paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker / Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker / Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker / Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker

Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker
[ View Photos (7) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Based off the NEW 2007 Shocker NXT.

Features:

20+ balls per second
Heavily custom milled body and grip-frame
New vertical regulator mount
Break beam vision eye
Quarter-turn ASA
2 piece All-American front, Freak back barrel
New NXT Regulator
Light-weight trigger guard and snatch grip
New bolt guide that allows you to remove the internals without tools
Includes the Nerve board with rebound firing mode
Impulse/ION threads
Specs:

Length: 8 inches without barrel
Weight: 1 lbs 14 oz
Operating Pressure: 180-220 psi
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Russian Legion 2007 Shocker is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
skene Sunday, September 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker - Similar but with less milling. Tighter foregrip.
Dye/Proto Matrix DM4/5/C/6 M5/6- Spool based markers run at a lower pressure.

Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6, Generation E Matrix, Smart Parts Ion, Indian Creek Designs B2K4 PDS
(All markers are primarily set up with Redz Cam-Locks and Smart Parts Freak kits)
Redz Cam-Lock (PM6, Ion, B2K4)
Smart Parts Freak/All American front (PM6, Matrix, Ion, B2K4)
Check-It On/Off (PM6, Ion)
Lucky Un1Chip with CodeX (PM6), Blackheart board (Ion)
Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only upgrade that I would recommend for this martker would be new software (board upgrade). The RL Shocker does come equipped from the factory with the Nerve board installed along with break beam eyes. However for those that are in need for the other modes you will want to get another board.
Invest in a Freak insert kit as well.
Strengths: Breakbeam eyes, Clamping Feedneck, Freak Barrel, weight reduction, new regulator, new vertical adapter.
Weaknesses: After play cleaning, Nerve board (put a blackheart board in!)
Review: Well everything is definately how I describled everything on the strengths and weaknesses and there are not many of them. The Russian Legion Shocker is definately a work of art with all of the milling. I will say that pictures do not do justice, as I have always looked at this marker being on the edge of way too much going on and an overall reduction of weight in comparison to stock bodied Shockers. The marker is light and along with the further protrusion of the foregrip it does make the marker feel more balanced and there is definately more thumb area if you hold the marker with more of a wrap than going around the barrel.
The trigger guard and snatch grip is comprised of a bar(s) instead of a milled 1 piece grip frame. The only frightening thing I can see here with the trigger guard is if you got shot directly forward and the paintball misses the foregrip and actually hits the guard and splits the ball onto your fingers there may be some large shell shards coming your way.
This new rendition of the Shocker is definately a monster. Shot after shot the paintballs effortly flew exactly where I wanted them to go and in such a flat projectary. No chops/breaks and were using PMI Premium as our choice in testing paint in the freak barrel a .687 insert was being used.
The board definately needed to be retuned in as dwell may have been changed incorrectly due to not knowing there was a Nerve board.
That's really all I can say about this product.
Conclusion: If you've got the cash and itching for a new RL Shocker go out and get this!
I happen to love the way Shockers look and shoot and this one definately made me excited to try out. I'll be saving a few dollars for this one in the near future.
Lighter than a stock 03 body and you get the Russian Legion milling. It's definately a beautiful looking gun, and like I said... pictures do not do it justice.
If know what a Shocker is like definately wait until you get a hold of one of these. This will change your mind and shed new light on Smart Parts for some amazing revisions of an old story (03 Shocker).
Definately give it a 10 on the scale due to overall performance, sleek milling design and weight reduction. A Freak barrel is also a + instead of the prior AA barrels coming on stock Shockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

TGIFriday Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
fully up'd ion
tested others but wouldnt compare them.
Marker Setup: RL Shocker
-virtue board w/ grips
-aka 2-liter reg
-destructive on/off

Stiffi 14" barrel (.691)

Vlocity w/ red shell
-angry board
Recommended
Upgrades:
-regulator
-board
Strengths: -ACCURACY
-light weight
-really fast
-reliable
Weaknesses: -Uses a lot of air
Review: Well before I had my shocker I used my ion that was maxed out with a virtue board, cp reg, and everything and let me tell you there is no comparison. My shocker is so far the best gun I've shot other than a DM8.

ACCURACY- This gun is by far the most accurate gun I have ever shot before. I have shot an ego 07 before for a couple games and it was a very close call but even the owner said he would straight up trade gun for gun. When i was out on the field messing around shooting the polls that held the netting up, it was literally shooting ball on top of ball from a good 15 or so yards away. I called my friend to watch and when he saw it he couldnt tell what i was shooting because it was just one yellow dot on the pole. Also very consistent accuracy too, never an odd ball shot.

WEIGHT- Very light weight gun, I would say a little lighter an ion. I have no problem walking the trigger with one hand holding the gun.

SPEED- The speed on this gun is fanominal, I do have the virtue board and a new regulator on it and havent shot it without it, but in my experience this gun RIPS. I mean this thing is meant for laning, it shoots ropes.

RELIABILITY- So far for the past 5 months I have had this gun it has never screwed up or broken down on me, with the proper lube of course. Plain and simple as that.

BALL CHOPPING- This gun has almost never broken a ball on me, every practice I shoot about a case a day on normal days. With that 2000 balls I would have to say I only break one or two balls, and that is even when I lane straight ropes with it. This time I decided to test out the gun on ball chopping and I put it on psp uncapped and it didnt chop a ball once. The only time this gun would chop is if your hopper feeds it slow or in a strange way.

Now for the bad part.

AIR EFFICIENCY- No matter how much I love this gun, I cannot stand the air usage of this shocker. When I go out to practice, i get about a hopper and 3 pods maybe a little more or less but that is the average, and I have a 45/45 tank and fill it full. Even though it is very consistent with air it runs out way to fast. Maybe I need to tweek it a little to help that out, and I would be very open to some options or help that I dont know about.

Conclusion: Very good gun, very reliable, and very accurate. If it held air better I couldnt consider any better gun for the money they are, which you can find for about $650.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 29th, 2008 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NaughtyDogsPWN Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most shockers
Marker Setup: 2003 Shocker,
Dynasty Trigger,
14" CP one piece classic,
Dynasty M5 Tadao,
06 Hybrid Grips,
Hybrid ASA,
CP Rail,
CP Reg,
Smart Parts HE Bolt kit,
Shocktech Feedneck,
Tyler Michaud Bolt guide.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New grips, new board, and a new ASA
Strengths: Accurate,
Fast,
Light,
sexy.

Weaknesses: Lacking in efficiency, still has a bit of kick, FSDO, cleaning.
Review: Well, got to try this puppy out at my field, and it is amazing to say the least, with the Nerve Ramping board even in semi. it's still fast, set it into ramp and it roars, and another thing, it one light SOB, not as light as an ego (but hell they're over rated, besides can you tell the diff. between .2 oz? no shut up), shockers are very light to begin with, but the RL milling is the lightest, i like the break beam eyes better too, but a few problems begun to arise within minutes of the test,
efficiency still sucks to be honest, it's better, but not great, still has some kick, just enough to notice, but not enough to really mess you up, FSDO is still present, and cleaning it is a pain in the ass, the paint gets caught in between the cut-outs on the gun, thought these cut-outs do save on weight, it's a pain to clean up after a gun hit, the grip is still like a damn brick, and one thing i noticed is that the threading for the feedneck is different, in a good way, it's thicker so it's more stable, and the new barrel threading is a great feature, this way all you have to do is find impulse/ion threads instead of having to special order that shocker threaded barrel.
Conclusion: Great gun, has it's kinks, but can kick the crap out of any ego, any day, i guarantee that you won't be dissapointed with this.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MotionRanger Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Stock Shocker - RL better
05 Dynasty Shocker - better than RL
Strange Shocker - About the same performance-wise
Marker Setup: Dark Intimidator
Fully up'd Ion
68/45 crossfire LP
Empire Reloader B
Freak Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board, I reccomend a Dynasty board
Insert Kit to go with freak barrel
ASA with a bleeder
Strengths: Looks
Lightweight
Comes with a freak
Weaknesses: Inefficient on air
Board
Cleaning
Review: First off, I only tested this marker twice (same one both times), I do not own one. My biggest complaint was the nerve board. I've shot other shockers with different boards and they just shot better. I was also disappointed with the operating pressure/efficiency. My Ion I use as a backup has a lower operating pressure and get's better air efficiency than this Shocker did.

The marker looks amazing. The milling is just awesome. The snatch grip, lock on the feedneck, and the trigger guard are a bar instead of solid aluminum, adding to the cool look, and reducing weight. Comes with a freak barrel so you will get great accuracy. Also comes with Smart Parts on/off which is very smooth, but it doesn't bleed off the air when you turn it off.

Overall, it shot on par with shockers, but didn't really stand out from the rest like the Dynasty shocker does. It was better than a standard shocker, and I think it has the best milling of any marker. I give it an 8 because it didn't deliver the performance I would expect from a Private Label (PL) shocker.
Conclusion: If you do get it, make sure to upgrade the board. I don't think the price is worth the gun, but if you have to have a PL or unique gun, this would be the one to get. Looks great, shoots well enough. Based on performance, I would go with the Dynasty, based on looks I would go with the RL.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fknut416 Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Havent really used anything similar but i do own a PM6 w/UL and there is no real comparison, the shocker takes my PM easy
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6
68/3000 crossfire
V35 Halo

07 Russian Legion Shocker Black w/Red accents
68/45 Pure Energy Fiber Wrapped
V35 Halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
umm nothing so far....... maybe the grips
Strengths: Speed
Light
Barrel
Looks
Efficiency
Weaknesses: most shockers have FSDO
Review: alright here we go, well i was at a paintball field out of town and i had already planned on buying a gun from their pro-shop. So i talked to the manager and he showed me a lot of different guns that i really didnt care for but then he brought out this beast, lol. I instantly fell in love with the looks and feel of this gun. After i bought it, put my tank and hopper on and hit the field. I had some problems with shootdown, but i soon realized it was the battery soo i replaced it and it worked PERFECT.

Efficiency:
I didnt really want to figure out how many shots per tank but for the first time this gun has been shot it was pretty efficient. I shot a hopper and 3 pods almost non-stop and only used about 500PSI using a 68/45 LP tank. Keep in mind this is still the "break-in" period. This gun was also pretty persistant at the chrono also: 250, 250, 255, 250, 253, 250.

Speed:
This gun is insanely FAST. You have to shoot it to know what im talking about.... ya sorry.

Cleaning:
Well the second game after having this gun i got shot in the trigger/grip soo i knew i would have a tough cleaning job ahead. When i finally got home i read the manual to see how to remove the grip frame soo i could take the trigger out and clean the frame. It was VERY simple, all you have to do is take the grips off and unplugg the selenoid harness from the board and the frame will come off (after removing the frame screws, of course). So i cleaned he whole grip frame and then proceeded to clean the bolt which was also very simple and easy to clean/lube. Everyone i hear talk about this gun says that it would suck to get paint in the milling, but actuall its not that bad. just take the bolt out and wipe it down and your good.

Accuracy:
The Freak system that comes stock with this gun is amazingly accurate. i noticed no real shot spread besides me moving the gun. It also goes smoothly with the milling and makes the gun look even better.
Conclusion: After buying this gun my PM6 w/UL is on the backburner. I was sceptical of SP but this gun will make you forget all of the criticism that is written about SP. If HAVE this gun and still have bad things to say about SP then your crazy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 1:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dynasty1Abe Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
04 Shocker, 06 dynasty shocker
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
45/45 crossfire
halo b

Recommended
Upgrades:
since it comes with a freak back, get the inserts.
Also a new trigger if desired
Strengths: FAST(especially on ramping,haha)
extremely light
looks
accuracy
its got a freak on it
Weaknesses: Body rivets, see review
Review: This gun is sweet. My friend just got it about a week ago and we have been messing around with it. WOW it is fast. You can easily get strings of paint going. I didn't like the trigger tho. It was light but I'm not fond of the feel of it, thats my personal preferance.
But everything else is awesome. The Anno job is perfect. Its extremely light. It looks cool. It is ball on ball accurate. I loved it. The only other problem is the body. around the frame are little rivet holes that are there just to make it look cool. But if the gun gets shot, all the little rivets fill up with paint. Its difficult to clean out. You have to use a Q tip for a while to get all the paint out. Its still cool tho. And stuff. I dont think it looks like a traditional shocker any more like 04-06 shcokers. It looks better. But anyways, if you got 1000 bucks lying around, buy this gun its worth it.
Conclusion: hey its a shocker what do you expect right. Its going to be awesome, if its made by Smart Parts. but other than the trigger and the rivets i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MultiGunMan Sunday, June 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm8, Pmr, PM7, PM8,
Marker Setup: Russian Legion Shocker, Dye throttle 68/4500 tank, Dye Rotor, Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit, Among other high end tournament markers
Recommended
Upgrades:
Russian legion virtue board and grips, cp reg,
Strengths: Somewhat effiecient, fast, light, good barrel, well made, quiet, and no kick
Weaknesses: None really
Review: This marker in my current set up really rips with the virtue board, laser eyes, and freak kit. I've played with it for a solid six monthes with no problems, and kept well maintained with hater sauce. The cp reg helps with comfort as the stock reg seems somewhat bulky and uncomfortable.
Conclusion: I would definately pick up another one like mine in a heart beat it works well and gets the job done.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RLSh(((0)))cker Wednesday, June 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego7
dynasty nxt
there are more
Marker Setup: RL Nxt
RL virtue
CP on/off

mini-backup
ndz bolt spring kit
virtue
Recommended
Upgrades:
RL virtue
New on/off(cp is very good one)
possibly new trigger IMO
grips
Strengths: Reliability,
Looks,


Weaknesses: Air efficiency,
weight,
board.
Review: I bought this gun not entirely knowing what i was getting. it was between this or an ego7. I ended up with this because I like being the one with the crazy gun at the field. I will tell you this gun turns heads, i had people constantly asking about it and staff picking it up and act like they were playing with it. Face it... this gun looks really cool and looks different from ANYTHING else out there. It is reliable(with proper care) and it hasn't broken down on me yet. This marker is not heavy alone but with the tank and hopper it weighs quite a bit, especially after playing with the mini. The way this thing goes through air is remarkable at even though it comes stock with a HE(high efficiency bolt) it barely gets my hopper and like 4ish pods off with a full fill. It kills but it doesnt matter you just need all day air and problem solved. THe board I immediately upgraded he pulled the gun out and the virtue went in, that was a major upgrade.. that is the one upgrade i believe is absolutely neccesary.
Conclusion: Overall i am very happy with my purchase,If you can find one i suggest you get it... it is definetly worth it the strengths outweigh the weaknesses by far and most of the weaknesses can be rid of with a few upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2008 at 9:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LHUDSON05 Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
sft shockers<russian legion shocker

Marker Setup: pewter russian legion shocker red accents
v35 halo
crossfire 45/45

Recommended
Upgrades:
None are needed. I plan on buying a cp on/off, trigger, and reg. Possibly a virtue board.
Strengths: Shoots great.
Looks great.
Has two eyes unlike sft shockers.
Weaknesses: None that I have seen so far.
Review: I bought this gun used yesterday. I was lucky because it was only used once and is like new in box. I aired it up and went straight to the chrono with some paint. It shot in the 290's very consistent. I shot the gun in ramping and it shot perfect no chops at all. I only got to shoot about two pods through it. It's not a loud gun which is a plus. Feels very comfortable to hold. The gun looks great.

edit: Now that I have played with my russian legion shocker I decided to update this review. It shot great and never chopped a ball. I did have a barrel break or two but thats not bad considering I shot over a case of paint that day. It does use a lot of air but the feild I play at only fills to 3000. I was getting roughly a hopper off 1000psi on a 45/45. I have two friends with russian legion shockers and it's the same deal with their guns. We all use 45/45's. I'm going to pick up a 68/45. My rating is remaining the same because it is still a great gun and you can't get anything better for the money.
Conclusion: I recommend you buy this gun! It looks, feels and shoots great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 15th, 2008 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CLo Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, SP Ion, DIablo Wrath LTD, PM7, DM6 & A1
Marker Setup: RL Shocker NXT
Halo B w/ shocktech rip drive
Pure Energy 68/4500 tank
E-Vents mask w/ fire mirror
Nvy 323 pack
Empire bottle cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
A virtue Board, 4 comfort a new trigger...
Strengths: Super light, fast, accurate, best there is.
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I got it out of the box and put some air on it... it was on semi and it was super fast in less than ten seconds I had a full hopper empty... it was amazing super fast and accurate, no problem with its weight.. awesome looks. I s and is the best, im telling u it is the best out there. I shot a PM7 the same day and chopped 3 balls out of the box, the shocker is way lighter, 1.14 lbs and hasn't had any porblemes STOCk
Conclusion: THis is the best gun put there, it only cost me 700$ because the price was reduced and work better than any 1000$ gun... go get it now before its too late
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media