paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO / Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Planet Eclipse

Buy Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO
[ View Photos (58) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 111
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
• Body – New 06 ETek Body. Def Tek offset feed tube, No Frame Tag slot, No Frame Tag, Body-Ported Barb Fittings for Rammer Inlets. Dual ETek Rubberised jewels, ‘Cocker Threads
• Feed Tube – Standard Clamping Feed Tube the same shape, size and fitting method as Ego 5 and 6
• Barrel – New 13” Length, reduced porting, reduced external machining, new formed stick-in rubber badge. ‘Cocker threaded.
• Bolt – New Shape. Much shorter version of Ego 5 Bolt. Same Ramped Top, ramped ball detent grooves, open bolt face, Drilled single hole inlet, plain shape at rear. Interchangeable with all Ego 05 and 06 bolts.
• New Valve Chamber and Valve – Enlarged Valve chamber offers operating pressures of 250-280 psi
• Rammer Housing – New ETek Rammer and Rammer Housing. No QEVs, but direct Fore and Aft Porting to Rammer. Does not accept any Ego 05 or 06 stock OR aftermarket rammers or rammer housings.
• Bolt Pin – New Shape. Plain Turned Pin. Larger diameter to allow easier grip and removal
• Ball Detents – Same as Ego 6
• Eye Covers – Same as ’05 Ego and Ego 6
• LPR – Adjustable LPR. Remodelled cap. Large Valve chamber for low pressure operation.
• FRM – New Shape and Mounting system.
• Inline Reg – New Shape for ‘06 ETek, same internals as and Ego 5 and 6, Swivel Inlet
• Frame – New Shape, larger trigger guard, single push-button, 3 x True-color LEDs, Rubberised aesthetic semi-transparent control console with EGO logo and viewing windows for LEDs, 4 x tapped bottom-line mounting holes. Spring trigger return, micro switch operation. Integrated slide rail/dove-tail
• Trigger – New for ‘06 ETek. Blade profile, radius edges, thinner section, centrally mounted trigger prong for enhanced PCB contamination protection.
• Parameters – Firing Mode, Eye Off ROF, Capped Modes ROF (Semi 1 is Uncapped), Valve Dwell, Debounce, Ball-in-Place
• PCB – New for ‘06 ETek featuring a micro-switch trigger, 3 x True-color LED, Single external push button, single set-up button, all tourney modes: Semi, Capped Semi. Capped Ramping (NPPL, PSP, Millennium compatible), and a locking facility to make tournament legal.
• On/Off/Purge System – same as system found on SL66
• Break-Beam Eyes – High efficiency break-beam eyes and advanced eye logic. Auto-off default.
• Grips – ‘05 Ego and Ego 6 Style mounting. Current grip is same as the existing Ego 6 grip. Soft rubber wrap-around with metal jewel Logo.

Weight: 1.12 kg / 2.47 lb with Barrel, On/Off/Purge, Regulators, Fittings and Battery Length: 508mm / 20.0” with 13” Barrel
Width: 28mm / 1.1” with Eye Covers
Height: 225mm / 8.8” Including Feed Tube and On/Off/Purge Assembly
Product Availability 
The Planet Eclipse E-Tek EGO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
LimeEgo Wednesday, January 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Lime Green Etek Ego
CP Barrel Kit
Zick Kit
Cure2 Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Zick Kit - Reduces Kick
Strengths: Very Accurate Stock Barrel, Very Reliable, Shoots Really Fast, Weight Well Balanced, Oops Nob
Weaknesses: No Clamp on feed neck, Changing settings can be confusing, Eye Plates should have seals.
Review: This is the first electronic marker that I have used in the 10 years I have been playing, so I cannot compare it to a lot of other electronic markers. With that said, I could not ask for much more out of an electronic gun. I know that there is an Ego 7,8, and 9 at this point, which look really awesome, but if you want a great gun for less money, the Etek Ego is the one to get.

Maintenance is really simple, the first three months I owned the gun the only thing I did was put a drop of oil in the HPA fitting and lubed the bolt. You should periodically take apart other stuff and clean it up, but in the first 3 months it ran flawlessly without doing any of that.

Reliability is great. I have been playing with this gun for upwards of 7 months now and I have never chopped a ball (unless I forgot to turn my hopper on). This is good because unlike barrel breaks, if you break a ball in the feed neck area you might have to clean out your eyes.

Accuracy and Speed are good. This gun stock only shoots like 15bps, which is fast enough for me, but it is not the fastest on the market by any means. The accuracy is amazing, especially for a stock barrel. I tend to not shoot as quickly because I hit what I am aiming at most of the time within a few shots.

The Looks are great. The first day I played with a Spyder Shutter, got picked almost last for the teams, the next day I had an Ego and was picked first every time. coincidence? I think not.

Build Quality is pretty good.

A few negatives:
- If you over tighten the back two grip screws, you can damage the solenoid and have to shell out $120 for a new one.
- Poppet Valve is louder than other spool valve guns.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great and reliable gun that will keep you on pace with other high tech guns, this is the one to choose.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DP4life Thursday, December 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini, Dm7, Ego
Marker Setup: Invert Mini 68/3000 nitrogen tank, Dye Rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
none. nice gun
Strengths: freaking accurate
fast
pretty lightweight
compared to my F8, same kick
Weaknesses: i couldnt find any. I only used it for 1 game.
Review: i was using my F8 a while ago and it broke. i now hate DP but thats not the point. so i went to get a rental when i asked for an autococker. the guy laughed and loaned me his Etek. i was amazed. i went and used it for a game and it owned. i shot thru lil cracks in bunkers and owned. i will have to say the gun makes all the difference.
Conclusion: I would say buy it used. its cheaper and works the same. its a nice gun, and its worth getting.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Backdraft-army Tuesday, November 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
(tested) Eclipse Ego6
(own) Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Laser Engraved Etek Ego (stock)
Spyder MR1 all stock. Gravity feed hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Zick Kit
C-lever clamp feed neck (if you don't want to use allen wrench)
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
a lot of programming options
air effecient
Light even fully geared
Weaknesses: Loudness is all i have a problem with
Review: So i recently got this on Tuesday of last week. I had been looking at it for quite a while. It's used yes but barely ever shot. It still had the warning sticker inside the trigger rail. Right off the bat, it was shooting great. Minus the fact that the hopper couldn't keep up. (alittle pressed on money so no new hopper yet) When it wasn't catching gaps it was rolling out the paint. It's an amazing gun speed is great programming is simple. Everything is great. Plus it looks beautiful.
Conclusion: I say if you don't have enough for an Ego, an Etek is the next best thing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonjonwhite Thursday, October 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first higher end gun other than an Ion.
Marker Setup: On my ego it's all stock exept the asa(on/off) is a cp mini
Recommended
Upgrades:
A cure bolt to prevent chopping
Strengths: Fast
Light
Cool disighn
Dosnt cost that much
Easy to change firing modes
Weaknesses: I havnt encounterd any other than it being a litle loud.
Review: This is a great gun and cheap for it's quality. I have only used it once but it was a great experience. If you're looking for a new gun I would recomend this one.
Well thats about it. A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z.
Conclusion: Get one.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cclaxattack1 Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ive Never played with something as great as my etek.
Marker Setup: Stock Etek Ego, Halo B, 45/45 air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Etek could use a new barrel, Feedneck, and grips maybe.
Strengths: - Smooth shooting
- Light
- easy to clean
-Quiet
Weaknesses: -The Feedneck is a pain
- Grips are kinda big
Review: The Etek Ego in my opinion has it all, it has the looks, the great brand name in Planet Eclipse, and the performance to back it all up. The Marker is very easy to use and only takes a few minutes of fiddling around with it to see how it works.

The Gun itself is well put together and sense the gun is halfbacked it is extremely easy to take your bolt out and clean it. The Grips are kinda bulky, and the feedneck is a pain to adjust, but for a couple bucks you can have new grips and a feedneck that in my opinion would make the gun just as strong as a top of the line gun.
Conclusion: Get This Gun! Its simple and a great shot!

9 out of 10 only because it could use a few upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SimpsonDaSlaya Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05,06,07 egos, eteks, autocockers, legends, marqs, dm's, pm's, anything i can get my hands on.
Marker Setup: night etek
lucky 15 barrel
cure bolt
VP trigger
05 silver CCU kit
blackout kit
virtue board
function ti rammer
aircraft grade aluminum boltpin, lpr, and hpr pistons
VLocity
crossfire 68ci/4500psi hp tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
ti rammer, virtue, and barrel
Strengths: Light, fast, consistant, sexy, and it's an planet eclipse masterpeice
Weaknesses: Loud and if messed around with can be an airhog
Review: Basically the etek is a gun for the tournament player who doesn't have the pleasure of being sponsored. this gun without a doubt, is better than 85% the comptition on the market. It's also a multi purpose gun, its intention was speedball, but i have read thta one scenario team is sponsored by eclipse and is equipped with eteks.
This gun IS LOUD but if you get cure, ti, and a new barrel. your loudness should be "Cured"..... lol no pun intended.
Also, many pros out there, use this beast as their backup and sometimes their practice machine..... so granted everybody has their own opinoin, THIS GUN IS WORTH EVERY PENNY WHEN YOU SEE THE PAINTBALL FLY OUT OF YOUR BARREL, AND NAIL A DUDE (or dudet) RIGHT IN THE MELON!
Conclusion: To make a long story short, this gun is built to last, mow, and please it's master......Now it's time for you to show it who's in charge
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eclipsepb173 Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion
Tippmann model 98
ICD Promaster
WGP Prostock
Marker Setup: 07 etek ego
08 star frame
zick kit
crossfire with maxflow
xsv vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
08 Star frame
zick kit
Strengths: Light
Fast
better looking than other egos
gas efficient
small

Weaknesses: Can be kicky its a hit or miss
Review: Best marker in its price range. I recommend it to all. Anyone looking for an upgrade this is the gun for you. Planet Eclipse also has the best customer service out there so there is no worry if you break it just send it in and its fixed. Buy this gun for an upgrade.
Conclusion: Best gun in its price range.
It is fast and small and there is really no need to buy upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dstone454 Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
defiant 2
dark timmy
pmr
Marker Setup: olive estar etek with:
cure bolt
zick kit
14 inch ul barrel
critical trigger

backup(soon to be sold)
Defiant two:
cp reg
cp sling trigger
peppersticks kit
adj ram cap
hybrid mini drop and on/off
some sort of clamping feedneck



Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is ready to rip stock and will still perform very well but in order of most important i would say:
zick kit
cure bolt
barrel of your choice

preference:
trigger (critical, cp, new designs, violent, whatever you like)
grips (i like them they are very comfy but thick)
Strengths: complete out of box
efficient
RELIABLE
accurate
Weaknesses: Loud but who cares
Kick but not can be gotten rid of
Review: Okay so my defiant was starting to bug me and my new gun senses were kicking in so i did my research

Walked into my shop with the intention of getting a pm7 and upping it but Tom the owner handed me this and told me to try it so i dry fired and loved it, so i bought it that day along with a ul barrel

Quality: PE has the best quality control i have seen so far, the gun feels very sturdy, and feels great. It comes in a great metal box with slots for barrels too!(defiant came with a single foam strip)

Maintenance: The manual is amazing, the gun is easy to take care of, pop out the bolt, wipe it off, take out the ram, put a little lube on, put it back in, put the bolt in, and you are done
NOTE: don't twist the bolt pin cause the bearing thing and the spring will shoot out like a bullet!

Parts: Everything screams high quality, the on/off is great, bolt and ram are good but i replaced them cause i had the cash, regs are good so far

Accuracy: Shooting .687 paint in the stock .693(i think) barrel, accuracy was good, with the ul you have a sniper rifle!

Speed: Very easy to get strings going

Noise: Loud but ul barrel helped a lot, its not that bad and if you buy this you probably play speedball so you know it doesn't really matter

Board: Adjustability is great, firing modes are OK, uncapped and capped semi, adjustable cap ramping modes (3 of them and 15.4 is the max) I only need uncapped semi so i don't care but if you want unlimited then go for tadao or virtue, i prefer tadao but the stock comes with what i need, and the programming is amazingly easy

its late and i will finish this tomorrow but here is most of it
Conclusion: very very good gun for a very very good price especially now with the virtually identical ETEK2 out, i'd say get it, put your preference of ups in it or leave it stock, it will still shoot great

I give it a 10 because for the new price, it is simply breathtaking
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nat4dk Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini, Pmr, Pm5, Ego's, Ion, Tippmanns, Phantom, Jt's, ect
Marker Setup: Etek
Red CCu kit
Cure bolt
T.I. Rammer
Sling Trigger
Pure energy 68 3000
Reds Pepperstick
Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cure Bolt
T.I. Rammer
Sling Trigger
Strengths: Easy clean up
Simple
Barely any air
Range
Weaknesses: Kicks alot
noisy
heavy
Review: The gun work very well over all, but it is pretty heavy and noisy. Its a great backup marker because they hardly ever break down. The marker is very study on the plus side and it gets the job done. But when compared to a matrix or an 07 ego, it wieghs a ton and is very noisy. Definately get the CURE BOLT and T.I.RAMMER, they will help a lot with the kit and noise level.
Conclusion: Pretty good but could be better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

etekego123 Tuesday, March 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo(good first gun)
spyder pilot(uncocked alot)
smart parts ion(plastic light)
trilogy comp. autococker(nice and accurate)
Marker Setup: Etek ego
velocity jr
dxs 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
good stock
Strengths: Accurate
Light
No bounce
Weaknesses: The star button fell off other than that none that i could find
Review: Well when i went to Dragon sports to buy this i tested it out and loved it i liked how i could fire that fast and how light it was.I asked the clerk if i could try other markers like the pmr pm7 angel 1 and alot more but i chose the etek ego because i loved how it felt in my hands and before i knew it i brought it home and put it on my wall.
Conclusion: I would highly suggest this marker to anyone that has $600 in there pocket.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media