paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6

Bob Long Marq 6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Marq 6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Marq 6
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1050

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
1. Inline poppet valve design. ( not a spool valve)
2. Internal LPR design
3. Manifold mounted solenoid. ( no hoses)
4. Thin ergonomic grip frame.
5. Lightweight.
6. 4 eye operation compatible. ( 30 bps can be acheived with 4 eyes. 4 eye system sold as an upgrade)
7. No rise wedge feed.
8. Swivel top regulator. ( fitting can be rotated to any position)
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Marq 6 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
DyNa$tY Saturday, July 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months112 of 118 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 XSV Ego
UL'd PM7
Marq 7 Rapper
Closer
Ripper 3
Marker Setup: • Olive Marq 6
• Closer Trigger
• Dye Titanium Back .688
• Dye Ultralite Tip 14"
• Hybrid Rail
• CP On/Off
• John Lee Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
• Barrel
• On/Off
• Trigger
• Read Weaknesses/Review Body for more info •
Strengths: • Speed
• Accuracy
• Not much kick
• Looks
• Durability
• Stock Reg
• Quiet
• Efficiency
Weaknesses: • Adjustability
• Weight
• Trigger
• Difficult to work on
• Read Review Body for more info
Review: First Impressions- The first thing everyone notices is the looks. It looks sleek, compact, and unique. Once you pick it up, you'll notice it's not as light as other 07 (and even some 06) Highends.

Feel- Even though the Marq isn't the lightest marker out there, it's weight is distributed evenly, which gives you the impression that it's lighter than it really is. The grips are comfortable, and pretty thin for stock grips.

Stock Barrel- The stock barrel isn't terrible, but if you shoot .695 paint or some other weird sized paint you might consider getting a new barrel. Most people get a new barrel regaurdless of how it performs.

Stock Board- The stock board isn't very adjustable, but it's not a huge deal. This gun is FAST. The stock board comes with all the modes you'll need for a tournament. Some people have a huge problem with the stock board, but it's not bad as everyone tries to make it out to be.

Stock Trigger- The stock trigger feels good, but performs terribley. WIth the spring/magnet in, it is way too firm, and is difficult to walk. Without the spring/magnet, the gun will shoot full auto if u pull the trigger more than 2 times, and won't stop until you pull the trigger back out. You almost have to buy a new trigger, which will cost $50 at most. I purchased the Closer Trigger, which cost me $30, but performs flawlessly.

Stock Bolt- Most people buy the pillow bolt, but you really don't have to. I shoot Nelsplat and Menace, and I am yet to break a ball with 10 cases thru it.

Stock ASA- There's no On/Off, so if you really want one you can get one, but it's not a nessecity. I have a CP On/Off which works flawlessly, but if you don't want to spend the extra $30-$40, you won't be missing out too much.

Stock Feedneck- The stock feedneck is perfect. Small and clamping. What else could you ask for in a feedneck?

Overall- The Marq is the best gun you can buy for under $1100, so if you're in the price range don't hesitate. I've shot the Ego7, and Ild say the Marq out shoots it by far.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that has a few flaws, just like every gun out there. My reccomendation would be to buy a trigger and barrel, and then you'd be set. Comment this or E-Mail me any questions you have.

IF THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL PLEASE RATE IT!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooldrmoney21 Monday, November 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Empire 2
Marker Setup: BobLong Empire 06, Empire Reloader B2, Pure Energy 68/4500, 16" Ultra Lite.
BobLong MARQ6, Empire Reloader B2, Empire Fuel 45/4500, 16" Freak kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dual set of eyes, Kila detents. I like using on/offs, so I got the Hybrid grind, and I got a barrel kit, just cause the assassin barrel is not good for all paint sizes.
Strengths: Weight,
Bps speed,
Grip shape, is narrow at the bottom,
Sound level.
Weaknesses: My regulator needed some breaking-in shots.
Review: MARQ6, is lighter than my Timmy Empire 2, but not by much, all these markers should have just come with the dual set of eyes. I know that there are some ppl who prefer LCD's like on the stock Empire 2 boards, so that might be something to think about.
The sound level this thing produces is really quiet, or at least my marker is, and yet i thought my empire 2 was. This marker can rip real fast even on semi mode. My marker came set really good trigger wise, i just left it set up stock.
Conclusion: This marker is great, right out of the box, go get one, cause this marker is gonna be usefull, unlike other markers which NEED boards and upgrades to be fast and accurate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

PNK ARMY #21 Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ST NXT SHOCKER
Marker Setup: -BURNT ORANGE MARQ6, black parts, black hybrid rail and push on/off, killa laser 4 eye system, magnet trigger mod, stock asa, white 2 piece eclipse shaft

-BLACK MARQ6, 4 EYE, WHITE KILLA DETENTS, WHITE ULTRALITE, HYBRID GRIND AND PUSH ON/OFF

- BLACK W/ SILVER PARTS ST NXT SHOCKER, VIRTUE, CP SLING BLADE TRIGGER, SMOKE PULSE, RF MODE, WHITE SPEEDFEED

- VARIOUS OTHER HIGHEND GUNS.......
Recommended
Upgrades:
No uprades needed...........
Strengths: -Fast
-Quiet
-Efficent
-Light
-Small Profile
-Accurate
-Amazing board
Weaknesses: -Adjustability
Review: Now when u can start w/ this: http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/5476/img1143copypi8.jpg
to this: http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/310/onyx1cl2.jpg
you spent alot of time and effort into the gun.......

PROS:
1. This gun is super fast! i believe Bob named it MFF board(mother frickin fast).......he wasnt lying either. This gun can ripp like no other and cannot be outshoten. no lies. there are no gaps in your rope of paint at all, it is a constant flow of paint.

2. When buying a gun, you want something fast and accurate. The stock 12' barrel was not up to par but is still good. i almost always deciede to upgrade my barrel for preference and confidence. now im not saying the assasian barrel is bad, he has been using them for every BL gun made for millions of years. i just like DYE barels. W/ stock barrel i shot 25 balls, 1 balling, and only missed a cone 2x from 40 yrds away. with a string of paint i missed 4x due to prolly not having my settings. very accurate non-the less...

3. Have you ever heard a dm/pm shoot?? it is dead silent.....well this is exactly the same. sound doesnt matter to me, i have shot egos and the occasional rental. but the upside to having a quiet gun is the other team not knowing where u are....

4. This gun is very efficent for a BL gun. this is my 1st set of BL guns and to me they are efficent. they are not ur legends but they definetly areny ur shocker efficency. i wiould have to say i get a pulse and 8 pods of a 70/45 fill

5. THe onyx is also pretty light. it weighs 2.5 lbs w/o barrel and 3 lbs w/. it is not a legend, sl66, or shocker. but it is still light......

6. Th onyx also has a very small profile. it looks kinda short and fat, stubby, ect. but it really isnt. the feedneck is as low as a qlock . the shape of the body can be compared to an ion but w/ metal. when the pics first started to "leak" out, everyone though it was the ion competitor but was quite wrong w/ a $999.95 price tag......


CONS:
1. The adjustabily of this gun is minimal. you cannot adjust the settings on ur stock board but you really dont need to...BUY THE KILLA BOARD!!!!
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun to buy. I strongly suggest getting this gun if u are an experieced paintballer.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 14th, 2006 at 1:43 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

xNexusHerox4 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other timmys
pm6
dm's
cockers
egos
shockers
iCD guns
pretty much everything
Marker Setup: Pm6
virtue
UL barrel 14"
empire b
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
not sure, its fairly new, this gun rocks stock
Strengths: SPEED, this gun is insanly fast, its nothing like old timmys, weights nothing... great design
Weaknesses: Nothing really, this gun is any paintballers dream, its efficient, light, and fastt
Review: Basically, this gun rocks, it will blow your mind, i mean four eyes, come on who does that, bob long is amazing, this gun is deff. going to make an impact on the world of paintball. It crazyt fast, it was test fired up to 31bps! it weighs next to nothing, althouigh the new angel ones are air compared to this. bottom line, get this gun asap
Conclusion: Um. buy it? its sweet, nicest gun ive seen in a while
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OdinFury Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 6/7 Lighter, But Much louder, shot is not as flat
Marker Setup: Marq 6, CP on/off ASA, Palmer Stabilizer, Scepter Barrel Kit, 45 4500 Crossfire tank, Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off ASA
New regulator (stock +-8, the Palmer +- 2/3)
Strengths: Shoots Flat like a cocker,
Light as an ego
no kick
Weaknesses: On/off ASA
New regulator (stock +-8, the Palmer +- 2/3)
Review: This gun is awsome. I've played with many guns and none has really impressed me as much for this price. Its a great value. I got mine for $489 at http://www.actioncenterpaintball.com (no problems ordering from them). Shoots straight and flat. There is practically no kick. Its very quite and air efficiancy is pretty good id say almost a full case with my 90 4500 and almost 1/2 a case with my 45 4500.
Conclusion: why are u reading my review.....go buy it now. Best value for the money without a question.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aimeagle21 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm 4/5/6, many ego's, and many other highend guns
Marker Setup: Onyx/Marq6 gloss red
Halo w/ V35/ hotrod kit, bone pack
68/45 PE




Recommended
Upgrades:
BOARD!!!
Possibly a barrel
Four eye setup
BOARD!!!!
Strengths: Speed
Looks
Inline poppet
Very air efficient
Smooth

Weaknesses: Board settings
Weight
Trigger
Review: I bought my son an onyx (well he paid but I did the paperwork) about a month ago now. I bought the gun used w/ the two eye setup, cp reg, cp on/off plus the stock stuff for $850. My son and I have shot about 6000 balls through this now and it's been through one tournament (today). The gun worked perfectly today in the tournament and with all the testing we did over the previous month.

Strength's-

Efficiency- I don't have an exact number but my son only filled his tank once at the beggining of the day and left w/ 1400psi in his tank. He started at 3200psi and I know he shot at least 800-1000 balls. So with that info I would say the onyx could get a real 1900 shots out of a 68/45 full fill. He was shooting at 275+-fps.

Looks- just look at it! It is beatiful/hot/dead sexy looking gun imo

Kick/noise- Well, I could best desribe this as having a little bit more kick than a nicely tuned dm6 but much less than my ego's. It really is a smooth gun. As for the sound of the gun it is also a litle louder than the dm's I have owned but not nearly as loud as an ego. W/ the lpr the gun also seems very easy on paint from what we have put through it. BTW, don't mess around w/ the lpr unless you have an plr guage so you can make sure you are not setting it to high!!!!

Speed- If you are looking for speed then stop right here and just go buy one of these. W/ the two eye setup the fastest we could get the gun to shoot was 19 w/ a pulse, halo, and VL. Once we dropped the four eye setup in we were hitting 24bps (real bps not cps and yes I goldwaved it to verify what we already knew) and quite sure we could have gotten more but why.

Reliabilty- Well, so far so good! With over 6000 ball shots plus more dry fires than my wife and I care to think about it has yet to have any issues. Ok, check that, the bolt did come loosened from the poppet ram a little bit but that was only because after I lubed I did not reef it down tight enough I think. It has not happened since.

Weakness-

Board settings- This part of the gun absolutely is lacking! Seriously Bob man! The stock board has only two dwell settings 8 or 10 and two debounce settings max or min. The firing modes are more than enough. Not good!

Trigger- This is just opinion I cannot judge how well others will like the trigger. Ok, this trigger absolutely sucks. The pre pull is non exsistent and the post pull is stopped because the the trigger hits the guard before I would like it to stop. If you try to pull out the trigger spring plan on turning your debounce to max because it will go full auto every time. Can you guys tell I don't like the trigger?

Weight- not really a weakness but it is heavier than I thought it would be. Noticeble over my SL66, dm6, and pmr.
Conclusion: It is a really nice gun despite some of what I call weakness's. The gun is fast, seems very reliable, is efficient, looks great, and shoots smooth. The onyx/marq6 is well worth taking a real hard look at if you are planning on buying a gun in the 1k range. Bob, please for the love of GOD, do something with the board settings! I give the onyx/marq6 a 9 for the lack of board settings only. The weight and trigger are to subjective for me to lower a rating on. Buy, buy, buy, buy one!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zop1o Thursday, July 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies, egos, pm6, dm5, shockers, many other markers.
Marker Setup: Marq 6, Ninja 68/45, vlocity jr with virtue chip. critical trigger, pillow bolt, 4C lazer eyes, panel grips, cp on/off and micro rail, vanquish products clamping feedneck, bob long 691 pro barrel, stock regulator, super detents.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vanquish products clamping feed neck, bob long clamping feed neck, pillow bolt, panel grips, new reg if desired, proficiency engine, super detents.
Strengths: Compact, upgradeable, quick, fairly efficient, feedneck, thin grip frame, stable in hands.
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck wedge
Maintaining lpr
Inefficient for a poppit
Back heavy
easy to roll orings
Review: GOOD: Nice marker for any player, it is balanced well in the hands because the regulator and grip are relativly far apart. not luxe far, but nicely spaced.

there are many upgrades you can find for this, so you can make yours truly unique. not visually unless you lazer or anno it, but you can make it work how you want.

THE STOCK BOARD IS ADJUSTABLE. whoever wrote a review saying that it wasnt was wrong. you can adjust the dwell, debounce, and even adjust the firing delay.

it has all the benefits of a spool valve marker without the drawbacks which means no bolt stick, and better efficiency.

The feed neck is extremely low because it is milled into the body. You can get a higher one from bob long if you play dorito side, but i play snake so i need a lower one.

the grip frame is very thin, and with the stock grips can barely hold the battery so you might get a bulge.

The stock regulator is easily my favorite one on the market, but the macroline port is in the middle so if you are used to an eclipse or angel reg, then you might want to get a cp reg.

BAD: inefficient for a poppit marker, unless you have the proficiency engine.

you can not take off the feed neck pipe so if your hopper neck is too wide, you need to sand it down. the collar is upgradeable though.

When you take out the engine, it is easy to roll o rings on the out side because dow 55, (the recommended lube) swells them so they can roll or break on the transfer holes.

Maintaining the lpr means taking off the grip frame, unscrewing 4 screws, and using pliers to detach the hose to the solenoid, then trying to get the pistons out by either sucking them out, or using a tiny allen wrench to push it out. then gooping up the pistons and getting them back in and BLUE loctiting the cover back on. on top of THAT, you either need to have a gauge with the right size barb and have the grip frame off, and adjusting it that way, or getting the specific pressure test from bob long and getting new gauges so you can adjust it precisly. just take it to a tech to adjust the lpr.

The annodizing is not always consistent throughout the marker because not all the aluminum is always the exact same grade. it will look fine in normal light, but if you look at an all black one in bright light, your barrel may be a dark purple, your reg a dark blue, and your trigger straight black.

INDIFFERENT: depending on where you like your macro line to go into the regulator, you might want to get a new one. if you like an on/off asa, you are going to need a new one, if you want a low rise or high rise clamping feed neck, you need to either go to vanquishproducts.com or boblongdirect.com. these markers are not made anymore so if you can find one, buy it for no more the 450 no matter what it has. if it is bone stock, no more then 350. the stock trigger is a spring return and is kind of like an ego trigger with a less pronounced swoop, so you might want a trigger from either critical, violent products, or bob long also. not much of a snatch grip, and you will either get one with the 12 inch assasins barrel, or the 14 inch pro series one piece barrel. These do not come in many colors so you are going to need to anodize it to get the color you might want.
Conclusion: Great marker all around, many ways to set it up, stable in the hands and is a paint burning dragster. you will run out of paint faster then normal with this so watch out for it. Once you get one, you will fall in love with it instantly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bonzi4688 Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I shot Dm3's ,cockers, almost evey gun around , shoot almost every timmy ever made because it now all i shoot
Marker Setup: Onyx (dust White) ,2Dust white Ultralite backs , Bobs new on/off asa, 4 eye system
Recommended
Upgrades:
The laser eyes are more for looks and kicks and giggles. Both sets of four eyes do the same same thing only one just glows in the dark. I'm not gonna lie those is my 4 eyes ever go bad i'm going ot buy the lasers because they do look cool but no real atvantage.
HaterSauce on the Bolt when you get it , and the New Asa IS MONEY I LOVE IT!

And if you have a halo u might want to get a Vlocity (read Review)
Strengths: REALLY FAST !
quieter than
Air efficient

Light weight , low feed neck,
Better trigger feel
Weaknesses: None, read Review
Review: The Gun Is amazing But the only problem you can really point out isnt even the guns fault. the halo/empire loaders and Pulse loaders Put to much pressure On the ball causeing the ball above it in the neck to get nicked by the bolt. I dont think you can blame this on the gun. BUt in my opinion the Onyx will we A force to be reckoned with in the next few years.!
Conclusion: Onyx ftw! great job Bob and blast!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PRIMAL-INSTINCT Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix
Timmy
all spool valve gats
Marker Setup: 2005 Dark Timmy Shockteck bolt Tado board critical trigger & 2007 Onyx 4 eye set up with magnetic trigger ( MOD)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A TADO board when it comes out!!! HINT HINT
Strengths: Air efficient
Quiet
Fast
Light
Weaknesses: You cant play with the settings(dwell .ect)
The trigger could of been better.
Review: My review of the Onyx is it was well taught out. Its good to see BOB LONG wip out another grate Marker. I do wish the Trigger was taught out like the rest of the marker. Having the 4 eye set up is the way to go on the Onyx. If you get the standard eyes the marker is still ONE BAD MOTHER TRUCKER!!!!!
Conclusion: GO GET ONE and you will see why?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sudballer Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've used many timmies but none completely compare to the onyx
Marker Setup: mantis ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Speed
Price
Weight
Poppet valve
Weaknesses: In the time tested I had a hard time finding anything I didn't like
Review: I tried it out at a local field and i was amazed the first thing i noticed was the speed and incredible look of it. one of the most a mazing things about the onyx is the eye system which times the rate that your paint is dropping into the marker and then times the bolt to the speed of the paint meaning virtually no paint breaks.
Conclusion: In my opinion the onyx is the top of the line marker for 06-07
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media