paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR3 / Kingman Spyder MR3 / Kingman Spyder MR3 / Kingman Spyder MR3

Kingman Spyder MR3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR3

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR3
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 34
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Electronic firing modes: Semi (Eye On/ Off), Auto
-Shoots up to 25 balls per second
-Seamless EYE device breaks less paint
-True military style adjustable shoulder stock
-Removable raised sight rail/ handle
-Full size strength and agility
-Powered by C02 or compressed air
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
lcraz Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1, Tippman 98, Tippman A5, eh, ION
Marker Setup: Got recently, not many upgrades..?
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately and Fast Hopper. atleast 15-17 BPS if your planning to go AUTO or Fast on semi eyes off.
Longer barrel, not necesary but better then a 12''. make the gun quieter
Strengths: Below
Weaknesses: Below
Review: Pros
-Its looks L33T
-Fast keep up with it
-Got eyes
-Adjustable stock
-VERY ACCURATE
-as durable as your gunna get

Cons
-Loose handel/grip, you'll see
-No eyes on auto obvious
-VERY LOUD. get a longer barrel, make it quiet not give yourself away
-Expensive (got mine off ebay. amazon good too)
-Better off HPA but i got CO2
Conclusion: awesome gun. recomend it to anyone. dont get it if your new. kinda hard to explain. you have to know PB markers?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HellcatCommando Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, MR2, Tippmann A-5, BT-4
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 16" Double Rifled Barrel
Spyder Fasta Loader
Sig Sauer RAM 226 Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Remote
Strengths: Accuracy
Stock
The eyes
Weaknesses: Noise Level
Review: People say this gun is heavy, but I am used to heavy guns from trap shooting and hunting. I am a scenario guy, not a speedball guy. The MR3 is a very good scenario gun. The weight is bothersome to those who play speedball (no offense) and are used to much lighter guns with no kick. The MR3 provides a kick, not a big one, but definately noticeable. The eyes in the gun is certainly some of the best technology I have ever had the fortune of playing with. I have had this gun going on 6 months now and have yet to chop a ball with it. There are few aftermarket parts, but there is no need for replacements. I made myself a barrel and went a bit too far on the rifling. I ported the barrel as much as I could and the gun was still pretty loud. So its not a sniper, but hey, you will never actually have a "Sniper" in paintball. The gun was dead accurate in CQB skirmishes and I was impressed. Kingman has outdone themselves with this. I am dissapointed with the category, low-end electronic, because there is nothing low-end about it. The quality put into the gun was magnificent. I have owned many spyders before and agree that they are simply some of the easiest guns to take care of. Parts everywhere. The internals are almost exactly alike as other Spyders. The options on the E-Trigger are Semi, Semi w/ Eyes, and Full Auto. I never have used full auto, but full auto does not use the eyes so I can imagine that you would chop some balls. I only use the highest quality paint I can get my hands on (definately worth the cost) and the gun works flawlessly. I love the stock, its retractable by 3 inches, not much, but it is more comforatble with the MR1/MR2 stock (which is conveniently interchangeable if you like the other stocks better). The handle/sight rail is also handy. Below the handle part is your sight, and it is suprisingly accurate. At a 50 foot target I was within a couple inches of the target. My reccomendations are certainly a barrel upgrade, a remote, and High pressure air. The stock barrel keeps the gun VERY loud (not the loudest I have ever played, but it is up there). Your choices are limited however, so ask someone if it will fit beofre you buy. The remote will allow you to carry the weight of an air tank off the gun, allowing you to move more freely and keep the gun perfectly balanced (although it is still well balanced with a 20 OZ CO2 tank). And lastly, High Pressure air, or Nitro. HPA will greatly enhance you accuracy and will allow you to make more consistent and accurate shots. It worked great for me. First day I used both CO2 and HPA and there was a very noticeable difference in performance (HPA also seems to make it quiter as well).
Conclusion: I would certainly reccomend as a first gun or any other. Kingman has really outdone themselves when it comes to the MR3. If you like the look of the MR2 or MR1 over the MR3, you are making a bad mistake on the purchase of either of those guns. The MR3 will wipe out the competition while on the playing field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kyle_moua Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, 98 C, Sonix Pro, A5, Extra, TL-R, Pilot, etc.......
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3-stock with Evlution 3 3 Loader

Spyder Mr1 with 14 inch J&J ceramic barrel with a machine gun shroud over it, M4 stock and new internals.

Sonix pro with 12 inch J&J ceramic barrel, 32 deggres drop forward and new internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
A loader that can keep up
Strengths: See body review
Weaknesses: See body review
Review: Alright lets start with the good stuff first... well the gun truly does look like a military style marker and sounds like one too, this gun has a really nice stock compared to the mr1 and mr2. this gun has awesome looks, shoots very fast, and has a eye which is the marker won't shoot unless there is definetly a ball in the chamber. this gun has a nice plastic delrin bolt which works really nice haven't had any trouble with it yet...just don't oil it cause then it will swell and cause recocking problems, the internals are very nice and must be cleaned after every play of your gun won't shoot at optimum level. the t cocking nob is nice too so there isn't any outside movement of the bolt when firing. And yes this gun is really loud so i suggest a J&J ceramic quiet barrel if you don't like the loudness...but i do so it's all good. overall this gun is pretty sweet, shoots hard and fast right out of the box. And oh yeah don't forget to oil it when you get it out of the box because all the internal o-rings are dry as hell. My friend's mr3 really got messed up because he went full auto right out of the box and tore up the o rings...sucks. the handle on the gun is really nice and sets of the military style look, and it has a sight in there which nice when you just looking through it with no mask on, but when you have a mask on its impossible to look through the site. and no the gun is not too heavy. compared to the mr1 it's equal in weight. maybe the same as a pilot...maybe...for the hopper...first off you need to spend at leat another hundred for a hopper that can keep up with this gun. Maybe a kingman 18v fasta, Vlecioty, Evlution 3 or a halo. i suggest a EVO 3 cause thats what i got and it only feeds 23 bps but i haven't had any chops going full auto. i did a drop test with 195 balls and the gun and hopper went through at 10 or 11 seconds, another bad thing is this gun takes a while to take apart and clean. You have to take off the drop forward to get to the valve and other internals besides the bolt and whatever. And you have to be carefull when you take off the e-trigger cause there are wires connecting the trigger to the eye and if you tear those wires then bye bye to the eye. Oh yeah there are only a limited number of barrels that will fit the mr3 because of the shroud it has.
Conclusion: but dude overall this gun will RULE ALL this marker shoots fast, loud, and has intimidating looks, i don't suggest this gun to beginners because the gun is kind of complicated. i will give this gun 10 because it gives you everything you need to be the king of the hill...get this gun and you'll see!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

eyeoftheoracle Wednesday, October 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5, 98custom, X7 Spyder E99 evant Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 : Apex barrel, FASTA 18V hopper, Remot line, Co2, Red dot tactical sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the barrel and make sure you have a hopper that can keep up with your fingers or the built in full auto.
Strengths: Very adjustable, durable, easy to clean,
Weaknesses: Gets loud using Co2, compresed air helps a lot. Little heavy.
Review: This is a very durable gun from my experience. I play woodsball in a very sandy enviornment and never had any problems with this gun, even jammed packed with sand from diving into bunkers this gun still fires with no breaks. Ive used a fair share of every mode on the gun semi eyes on/semi eyes off/ and even a lot of full auto in the heat of a fire fight to take a base, its never let me down. The way i tested this gun for satisfaction was i got a box of $28 low end paint, filled a 20ounce Co2 tank, rigged a tube with all 2000 paint balls to the top of my hopper, set it to full auto and held the triger till it wouldnt fire anymore or i ran out of Co2 or paint. The conclusion was it went throught the whole case of paint with no in barrel breaks and no missfires. A few broke in air and the spread on the target was about 4 feet (80% majority being with in a 13 inch spread) at a distance of 35 feet. (keep in mind this test was done with low end dimpeled paint) . The only disapointments with this gun are that it cant use a standered 9 volt batterie (some people say if you buy a good quality one it will work but ive had no such luck.) and its a little on the heavy side. The 9.6volt batterie it comes with lasts me about a day and a half in a senario event. About 3800 to 4600 shots deppending how much idle time you have the gun sit on durring the game. To solve this i just went and got a secound 9,6volt batterie for $10 and problem solved. This gun is more structured tord senario and woodsball, although it is perfectly capable of being a very effective speedball gun. Clean it after every game day and it will be there for you when you need it the most.
Conclusion: Its not perfect and their really isnt a gun that is but overall this has been the most reliable paintball gun i have ever owned. Sure its a little heavy but with a remote line you wont even care. You wont be disapointed with this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintBALLER_007 Wednesday, April 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
spyder mr1/mr2
ion (only once)
Marker Setup: stock gun
co2 tank
empire reloder 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
j&j ceramic 14
T-Board w/ eyes
a fast loader
HPA
some kind of sight
new grip
new trigger
(all of this would bring the mr3 to it's full potencial, AKA unstoppable)
Strengths: accurate
w/ eyes IT DOSE NOT CHOP
fast
easy to clean
quiet
Weaknesses: Bad stock grip
Bad stock trigger
No eyes on auto
Review: this gun is great for the money! all of the weaknesses are easly taken care of. some may say that it is a little hevy but they are dumb. it is not heavy. it is also quiet in fact some one asked me if i put a silencer on it!

accurateness: stock: this baby is good at accurateness but not the best. that can be fixed by a better barrel. (stock 8/10) (upgraded 9.5/10)

grip/trigger: not very good (easy to fixxx!!!) there is a space between the grip and the frame fo the electronics are exposed. and the trigger has a screw that is in the middle if it and it is annoying. also it is not so fast. (stock 5/10) (upgraded 10/10)

eyes: they eyes do not work on auto which sucks. but on semi it works wonders. dose not chop paint! to have more modes and all of them with eyes get the T-Board. it's a good buy.
(stock 5/10 beause it only works on semi) (upgraded 10/10)
Conclusion: get this gun! But be redy to spend some to upgrade it and make it great.

I gave it a 9/10 stock and with all the upgrades it would be a 10/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 16th, 2008 at 9:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

austinpbguy Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5
Marker Setup: Stock. I have a low blow blot on order.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper (Fasta/Magna/Qloader), sniper barel (J&J Ceramic 16" or 20"), backspin bolt (low blow bolt from alamo city) or barrel (Spyder threded Apex), T-Board VerC (from scenario dreams).
Strengths: OK default electronics, tough body, easy to use out of box.
Weaknesses: Manufacturing problems with valve pin/valve body.
Review: Great, solid performing marker for the price. I got mine for $180 (including shipping) off ebay from famousguy paintball store (http://stores.ebay.com/Famousguy-Paintball). This was the lowest price I could find anywhere, so if you're interested in this gun check out his store. He gives great customer service and ships fast!

Unfortunately, my first experience with the gun was disappointing. After firing my first 10 shots something in my gun exploded and all the air drained from my tank! :-( So I had to use rental equipment for the rest of the day (very disappointing). I took my marker to the local pb shop and found out that Spyder has a long history of manufacturing bad valve pins/valve bodies. The guy at the shop stripped my gun down and found that there were no blown O-rings, which is what I was expecting, but noticed that I had a bad valve pin/valve body. For $20 he replaced it with one that came in the replcement parts kit, which came with the gun and it was working great. There is a replacement part you can get from Alamo City (http://www.alamocitypb.com/MANUFACTPAGES/accesspix/spydseal
s.html) that uses a tapered valve body instead of the standard valve body with a valve pin. This new design eliminates the problems with the poorly designed Spyder parts. I have used the gun twice since then and it has been flawless. As mentioned in several other reviews, the gun is great with the default setup but there are a few upgrades that will bring this marker up to speed with some of the high-end guns.

First, get a good hopper. Weather you use it for this gun or some other gun you get later on, a good hopper is a must for any paintballer. The Empire Magna, Spyder Fasta 18v. and the Qloader are all great hopper options for this marker.

Second, the stock barrel is good but an upgrade barrel will improve your accuracy and shot distance. The MR3 will not accept all Spyder threaded barrels, so be sure to select a barrel that is specifically for the MR3. Most J&J's will fit the MR3. The Apex barrel will give you the flatline feature, along with hook shots and a bunker buster shot. However, the barrel is just as short as the stock barrel and I want to use a longer sniper style barrel. I decided to go with an upgrade bolt, from Alamo City (http://www.alamocitypb.com/MANUFACTPAGES/lowblow.html) that will put backspin on the balls and will also allow me to use a 16" or 20" sniper barrel. The bolt is on order, so I will provide additional information on its performance after I get it installed and use it.

Third, not having eyes in full auto just plain sucks and makes no sense (boo Spyder!). Fortunately the guys at scenario dreams offer the T-board VerC for the MR3 (http://www.scenariodreams.com/productpages/electra.htm). This is how you make the MR3 equal in performance to the Mini's and the Ego's out there. It gives you features like full auto with eyes, ramping, response trigger, burst mode and PSP (just to name a few!). Check out the link for the full feature set.

Last, if you like to play with your air tank on the gun, spend the extra cash for a carbon fiber tank. The lighter weight will make handling the gun a lot easier. I have a steel tank and use a remote line, so there is no additional weight added to the gun. I prefer this setup over having the tank attached to the gun.
Conclusion: Great senario marker with even better upgradable options! For the money, it's a no brainer. Buy this gun!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cloud 9 Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c
X7 - $$$
A5 - nice almost got it, too....different
MR1 - okay
MR2 - almost
MR3 - just right
Marker Setup: MR3, Evolution III, Red dot, remote 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric Hopper
Grips
Remote
Pods to carry pletny of extra paint
Strengths: Decent set up out of the box.
Easy maintanance
Eyes
Weaknesses: Weight if you are weak
Cost of accessories
Limited dress up parts

Review:
For the price I paid I feel like I got a good deal. The set up was good out of the box. Nice and accurate, a little loud, but unless I am playing my grandma, anyone can hear a marker go off if they are in range. And so what if I give away my position? This marker can hose paint with 99% of the competition you will come across. Bunker....eliminate...next....
Trigger is nice. Great range of adjustment. Stock is adjustable. Comes with a sight rail. Easy on the fly shift from simi to full auto. No three round burst, but that is not a big deal. Just burst the full auto. No eyes on full auto stinks. Be sure to Chrono before you play some outlaw ball, mine was over the 300fps standard. Grips are cheap junk. The screws will need threadlock. Be sure to catch those on the bottom especially.

As far as chopping goes, buy decent paint, keep the eyes on when shooting semi, and if you go full auto you HAVE to have a hopper that can keep up. When on the rare occasion that I do chop a ball, breaking down and cleaning is very easy between games. Get to know your marker before busting out on the paint field.

Gas is not an issue with this baby, 600 rounds per 20oz is no biggie, but keep a spare in your gear pack just in case because you can go through paint/gas like crazy if you are not careful.
The gun is versital. You can play point, or back up your buds on an assault. Of course this is not an ideal speedball marker but you're not reading this review with a speedball type gun in mind....are you?...

Spending the dough on the marker is just the begining. You will need a fast hopper, a pack to carry all that extra paint you will surely be shooting. A remote was a definate for me. It made life easier. The gun needs to have compressed air instead of C02 IMO. It will make your fps much more consistant....but you already knew that.

Overall for the price I paid I will rate this a 10. Of course you cant compare this to a high end marker. I can overlook the minor flaws with the preformance I get. In its class it gets a 9.5.....round it up.
Conclusion: If you are thinking of getting this marker stop being such an indecisive girly man! Put on your "big girl panties" and just go do it. If the wife/mom gives you lip, send me an email I teach "How to Handle Women" classes online.
This gun is the best thing to ever happen to me. I was like Ralphie off The Christmas story the day I got it. Day dreaming about popping bad guys. I even had it laying it on the bed beside me as I dozed off to sleep that night........not really..................... but seriously, yea I did....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tombomb262 Monday, March 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Tippmann A-5 and 98 cus.
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Just stock for now
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex barrel, remote line, and better sight
Strengths: it's durable, I MEAN BUILT TOUGH! Its easy to clean too
Weaknesses: Stock sight was hard to see though with mask on, but notmuch else
Review: I've had this gun for a month or so and played a little with it. the eyes a help but i wish it was on full auto. beats my friends tippy 98 by a mile at target shootin. everyone is right that it is a tab heavy, but i don't really care. Had a little probelm with the CO2 when i first got it so thats why im only rateing it a 9 when it could easy get a 10
Conclusion: Get if your in to woodsball and hate getting out early. not for new guys, kinda complicated
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adds Sunday, August 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr2, spyder electra, 98 custom, a5, bt-4 assault, and many others just testing
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 06 (eyes)
-14" teardrop barrel
-trinity clamping feed neck
-empire reloader b
-dye sticky grips
-15 degree assault block
-48ci/3000psi pure energy tank
-polished internals
Strengths: Easy to hit targets, durable, low maintenance
Weaknesses: Grips, handle, size and weight, trigger
Review: I tested this gun today briefly, because my friend was shopping of for his first gun and he wants a spyder. First he really liked mr2 and he had his heart set on one...than he wanted a pilot acs, eventually he got the mr2 but he tested this one out before he said no.

I think kingman over did this one...its big and heavy, and i could not imagine using it for speedball. its got great sight down the gun and easy to use...without a mask on. its durable and its a spyder so u know its low maintenance. The trigger is definetly not meant for walking, even though they say it is 25bps.
Conclusion: Its an ok gun if u like that sort of thing...few problems but its decent...im gonna give it a 7 for being average.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

z0mbY_ Monday, December 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann 98 Custom [ Hired marker ]
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3
16'' JJ's ceramic barrel
Fasta 18v Hopper
CO2 (extended)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grip
Extension
Strengths: Strong
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Grip
Wrong hopper and you're gonna chop like mad
Review: Yo all

I started with paintball only recently and was hooked on the first game. I bought the MR3 because of pbreview with all the positive feedback. The gun is awesome. I have had loads of fun and prefer the MR3 above my friends markers (Tipmann A5, Spyder MR1 ext.). This is my first marker and I am very happy with it. No barrel bursts so far and on automatic it missed sometimes and needed to be cocked again, I read a post about this and they concluded that the CO2 liquid was leaking into the gun so I got an extension and yea hasn't done it again. I have no problem switching modes in a game ( a user mentioned that noobs will find it complex, really its a button with four modes its not difficult). As heavy goes .... I don't find it heavy, to me its a good weight but that is my opinion.
Conclusion: Great gun. Guarantees lots of blasting fun!! Grip sucks but I knew that before I bought the marker and I looked at it in the store as well..... My conclusion.... a stupid grip is not gonna stop me from buying this awesome marker!!! b00000 ya ;)

9/10 because if it was perfect spyder would stop making markers....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 16th, 2008 at 6:16 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media