paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6 / Bob Long Marq 6

Bob Long Marq 6 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Marq 6

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Marq 6
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1050

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
1. Inline poppet valve design. ( not a spool valve)
2. Internal LPR design
3. Manifold mounted solenoid. ( no hoses)
4. Thin ergonomic grip frame.
5. Lightweight.
6. 4 eye operation compatible. ( 30 bps can be acheived with 4 eyes. 4 eye system sold as an upgrade)
7. No rise wedge feed.
8. Swivel top regulator. ( fitting can be rotated to any position)
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Marq 6 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
es916 Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
05 Ego
06 Ego
NXT Shocker
Angels (A1 and G7)
Any Timmy

All high ends like these basically shoot the same, comes down to personal feel.
Marker Setup: 2005 Dark Blue and Black Ego
- All Stock
- Empire B (gold color) & Halo B with (vic board)
- Crossfire 68/4500 LP

07 Bob Long Marq 6
- Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. On/Off - The stock models come with a nice asa but no on/off feature.
2. Barrel - The stock assassin barrel is decent in its own right, but get a kit.
3. Pillow Bolt - Much more soft on paint
4. 4 Eye - This is optional but the 4 eye setup allows for faster rate of fire.
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
Weight
Balance
Looks
Weaknesses: See Below
Review: I have always been a BL fan. His guns have been a steady and reliable machine for me over the years. When I was looking for a new gun, this was the first stop I made. At a local field, I was able to fire one before I bought. After 1 pod I was hooked. The gun has no kick, shot ropes across field, and felt very balanced.

The feel is solid. You know you are hold a nice piece of equipment when you grab one. The Marq is very balanced, more so than my Ego. Its a pleasure to shoot and is very comfortable. It is a little heavier in feel than my Ego but not by an amount that would make me complain at all.

One thing that I always liked was the LCD feature of my guns. I was never a fan of the LED setups from my DM days but with this gun I had no choice. However, that being said the features are very easy to use. Dip switches are very simple and instructions make is clear as to what to do. Having only two firing modes isnt a problem because everywhere I play its either semi or psp and always capped 15. The lack of other modes didn't bother me at all.

Let me just say that this is a fast marker, really really fast. Uncapped, I don't quite know what the rate of fire was but it seemed as if I was around 19 or so. There was no kick and snap shooting was a breeze due to its balance. Efficiency is great, I would say I was able to get 5 pods and a hopper comfortably. Consistency was great and accuracy was ball on ball anywhere on the field.

The only gripe I have is the on/off. I just don't understand how or why a better asa was not included. A simple push button would have been great but since all of the other guns that I have bought came with some sort of on/off, I felt a little miffed but it's a very minor gripe.
Conclusion: There isn't a whole lot needed to say. Just pick one up and shoot it. Once you do, you will be selling your other guns and getting one of these. Light, Accurate, Efficient and Balanced makes this a top contender. At a price less that $900 on ebay stores, its a steal. You can't go wrong with this choice. 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sonnemann Saturday, December 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies--same idea, just not as tightly packaged
Rapper--same gun, but in a prettier package!
DMs/PMs: smooth, but just not the same level of reliability and comfort in the same package. Also, their resale drops like a bomb every year, while at least my Marq6 keeps its head above the water.
Shockers--please, let my review be not besmirched by the mention of that name or its parent brand. Ew.
Marker Setup: Marq6
4 eyes
Pillow/QD
CP barrel
Crossfire tank
VLocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger: POWER, Critical, WS delrin, BL, any modded Timmy triggers...basically, anything other than stock. Or, mod the stock trigger with a magnet/use the springs.

Board: Tadao, if you like to tweak. Otherwise stick with stock

New pillow bolt/QD ram. Helps a lot with maintenance. New Marqs come with these stock along with a milled external LPR-adjust slot
Strengths: Small
Light
FAST
Quiet
Comfortable
Efficient
Low Maintenance
BL reliability/simplicity
Feedneck
Weaknesses: Awkward LPR placement--a necessary evil
Trigger
Stupid 12" stock barrel
Stock board
Review: The Good.

Small--very small, single tube design. Akin to a Shocker but better in every way.

Light--not as light as some of those sky-high-priced custom Ego models, but definitely lighter than Bobby's older offerings, and very well-balanced. Still ridiculously light if you look back a few years ago to what was on the market.

FAST--not much to say. Very fast. I'm not sure whether or not 4 eyes actually make a difference, but they don't hurt anything.

Quiet--Like a DM, but still a little less of a swishy sound signature. I love how these sound!

Comfortable--Extremely nice thin grip frame [esp. with panel grips] and the lack of a front LPR make this thing very easy to maneuver...definitely a plus. And the lack of the classic BL satellite-dish Ashcroft gauge is a nostalgic, but useful, omission.

Efficient--Not anything ridiculous [see AKA, MacDev] but still pretty respectable. Albeit...moot in today's world of self-fill all-day air...

Low Maintenance--Basically your average Intimidator-level maintenance. Dow55, as always. Shouldn't have to be breaking it down every day of play, but nor should you just use/abuse this without a little TLC now and then. The self-contained firing engine is a blessing. Also, I should mention the much more refined wiring than Intimidators of old. No matter how steady your hand, it's always kind of a crapshoot when taking apart your Timmy in terms of wiring getting yanked out of somewhere...but I still love my Intimidators. No worries.

BL reliability/simplicity--see above, mostly. As long as you're familiar with their particular maintenance tricks, BL guns can be the smoothest, fastest things out there.

Feedneck--Low, clampy, and simple. I like.

The Bad:

Awkward LPR placement--a necessary evil. Honestly not that bad because you're never going to adjust your LPR that often anyway, so don't worry about it. Better than having it stick right into your mitt, eh?

Trigger. Yeah, yeah. It sucks. To avoid major bounce with the stock trigger you MUST run a spring, or magnets. That's just the way it is. The shape is nice, though.

Stupid 12" stock barrel. Nobody uses it. Stop giving me these barrels, Bob. At least start remaking that 14" .691 version.

Stock board. I applaud the concept--simplicity and functionality--but can I please have a more complex debounce setting than "on" and "off"? It's kind of a joke. Had I paid full retail price for my Marq I would be offended, but as it is it's just a nuisance. I am glad that at least the Closers/Darqs come with Tadao. Other than the debounce [and similarly pitiful dwell choices--namely, between 8 and 10 ms] it's a very nice board, and really helps show off how fast this marqer [LOLOL] can be.
Conclusion: Great new innovation from Bob Long. No longer can people say that BL pumps out the same gun in a different package; this is a real step forward for the company and the high-end market. I am glad that it's no longer just SP/Dye/PE fighting amongst themselves for market share. Besides, when Eclipse's idea of a PL gun is a 1x3cm logo on the ram sleeve [or Dye and some insipid lasering] don't you look back and appreciate the times when PL Intimidators were actually distinguishable from one another? Bob continues that with the Marqs, which is very cool, because more choice and individuality is always a plus!! Now we have 6s, 7s, Rappers, Closers, Darqs, Edges, Mummies, and more to come...nice!

Great guns; go buy a 6 if you're strapped for cash or a Closer if you're on the champagne budget.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 9th, 2008 at 11:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballoc11 Friday, November 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
matrix's
spoolies
Marker Setup: 08 ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel. pillow bolt. I got a dye ultralight on mine
Strengths: SMOOOTH
fast
quiet
pretty reliable!
Weaknesses: Heavier than other guns in its class
efficiency
will explain other things in review
Review: Pros: This gun is incredibly smooth. I was really impressed with how smooth and snappy it was. It came with a dye ultralight for me so i don't know how the stock barrel is but I was geting +-2 on the chrono and there is practically no kick with this gun. It's fast too, but every gun I've had since my A4 fly has been fast.

You don't really have to pay too much attention to this gun. I would lube the bolt which takes about 15 minutes once every 2 months or so and not worry about it again. I never broke orings or got any leaks.

The thing I don't like very much about this gun is the lpr. You have to be very careful with adjusting the lpr. You're supposed to have a pressure tester which is about 60 dollars and it doesn't come with one. While adjusting the LPR you have to take the trigger frame off unless you send the gun to bob long to have it drilled. My LPR was higher than what it should have been so it was kicking and was chopping tons of paint. I turned it down and after that it shot like a dream but i'd rather not have to deal with that stuff you know? I'm used to egos where I just gas up and go and don't worry about anything.

It gets pretty bad efficiency. If you run a 45/45 set up you probably won't have enough air to finish the game if you shoot 4+ pods and a hopper. I run with a 68 though so I was always okay.

this gun is very quiet too which is cool. Sometimes in the snake I can take a couple snap shots real quick and sometimes people wouldn't even hear me for a little.

it's a good solid gun. it doesn't get great efficiency though, and it is relatively heavy.
Conclusion: it's a good solid gun. it doesn't get great efficiency though, and it is relatively heavy. I used to have an 06 ego and i would recommend the ego over the marq but egos are my favorite guns ever and i would have to say after shooting tons of guns, the marq is definitely better than the angels and matrixes I've owned.

If you really like the way spool valve guns shoot but don't want all of the hassle that comes with one, I recommend the marq. You won't go wrong with one, and they definitely shoot AWESOME, but i don't like the LPR system and i don't like the weight/ efficiency. the way the gun shoots though will definitely boost it's rating.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

witchraven Wednesday, October 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Dark timmy, Defiant2, and to meny to list
Marker Setup: Bob long Mar 6 QD Pillow Bolt which makes servicing a breeze. Has the 14" Bob Long barrel, Violent series trigger, hybrid grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pillow bolt
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Quiet
Efficiency
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great marker though they go for abou 800 new you can find one in near new condition for about 300$ and welll worth it.Stock Barrel- The stock barrel isn't Bad,Stock Feedneck- The stock feedneck is perfect. Small and clamping.Even though the Marq isn't the lightest marker out there, it's weight is distributed evenly, which gives you the impression that it's lighter than it really is. I have had my for about 6 months and so far and i have not broke any paintball, it is easy to maintain regardless of what some people are saying
I have tryed meny markers in the 4 years i been playing and this by far is my Favorite
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun to buy. I strongly suggest getting this gun I* got mine for 300$ and it was money well spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball?? Sunday, October 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, droid, dm, geo
Marker Setup: 07 1 of 1 origin ego
Recommended
Upgrades:
violent trigger, gear drive asa, pe engine
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, and very easy on paint with pillow bolt upgrade.
Weaknesses: Unreliable
Review: The stock marq 6 is my personal favorite in the original marq series. It is quiet and shoots a great lane. Probobly my favorite gun i have ever shot. Bob Long makes some great upgrades 2 that make it extremely nice. That being said, it was great while it worked...it spent just as much time at bob long as i had it working.
Conclusion: Awsome gun when it worked.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kill4DATHRILL Wednesday, May 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidators
Quests
DM's
Lots of guns
Marker Setup: Marq 6 -with 4 eyes and qd ram
marqd for death grips
empire magna
dxs 48/45
proflex
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed.
Strengths: Speed
Comfort
Balance
Weaknesses: Stock trigger is stiff
Hard to access LPR
Review: I got my Marq 6 in a trade for my old Russian Legion Intimidator. I wan't sure what to expect when I got this gun. After playing with it, I think its an amazing shooting gun, especially for the price of it now.

First Impressions-
When I first got the gun and took it out, I thought the gun looked very good. Sleek milling and good ano. I picked it up and did not like the trigger to begin. Its a nice shape, but the trigger is stiff with the current spring in the gun. A simple change to a lighter spring or a magnet mod fixes this problem. The gun felt nice in my hands, and I was excited to shoot it.

Playing with it-
I took the gun out to my field for the first time, whent to the chrono, simply adjusted the HPR to the velocity, and went out to shoot. I was surprised at how little kick and how smooth the gun shot. I'm used to the snappy feeling of a Timmy, and this gun was a big change to me on how the gun felt. During play with it, I loved it, and wouldn't put it down to shoot anything else. Efficiency is just ok, I got around 800-900 shots with my 48/45, but mine isnt tuned for efficiency, and Bob Long's new efficiency kit should help this.
Conclusion: I really like this gun, and probably wont get rid of it. Shoots really nice and smooth and its great for the price. There are many upgrades out for this gun, and with Bob Long customer support, if anything should ever go wrong, they've got your back. Best gun I've owned yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c6969w Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
marq7 dm7 dm8 ego 7(marq is more accurate) ego 8(marq is more accurate) pm8 ul'd pm7(marq is faster) closer droid sl66 sl74 sl8r nxt(barely compares to the marq)
Marker Setup: gloss black marq 6
cp on/off
critical trigger
cp trigger
.689 ul back
14 inch stiffi tip
pillpw bolt
4 eyes
killa detents
hybrid east coast killer grips

pulse
68/4500

2004 icd freestyle
nox board
empire grip
cp on/off
freak kit
cp roller trigger
cp gauges
cp regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
honestly it shoot lazers out of the box but if your into upgrading you gun get 4 eye system and a pillow bolt.
Strengths: light
FAST
looks
quiet
ACCURATE
trigger frame
efficency
Weaknesses: None
Review: speed- its very fast it can out run just about any gun out there with the stock board

out of box- this is one of the very few guns that when you pick it up out of the box for the first time is will be read to shoot and you do not need to set the dwell and everything.

board- the board on this has everything you need and more. It is not necessary the to buy a tadao or hate.

trigger- I have a critical on it now because i cannot walk the stock trigger because my hands are to big to pull the stock trigger quickly, i didnt have any probles with the stock trigger it was a personal preference.

looks- this gun actually does shoot as good as it shoots. this gun is sexy and that is all i need to say.
Conclusion: Definantly buy this gun it is the best gun i have ever shot and i am a huge gun whore
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambob Thursday, April 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sl66
Shocker NXT
Marq 6
Maniac
Max'd ION
Dye or Nitro Duck high or Low pressure, Smart Parts Freak kit or Sly Barrel Kit, View Loader Velocity
Marker Setup: Dye high pressure70/4500, Sly Barrel Kit, View Loader Velocity, Bob Long S-Class trigger and Critical ON/OFF.
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Trigger
2. Barrel
3. On/OFF- this is preference though.
4. 4 Eye System
5. Yakuza OLED
Strengths: Great marker out of the box.
Accurate
Huge bang for your buck.
Quite
Durable
Weaknesses: Trigger is instant replacement. I love On/Off's
Review: When breaking this thing out of its cool little box. It feels great. Everything is solid and put together well. The finish is so much nicer than some markers out there even at the same money. Bob and his team do an excellent job making it look like it can shoot. So here are my Pro's, Con's and in betweens.

Pro's

Efficiency- This marker has good efficiency out of the box, it does need to be tuned a little but it is great compared to S and D brands that make single tube markers.

Speed- WOW, it is fast with the stock board. Once I changed the trigger to the S-Class trigger from Bob Long it is super fast. Consistancy is key and it has it in spades. You don't have to change the board unless you plan on going to a league like PSP. If you need ramping get a board (Yakuza) if not stock is awesome.

Accuracy- This is very nice, it can put ball on ballvery easily. Kick is very light once you get the LPR set correctly. Remember that the LPR setting may be lower, at Higher altitudes, than at sea level.

Balance- Now I know this is not the lightest marker anyone has ever held. The Marq series of marker seem to be very balanced. You can change direction and aim very easily and with all the accessories on the marker it feels very natural. Not nose or tail heavy the way some markers are. If it is to heavy then you need to go to the gym Bertha.

Con's

Trigger- The triggers on the Marq 6, 7 and Rapper all need to find a home in the junk drawer. The shape is nice but they are stiff to move and the spring is inconsistant from one marker to the next. Some of my team have this marker as well as some that I have sold. They all have the same issue.

I have purchased the S-Class trigger from Bob Long as well one of my customers has a trigger from Incubus on PB Nation and both are awesome. Choose your shape and buy.

ASA- I am one of those nerds that has to have an ON/OFF. If you are cool with just an ASA then the stock one is excellent.

Barrel- Ok I know the Bob Long barrels are good. But not my thing. I added a Sly kit to this marker and it has a great sound to it (very quite and deep) and I think makes the marker a killer from a distance.

IN BETWEENS

Board- I will be playing in some events that will require a mode that the stock board does not have. So I am adding the Tadao Yakuza OLED board. Tadao id the only board I would say belongs in this marker as it supports the four eye system in total. Other brands work but do not use the extra set of eyes.

Bob Long Rap- Bob Long has had some good and bad things going for it. Right now they are getting everything right. yeah we have heard he has a temper but why do so many people not like his markers???? These are probably the best markers for the money. If you want to come and visit and shoot mine you will see, I have a bunch of the competing brands in my bag too and none are as good.

Plus the old Bob Longs with the rats nest wire are gone. Whoever helped with the new boards and wiring is a god.

LPR Tools- you have to buy an LPR tool to set the marker up correctly. I did (but I will be doing it for multiple markers) and it is worth the money.

Engine- New High efficency engine will make it even better and means that I am spending more money because I have to have it.


Conclusion: In the 750.00 and below class of markers this is the real deal. The prices are lower now and the marker is a steal. Even the prices after the big sell offs will be lower and a great buy. Upgrades are inexpensive and turn this marker into a Giant Killer but are not needed outside the trigger. 38.00 is little to spend on a great shooting trigger.

This marker should be a first choice for all you non-conformists out there.
9 out of 10 is its score and maybe higher when I get done playing with it.

Oh yeah the spell check feature was down so leave my spelling alone.

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 17th, 2008 at 1:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

username32 Sunday, November 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, DMs, Egos, Shockers
Marker Setup: Marq 6
Tadao
4 Eyes
UL 14"
Vlocity
Crossy 68/45
Dark Seoul Grips
Hybrid Drop/ASA
Pillow Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao Board
4 Eyes
Quick Disconnect Ram
New ASA
Strengths: Consistent
Reliable
Light
Small
No kick
A Steal
Weaknesses: LPR can be hard to adjust without milling on frame.
Not many upgrades, although unneeded.
Review: This gun is great. It's easy to maintain, and shoots like a dream. Barely uses any air compared to spoolies, and just as quiet. Some days, I'll chop maybe one ball, but that'll be it. The feedneck is as small as they come, leaving barely room between the top of my gun and my loader. The firing engine is great, since it's simple to maintain and won't quit on the field. Eye logic is also fantastic, even with only 2 eyes and the stock board. If you have an LPR tester and the milled slot, LPR adjustment is simple, even though it rarely needs to be tuned. I think the trigger is great, and the HPR is terrific. The grip frame is nice, and is as comfy as an UL frame. I would only recommend a new ASA, since the stock one has no on/off, and a board for easier and better adjustability.
Conclusion: Best gun ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sam68 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, my first Bob Long marker
Marker Setup: Bob Long Marq 6, Tadao board, BL easy on/off asa, Kila four eye's, Kila magnetic detents, Hybrid Grips, Stiffi Switch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are needed per say, Tadao board is nice; four eye's to take complete advantage of markers potential.
Strengths: Light weight, fast, quiet, no kick, easy to use, easy to clean and lube.
Weaknesses: Trigger bounce, lack of board settings to stop the bounce.
Review: Well first thing I have to say is wow this is a sexy marker, I love the simple looks of the gun, I have always had Autocockers, and I love the lack of nooks and crannies that make it super easy to wipe off after a day of paintball. I have used the marker now about 8 times and have had no problems, no ball breaks at all and half of the time the marker had the stock bolt, I now have the two piece pillow bolt which I am told all Marq’s come with standard now. The only weakness of the Marq is the stock trigger which will bounce a lot in the 3 round burst & full auto modes, some of this is due to the stock boards lack of debounce settings (only two and neither work or at least not on my gun I even put magnets in with no luck). I now have the Tadao board (just released), and all is good now no bounce even with the stock trigger. Word is that the final Marq (the closer) comes with all the good’s (four eyes, Tadao board) for the money it is worth the price I think around $1,200. The Marq has no kick and is super quiet, by far the best marker I have ever shot, I think I will be a Marq owner for a long time.
Conclusion: Awesome marker, has a few small weaknesses nothing that can’t be fixed, I would recommend this marker to anyone who wants a marker in the 1 K range. I give it a 9 because it's not 100% perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media