guns is that it is louder than most of the guns, but u probably wont even notice it when ur playing on the field. also dont screw in the screws too tight in the handle or the screw holes in the handle might crack a little bit and ur screws well be hard to get out
Conclusion: If u hav some money and are looking for a amazing paint ball gun then get the etek. it is one of the best guns out there and i haven't met one person that complained about it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 14th, 2007 at 6:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jackncokejr Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Nerve
Marker Setup: Stock Etek Ego
Halo w/ Rip
88ci 4500psi PMI Tank
Dye Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Board
Depends what you like.
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Accuracy
Bolt
Weaknesses: 1 Piece Barrel
Review: The Etek Ego is an awesome gun for the price. For $750 you can't beat it. It's fast, accurate, light, and very easy to mantain. If a ball chops(most likely it won't because the eyes work fine)you can take the bolt out in a second. The only weakness is the barrel. It's probably the best 1 piece stock barrel out there, but 1 piece barrels aren't as good as 2 piece barrels in my opinion. So I think I've found a gun that'll last me for a while.
Conclusion: It's an awesome gun that's easy to take care.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shakman119 Wednesday, July 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A few timmys, feltlike this
Marker Setup: My setup always changes, for now:

Blue PM6
Freak kit
Ultimate freak front
Ramping chip
---------------------------------------------
Backup-
Rare Miami Raiders Ion (Rare verson of the strange)
Bolt out back operation
Torpedo regulator
Shocktech Drop #1
SP protouch grips
PSP board
Superman color scheme:
Blue body
with red proagresive barrel
and red macro
custom red paintjob on frame
-------------
Hopper:
Reloader B Dimond edition
-----------------
P/E 72 4500 stubby
----------------

Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, This thing is a killer stock. If you dont like the trigger, get a new one
Strengths: Speed, good looks, accurate. No kick, cheep
Weaknesses: Little aftermarket support
Review: I had an opertunity to test this while at factory paintball. When I first saw it I thought a SL66. When I looked closer It was the new E-tek. It was in a olive color, with golden accents. Definately a head turner. When I asked to shoot it, he actually let me!

The gun is verry long, but that can be a good thing. It is also much lighter than my E2 autococker. The grip felt sort or different than the standard 45. But im sure a person can get used to that. They felt sort-of chubby in the middle, but whatever. The trigger was snappy, short and well set up. I noticed the clamp feed, and stock barrel were all well done.

Accuracy was ball on ball from about 50ft away. This is due to low difference on the chrono, and a great stock barrel.

Ropes were effortless.

Conclusion: With the little time I spent with it, it felt like a killer marker. Definately a great deal at 700$
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 at 12:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionballer100000 Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
all highends
Marker Setup: Black ETEK EGO
Vlocity Jr
68/3000 crossy
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit for paint matching
maybe cure bolt to save money on paint
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: None
Review: All i have to say is this gun is amazing and it is only 700. it is a huge steal. the etek is very similar to the 06 other then the lcd screen on the 06s. The trigger feels amazing and it is set perfect stock. the barrel is very nice for a stock barrel but due to the fact that it will not fit all paintballs i would suegest a barrel kit. there is little to no kick once the gun has been broken in and it fits perfectly in your hands. This gun is one of the lightest egos out other then the sl66 and 07 ego. The efficiancy of this marker blew me away i was filling up way less then ever before(i cant give exact numbers because i didnt pay attention and i dont let it get down past 1000psi. It looks amaing abnd you can interchange parts to get a unique color pattern(ccu kits). The matinance on this gun is proabley the easiest there is along side like tippmans and guns like that and has similar relability to a tippman.
Conclusion: This gun is perfect for any mid level or tourney player that wants an amaing gun for cheap. this gun is perfect for any position on the field and with a 45/45 it gives you a very tight profile. i would give it a 9 because nothing is perfect but for the price of 700 you cant beat it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media